paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sheridan PGP2 / Sheridan PGP2 / Sheridan PGP2 / Sheridan PGP2

Sheridan PGP2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sheridan

Buy Sheridan PGP2

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sheridan PGP2
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 67
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Sheridan PGP2 has proven its value in tournament after tournament and has built a rugged reputation at paintball fields across the country. With its solid brass construction, dual fiberoptic sights and heavyweight feel, there's no mystery to the PGP2's popularity. Known to many as the most reliable back-up marker ever issued, this is one tough performer.
Product Availability 
The Sheridan PGP2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Unregistered User Monday, March 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sheridan PGP
Marker Setup: WGP 2001 Autococker, 48 ci 3000psi Nitrogen tank

Tippman 98, 12" Smart Parts Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Holster
Strengths: This is a great pump marker. It's well made and will last for a very long time. Shoots well after tinkering with the velocity some. What I love most is how it is so compact. Makes it more versatile and easier to run with. It's easier to pump than its predecessor.
Weaknesses: When something broke in mine, we sent it off to the factory to get it fixed. They fixed it for free, but it took them forever to get it back to us.
Conclusion: Overall, a well made marker and very effective in pump games. The holster was a great Idea for it as well.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, March 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Original PGP, Sidekick-Semi, PT Enforcer
Marker Setup: Custom 98 w/expansion chamber, rocket-cock, flatline
Recommended
Upgrades:
Holster for scenario play =D
Strengths: -Inexpensive
-Good gas efficiency
-Accurate!
-Durable
-Compact
Weaknesses: -Loud
-Somewhat heavy for its size
-Requires A LOT of oil lest you have tons of ball breaks.
Conclusion: The PGP is my weapon of choice in the scenario setting. Its compact size allows it to be kept in a holster, but in times of need the PGP is amazingly accurate and consistent. Not to mention the PGP is near indestructible.

A word of warning - you must feed oil to the PGP like milk to a newborn or you will be plagued by constant ball breaks.

~also~
To those who find the PGP2 hard to reload/cock try this:

1) Use better paint. You'll find you have far less problems if you use good quality, small-bore paint in your PGP2 (I use marbalizer - it works great)

2) When you pump the PGP do it HARD, this forces the tip of the barrel up and you will get a clean reload 99%% of the time, I guarantee it. Don't worry about breaking the PGP - pump that sucker like you mean it!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, February 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Original PGP , P68SC, occasional firing of other backup/stock guns
Marker Setup: Brass Eagle Raptor, Sight Rail, Eagleworks Barrel, Homemade Shoulder stock, Home made forearm, Expansion chamber, venturi bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Make loading door metal instead of plastic, holster, ten round tubes, 12gram cartridges
Strengths: Great back-up marker. I have used the original PGP since I started playing. It has saved my tail several times. I don't have paint problems that others have written about, but I always use premium paint. I have used this gun in night games as my primary and have been very successful with it. I use a holster, and a shotgun choke tube pouch to carry extra 12 grams, and a shotgun vest to carry extra 10 shot tubes and 12 grams. Very reliable. Mine only breaks paint if I use crappy paint.
Weaknesses: There have been times I wish it held more than 10 balls.Other than that I love mine and my original pgp.
Conclusion: I like this gun better than other semi and pump back-up guns, but have not used others except in occasional firing or testing of someone elses guns.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, February 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
any pump gun, any backup pistol over 100 dollars, and less than $150
Marker Setup: Pirahna sts g3 power feed w/ expansion chamber(black)
Sheridan pgp2 (backup gun black)
16 oz. co2 tank (black)
300 rnd. hopper (clear)
Recommended
Upgrades:
12 gram co2 adapter
Strengths: extremely accurate.
has saved me a couple times before in the field.
doesn't break easy.
after about 100 shots it won't break any balls.
very light.
easy to carry.
looks cool.
fun to have.
Weaknesses: I haven't found anything bad with it, and i don't expect to either.
Conclusion: this gun is awsome, and is 10 times as good as the original pgp.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, January 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Original PGP, PT Professional, PT Enforcer, PT Extreme, DSDS Slider, Sidekick Semi, most other pistols
Marker Setup: 2001 Black Magic Autococker with 14' Freak, Pure Energy 68 cu 5000 psi, Ricochet 2k hopper, Psycho Ballistics Drop forward, ANS Regulator, ANS pneumatics, Sto Hinge Trigger, Jt Slampak with speed pods

This gun with great 3-point holster system and I&I Sports Stock Harness
Recommended
Upgrades:
No upgrades needed
Strengths: This thing kicks butt, I play advanced all the time and have long-balled, snap-shot, bunkered, and saved my butt with this gun. Accurate, plenty of great features (velocity adjuster, quick change 12-gram, fiber optic sights, Field Strippable Bolt!) And get the Stock Harness from I&I Sports, has 40 loops for 12-grams and paint tubes.
Weaknesses: Nothing bad about it, it is a bit loud but I don't play sniper (except for fun on scenario games occasionally). So nothings bad, use it backup, main gun, or bunker weapon (very cool bunkering a guy when all you have is a PGP, get cover fire from semi-shooting friend though)
Conclusion: I use it because it kicks butt and will definitely save your butt. Great for duels :-)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, December 21st, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 custom, flatline barrel, GTA double trigger, Dye sticky grip, spee-t-cocker, coiled remote line, custom made wood stock, modified direct feed elbow, shortend+colored sights, + custom camo break up tape job.
PGP2, + custom flashlight adapter(so far).
Recommended
Upgrades:
PMI rubber grips
Strengths: -amazingly acurate
-great sights(fiber optic)
-very gas efficent (get about 24 shots)
-Durible
-easy to clean
-solid feel
-powerfull
-velocity adjuster is awsome
Weaknesses: -breaks balls too much
-when a ball is broken, it breaks or screws up the direction of the other balls
-paint scratches off kind of easy
-heavier than most side arms
-some what bulky
-balls load in with difficulty
Conclusion: This is an overall great gun. The accuracy is top notch. There may be a lot of disadvantages to this gun, but they are not too bad. They can easily be delt with or fixed. I'm thinking about getting my barrel honed+polised. Just whatever you do, DO NOT USE BRASS EAGLE PAINT and you will be fine. Thy sell pmi rubber grips at the palmer's pursuit website, just e-mail glenn and he can get them for you at around $20.00. I acually know of a place that sells them for $11.00. If you want to know, just e-amil me.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xXAFireInsideXx Thursday, December 13th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
b/e tigershark, cci phantom (i own the stock and standard versions)
Marker Setup: CCI phatom w/ both breeches, 45 grip and vertical and bottom line air
Recommended
Upgrades:
i dont know if there are any.
Strengths: I Like my pgp, it has gotten me out of some tight situations, it is very accurate, it compares w/ my phantom. It is really compact, and has a smooth pump.
loading balls is easy, and the sights are really good. and of course, extremley rugged.
Weaknesses: well, first of all, the re-desinged loading system could be better, the made it so putting paintballs in the loading tube easy(which it is), but it's getting the balls in the breech is the hard part, i have very low rates of fire w/this, because i have to 1, cock the bolt back, 2, turn the gun a litte sideways so i can see the open breech, 3, tilt the gun back, 4, tilt it a tiny bit forward 5, actually watch a paintball fall into the breech, and finally shoot. This slow, unreliable process has gotten mt tagged in some games.
second, it has very high ball breakage tendancy, i always load up w/9 balls, and about 5 or 6, maybe less sometimes actually make it out.(but those shots are always dead-on accurate).
third, range, you cant shot high velocties w. this gun, shoot mine @ 220, so i get very low range and still high ball breaks. (ive heard these problems can be fixed by polishing the barrel).
fourth, (this is only cosmetic) scratches, mine has four big scratches where the pump arm arm slides. but i don't really care, (wear and tear, right?) it ony bothers me because it lowers the value.
Conclusion: well, it is a good gun somtimes, but i find it unreliable, so i cant always trust it.
i find myself sometimes thankin this gun, and other tims hating it (kind of an enmity going on here >=).
i dont know if i'd reccomend it, maybe if you plan on polishing the barrel ( i think i am going to soon.)
maybe if you're looking for a sidearm (thats why i bougt it).
i gave it a five due to its polarity.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, October 2nd, 2001
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Accuracy - excellent. easy to aim and easy to get a kill
easy to load
easy to change c02
DURABLE gun
easy to field strip
Weaknesses: a little bulky but not enough to worry about
for the first couple of times you use it it breaks a ball every 10 shots or so but after a month its not a problem( anyone else have that problem?)
Conclusion: i HIGHLY reccomend it. small gun with surprising accuracy and distance.
no upgrades needed and i don't think it has any available. its a beautiful pump gun pistol. if ur thinkin about buyin one go for it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, September 19th, 2001
Strengths: this marker is great it is accurate, and can withstand anything.
Weaknesses: a little heavy
semi bulky compared to a sidekick
Conclusion: This gun is excellent. I don't own the original pgp so i cannot compare but the complaint that sheridan tried to improve on the original but didn't is completely invalid whether they improved it or not the fact remains that this is a great marker. and i am sure that like the previous model with last a long long time. it has a good upgrade path but i see no reason to upgrade it and although you can a sidekick stock or mod for less this pistol is still excellent. this would be a great gun for back up or primary marker it is great for saving you @$$ or honing your skills
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Awminn Monday, September 17th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: It had PGP in the name, other then that....
Weaknesses: Well, lets be honest. Sheridan tried to improve upon the perfect original. I think someone needs to tell them "If its not broke, then dont fix it". Though it may look cool at first glance, its really not. Velocity adjuster and quick change are something that can be added for little money on a stock PGP, and the barrel extension isnt needed and doesnt really add accuracy. It aslo adds length, and I bought my original PGP for its shortness. And who has time to line up the sights on a moving target? Not me. Accuracy is an acuired skill, not something you can add as an accesorie. Plastic loader is horable, it only messes up the feed and breaks off.
Conclusion: If I were you, Id drop this idea and buy the original, if you can find it. Or try to buy one used. PGPs dont break, its that simple.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 6:54 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media