paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann US Army Project Salvo / Tippmann US Army Project Salvo / Tippmann US Army Project Salvo

Tippmann US Army Project Salvo Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann US Army Project Salvo

Paintball Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann US Army Project Salvo
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 24
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $149

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
We are excited to release the new U.S. Army Paintball Marker - Project Salvo…an exciting new marker from U.S. Army Paintball featuring a six position collapsible and foldable stock, an AR-15 style shroud with four built-in Picatinny rails and a new AR-15 style magazine that doubles as a helpful toolkit. The marker also incorporates a flat-top Picatinny rail built into the receiver, which makes it simple for players to quickly add a handle, site, scope or a variety of other modifications.

As an added benefit, the Project Salvo marker can be easily enhanced with an eGrip as well as several other performance upgrades from the Tippmann 98 Custom Platinum Series, including: the Cyclone Feed System, Response Trigger and Flatline barrel.

Much like Alpha Black, the name selected for this new marker is rooted in U.S. Military history. Project Salvo was a series of tests conducted by the U.S. Army’s Operations Research Office (ORO) from the mid to late 1950s. The research obtained through Project Salvo helped lead to the development of the AR-15, which would go on to become the M-16 – widely considered among the most respected and proven rifles ever utilized by the United States armed forces.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann US Army Project Salvo is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
cannonballcanno Wednesday, December 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: us army project salvo
remote line
swiss arms red dot sight
pure energey 20oz tank
view loader electric hopper
Strengths: Looks
Durable
Dosn't chop alot
Folding stock
price
Weaknesses: Kind of heavy
Stock barrel
A little to big
Review: This gun is awsesome! It's definatlycool looking. The syock barrel is not good at all but what stock barrel isn't. I also love love the collapsable stock ts preety usefull in woodsball cause if you want some shoulder suport you can fold it out but if you need to crawl you can fold it in.It's also easly cuztimizable since it take the 98 custom parts and you can get the e-grip and a cyclone feeder. Eventhough its kind of heavy. All of this has come from the one day i've played so if theirs going to be any problems with it they havn't had them yet soooo...... But so far it seems like you could really give this thing a beating . Cause i was down on a big muddy hill crawling on my stomach and it got covred in mud and then it got shot about 15 times when i stuck my gun out of behind a wall when i was cornered so its obviously sturdy. A bit of warnig never stick you finger upby the spring or hop up or what ever whatever the blowback ya i did and it destroyed my fingernail.The other great thing about is the price it's really cheap and reliable. Hope this was helpful
Conclusion: I love this gun and would reccomend it to anyone looking for a great starter woodsball marker definatly buy it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 30th, 2009 at 9:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xXHodgepodgeXx Saturday, November 14th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom, Spyder Victor II, Smart Parts Ion
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion w/ red body kit, QEV, Clamping feed neck, Roller saw trigger, Empire Reloader B (red), Pure Energy 68ci HPA tank
Strengths: Looks
Accuracy
Customizable
Dependable
Price
Weaknesses: Weight
Review: Okay, so i originally was going to Paintball Ohio, and saw that they had closed that specific store. The one day i wanted to buy a new gun. So i drove down the street to Dick's Sporting Goods, and looked at the Paintball guns. I saw the Project Salvo and Decided to buy it. for 135.00, i thought it was a good deal. I first used this gun at a friends birthday party. it comes apart for easy storage, so im putting it together piece by piece and everyone else at the party is crowding around me like im unpacking a bomb. the looks on their faces were priceless. they kept asking me where i got it, how much it cost, and more importantly if i would lead their team. the Project Salvo is simply awesome for woodsball, and with the collapsible stock, its good for rec ball too. i got 20 eliminations that day and was eliminated once, because i ran out of paint. buy this gun. you wont regret it. the nice thing about this gun is the rails. i used to play airsoft so i just swapped my accessories over to my project salvo and they work great. but the salvo is a bit heavy for me, its like 10 or 15 pounds with all my attatchments on it.
Conclusion: I recommend this gun to anyone who wants to play some fun woodsball, and not just be another 98 custom owner.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Thefixer1911 Saturday, November 14th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2xtippmann 98c wgp trilgy w/qloader project salvo is better than both in looks and performance
Marker Setup: project salvo w/ cyclone upgrade w/ low pro x7 hopper etrigger utg scope riser w/ red dot utg front grip utg rail covers tac/ flashlight 2 point sling hpa tank w/ remote line
Strengths: Very good looking gun no chops w/ cyclone ok accuracy with good paint
Weaknesses: Weight but thats what you get with a woods ball gun
Review: I took it out to the field for the first time without testing it i ran only the cyclone feeder and hpa tank and never choped a ball with about 1000rds going through it. it never gave a problem it worked so nice i bought an alpha black for my girlfriend with the etrigger and swaped the trigger around and the gun still didnt chop but i only tested it so next game ill let you know
Conclusion: I'll tell everyone thats in to woods ball that this is a really good gun and you need to have one
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ddaovvaj Thursday, October 22nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months18 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 C Pro
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 C Pro (stock marker with adjustable buttstock), Project Salvo (stock with Tasco Red Dot)
Strengths: 1.) Simpleinternals.
2.) Nice coat of paint.
3.) Fairly accurate.
4.) Good on CO2.
Weaknesses: 1.) Heavy with CO2, paintballs, and a few add-ons.
Review: As would any Tippman, I have not had an issue with this gun. I have yet to have it jam or chop on me in the 2000ish rounds I have put through it. I have crawled, tripped, and ran into trees with this gun but it still looks brand new after a little wipe-down. The gun is more accurate than a stock 98 C Pro/ACT. I can put approx. 600-650 rounds through a 20oz CO2 tank before it starts bogging.

Cleaning the gun is a bit more time consuming than a 98 b/c there are a few more screws, but it's Tippman easy.

The down-side is that this gun is heavy and bulky to run with. I eventually took off the foreend, buttstock, and "magazine" to save a few ounces so I can run faster. It now looks like a Tippman 98 (and nicer IMO).
Conclusion: I would recommend this to anyone, but don't expect speedball qualities out of this gun; it's great for woodsball.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Warhead1017 Thursday, October 22nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98,JT Tac-5.... runs pretty much as reliable as the 98, lets just leave the TAC alone
Strengths: Looks,comes with a stock, barrel is decent, comes with a tool kit mag
Weaknesses: The feeder falls off once in a while but other than that nothing
Review: I love the gun. my first decent marker since i was smart enuf to buy a TAC-5 first.... cant complain about anything but theres nothing spectacular about it either. ill update when i start putting some upgrades on it. I find the mag kit really useful, not to mention its pretty menacing looking when i take it out of my hit man style suitcase..
Conclusion: Good starting marker and runs great rite out of the box just had to weld the feeder tube on but that might just be me.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

marksmen#1 Monday, October 12th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader, Tippman 98 custom, Spyder, Rap 4 marker, prrianha
Marker Setup: Project salvo with front grip, m16 carry handle and sight, sling, and 18 inch m16 barrel
Strengths: Tippman internals, good looking gun, nice hefty weight.
Weaknesses: Stock wiggles a bit
Review: First of all i know alot about paintball guns. I have been around them a very long time. I also work at a paintball place called skrimish so i am around them all day. The guns tha we use there are tippman 98 customs and those things last. The staff and the players beat those guns and they keep on going. That is on of the things that i like about the salvo. Most of the interals arte stright form the tippman 98 do right of the bat you now it is going to be reaiable. The gun itself is awsome looking coming stock with picatany rails and 6 way stock that you can collisape. the gun has a nice weight is very soild. The only times that the gun gets flimsey is when the barrel is out the shorud wobbles and the stock moves because it has on screw to hold. The gun shoots good and the sights actually work at about 50 feet.It is also easy to upgrade because it takes 98 barrels and also things like the reaponse trigger and e trigger. And the best thing is the price the gun sales for 150 for just the gun. awsome buy
Conclusion: I would def recommend this gun to anywon who wants a sick looking gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

familyguy4564 Wednesday, October 7th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
my first
Marker Setup: foldable bipod, 20 inch smart parts barrel, co2
Strengths: Accurate, Weight,
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is a very nice gun it hasnt chopped a ball for me yet. (I only shot about 400 though) It is accurate even using super cheap paintballs. I like the little bit of weight cause it feels more durable. It can shoot a ball hard and fast if you want.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this gun to anyone who is interested in it. Because of the price and all the pros.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gabriel Mercill Sunday, October 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None, this is my first painball marker ever.
Marker Setup: Lapco bs assault 14 inches barrel, cyclone hopper and tippmann e-grip
Strengths: PRICE! 200$ maybe less. power and durability
Weaknesses: Very long ( with the butt open). Original barrel is not so good
Review: For my first marker, I would say that its one of the best tippmann around. Its very easy to costum afterward. The gun is perfectly design, its very easy to open and clean. It's the perfect gun for the beginner

Good points: Lots of option (custom). Very cheap but still very good. Perfect marker for beginner. The kit comes with everything you need : Tools, barrel plug, oil, helen keys, manual, barrel cleaner, tool box desguise as a magasine.

Bad points: The original barrel is not that precise, I would recommend a better one. The gun is very long. You can't look down the sight with a mask.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product to anyone who wants to start paintballing!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Snookdog Wednesday, September 16th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stingray II
Tippmann 98/98 custom
Tippmann A-5
Wg-75
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom, RT, rocket cock, 18" Armson Barrel, JCS folding stock, dagger mount 48cu. in. Ninja HPA tank, 200rd hopper
Strengths: Looks
Feels durable
Its a Tippmann, GREAT Customer service
Weaknesses: Nothin' yet but I've only tested it
Review: A little background. I play woodsball in Idaho. I've been looking at opening a field in my town since there are none and i already have the ground for a woods field. I got this gun as a test for if i want to get them for rentals.
I received the marker in the mail today. First i put the stock on and it looks sweet! Mine is very solid feeling. You can grab it by the end of the stock and shake it all you want. NO WIGGLES! NONE!
Time for a shooting. Since it is 98 threads, I slapped my 12" Smart parts tear drop barrel (Lookin' for a short consistent barrel, it is the one!), screwed my HPA tank and a hopper with 50rds. I don't have a chrono so I'm not sure what is was shooting at. It shot damn good. I could consistently hit a post at about 60 ft. It is hard to sight down the sights though with the stock. I folded the stock and sighted down the sights. It was fairly accurate with the sights.
Features:
Front shroud- very strong considering it is help with one screw. The 4 picatinny rails are going to be very handy! It comes with a front sling mount. Soon it will be getting a folding front grip.
Folding stock- I give tippmann an A+ for it. It is strong and simple.
Clip tool kit- great design. The tools fit very tight, no rattling! Always know where your wrenches are and keep them from getting lost or taking up your pockets.
IT IS A TIPPMANN- great customer service! E-grip, RT and Cyclone feed compatible!
I have not stripped it yet but it is supposed to be very close the 98 which is very simple, for me of course i've had mine since 2004.
Conclusion: I recommend it! It met all my expectations. I would get it for rentals no doubt. Maybe mix in some alpha blacks since I would expect the same quality out of them. I give it an 8 which is high for me. A 10 would be a gun i would never put down.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cuzmando Sunday, August 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98
Marker Setup: Tippmann (TPN) Sierra One a.k.a. Project Salvo (known as Sierra One outside the U.S.)
Tacamo Arc Loader (fastest gravity fed hopper)
Trinity vertical grip with bipod (retractable)
One inch riser die-cast aluminium weaver rail
NcStar 1x25 compact red/green dot reflex sight
Strengths: Solid construction
Versatility
Picatinny rails
Tightening feedneck
Highly customisable
Weaknesses: Weight, but not really an issue
Review: This product is amazing, I am yet to fire it, but from the videos on youtube it looks very good. the folding butt stock is very versatile to adapt to gameplay and the six lengths make it good for everyone.

The tightening allen bolt on the feednack is awesome, I can hold the marker by the hopper and it won't fall off, although the marker is quite weighty it shouldn't be a problem for adults. The picatinny rails make it very customisable, and save you having to buy and install rails as you'd have to on an alpha black. With the top picatinny rail all you need is a one inch riser to fit a reflex sight (riser needed becaue your mask will no allow you to get your eye low enough)

The marker feels very solid and could handle a bit of abuse, not as solid as a real gun but solid enough. There are attachment eyes for slings, very handy due to the weight. my set up with no remote, CO2 tank or paintballs, weighs about 2.7kg or 6lbs. so it is a bit heavy but feels realistic. the iron sights are good but I chose to use a reflex sight over them as I like the reflex sight better and is better to use with a mask on, the iron sights, although looking authentic are too low for use with a mask on.

Conclusion: If you want a milsim marker then look no further, the looks and adaptability of this marker make it the best marker for the price on the market, with one guy on youtube actually prefering it to his X7, it can be upgraded easily (can add a cyclone feed, e-grip, response trigger etc) and it really does look the part. the only downside I think is that you can't put a double trigger on it, but that doesn't bother me. Best of all, you know it is reliable because it's a tippmann. It does require a bit of patience when taking it apart, no field stripping, but overall its an awesome marker, for the price and styling there is nothing better!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media