paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman 2009 spyder pilot w/ eyes / Kingman 2009 spyder pilot w/ eyes / Kingman 2009 spyder pilot w/ eyes / Kingman 2009 spyder pilot w/ eyes

Kingman 2009 spyder pilot w/ eyes Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman 2009 spyder pilot w/ eyes

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman 2009 spyder pilot w/ eyes
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 17
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $159

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
+All New Clamping Collar Feedneck
+ LEAP™ Circuit Board with Rear Facing Color Access Mode Display (CAMD) Developed by Tadao® Technologies
+ Aluminum Eye Covers
+ 3-Way Adjustable Magnetic Response “Saber” Trigger
+ Reduced Overall Profile (25% Lighter and 15% Shorter)
+ Break Beam Eye (Anti-Chop System)
+ 3 Modes of Operation (Semi-Auto, Ramp PSP, & Ramp Millennium)
+ Steel Braided Hose Line
+ Up to 25 BPS Rate of Fire
+ Quick Release Delrin Bolt
+ 11” Micro Ported Barrel
+ All Aluminum Constructed Body
+ Recessed Dual Texture Grip Panels
+ High Impact Polymer Trigger Frame
+ Standard CA Thread Foregrip Expansion Chamber and Vertical Adapter
+ Compatible with a Spyder 9.6v Rechargeable Battery or a Premium 9v Alkaline Battery
+ External Velocity Adjuster
+ Operates on CO2 or Compressed Air
Product Availability 
The Kingman 2009 spyder pilot w/ eyes are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
junits15 Thursday, April 14th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom/model 98
Invert mini
Azodin Kaos
Azodin Blitz
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot 2009
sound activation modified viewloader force (uprading to a fasta soon)
20oz guerrialla CO2 (upgrading to a ninja 68/45 soon)
Invert Helix thermal mask
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Electric loader is a MUST
Air tank
regulator
macroline
tech-t hushbot (not 100% necessary but nice to have)
Strengths: Simple design
easy to clean
uses air/co2
clamping feedneck
tadao board
standard fittings
Weaknesses: A little heavy
feedneck requires allen key
no regulator
stock barrel is loud and inaccurate
Review: So this is my first real marker, and its been good and bad

So when I first got it it came in a package with a shake n' shoot which I easily outshot coating the entire gun in a layer of paint

After that I bought a crappy viewloader force because it was the cheapest hopper I could find, ended up making a board for the hopper so its sound activated. When I used the hopper at my local field for the first the batteries were dead so I chopped all day long. That was because of my own stupidity not because of the gun.

once I got some new 9v batteries I could say that this gun is very nice. with a good loader it never chops........ever. Unless you shoot crappy paint or use a shake n' shoot.

since I don't have air the expansion chamber is nice but I'm planning on a regulator once I get an air tank.

A nice change from the VS line is that the regulator ASA is FINALLY a standard sized female ASA!! So you can put a good high quality regulator on there.

All of the other fittings on the gun are now also standard which is an accomplishment for Kingman.

The included board is nice but you can fit a Spyder VS board with the tadao upgrade chip, a Spyder VS virtue board or the pilot 09 upgrade board that is available. The upgrade board is only like $15 so its worth the money. The Virtue and VS boards work but they don't have the CAMD screen and the battery charging port doesn't line up with the hole on the body.

The feedneck is nice, but it requires an allen key so it takes time to take off and put on the loader. You could upgrade it but it's never been that much of a problem for me so its up to you to decide if you need it.



Conclusion: This is a great gun to start with, simple operation, good price and straightforward operation. Get a good electronic loader like a pinokio or a fasta and an air tank if you want the gun to preform at its 100% best.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 14th, 2011 at 3:45 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bigmags226 Wednesday, February 16th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Spyder pilot 09, empire magna drive, cp classic barrel 14', 47/3000 hpa tank, jt raptor mask, proto jersey
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get a new barrel, but the stock barrel is ok. use hpa and get a decent electronic hopper.
Strengths: Consistent, accurate, light, easy to take apart, trigger, the board,
Weaknesses: It chops sometimes even with eyes on, stock barrel
Review: The spyder pilot 09 is a really good gun for under 150 dollars. The eyes work, but i would get a new barrel. Its very light and easy to take apart. Also the tadao board is excellent. The stock barrel isnt bad but its pretty good. I would get a new barrel like the cp classic. Also. make sure you use hpa instead of c02.
Conclusion: Great gun for under 150 dollars.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JeffHart24 Friday, January 28th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot with Eyes

I use a Spyder Fasta Electronic Hopper (30bps)
It also is upgraded to a Ceramic 14in barrel.
Rechargable 9v battery as well.
68ci/4500psi Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgrade the Barrel, Hopper and Tank.
Strengths: Hitting 25bps right out of the box is VERY impressive.

Not 1 chopped ball.
Weaknesses: No true weakness at all.
Review: For the money, 129.99 for the gun, 69 for the nice hopper, 35 for the barrel, and around 150 for the nice-lightweight tank was a solid deal for me.

Markers run from 50 bucks to 1500 bucks and this, to me, is a solid gun.

If you want to be able to lay down some paint and not spend a fortune to do so, this is your marker.

The upgrades are not necessary but will make the gun more consistent.
Conclusion: As a beginner, if you want a marker that will hold its own vs the 700-1000 markers, this is a great buy.

I strongly suggest you upgrade the various parts as I did, so you can get the most out of your marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JiuJitsu500 Wednesday, January 19th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Older Spyders of all kinds (especially my Imagine), Nothing quite like this though.
Marker Setup: Custom ION - 14" SP Linear, Fasta, NitroDuck 68/45 w/Guerilla Reg, The only remaining stock part after 4 years or so is the breech, everything else is maxed upgraded.

Psycho Ballistics Superbolt - TechT Ifit w/ stock barrel, PMI 68/3000, Halo B Victory and other upgrades, Lots of small upgrades.

Back-up/Project marker '09 Spyder Pilot - LP Setup (320 psi @ 300 fps) w/CP Shorty Reg and Maddman Rocket Valve, Vlocity Jr w/Dynasty Kit, Geurilla Air, 12" J&J S2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Low Pressure Conversion since you didn't buy an electra (I like to tinker though, so just an opinion... but LP is always easier on the marker and paint, among a slew of other benefits)
Barrel later
Feed neck clamp (no need to replace the entire thing unless you like the super low-pro, but the screw just won't do for me)
Cosmetic as you choose, like a drop, etc...
HPA
Strengths: Cheap, reliable, eyes, Trigger (opinion), Accurate, price, looks (opinion)
Weaknesses: Feed neck clamp, For a little more, you can get an electra, Kick
Review: I got this for my girlfriend originally in a package deal online, but fell in love when I hooked it up to a machine at a local park to see if 25 bps was true, and took it from her. As it turns out, it hit over 20 without the eyes on, and with paint the Vlocity Jr became a prize of mine as well when it fired (on video) at 20 bps without any issues. However, it was HPA, I'm sure CO2 would cause a lot of trouble that fast. Since I can't shoot anywhere near that fast (unless you're ramping, neither can you), about half while actually playing.... we'll skip the crap and say it is DEFINATELY capable of 20 bps, not so sure about 25, but it held it's own. CO2 is fine, for the not-so-speedy casual shot, you won't have any issues.

So, it's fast. Very fast, beat out the ion in speed (semi).

Accuracy though, was nothing compared to the high-end EP and Cockers we had of course, but it's stock barrel did a very nice job. Hit a pumpkin with every ball at 20 meters or so at 10-12 bps. No need for a new barrel at the start, but it would never hurt. With my J&J S2, it kills...

The eyes worked flawlessly. No chops at all with decent paint (DXS basic training or better), ever. Not ONE, which shocked me because my Imagine with eyes still chopped from time to time. 3 or 4 cases later, not one.

For a beginning marker that's pretty upgradable and a very nice price tag, there is not one on the market that will do what this one can I believe. For the intermidiate player as well, I'd take this thing to you and beg you to outshoot it, just to watch the competition. It's a damn fine marker.

The PSP and Mil ramp crap is stupid, I hate ramping. It's around 12-13 bps (after reaching 6 or so) I think on PSP, and Mil is slower, 10 or so at 4 or 5 trigger pulls per second. Since I hate anything but semi unless it's legal on the field (haven't been to one that is except a pro field in California), I won't comment on it. It works though, very well. Just a little slow without a chip compared of course to higher. But if you like ramping, go ahead, this thing will take you on a long date and never give up.

I can't be harsh on it, Kingman is always a favorite of mine, regardless of my Primary weapon. I have a Low-Pressure '09 Pilot as my back-up without a doubt, and I won't change for a long time.
Conclusion: Buy this if you like upgrading your own stuff. Get an electra if not. Simply put, you're not going to find a better gun for under $140, period. With some mods/upgrades, this thing is still a spyder, but it will rip with the best of them. The kick will always be there in a blowback marker, but go LP and lighten the springs and it is hugely reduced.

GREAT marker
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 15th, 2011 at 2:12 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballownz31 Sunday, December 19th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom platinum ACT
flatline
expansion chamber
techt act zero kick bolt
rap4 aluminum powertube and bolt
techt fang trigger
cyclone feed

spyder pilot 09/10 with eyes
Recommended
Upgrades:
better bolt
electric hopper
new barrel
Strengths: Shoots fast, accurate, and is easy to maintain.
Weaknesses: chops paint alot even with eyes on
pretty loud
NOT air efficient
Review: I got this gun back in june because i wanted a back up in case i needed it. It shoots very accurate and is easy to maintain. It's great for beginners too. All i would recommend is getting an electric hopper and a new barrel. It also runs very good on co2 but it does run out of air easily.Overall i think this gun is perfect for a beginner/intermediate player looking for good gun.
Conclusion: This gun is great for beginner/intermediate players. It also makes a great back up gun in case your main gun breaks or if someone elses gun breaks or if they need one to borrow
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hawaiian_bread Wednesday, September 15th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot with eyes, 14" CP Barrel, VL Force Hopper, Guerilla 48/3000
Update: 16" CP one piece barrel, Invert Halo Too Hopper, Ninja 68/4500, Planet Eclipse OOPS ASA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, HPA, hopper, feedneck, on/off asa
Strengths: Electronic, Eyes, Tadao board, accurate, fast, light
Weaknesses: None
Review: I recently got to try out my new marker at the field and I must say I'm impressed. I'm a beginner when it comes to paintballing so my review is based solely upon a full day use. When I got to the field, I started off with testing out the velocity to see if it meets the feilds standards. Straight from the box my shots stayed pretty consistent around 240-245 using a 48/3000 guerilla tank and the field standard was set at max 280. So I decided to just play with the current setting and went with my group to our first field.

Now, this was the first time I've used my new Pilot marker on the field and I was extremely satisfied with the accuracy and no chopping. I went through roughly about 1,500 paintballs that day and I did not get a single chop. The VL Force hopper was decent as I didn't get any jamming but it's just too loud, so definitely going to upgrade the hopper. But as goes for the marker, I absolutely will recommend this for beginners. The Pilot added with a good hopper, barrel and HPA makes quite the awesome marker which I'm sure I'll be using for a long while as I'm just a casual player.

EDIT: So i've played 3 full days with this marker now and I absolutely love it! I know it's a "Spyder" so there are a lot of doubt with this marker but I'm sure I'll just continue using this marker instead upgrading to a better on. I also got my girl the same marker and she's having too much fun with it.
Conclusion: Highly recommend this marker for beginners or just casual players like me. It's affordable, light weight and very accurate straight from the box. After watching me and testing out my marker, my gf is actually wanting one as well! =)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 21st, 2010 at 12:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tribalgod Monday, June 21st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 custom, Almost all of the Spyders
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, feedneck
(both preference)
Strengths: Accuracy
25 balls per second
sleek and sexy
CO2 or HPA
Lightweight
Weaknesses: Feed neck
Review: I bout this gun a couple weeks ago and I have loved it. I play every weekend with my friends and this gun has given me the best accuracy. Its very lightweight and maneuverable. The feedneck can be a little laggy at points but its very easy and cheap to replace. I bought this gun at zephrypaintball.com and received it very cheap. It came in a package. Overall this gun is absolutely amazing for beginners thru intermediate players.
Conclusion: Buy it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Atrain92 Sunday, May 9th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: spyder pilot with eyes, CP 14 inch barrel, and a HPA 3000psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get a barrel, the stock one is a little short.
Strengths: Doesn't chop
Very fast
Cheap
Really easy to maintain
Weaknesses: A little small for me .
Review: Thanks to the eyes I still have never had a chop and don't really need to bring a squeegie to the field. I have a halo hopper so it can keep up with anything my gun puts out. Maintainence is a breeze just pull out the bolt then clean everything out and then a few drips of oil and slip the bolt back in that easy. It's very consistent as well with air and each shot follows right behind the other. I've seen this gun with a mask, cheap hopper, co2 tank and some squeegies and such for 160. I bought it from extreme though for around 381 with a nice mask and hopper.
Conclusion: I think any beginner who wants to stay under 200 for a gun should get this. I have had no problems what so ever and am very happy with my choice.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

PaintedPancake Wednesday, May 5th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot ACS '05
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot 09
Custom Products 14" Barrel -OR- 32* Terminator Barrel
Custom Products Razor Dropforward
Custom Products Dovetail On/Off ASA
Viewloader Force

SECONDARY

Spyder Victor 09
VL200
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
Barrel
Strengths: Eyes
Fast
Compact
Board
2-Button mode setting
Weaknesses: Feedneck
None other than that
Review: I got this gun in Katy (near Houston) at Pro Edge Paintball for my birthday. I got it for $160-170, probably because it was from a pro shop.

-PROS-

EYES- I shot this gun around 15-20 times in my backyard, on different days in different weather conditions, and have had NO CHOPS OR BREAKS whatsoever ever since I got it. I usually use Impact, XBall, or Recon Camo paintballs, made by ProCaps, one of the best paintball makers in the world. Maybe that's why, or maybe it's my $13 32* Terminator barrel, or the eyes, I don't know. But I am purely amazed that I have had no chops or breaks since I got the gun. Ever.

FASTNESS- This gun is very fast. I think Kingman advertises 20-25 BPS, but i'm not really sure. I think I got it up to 13-15 BPS, since this is my first electronic marker and I'm still getting used to walking triggers. I've seen videos where people got it up to 20 BPS or so.

COMPACT- This gun isn't exatly "small" as in tallness, I think it's about the same as other markers in that category. But it is very compact, as in everything is close together, overall reducing length. The gas-thru-foregrip is almost touching the trigger guard, allowing me to play very tight.

BOARD- This gun comes stock with a Tadao board, which is a very good board to upgrade to, and the fact Kingman just threw it in as stock is just awesome. The board has three settings- Semi, Ramp PSP, and Ramp Millenium. Throw on a Viewloader Force or another good, cheap electronic loader and you're golden.

2-BUTTON MODE SETTING- Setting the modes are very easy. You don't even have to read the manual. It might take you 5 minutes to figure it out. All you do is press the power button to turn it on, press & hold the big M to get the SEMI mode blinking, press it again to get the mode you want, hold the M button to set that mode, and press it again to turn the safety off. To turn the eyes on/off, just press the power button. It's alot easier than it sounds.

The Spyder Pilot 09 came with a barrel sock in the box. I don't know if all manufacturers throw those in, but it was just nice.


-CONS-

FEEDNECK- The feedneck comes loose after shooting it a little. I don't know if it's because I'm shooting Co2, my velocity is too high, or my Viewloader Force is adding too much weight to one side. I would definately upgrade the feedneck, which doesn't cost much at all.

I would also like to add that the people at Pro Edge Paintball in Katy were very nice and helpful. I was asking alot of dumb questions, like what does ramping mean, and they told me with a straight face and not the slightest sound of smart ass in their voice. They even said that I should wait and save up for the Invert Mini. But I denied, as I've been wanting this gun since Christmas. Their prices aren't bad at all, either.

*EDIT* After a day of play, I've experienced only 1 or 2 barrel breaks, most likely to do with field grade paint.
Conclusion: I would definately get this gun for a begginer or intermdiate player. It's very fast, compact, and very easy to learn how to use. It comes with a Tadao board stock, which is very nice. Just upgrade the feedneck as a start and you're golden.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 15th, 2010 at 7:22 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Logan_pb23 Friday, April 30th, 2010
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Proto Slg
other Spyders
pirhana
blow backs
Marker Setup: ICD promaster
cp reg
Invert halo too
Pure Energy 72/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel thats it dont evr up a electro blowback
Strengths: Price.
looks.
nothing really :/
Weaknesses: Horrible gun starts firing randomly chops like a mother efferi hated it
Review: OKay so this gun spyder pilot sounds like a lagit gun. RIGHTTT??? NO! i hated it random firing chopping i dont know kingmans custamer service sucks i do not recomend this gun if it were $20 id buy it :/ i really really hate this gun BAD product NEver buy a spyder you can get an icd promaster for cheaper and trust me it shoots alot better ive not chopped with my promaster. ive owned all these guns

Worr Machine RG
Proto SLG
SPyder Pilot
ICD promaster

the cheapest oneis the worr machine but the second cheapest is the promaster and its alot better than the slg or pilot just dont buy this gun
Conclusion: Just dont get it
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media