paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / AKA Tornado Valve / AKA Tornado Valve / AKA Tornado Valve / AKA Tornado Valve / AKA Tornado Valve

AKA Tornado Valve Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount AKA

Buy AKA Tornado Valve

Paintball Autococker Valves

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


AKA Tornado Valve
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 20
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $79

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Tornado valve for the autococker Tired of running out of air? The tornado valve increases your efficiency (on order of 2000+ shoots per 20oz co2 tank). Can be used on Co2, Nitrogen or compressed air (must use regulator) Low pressure, 150-250 psi input. Manufactured of high-qualtiy heat-treated stainless steel
Product Availability 
The AKA Tornado Valve is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
jon_doe48 Tuesday, February 10th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
3:16RAT VALVE
WGP ORRICLE VALVE
WGP STO VALVE
Marker Setup: 07 Macdev Cyborg w/ PBK Saber Delrin Trigger
06 ego w/ dark frame, violent trigger, M7 tadao board, and warped sportz titanium rammer
CP on/off
KAPP drop forward
68/4500 pmi tank
dye rhino cover
14" Stiffi switch kit
Strengths: Low operating pressure
Easy to install
Great customer service
Avalible for most common markers
Weaknesses: Pricey, but worth it
Hard to find
Review: Never thought I would buy this valve based on the price, but was then blown away to find out that one was available online for a steal of a price. After purchasing it, installing it, and taking it out for a test run, i have now purchased 3 more straight from the factory at full price. I average about 2400 shot from a 68/4500 tank with my ProStock cocker pump, 2200 from my SuperStock E2 cocker as well as my 03 vertical cocker, and 2300 from my 05 black magic.

Customer service was amazing. When i lost the stem from my valve, they were more than happy to provide one to me.
Conclusion: Though expensive, these valves are worth every cent spent. This is the best upgrade, performance wise, that you can get for your marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Grin Reaper Saturday, April 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock valves
Marker Setup: Hollow point 3-way , Jam-anti chop bolt, jackal 90*swing, reloader B, on a mech autococker what else matters??
How many times have you seen a ref ask a guy with a mech. cocker if he had it on auto?
www.madcocker.com for the bolt.!!!
Strengths: Very low pressure
Increased accuracy
2000+ balls from my 16oz. co2
Weaknesses: Only fits genuine worr bodies (the only ones worth buying)
Review: This vavle coupled with a kapp low pressure chamber, aka hammer and matched spring kit, aka 2-liter second reg., palmers female stabilizer ( which is neccessary to run co2 on the 2-liter) is awesome.
I run at 180 psi !!!

Just do yourself a favour and start with the matched hammed and spring kit.
Conclusion: Great buy!! just match it with an aka hammer and spring kit.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SocraticB Thursday, May 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock valve
ANS valve
Red Valve
Palmer's vavlve
Powerlyte
STO
Marker Setup: 2004 WGP Karnivor with stock pneumatics and Planet Eclipse E2 Eblade upgrade.

1999 Right Feed WGP 'cocker with Bomb, Planet Hinge, Palmer's Ram/LPR, AKA Sidewinder, AKA Tornado Valve, AKA Lightining Bolt
Strengths: Flow
Build Quality
Reliability
Weaknesses: Price
Review: I've used AKA's Tornado Valve on all the 'cockers I've built or upgraded. I don't use any other, as this one is the best I've found (when I find a product that tops the competition, I stick with it). My impressions are:

I. STRENGTHS

Fit & Finish

The Tornado is well-made, with no milling marks. The interior of the valve body is smooth and polished, and the piston has no burrs and the seat seals well. It is clearly high-flow, as it is bored extremely wide.

Flow

The Tornado's flow is astounding. I dropped an old '99 right feed from needing 600psi minimum input down to about 250psi input from an adjustable HPA tank. The higher flow and reduced psi input dropped the sound signature in both volume and tone, as well. The marker is now low pressure AND significantly quieter - perfect for woodsball. I have noticed no drop-off or shootdown at high rates of fire. The front pneumatics appear to be more consistent, as well.

Reliability

I've had this valve since early 2002; never needed to replace the seat or troubleshoot the valve. It's worked perfectly, and consistently, since it was installed.

II. WEAKNESSES

Price

The Tornado is one of the most expensive valves out there - like most AKA products, it ain't cheap. However, I have found it to be the best, bar none, and worth the price.
Conclusion: The Tornado, especially when coupled with a Tornado bolt, Palmer LPR, Sidewinder reg, and Bomb 3-way, produces the lowest pressure, most reiable and fastest mech 'cockers I've ever used. Can't be beat on specs. However, if you are low on cash, and only need a valve that works and don't need low pressure,, you may want to look elsewhere.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JaYeM Sunday, September 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock valve.
Marker Setup: 3003 VF Autococker, Palmers Micro-Rock, The Bomb 3-Way, Belsales 44 Magnum Ram, MacDev 2004 Gladiator Inline Regulator, Shocktech Rebuildable Ball Detent, Dye Beavertail, Empire Drop-Forward with On/Off Valve, Crossfire 4500 Blue Tab, AKALMP Tornado Valve, Maddman Springs, Orracale Bolt...
Strengths: The Tornado is made out of heat-treated stainless steel. Extremely high-flow. Lifetime warranty.
Weaknesses: Expensive. Tricky installation. Leaks a bit until the cup-seal adjusts itself.
Review: I bought this valve because of its and AKALMP's reputation. I must say that its reputation is well-earned. it's got a huge air hole for maximum flow and tha valve rod is milled to reduce its diameter for that more little bit of air inside the valve. It's a bit tricky to install but I'd guess all autococker valves are. I'm no airsmith but was able to do it in about 5 minutes armed with 2 drops of oil for the o-ring, a bit of white grease to hold the valve spring up, and lots of patience. I can't say at what pressure my marker was operating before I installed the Tornado because I did not have a gauge at that time but now my marker can shoot pretty consistently 8-9 bps at 160psi. The marker is now extremely quiet and efficient. I can shoot around 1500 rounds on one 68ci/4500 psi tank filled to around 4000psi.
Conclusion: Graeat valve. You know it's good just by looking at it. If you want to change tour valve to have a more efficient marker or a lower-pressure one, install the Tornado (or have it installed). Nothing compares to a low-pressure autococker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

toothpastedog Saturday, July 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
rat 3:16 w/ phat hammer, red valve w/ hammer kit, and free flow valve w/ tungston hammer
Marker Setup: impulse vision, max-flo, hsw front grip, k2 werm trigger, voodoo bolt, tapeworm, nd front cap, nd bio cap, sp brass hammer, strange derlin bolt pin, silk shot ram, rip valve, smart grips, twister lr, freak, ti boomstick, halo, warp (don't use it that much due to halo), and a old angel led frame converted to fit on my impulse (w/ some mods) made by imperial (werm) paintball. i thinks that's it.
Strengths: very low pressure
Weaknesses: not as fast w/ aka hammer when compaired to freeflow
Review: this is an extremely low pressure valve and the best valve on the market for most cocker users. for sum reason this valve and hammer kit (it tested the aka valve and aka hammer kit) wasn't as fast as the free flow valve and hammer. maybe it was some odd defect, cause i've never heard of it before. even so i would rather recomend getting this to a rat for almost any cocker. the reason i didn't say every cocker is because the cockers outfitted w/ eclipse blades or racegun frames might not be able to preform to their fullness of the valve. for a cocker w/ an electronic 3-way and trigger frame i would suggest getting a free flow valve, which isn't the best valve on the market, paired with a tungston (i don't think i spelled it 'write') hammer. overal this is the BEST SINGLE VALVE on the market right now. it has the lowest operating pressure which is a big plus. the downsides to this valve is that it tends to be slightly more temperature tempermental than others, but it isn't really a problem. this valve is hard to install and i recomend getting a cocker tech to do it for you (it's not hard, it just takes 20-40 minutes, i did it in 30 something, but it took my friend almost an hour, but that's just because he's retarted, ha).
Conclusion: the main downside to this greatest of great aka product (as all of aka's products are) is that it can cost 69.99$-90$ which is allot to spend on just a valve (you can get the free flow valve and tungston hammer kit w/ acouple other goodies for 69.99$). it you want your non-electronic cocker to work at its best, get this valve
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jiveturkey Saturday, June 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
red valve stock valve
Marker Setup: custom cocker
-r.d.l. mini body
-fgp reg/ bomb 4way
-palmer ram
-gladiator reg
-p&p frame/ shocktech assembly
-akalmp internals
Strengths: -super low pressure
-super efficient
-works well with aka internals
Weaknesses: the price
you need a very specific marker setup
Review: this will turn even the wimpiest of cockers into beasts. okay not really however if you want the very best here it is. the price is somewhat restricting but if you have the money, spend it on this. if not, then you should buy the RED valve from macdev, which is superior in that you dont need as....perfect a setup to run it well. this thing pays for itself
Conclusion: buy it if you have the money, and be prepared to spend more on squeezing the most out of it. however, its rocks when you get it set right
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AncientSpear Monday, May 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock 2k2 valve
Marker Setup: 2k2 Autococker VF with matching Freak Barrel System (16"), Belsales Hollopoint 3-Way, ANS "Jackhammer II" front regulator, Belsales Evolution "38 special" SMC Ram, Shocktech "Mini" drop forward, AKA Sidewinder inline reg, AKA Tornado Valve, Maddman Springs, Centerflag Uprising Frame, Boonie Boys skull 3-way hats Halo-B (+Richochet 2k backup), Crossfire 68ci 450/4500psi with a Dye "Rhino" Tank Cover
Strengths: permits much lower operating pressure and has a definate consistency/efficiency increase over stock
Weaknesses: instructions could be better
Review: needed help from a friend to install it as the instructions were a tad shakey. when installed with light/medium maddman spring combo i noticed a definate reduction in the sound signature of my setup. a local pro shop/field owner told me "man that's quiet"

requires a high flow bolt like the aka lightning or stock WGP for full advantage
Conclusion: worked for me, i don't see why it wouldn't for you. if you've never replaced a valve b4 consult help from someone that has for installation
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SephirothOWA Sunday, December 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock valve
Marker Setup: '01 Autococker- Blade Hinge, ANS Pneumatics, Orracle bolt, ANS inline Reg, Dye Ultralite, AKA Tornado Valve, ACI Hammer kit, WGP 15 degree ASA
Strengths: It is a GREAT low pressure valve. It needs much less air than it does with your stock valve. It also keeps your fps about the same.
Weaknesses: The price is about all I can think of I mean $70 for something smaller than my finger is a lot of money, but you get what you pay for.
Conclusion: This is a great upgrade if you are going all out on upgradeing you gun, but its not really a needed one. Price is really high so it gets a 9.5 but I guess I'll round up.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

-?- HoFF Tuesday, June 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock valve, that's about it.
Marker Setup: 99 cocker with.....
-12" Dye Stainless Steel barrel
-Black Shocktech Bomb 3-way
-Blue STO Ram
-Black KAPP Rhino Cocking reg
-Chrome Ergo inline Reg
-Chrome WGP Hinge Trigger
-Blue KAPP f/x Beavertail
-Shocktech Supafly Bolt
AKALMP Tornado Valve (HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!)
-Blue CP Flame Drop Forward
-48/3k PMI tank (I need a bigger one)
-12v clear revvy
Strengths: This product is an absolute must if you expect to go low pressure. Although I have not had a gauge to check how much it improved, I can tell by how my guns shoots that it made my gun a lot lower pressure. This valve makes the Cocker MUCH MORE accurate and I get a lot more shots out of my tank. I got this valve to go low pressure and so far it has surpassed my expectations, and then some.
Weaknesses: Well it was very, very hard to install. It didn't come with instructions, but that wasn't a biggie.
Conclusion: If you go low pressure or not, you need this valve for the ultimate Cocker performance. Supreme accuracy and efficiency make this the best valve for an Autococker ever!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, March 29th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months22 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
RAT III 3:16 valve
Marker Setup: Black Magic 2002 Tourney- with sight rail-full stock version
Odessey Halo Motorized Hopper
T-stock
50mm military standard sniper scope, adapted to the sight rail with 3 lug nuts
Hotshot 30mm red dot sniper scope (piece of junk)
Red fiber flourescence sight.

Stripped down and add-ons for different fields and conditions:

Gen X Phase II 3D adj. reg. / Thor adjustable regulator with gas through foregrip.
WGP hinge (2.5 to 4.5mm) / Dye Pivot Hinge (3 to 5mm pull)
Various hammer kits to use...
Smart Part 68/4500 and 88/4500 / CenterFlag HighFlow 68/4500
Lapco 12", 14", and 16" Bigshot / 12", 14" Dye Boomstick / 14" SS 32 Degrees Fiber barrels
Shockteck Bomb-3 way (4-way..?)
AKALM 3-way
Shocktech Rat 3:16 valve
AKALM Tornado valve
Shocktech SupaFly bolt (piece of crap..rather stick to my stock)
AKALM Lightning Bolt (good for LP on cold days..bad on hot and humid days..)
Strengths: First thing first, those who just post short segment about their valves need to be more specific...the statements "Good" and "Just get it" indicate that you're either too illiterate to evaluate the product, or you don't know what you're talking about. There are quite a few amount of people out there asking for information, and you're not giving it to them. Be their educators guys.

Now, for the info. Shocktech RAT III is nothing to sneeze at. But if you have the extra money in your piggy bank, get the Tornado. For those using the RAT III and attempt to crank it all the way down to 180-200psi, and claim that you're still shooting at 280-300fps with dead accuracy, I think you're in the cloud somewhere. 25 of my friends and I all bought the valves (RAT III and Tornado), and assemble both on the fields. 14 of which are licensed airsmiths. We were at SC Village in California, with the day's temperature at 86, low humidity, no wind. RAT III: Lowest operating pressure of 205, with chronoed speed of 290fps with stock bolts. Second up was 190 fps at 280fps. Then with the AKALM Lightnigh bolt. Lowest was 190psi for 280fps. Second up was 195psi for 275fps, both with deadly accuracy of +-3 square inch of the target 70 feet away.

Tornado valve. The best precise hit with +-1 square inch with both stock and Lightnigh bolt at a target 70 feet away, using a variety of autocockers, Matrices, Angels, and even Spyders. Lowest coming in at 185 psi at 320fps. Second lowest at 190psi at 310fps.

The 4 speeds mentioned above were from an Angel IR3, 2001 Black Magic, 2002 Black Magic, and STO 2000 Autococker.
Weaknesses: Hard to install. VERY hard to install. It took an average of 20 minutes for the airsmiths to shove them in at first. But after removing them a couple of times, they shove them in without any problem in 10 minutes or so...Expensive...We have to loose 5 days of lunch money because of these valves..
Conclusion: Worth the purchase. Yep. Save up the cash. Buy it with the Lightning bolt. They work great together. Recommendation to get Nelson springs as well. A pair of soft and hard springs. Stock springs will still do nicely, but the Nelson, for some reason everyone favored over, are quite better.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media