paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann X7 Phenom / Tippmann X7 Phenom / Tippmann X7 Phenom / Tippmann X7 Phenom

Tippmann X7 Phenom Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann X7 Phenom

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann X7 Phenom
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 16
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $400

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The X7 Phenom with FlexValve Technology is the first electro-pneumatic paintball marker to offer the combination of improved air efficiency, superior accuracy, manual or electronic mode firing, and the flexibility of CO2 or compressed air usage. The new FlexValve operates below 300 PSI for improved air efficiency allowing you to get over 1,400 shots from a 68 cubic inch 4500 psi tank. Also, due to its Spool Valve design, recoil is virtually eliminated for improved accuracy.


As an added benefit, the Phenom’s searless design incorporates fewer wear parts, making maintenance easier than ever. Best of all, because this new marker is built around the existing X7 platform, the Phenom–which is nearly 3 inches shorter than the X7–can still accept more than 20 current X7 mods and upgrades, including the popular Flatline Barrel.
Players have never been offered such a complete package – the performance of a tournament marker…the flexibility of a mechanical marker…the durability of a Tippmann…and the ability to customize their marker with thousands of different looks. With the new X7 Phenom priced similar to the current X7 with eGrip, the X7 Phenom truly is in a class of its own.


Other great features include:
New compact and lightweight aluminum body
Pushpin construction for easy field stripping
All-metal trigger for enhanced stability
Three position selector switch – with third position having five firing modes
Magnetically activated hall effect electronics
Quick release magazine with built-in tool storage
The internal gasline and lack of cocking handle offer a more realistic look
Redesigned Cyclone Feed System paddles feed up to 20 balls-per-second without batteries
Piccatinny top rail to easily add new sights or handles
Compatible with air-thru stocks
Removable front and rear sights
Low profile, offset hopper for clear line of sight
Modular foregrip with two rails to add sights and scopes
Internal regulator with new external velocity adjustment (tool required)
9.5” high performance, stone-honed barrel
Includes maintenance pack, barrel blocking device, and marker lubricant
Two year marker warranty
Made in the USA
Product Availability 
The Tippmann X7 Phenom is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
IrishVik Friday, April 2nd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha, A5
Marker Setup: X7 Phenom, picatinny rail riser, RAP4 metal buttstock adapter, CCA buttstock, adjustable cheek rest, 12" Stiffi barrel
Strengths: Consistency, compact, electromechanical.
Weaknesses: Drop mag, battery door latch flimsy
Review: I'm a huge fan of the Phenom. Last year I literally considered selling all of my gear and giving up PB because of the last three markers I have owned, all three have been a maintenance nightmare which ultimately led to inconsistent shots, misfires, breaks, and a rotten day at the fields. I picked up a Phenom dreading the same eventual consistency to fail, but the marker has been by far the most reliable woodsball style marker I've ever owned or played with.

I can't tell you how long it has been since I've went a full day without a break. I'm on my fifth outing this year with no breaks what-so-ever. And considering some of the junk paint I've been forced to use, that is saying something. No need to get into all the details that everyone else has already went into, but in short at the end of the day my fps is steady, my groupings are 6" @ ~ 50', no breaks, and I've been rained on twice with no issues.
Conclusion: In a nutshell its your expected Tippmann bulletproofness in an electro-mechanical. You will not be unhappy if you pick one up.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

patriot12 Friday, February 26th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom and a-5
Marker Setup: tippmann x7 phenom straightline barrel

Recommended
Upgrades:
stock I'm thinking about getting the g36 folding stock
Strengths: Fast
Loud (read review)
Easy to program
Switch from electric to mechanical
5 modes
Weaknesses: Kick ( review)
Loud
Broke paint (review)
Fast
Price is expensive for a Tippmann
Review: First Opening the Box: (not really important just my experience when i opened the box.)

I bought a x7 phenom on Ebay last Saturday and it was suppose to come in yesterday but something happened in the delivery and it was delayed a day. When i first took it out of the box i noticed it was about the same size as the a-5 and a little heavier. i started to put it together, opened up the mag to see how it would store tools etc. i got to the shroud and it was difficult to slide on. once i got it on i had problems getting the push pins to go in so i had to hammer them in with the back of my screw driver. i got it on and tried to put my straightline, it was the one i used on my a-5 so i wanted to see if it fit, and it would not go in the shroud so i had to take apart the shroud and take out this ring sized for the stock barrel. once i took that out the sizers still wouldn't go in so i had to take off the fore grip and put the sizers on before i put the barrel on. after that i took apart the gun to see how easy it was to get the fire system out which was easy enough but not so easy that i could do it without tools ( the push pins are tight). i put it back together and decided i was ready to shoot the gun. so i took it out hook up the co2 and started shooting.

Actual Shooting:

I started shooting and forgot that i didn't put paint in the hopper. so i put some cheap paint in and started shooting. when i started shooting about every 1 in 5 paintballs would break and there was a lot of wild paint balls. well i start to think why this is happening and then i remembered Cheap paint + small sizer on the barrel = broken paint. so i went in took off the shroud changed the sizer and went back out. i started shooting again and less paint was breaking but still some was ( probably still the sizer but who knows). I tested out the different firing modes and ran out of paint and co2 right as i was starting to test the turbo mode. one thing i did notice was the gun seemed usually loud and had more kick than my a-5 but i think i may have been shooting hot and on my a-5 i use a stock so that is probably why.
Conclusion: I think it is a great product and a big step for tippmann to finally make a electric/pneumatic gun and i like __ things about it:
1. Already has an e trigger
2. Shoots fast coming from someone who has never used an auto
3. Easy to program and maintain
4. still upgradable and has the same threads as my straightline
i am giving it a nine because of the price and no gun is every perfect but this is close
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Dylan_0000 Monday, February 1st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Tippmann A5
Marker Setup: Grip
Stock
3000psi N2 tank
Fake Mag
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better barrel maybe Apex? Im thinking of getting Apex
A Hose to put your tank on your back
Strengths: Easy Maintinance
20Bps
Nice Performance
5 firing modes
electric or manual switch
Weaknesses: Good Paint needed or it chops
Size(not to much of a issue)
new barrel
Review: I have played with this gun a few times since Ive got it not as much as I wouldve liked because Ive been busy lately.

As soon as I walked out into the waiting area a guy comes up to me and tells everyone "look its the gun I was telling you about" and ask me to shoot it so being the nice person I am I said what the Heck and let him he loved it but one problem... it chopped(this wasnt the first time it was shot but one of them) I wasnt using good paint it was old and cheap but still..


once I did a good clean up on my gun it worked like a brand new ego(not really but whatever it worked great) first game I did was speed ball 4v3 game we were the 3 I got 3/4 people out and my friend got the last one it was great we had a rematch so many times until they got tired of losing and I used to be killed in speedball even with my Spyder Pilot 08 It wasnt that great thats partially because Spyders are peices of ^&%$ that work great for a month then break BUT! they work GREAT! for a month....
Conclusion: I would definatly reccomend this gun to anyone on the 300-700 range (its 400$ by the way) I did great even in speed ball and its a woodsball gun so its good for all types
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 1st, 2010 at 4:34 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jhiggzy james13 Wednesday, January 27th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 a5 x7 spyder jt tac5 tiberius 8
Marker Setup: x7 egripped polished internals, x7 response w/polished int,. full tech t mods on both. double triggers, A5 real tree edition response, air thru mag, star fire front bolt. lapco big assault barrel, tippmann str8line, hh shark tooth 8.5 barrel, and j&j 8, 12, 14, 20,in barrels, guerilla nitro 68 & 88 ci tanks, qd remote coil, tiberius 8 socom w/six clips 1 x7 is e gripped and the other has a super response trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nuthin at all e xcept the basic barrel and body kits
Strengths: The new technology internally
Weaknesses: Only mp5 style mags fit
Review: Tippmann has done it again in a big way. They have'nt invented anything new they just perfected what was already out there. for those who say that they switched to the dark side {a saying on the x7og.net website} for purchasing a speed ball gun or electro, will kick themselves for not waiting the TIP crew solved the battle between the two worlds of paint ball by basically placing the tpx technology which was a shrunken speed ball marker with no electronics, but Tippmann went one better by combining the best of both worlds,when the battery power runs out simply switch down to semi auto and keep firing just that simple.It also fires c02 or compressed air

The cyclone feed has received an upgrade as well, they added a chrome trigger, shortened the receiver re-alligned the air system. I could go on for days but ill keep it short, got it yesterday took it apart and examined it put some pure lube in and put her back together. i dry fired it with no battery to make sure she worked then place a battery in loaded up a hopper and commenced to watch in awe as my lips dropped with paint pleasure as the shot groupings were simply amazing. Go get one now
Conclusion: This is the best tippmann to date it gives the best of both worlds
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Perinhawk Sunday, January 24th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None, this marker uses a redesigned system originally used by the old E-Mags, which are very seldom seen anymore
Marker Setup: Main- X7 Phenom, stock
remote line
48/3000 steel
Secondary- Smart Parts Ion
Stiffi barrel 16"
CP reg
Halo
68/4500 carbon fiber Pure Energy tank
Backup/Loaner- 98c
Techt Fang trigger
Shocktech Superfly bolt
Collapsible CAR stock
Python compression system
Smart Parts Progressive 16"
Recommended
Upgrades:
Good barrel kit
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Strengths-
-Sturdiness- Despite being an electropneumatic, it definitely has the durability of a Tippmann. I belly crawled on somewhat soggy ground for about 50+ feet and had no issues with the electronics.
-Ability to switch from electro to manual- This one speaks for itself. Due to this and the cyclone's manual rod, you can keep playing even if both the electonics and the cyclone feed fail.
-Accuracy/Consistency- Out of the box it was shooting 270 at around +/- 7, and I was able to hit targets within a 3" circle from 30' away, even on full auto. In this test firing I broke two balls, but I attribute this entirely to cold paint. While I was loading my hopper, one of the paintballs fell two feet to the ground and split right in half; I never had any problems with chops during the day. I ran it off c02, with bad paint (in a different test firing), and was still almost as accurate as before. I also want to mention that this was the performance right out of the box, and this marker comes ready to play, without needing a bunch of startup adjustment and fiddling to make it work well. However, it will not (obviously) go full auto off c02. Instead of firing three times then going to full auto, it will not shoot after the second shot, forcing you to pause for a second. If you must use c02, you're better off using it in mechanical mode.
Weight- This is a lot lighter than other Tippmanns. This is by no means a high end, so it weighs 4lbs unloaded. Still, that's much better than most tippmanns, and if you use a remote line and load it, it's similar to a loaded high end and with a tank attached. The weight actually stabilizes the marker and absorbs what little recoil there is.
-Ease of dissassembly- The Phenom is a breeze to dissassemble. Push a few pins, and the entire grip comes off, as well as the internal mechanism. I also want to mention that changing batteries is so much easier with the Phenom. Rather than fiddling around with taking off the grip like many other markers (Including other Tippmanns' Egrips), all you have to do is literally push a button to pull off the little plastic door to the battery. You could probably even change batteries in the middle of a game if need be (but with the ability to flick a switch and change to mechanical, why?)
-Low Profile- I love how tight this marker is, even with a remote line (actually, more so because of it) it can be extremely maneuverable and doesn't get in the way during speedball. Between this and the accuracy, I was able to keep up during many intense rounds of hyperball. Usually, by the end of a full day of play, I have had at least 2 or 3 marker hits. With this, even after a full day, I only got hit once, in the hopper, and that was at close range (less than 15ft).
-Looks- This is a great looking milsim marker. Pictures are nothing like the real thing. I loved the SMG sort of look from the second I opened the box. The magazine is practical in addition to looking good, not only does it store tools for adjusting the electronics, but it is sturdy enough to also serve as a grip. It does, like all mags, tend to get caught on things, but that wasn't a big issue for me. The mag, along with the foregrip and sights can be taken off for those who don't like them.
-Ease of adjustibility- This marker's electronics are simple to adjust and you can tell what mode you're on without firing it. I also want to add that the new method of adjusting the FPS is so much easier than so many other markers that require sticking an allen in a tiny hole somewhere in an awkward positon on the marker (the Ion is adjusted from a nut attached to the air line, which requires a relatively large wrench to adjust.

Now on to the bad
Weaknesses
Paint picky- This marker is very paint picky. The stock barrel is slightly overbored, and if you don't get a good match for the paint, it will waste air like crazy. The paint I was using when I played yesterday was very small (the best match we could find through a barrel kit was .679, and that was still a little big), and it literally took me 1k of air to go through half a hopper. I needed to borrow the field owner's girlfriend's barrel kit just to play that day, but the air efficiency was fine after that, filling up every three games or so. A good barrel kit is a must (My dad has loads of inserts for his barrel kit, including two or three repeats, so I already have a barrel coming in by Friday).
Electronics- This is more of a compaint against Tippmann's boards in general, but I really dislike the annoying "safety" features. You must pull the trigger 3 times before the electronics come into action at all, and if you don't pull the trigger again in less than a second, you have to pull the trigger another 3 times. Also, on full auto, after a string lasting 1 second, it stops firing, and even if you pull the trigger again in less than a second, you still have to do another 3 trigger pulls. I can (sort of) understand this on their other markers which will not fire unless the Egrip is turned on, but if a flip of a switch takes you back to mechanical, there's no reason to keep those annoying extra trigger pulls. Plus, new boards that don't include those annoying measures aren't out yet, and will probably be very expensive considering that I haven't seen any other problems with the board other than that.
Conclusion: Overall I was very impressed by this marker. If you're looking for a marker for speedball, you can probably get a lot more for $400, but if want a great marker that's designed with woods play in mind, but can keep up with all the other electros and hold its own in speedball, the Phenom is for you.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AccessTime Thursday, December 31st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month17 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5.
Marker Setup: Tippmann X-7 Phenom with stock barrel. Stripped down a bit, no unnecessary parts (ie. fake magazine, front sight and barrel cover, etc.)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline barrel (as necessary).
Strengths: Accuracy, Rate of Fire, Performance, Value.
Weaknesses: Maintainance a little more tricky and definately more necessary than other Tippmanns.
Review: I have used this gun for two partial days of play and it performs well. There is no noticeable kick or recoil and the gun fires as fast as you can press the trigger.

This gun is heavier than most other brands of guns. Around the weight of a standard X-7 or perhaps a tad heavier. But, it feels well-balanced with a heavy tank on the end, ie. a 62 steel compressed air tank.

This gun performs well on the field and in the 1500 balls I fired through the stock barrel, it never chopped a ball. It did chop balls when using a longer barrel but that could have been a bad paint/barrel match. The trigger pull and feel is good, the gun can be built up with accessories or stripped down to your liking. The stock barrel is decent, but I had to break down and get a flatline b'cos I've grown so used to the straighter trajectory.

Out of the box my gun fired well for about 500 shots and then started to leak air. Evidently the valve was not greased well enough and some of the critical parts had no grease at all. Hopefully all the problems are fixed now. If it's necessary to grease up the valve before using the gun at all, the manual should've made this very clear. The manual also isn't clear on how to get to some of the critical parts such as the brass nipple on the bottom of the valve.

Despite the fact it's cheaper than a lot of high-end electrics, this gun has several unique features that make it stand out. It can use either CO2 or compressed air, though the latter is probably a little better for maintainance. It can fire in semi-auto mode mechanically and without batteries.

Update on 1/3/2010 the problem with the valve described above repeated itself several times so I am sending the valve and grip back to Tippmann to be fully checked out and hopefully repaired. I'll update this review once I get it back.

Update on 1/11/2010 I got a call from Tippmann today, they believe they have fixed the problem and I should have my gun back in time for this weekend.

Update on 1/18/2010 I got the pieces back from Tippmann and re-assembled it. Put roughly 1000 balls through it on a half-day of play. Works great, no problems whatsoever.

I did ditch the flatline barrel though. I don't know but some combination of this gun, the newer flatline, and the cheap rec paint I was using wasn't working out well at all. Balls would break, balls would curve in spirals, etc. Stock barrel works pretty well with the cheap rec paint.
Conclusion: I've only used it for two days so I'm still trying to learn the capabilities of this gun completely. This gun is not like the other open-bolt blowback tippmanns where you can just run them day in and day out and not do any maintainance at all. Some maintainance was necessary on mine out-of-the-box. Otherwise this gun performs very well on the field and does everything it says it did. I can't judge the long-term reliability of this gun yet, it just hasn't been out longer enough, so I'm giving Tippmann the benefit of the doubt here.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 18th, 2010 at 11:35 am PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media