paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dangerous Power G3 Spec-R / Dangerous Power G3 Spec-R / Dangerous Power G3 Spec-R

Dangerous Power G3 Spec-R Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dangerous Power

Buy Dangerous Power G3 Spec-R

Paintball Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dangerous Power G3 Spec-R
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 6
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $449

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
THE NEW AND IMPROVED DANGEROUS POWERTM G3 SPEC-R PAINTBALL MARKER has arrived! At a combined weight of less than 1.8lbs (included our patented clamping feedneck, barrel, patented flip-lever ASA and battery), the Spec-R is the world's smallest and lightest paintball marker! DP took our dump-valve concept to the next level and created the first o-ring-less bolt system. By removing the o-rings from the bolt, the G3 Spec-R not only increased its air efficiency but also its durability. The G3 Spec-R still utilizes a 45o grip frame for easy customization and comes standard with DP's highly acclaimed flip lever ASA (RAPS), programmable microswitched board and ultra low-rise clamping feedneck.

Dangerous Power is excited to take the extremely popular SE G3, improve upon it and release it to the paintball world. Contact your location authorized DP dealer and test fire one today!

Weights: 765g / 1.68lbs
Length: 516.2mm / 20.3inches
Height: 201mm / 7.91inches
Operating Pressure: 150psi
Product Availability 
The Dangerous Power G3 Spec-R is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
islesrule123 Friday, September 2nd, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Invert Mini, Ion
Marker Setup: G3 spec r
invert halo 2
48/3000 steelie.
Strengths: Weight
Stock barrel
Feed neck
Board
Weaknesses: Air efficiency
Review: This gun is awesome in every way except the efficiency. The barrel is a .689 barrel back which is standard boar size. The board has 4 modes, Semi, 3 round, NXL, and ramping. The gun is also very light only weighing 1.68 lbs. The raps 2 asa is great for degassing the gun, to gas it you close the lever, to degassing the gun you open the lever.
Conclusion: This gun is excellent in almost every way I give it a 9 out of 10 because nothing is perfect.
If you can still find the gun BUY IT!! It competes with guns in the $1000 range.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, September 2nd, 2011 at 8:41 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wintermutt Sunday, April 17th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
2 years7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder, trracer,
Marker Setup: i have three markers, a spec-r a spyder mr-1 and a trracer.
i have two 68/4500 carbon tanks, one a ninja the other a crossfire.
invert halo too
APE OLED board
i have used all sorts of paint. evil ultra has been working well for me lately.
i have two barrel sets, an edge and an empire. i like the edge better.
Strengths: EZ maintenance, fast, accurate, light, EZ on paint, looks good,
Weaknesses: Fussy with bolt lube choices, efficiency, macroline fittings,need to lube every 4 hours
Review: the Good.(spec r)
lightest marker on the market. great stock barrel. very EZ on paint, you will never break a ball in the breech or barrel with the stock barrel. it is a spoolie which means easy to maintain and not much kick.
accuracy is very good WITH GOOD (ROUND) PAINT. maintenance (routine) is shockingly easy and simple. i use dow 33 (sleek) or hater sauce. adjustable trigger. light recoil especially considering how light it is. accurate - i can one ball target shoot by lining up the end of the barrel with the indentation in the hopper neck when aiming. above average regulator. nice manual. comes in a nice box. i like the trigger, it is adjustable to suit your style. out of the box mine had a hair trigger. it is a good looking marker i get lots of + comments. i use the APE grips that came with my APE OLED because they have a little window to see the OLED. custom grips are easy to find. (just do a google search for custom pb grips). the stock grips are really comfortable and grip well. there is a nice parts kit for 60 dollars that you should purchase if you plan to use the marker regularly, it really is a good deal and unless you have a back up marker you will wish you had it someday...
if you have no money at least buy an o ring kit, all o rings look the same (to me anyway) but you need the correct size. the only o ring i have had to replace is the little one on the tip of the back cap (AKA the plug) (the one that slides in the bolt). very easy to access that one.

the Bad.
macroline fittings are a struggle to get loosened.many people replace them. try using a wrench (same size as fitting) and hold down the macroline fitting with the wrench then pull the tubing back. you need to lube the bolt just before shooting for the day (this takes 3 minutes) and every 4 hours of shooting (lately i have been going all day only lubing in the morning using hater sauce). the type of lube is important. dow 33 works well (AKA sleek) hater sauce works and is green. do NOT use DP40 lube on the bolt. you will get bolt stick if you use the wrong lube.
if you take a paintball hit to the trigger your marker may become inoperative until you clean the inside of the gun.
(this has only happened once).
it uses more air than poppet type guns. you need to really get that back cap tight before using (it comes with a set of allen wrenches). you may have to re-tighten the back cap during the day of shooting. if this happens a lot you might need to replace an o ring on the plug, or put less or no lube on the last o-ring on the plug, also make sure no lube on the plug threads. the plug is the large piece that screws in the back of the marker.
with cheap paint that is not round you will not shoot straight with the stock barrel. if you must shoot cheap paint then i suggest you get a barrel set and under bore. cheap paint will shoot straight if you under bore. but in my opinion you are better off with expensive paint and the stock barrel (.689) at least when you are getting started.I PAID 450 dollars for mine . now they sell new for 399. to change an interior o ring will need a (dental type) pick. i have had the marker over a year and have not needed to change an interior o ring. (by interior i mean they are deep in the breech). the marker is light because it is aluminum, if you put too much torque on the screws you could strip them, this has never happened to me but i have heard about it. i tighten screws finger tight then 1/4 or 1/2 turn more. go over that and you are tightening too much. consider blue or violet locktite on the screws if you are worried.


troubleshooting
having problems? try this.
1. change the battery. anything less than 80% charge won't work.
2. relube the bolt with dow 33. it is very unusual to need to service the noid or the regulator, so don't mess with those yet. when you lube the bolt, spin it a little in the barrel so nothing is missed.
3. make sure the back cap is on tight.
4. clean your barrels with soap and water.
5. change the battery in your hopper.
6. if it is cold, buy winter paint (shells are thicker).
7. change the o-rings on the plug if they look stiff/hard.
8. clean the eyes
these simple checks will fix 99% of your problems. if they don't, check out the dangerous power forum at Pb Nation.
9. this is how you maintain the solenoid
http://dangerouspower.com/Support_maintenance-video-guide.ph
p
10. a guide to complete teardown/rebuild is here
http://www.pbnation.com/showthread.php?t=3457681

Conclusion: putting expensive brittle paint exactly where you want it without the paint breaking in your marker is the spec-r's best feature. the marker is light and reliable and fast. i am really glad i bought it. but do not expect it to perform if you use cheap paint. there is not much downside to this marker. if you are looking to buy a G3 spec-r i would also look at the DP G4 which is very similar and sells for less money. if i were looking for a new marker and it was between a G3 spec-r or a DP G4 given the price difference it would be a tough choice. i am sold on spoolies so i personally would not consider a DP FX (which is a poppet type marker) but if the type of marker is unimportant to you then you should also look at the DP FX which is more money but comes with an OLED board (which you will have to add on to the G4 and spec-r ) and is more air efficient than spoolies. poppets are harder on paint and more difficult to maintain which is why i prefer spoolies. Good Hunting!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 20th, 2011 at 7:20 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fastjack Monday, October 11th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
MacDev Clone
Eclipse Ego 10
Invert Mini
Marker Setup: 45/4500 Ninja Ultra Light Air Carbon Fiber, Dye Rotor, stock barrel.
Strengths: Compact and Light
Inexpensive ($399)
On/Off ASA system
Weaknesses: Stock board
Manual
Review: I have a Mac Dev Clone as my main marker and an Invert Mini as a backup. I have been happy with the Invert as a backup (it was my main marker when I started out playing tourny ball). I decided to get the Dangerous Power G3 Spec-R as another backup -- I have been at tournaments and people that don't have backups sometimes borrow my Mini (or fellow team members). And I wanted to try it out too, you can never have too many markers!

So my first impressions were that I like the size, weight and feel of the marker. For me the trigger is responsive and has a nice feel too it. I like the on/off ASA they came up with, it's simple and fast.

Things I didn't like. The marker out of the box didn't shoot. I had to first turn up the regulator pressure to get it to fire. Although I didn't try it at first, I perhaps could have changed the dwell settings -- maybe I had a sticky bolt etc. But I didn't like that the manual didn't really discuss this in the troubleshooting procedures. I wasted time, stripping the gun down and re-lubing and also checking pretty much everything out before I tried upping the pressure.

Then there is the board setup. Compared to the Mini and MacDev its a bit messy. The methods for setting it are not intuitive and the manual does a poor job of expressing what needs to be done to set it the way you want. It also doesn't really show much detail on how to set each of the settings (ROF, Fire Mode, Ramp point, De-bounce, Solenoid Dwell, ABS Dwell) and instead just shows one example. Next the fire modes didn't seem to work very well and there isn't a ramp only fire mode that let's me set a ramp start point, ROF and quiet time before resuming semi etc. Maybe you can set this with one of the firemodes (Semi, PSP3, NXL, Millennium), but if there is, again the manual doesn't make this clear. It also is a bit unclear the way its written when the ROF for example comes into play with different modes. And the Ramp Point didn't seem to do anything. So I spent $399 on the marker but I already need to buy an upgrade Virtual OLED board upgrade because this board doesn't do much and the manual is weak (Sadly it sounds like its an improvement over the last manual with the G3).

One thing manual is pretty good about is the detail for stripping down the marker, including full disassembly, regulator service and even servicing the solenoid. So the main flaw is in the programming instructions and for me the board itself not doing enough.

Shooting with this board is not fluid as I would like. Using PSP3 seems to be the only mode that works ok for me, but its not clear in the manual if the ROF comes into play when shooting PSP3 (so it could make the gun illegal on the field). NXL and Millennium didn't seem to work as advertised and changing the ROF and ramp settings didn't seem to get it shooting the way I would expect based on my other markers.

With the stock barrel it shoots straight and consistent with not a wide variation of ball velocity (about +-8 feet second). The kick seems more than the Invert Mini. The feed neck is simply and a plus is that it is lower than most feed necks by about 5mm.
Conclusion: Light and compact. Feels good in the hands and shoots accurately. However, even for the same price, the Invert Mini is a better marker. Mini is more intuitive to setup, less kick and does not seem to have bolt stick issues like the G3. Only plus the G3 has is the on/off ASA. In terms of putting paint on the target accurately, I'd also give a small edge to the Mini. So between the two, I recommend the Mini.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 11th, 2010 at 2:35 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fur2fin Friday, June 4th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
G3 IQ, G3, Ion, Shocker NXT. Hands down I loved my Shockers performance but it always had vision issues, the ions were nice but a little harder to maintain and compared to previous G3's the biggest change was the trigger.
Marker Setup: I use the G3 Specr equipped with a deadlywind fibur barrel fed by a rotor loader and powered by a crossfire 68/4500
Strengths: Overall compact size and lightness
Weaknesses: Air efficiency
Review: My favorite things about the specr and all G3's is the ease of serviceability, it is awesome to be able to pull the rear cap off and clean all the way through lube and be done in a matter of minutes.

The new manual with the Spec r is way better than the old poster manual they came with. It is much more in detail and more user friendly.

The new trigger as stated above is a lot nicer than the old trigger and is magnetic and adjustable.


The milling has changed since the last generation but this is mostly cosmetic although it did lighten the gun a little.
Conclusion: I love the G3 Spec-Ras my main gun. At the end of the day after playing I don't feel like I have been toting around a big heavy brick with a barrel. In the price range it is very hard to beat and comes standard with clamping feedneck and a lever asa that is awesome. I'd say if you are looking for a marker in this price range try it you'll fall in love.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

younggun119 Sunday, May 9th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
N/A
Marker Setup: Bob Long Vice
DP G3 Spec-R
Invert Mini
Tippmann A5
Strengths: Very Light
Cheap(paid $450 at local store)
Stock board is okay
Stock Barrel
Weaknesses: Air Efficiency
Review: I bought this gun about 2 months ago as a back up gun and to say the least I believe it performs just as good as my BL Vice. The gun is very light, with my Deadlywinds Carbon Fiber it works pretty well, but the stock barrel works just fine. The only problem I have with it is the air efficiency. I probably only get maybe 800 rounds off with a full 68/45k tank. I have also noticed with Hater Sauce lubricant doesn't work well with it. There have been a couple of occasions where I had to lube it up mid-day even after I cleaned and lubed it before play. However, I started using Shocker Grease and it began working just fine.
Conclusion: For the price, it is a great gun. If you are considering buying an Invert or a DP G3, I would recommend getting this for the extra $50 - $100.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Golden Brown Friday, April 9th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DP G3 (Original), PMR's, Angels, ect. And the Spec R is at their level if not above it.
Marker Setup: 2010 PMR w/ Dye Ultralite
Strengths: Lightweight
Shoots ropes
Looks amazing
Very accurate
Inexpensive
Weaknesses: None.
Review: It's my buddies gun, and he's never broke a ball (5+ cases shot through it) and he has no complaints other than "it's too small" but I think it is perfect.

Gee this thing said too many words now too few now im just doing a space filler...
Conclusion: It's a tourny level marker that can compete with the DM's, Egos, Bob Long's, ect. but for half the price. Personally I look to invest in one in the near future. The accuracy is amazing for a completely stock gun and could probably be handed mainly to a good paint to barrel match, but it's something to note. The gun looks awesome and shoots like a dream. I was able to easily shoots ropes with this gun and it gave me a "man I wish I bought this instead of my 2010 PMR" feeling... Get one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media