paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / WDP Angel / WDP Angel / WDP Angel / WDP Angel

WDP Angel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount WDP

Buy WDP Angel

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


WDP Angel
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 20
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1385

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Electro Pneumatic Firing System, Capable of Super Fast, Cyclic Rates, High Gloss Anodized Finish, and a Battery and Recharging System Included.
Product Availability 
The WDP Angel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Minion450 Saturday, April 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none the only thing close was a cocker and i don't know anything about it
Marker Setup: LED Angel
88cu 4500 psi Angel Air
smart parts barrel
volumizer
pro connect
revy with a Vortex Impellor, so much more efficiant than the stock impellor
so on and so on
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel but stock is still good
regulator with faster recharge, unless you get an angel air
need a revy or halo hopper, NEEEED!
volumizer any kind whatever you think looks good on it.
stainless steel screw set, my screws almost didn't come off the handle
double trigger and guard
Strengths: soooo fast so very very fast and accurate. trigger is adjustable to have almost no travel. I upgraded and got a double trigger adjusted the trigger a little to much and my gun was shooting when i ran. the trigger reacted like those touch lamps. you know the ones you just have to tap and they turn on.
Never broke a ball, i mean never except for when i forgot to turn on the revy, thats it. very low maintenance. easy clean, rotate the breach, bull out the bolt and pull threw the squeegee and your done. so so nice.
Weaknesses: obviously the price. since it was one of their first models of the angel the 14 way is huge especially compared to the new ir3 so there is very little milling you can do to the gun except for the front near the barrel and the rotary breach. people say its heavy but i like the feel and it balances well. oh wait thats a good. sorry
Conclusion: get one if you can afford it, even if it is not an LED get an ir3. just get an angel i have never been so satisfied with any piece of machinery in my life. I took it apart once to grease it up and thats it. i have never had to disassemble it for anything else except for playing around with the LPR but thats not disassembling.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, March 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
shocker,matrix,impulse,intimidator,bushmaster
Marker Setup: actually mines a 98 angel not 2000
cobra bolt,cobra trigger,cobra ss hammer,cobra LP internals,kapp low rise, kapp volumizer, air america vigilante reg, air america 4500 apocalypse tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new bolt, volumizer, better trigger, and maybe a shorter barrel(I think the stock jacko is great)
Strengths: it's extremely fast, trigger can be shorter than a mouse click
it's extremely hard to chop unless you forget to turn on your revy.
very low presseure mine works on about 60 psi
despite whate people say it is suprisingly accurate and it gets good range
I,ve played with newer LCD's and I think mine shoots better.
long battery life. you dont have too replace a 9 vlt every time you play
Weaknesses: the only thing bad about this gun is the weight, but what once you get used to it its not really bad and acctually becomes quite comforatable.
Conclusion: I think this is an awsome gun. You cant compalain about the cost either because since you can only still get these used,the price shouldn't top 700$.
(The upgrades might raise it to a thousand or twelve hundred max.)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, March 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ANS GX-3 Chaos Cocker
Marker Setup: Angel LED w/ Dye SS, Ricochet 2k, and 68 Nitro
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel, stock one sucks anus. Can't fire the thing without Nitro, so that's a must... atleast a 12v Revolution also.
Strengths: The accuracy rocks when you have a good barrel. ROF is pretty fast, I can get a full hopper unloaded in a matter of seconds. Very low maintanence. You also get the bragging rights of owning an angel...
Weaknesses: Doesn't look the best milling wise.... and when you have the gun you always get the urge to lay out about 400 paintballs a game (not always a bad thing...)
The anadizing scratches VERY easily, but my angel is black so I just touch it up with a permanent marker and nobody is ever the wiser.
Conclusion: This gun is overall a good gun. Very reliable, low maintanence, accuracy, supreme speed. Buy one of these and you'll be satisfied.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, February 19th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker, Tippman 98 Custom
Marker Setup: 2000 ANgel LCD with 14" Dye boomstick, kapp volumizer, shocktech bolt
Odyssey Halo Loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Odyssey Halo Loader
Strengths: Smooth and Fast trigger...accurate and did I mention Fast!!!!!!!!
When I fire this gun, my experience has been that players tend to do the only thing they can...duck or run. Basically, after I bought this gun I found out what kind of gun you have DOES really matter.
Weaknesses: $$$$$$$$$$$$ Expensive Expensive Expensive
Also the anodizing is thin...scratches too easily. Stock grips are not the greatest. Highly recommend some Dye sticky grip.
Conclusion: Buy this gun if you got the money!!!!!!! Well worth the money. I would definitely get the Halo loader. I play alot of scenario games and use my Angel on FULL AUTO mode. The gun rocks with the loader. Hardly Ever chops paint.
basically the pros outweigh the cons on this gun. If you want to play with the big boys, this gun is a must.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, February 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
*Dark Angel LED
*Adrenalin angel LED
*Cobra LED
*Eclipse angel LED
Marker Setup: electric skies splash eclipse angel led
*air assist mod
*adrenalin high rise feed tube
*cobra bolt
*bonebrake bolt
*cobra hammer
*warped sportz 2k2 dark angel maximizers(x2)
*eclipse drop, anoed to match
*armegedon 4500 system, with two tanks, 45, and 68
*pro quick connect, polished
*DYE boomsticks anoed two match in all lenth and sizes, gathered them up from different angels
*freak kit
*CP kit
*some other barrels
*all american stainless 12 inch, 14 inch .689, .687 respectively
* o and dye stickies
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel would help, but this stock barrel is a lot better than the one on the LCDs.

New feed tube, get rid of that plastic thing.

You may want a double trigger and gaurd.

New Breach knob, not neccessary, it just gets rid of the plastic part, plastic shouldn't be on this gun.
Strengths: RIPS

When this first came out, Pro team Avalanche scooped them up, with everyone taking notice of this mew supergun. At the time, the only other electro to my knowledge was the shocker, but I can't remember dates to well from back then so I could be wrong, anyway the point is nothing else could really compare to this gun. Sure the shocker was fast, especially in TURBO, but in turbo they only went 11.25, compared to the Angels 14 or 15. Also with an angel, it is not hard to max-out the ROF, but a dome board shocker is very hard. The trigger on the angel is a super smooth LS trigger, and has either changed only very little, or not at all since then. The Angel trigger is still the benchmark to which all others are compared, ..."the trigger is smooth as an angel", or "...the same trigger as used in an angel." The Angels speed is another benchmark "...as fast as an angel." Also I hear people saying bad things about the accuracy of an angel, but I found its accuracy, at least at close range to be as accurate as a cocker, or even a little more so.
Weaknesses: The LED angels are a lot heavier than there LCD counterparts. This is because the LED 14 way is larger and more complex than the one in the LCD. This means that the milling on the back part of todays angels, done by Warped, and other companies could not take place back then. The Stock LED was even heavier then the Darks of the time, or eclipses, or cobras etc. Also some other the older angels have had problems with boards.
Conclusion: The Angel LED was and arguably still is the fastest paintball gun evee made. Its superior trigger, vertical feed, super high firing rates, and electronic control helped, along with the Shocker Sport TURBO to create a new era in paintball. It also gave birth to one of the best companies today, WDP limited. Angels are still used by teams like:
Avalanche- Dark LCD
Dyanasty- Cobra Mamba LCD
Team Cobra- Cobra LCD
SC Ironmen- DYE LCD I believe
and many others.
Believe me many others, I just don't know them all.

My ratings are as follows:
Cobra Angel LED- 10/10
Eclipse Angel LED- 10/10
Dark Angel LED- 9/10
Adrenalin Angel LED- 10/10
Bone Brake Angel LED- 10/10
Alien Abduction Angel LED- 10/10
Angel SE LED- 8/10
Stock LED Angel 7/10 - 8/10
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 5:51 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mjkocker Monday, January 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Custom STO cocker built myself all aklamp internals :). Shocker 4x4 Micromag
Revenge V2
Marker Setup: Custom STO with maxflow boomstick all the goodies
Recommended
Upgrades:
Boomstick or smartparts barrel jacko is loud and inaccurate. Very fast hopper. Cosmetic cause angels can look sooo sweet.
Strengths: Fire Rate
Reliabitly
Closed bolt nice for breaks shoot it out the barrel
Light
Trigger is very nice
Upgradable- for those of us who arent poor or young
looks
Weaknesses: Range Range Range and Range
Gas efficiny isnt great and still isnt great with low pressure but better
Stock barrel sucks more then g*y porn
you use a case a day
Conclusion: For a front man this gun is pretty sweet but i think you could spend 1200 dollars and build buy or have a better gun made for you. I like the revengev2 available. Im buying one soon. Fire rate is fast but if you want somthing with a electro trigger try a eclipse shocker or excaliber their close or better fire rate and they have a little more range and accuracy then the angel. I perfer a cocker that way i only lay down a half case a day so i get to play more often also who needs to fire 13+bps 8bps isnt much slower and with that you get less chops and just as many people out. Maybe more if you have more range and accuracy. All in all its still a good gun and dont let this review stop you from getting one. I enjoyed mine for the time i owned it.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 6:00 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, January 15th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker, Bob Long Defiant, LCD angels
Marker Setup: 99' LED Angel, 68/45 pure energy air system, Air America Vigilante reg, DYE ultralite boomstick, DYE sticky grips, KAPP fury chamber, 12v revolution hopper with intellefeed, KAPP stubby drop forward.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better barrel than the infinity, low pressure chambers, intellefeed hopper.
Strengths: The way Angels work is great. They shoot fast, smooth and quietly. The are reliable and adaptable. I'm a back player while my friend is a front man. We both love angels. They can be customized for any task. Not only that but the look awesome too!
Weaknesses: The only bad thing is that they cost a lot. This is usually a gun for more serious players. The only other problem is that they work best with a motorized hopper allowing the maximum amount of balls in the marker.
Conclusion: These are great markers and they are worth the money. GET ONE!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Python14 Friday, December 14th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shockers, Modded LEDs, LCDs, Bushy, Impy, cockers, mags, and an RT which I love more than life itself
Marker Setup: Stock 2000 Angel LED-DYE Boomstick 12"-AirAmerica Raptor Rex 68ci/4500 psi-Benchmark Dropforward-12v REVY
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, a good consistent Nitro system, and atlease a 12v revolution
Strengths: I only got to test one of these for my team. I set it up like above and my first impression was how sturdy the setup was. It is a very solid feel. My next impression was how light it was. You have to remember, I used to swear by a Shocker so anything it light to me. After I got everything hooked up, I went to the field and first when to the chrono. The LPR combined with the Raptor Rex was and still is a very good system to run any high-speed marker off of. I also found this gun to be very easy to cradle. The trigger was great. I could buzz away all day with this. After I got through with the chrono, I went straight to the field and got myself setup. It was woodsball saturday so it was time to really pack up for the long haul. The best way to describe how this gun performs in a game situation is all in it's name, ANGEL. All four of my teamates took it out for a spin and come this April, we will probably be using Angels exclusively. Snapshooting is a dream. Spray and Pray is the forte of this gun and it holds up to it.
Weaknesses: The bad? These things are Damn expensive. Not just initial investment but just feeding these things. I shot something like a case and a half that day and we only played like 8 games maximum. But then again, nobody said this sport was cheap so I guess thats the way things go.: ) Another thing was that this gun has a bit of kick. If I really got into shooting, I might fall off target in a short time. But it just takes some practice to learn this. So that can be made up for.
Conclusion: I'm gonna give this gun a 9.5 out of 10 because it is a great gun. Like I said, Come this April(New sponsor), we will be using Angel LEDs and LCDs exclusively. The only reason I took half a point off is because A. Parts are hard to come by and B. Feeding an Angel is more expenisve than feeding a hungry St. Bernard. But for anyone thinking of a new tournament gun, and an LCD is just too much moolah for you, take a look at the LED. It's all about performance!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NellyiLi@aol Wednesday, November 21st, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bushmaster 2k, not near as good, Impulse, not near as good,WDP LCD Angel, looks cooler, about the same, Emag, aiight, matrix, almost the same
Marker Setup: 99 WDP Black Angel LED with Kapp Volumizer, Chrome low rise, chrome breach nob, chrome double trigger, dye fang trigger guard, 10" Freak set, 68 45 max flow, shocktech chrome drop forward, dye ss barrel, armson stealth barrel, 99 and 00 jacko infinities, trigger job, and all stock parts.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Double Trigger, new barrel, good nitro tank
Strengths: Amasing, lowest cocking pressure on the market for electros, fast, enhanced modes dont cap like LCDS, bolt is lightest and smallest on market, easily upgradable, once you figure it out well, you can mess around with dwell, rof, and trigger jobs in a matter of seconds. comes ready to shoot out of the box, good barrel, good electro, etc.

Weaknesses: parts are expensive because not to many companies make parts for the LED anymore, runs on around 750 psi input pressure, but this is saved due to the cocking pressure.

Wires are a lil confusing, and the gun is at first hard to maintain, but its easy when you learn it. Also, the single trigger that it comes with stock is a pain, unless you happen to like those on electros (ew).
Conclusion: this is a wonderful gun, and can be purchased used for very little. downsides? not very many. Ups? alot, conclusion? Great gun, go out and buy one today!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, October 9th, 2000
Strengths: Angels are very accurate, light weight, and have a high rate of fire. If you are someone who likes to lay down paint, then this gun is perfect. It is also great for the front assault person. This gun rarely breaks and is easy to keep clean and shiny. This gun is probably the best you can buy, besides other angels
Weaknesses: This gun is very expensive and if you buy one don't plan on it being a cheap ride. These guns can end up costing a lot more than you planned. Upgrades arnt cheap and the paint this gun goes through is unbelievable!
Conclusion: Overall this gun is excellent, besides the cost involved it is just incredible.The gun does perform well without upgrades but sometime you will end up buying them. If you are a tournament player and have a lot of cash get this gun it is well worth the $$ involved.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media