paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Proto Primo / Proto Proto Primo / Proto Proto Primo

Proto Proto Primo Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Proto Primo

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Proto Primo
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 8
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $15

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Innovative Positive Feed Shelf provides a minimal friction, gravity feed solution allowing you to achieve high rates of fire while drastically reducing paint jams.

200 Round capacity, enlarged clear spring lid for easy loading and quick paint level checks.

The patent pending Proto Primo Loader is the first of it's kind with a positive feed shelf designed to relieve pressure on paint reducing jams and increasing feed rate. Powered by minimal agitation of the gun. The Proto Primo Loader helps sort and funnel as you shoot for a consistent vertical feed. Comes with a clear spring lid for easy reload. The large opening works well with Proto Alpha Pods for the ultimate paint carrying system. Large capacity durable shell holds 200 paintballs and makes for ease of cleaning and maintenance.
Product Availability 
The Proto Proto Primo is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
oc the great Sunday, February 13th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
VL 2000
halo /halo v35
evolution II
Marker Setup: Etek 3 AM - feather lite switch, emortal board, virtue eyes, cure3
-freak barrel kit
-halo v35

Azodin kp 2011
- proto primo
Strengths: Quick for gravity hopper
Holds a good amount for pump
Looks good
Weaknesses: Can nor fill all the way up.
Review: I bought this hopper for my new 2011 azodin kp because i personally do not like the small pump hoppers. First thing i liked was the looks. It has a shape close to the dye rotor. The hoppers design does make it quicker than the normal 200 round. For a pump this is the best full size hopper for the money. One thing i did notice is if you fill it to the top it will not feed good until there is more space.
Conclusion: For $15 it is worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

brandena29 Wednesday, December 15th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Pntball Gravity Hopper
Marker Setup: Proto Primo Hopper
Clamping Feedneck
Adjustable Stock
Remote w/QD & Cover
Ninja 62ci 3000psi HPA Tank w/Magna Cap
2+1 Paintball Harness
Tippmann Gun Sling
Spyder MR1 Terminus Bolt
Strengths: Sleek
Large
Low-Profile
Friends will be Jealous
Silent
BLACK
Weaknesses: It's only Gravity.
Review: Best Gravity hopper out there. Feeds just as good as cheap electronic one's (Like a Revy, UGH!) Plus, looks amazing! Also, large opening for pods & such. It's silent, which helps with stealth (Don't want that loud $40 electronic hopper in your way), and looks better than everything except a dye rotor.
Conclusion: Get it If your hopper costs less than $40, because it's silent, cheap, and sleek.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Silent Night Saturday, December 4th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
VL 200, Agitation hoppers
Marker Setup: Alpha Black e-grip, Proto Primo (gravity hopper), 16 inch Proto one piece barrel, Guerrilla HPA 48 cu. in. 4500 psi w/ Myth regulator
Strengths: Sleek, no mechanical noise, feeds faster, smaller profile compared to competitors, battery-less
Weaknesses: Ad- "never have to shake again" but w/ bad paint you will once or twice
Review: I am a very tactical person, so I need to fire paint fast and I need to do it quietly. This hopper gives me that advantage. You won't hear any complaints from me, the design looks great and preforms well. For the price of $15-$20 it preforms at the same level as agitation hoppers with out the additional $10-$20 dollar price tag and extra cost of maintenance and batteries. With the only moving part being the lid and spring. The extra cost of possible replacement parts goes down to practically nothing. The looks of it also help with paint coming head on, I have had high quality paint hit the hopper and defect off with no markings. Overall it is the best of its class and that it can outclass some products not even in its class.
Conclusion: You pay a little extra in the beginning, but in the long run I believe it is worth it.

My rating is based on what class it is in not compared to the entire market of hoppers.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

exile6383 Sunday, October 10th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Standard Hopper, viewloader evolution, cyclone feed system.
Marker Setup: X7 Phenom, invert carbon fiber barrel nightstick 14", pure energy 48cu hpa 3000psi aluminum tank.
Strengths: Smaller profile then standard hopper, easy open lid, looks nice.
Weaknesses: Advertised functionality, price.
Review: Tested on a BT-4 combat. The hopper looks nice and has a slightly small profile then a standard 200 round hopper. The lid opens easily but stays in place when your moving around aggresively. The atcual pattented postive feed system doesn't seem to do much better then a standard hopper. I played for three plus hours in a variety of five to ten minute games and had to shake and bake atleast five times.
Conclusion: The hopper functions slighty better then a standard but for the price you might as well spend 15 more dollars and go electronic.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RivalX Wednesday, October 6th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Standard Gravity Hoppers, and the Dye Rotor.
Marker Setup: Azodin Kaos, J&J Ceramic Full Tilt (2 piece), Proto Primo, Pure Energy Aluminum HPA tank 48Ci 3000psi, and occasionally a 20oz Co2 tank
Strengths: Great design, Fast feed, Doesnt rise up as high as other gravity hoppers
Weaknesses: What is this so called "weakness" on the primo? none
Review: Compared to a gravity hopper it looks amazing, it feeds faster without skipping any balls for me, it has not jammed on me once. When the hopper is near empty there are a couple balls that sit on the shelf, but just a small shake or tilt will do the trick.
Conclusion: I would recommend this to anyone who is looking to maximize their Bps on a mechanical gun, without buying some expensive electric hopper.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 28th, 2010 at 7:05 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TeamF3AR Sunday, October 3rd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tacomo Arc (same as this but worst looking)
VL 200 (crap)
Marker Setup: Proto Primo loader (best gravity hopper)
Proto 1 piece 14' barrel (red)
3000psi Pure Energy tank
trying to get a feedneck lately but the cheapest one is a $40 one
Strengths: Looks like rotor
8-10 bps
No battery required
Weaknesses: Needs to be shaked sometimes
Review: Well as you know I used this on a Spyder victor(getting a kaos soon) and it worked out perfect!, well except the fact that you have to shake it if you are a fast shooting guy but my is a mech. so yeah. once again, looks like a dye rotor(proto=dye) which is kind of cool so you don't look like a 100% noobie :)
Conclusion: Awesome gravity loader, possible that this is the best one out there. for $15, can't really say anything bad. this gets a solid 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tomongoose Friday, June 18th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
other gravity fed hoppers, the same
Marker Setup: Too many to mention
Strengths: It looks better than most gravity fed hoppers , no batteries
Weaknesses: Doesn't work any better than a gravity feed
Review: I tested the primo on a Tippmann 98, SP-1, Ion, and PMR

I put 400 rounds through on each gun first a hopper full then two half hoppers.

I was standing still and only shook the hopper if it would not feed at all I did the same with a vl200 and a reloader b for comparison.

I had all the electro guns on semi auto capped at 10-11 bps

The reloader did not stop feeding or chop on any of the guns at all

The primo worked fairly well on the 98 as there is enough kick to shake it a bit but I still had to rattle it a few times but I had almost identical results with the vl 200

The primo was terrible on the on the electros having to repeatedly shake it and it was the same with the vl 200
Conclusion: If you want n hopper that works and feeds fast and constantly get an electric hopper if you want a slightly better looking gravity fed ( it looks like the Rotor) as a backup get the Primo but its 4 times as much as a VL200 and just looks better thats all
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaintBall Guru1 Thursday, April 1st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Proto SLG 09
Proto Primo Loader
48ci 3000psi Ninja Compressed Air Peanut Tank
Strengths: No Chops
Light
Easy to Use
Capacity
DO NOT Use Batteries
Weaknesses: None
Review: Very reliable and good loader. For the price it is at it is a good deal. Does not use any batteries. Also it does not break easily when you drop it. The looks of the loader are very nice and add a speed feed cover to make a better result of reloading faster and more looks for the loader.
Conclusion: I would recommend this to another player because it is really reliable and cheap.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media