paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Air America Black Ice Regulator / Air America Black Ice Regulator / Air America Black Ice Regulator / Air America Black Ice Regulator

Air America Black Ice Regulator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Air America

Buy Air America Black Ice Regulator

Paintball Regulators

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Air America Black Ice Regulator
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 13
Average Rating: 7.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $110

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Black Ice is a single stage regulator designed to accept input pressures up to 850 PSI. The Black Ice is precision machined from solid aerospace aluminum and anodized for appearance and durability. Construction and styling of the Black Ice enable it to be used with confidence for the recreational and tournament players. The Black Ice also carries the famous 100% Bulletproof Air America limited lifetime warranty.
Product Availability 
The Air America Black Ice Regulator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
HFViking55 Wednesday, May 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Custom Products inline - compared to the black ice, the CP is flawless
Marker Setup: Primary/Tournament - SP Ion, with VP Scythe trigger, Shocktech on/off asa and drop forward, CP clamping feed neck, 14" Freak kit, Halo/Rico 2K

Backup/Rec. - Shocktech Tremor Series Autococker (Silver), mostly stock (seeing as stock beats most upgraded cockers still, lol), CP reg, 14" Dye boomstick, Shocktech drop forward, clamping feed neck
Strengths: Dirt cheap compared to other regs
Weaknesses: Internal flaw with seals, have heard of a lot of issues locally (Chicago and Orlando)
Review: This regulator came stock on my Tremor Series Cocker bought directly from BBT, seeing as it was my first cocker, took me almost 3 months of tweaking the marker before I realized that there was literally no regulation going into my three way. No tank had ever been hooked up to the marker pryor to buying it brand new, and when a LPA (PE 3000/68 tank) was hooked up for the first time, it began instantly leaking. After the first few shots and one short stroke, an internal seal blew on the black ice, causing the full pressure to enter the three way, blowing off the hoses. I took it into a local field store where they had a cocker specialist and he laughed when I told him BBT had sold me the marker with this reg on it. He had told me that he'd seen about 8 cockers come through his store with this particular reg on it and all of them had a blown seal. If you happen to buy a marker with a Black Ice reg on it, I strongly recommend replacing it immediately and spare yourself the headache, especially for a time-consuming autococker.
Conclusion: Stick with CP/Shocktech for autococker regulators, my CP is extremely efficient and was similar in price to a new AA Black Ice, plus they're available in matching colors for your marker instead of only black.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

btoffoli99 Sunday, December 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Angel 04 Fly, Timmy's
Marker Setup: 2K2 Intimidator
Halo B Hopper
Check It Drop
ACI 68/4500 nitrogen
Macro Line
Strengths: Small
Light
Weaknesses: Too Small
Hard To Grip
Review: This reg would be good for those players who dont care about their gun being remotely comfortable. Air America states that this reg is capeable of being used with C02 so I put it to the test. After about the 30th shot the reg froze up on me and I was done with it for the day. So the next day when i actually used n2 the gun still wasnt shooting all that great. The reg was being used with a cocker and the 2 were just not getting along. If ur looking for a reg thats probably meant for the much higher end guns than go with this other wise look for something else...
Conclusion: Only buy if it is not going on an autococker...
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BourneKiller Thursday, August 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
-PMI Pure Energy Reg (Stock quality, not good for LP and/or as consistent)
-AA Vigilante (much better for LP, just as consistent)
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha EXT Pro G3 w/ CP Lighting Drop and KAPP Railmount ASA, AA Vigilante, White Wolf Delrin Bolt, Maddman "Rocket" Valve, Center Flag 68ci/4500psi, 12" DYE Boomstick, 10" DYE Titanium Boomstick, warp feed and HALO-B.

Lvl 10 Center Feed Polished Mag w/ Intelly.
Strengths: -Small
-very flexible and easy to install
-Consistent
-Tough
Weaknesses: Doesn't come in chrome.
Review: Great reg!. If you wanna have a guage, you can, if not, you don't have to, i have a guage on my ASA, so I'm fine. It's got a burst disk safety feature also. It's way easy to adjust, you just need a fatty allen wrench, not a long skinny one. Very consistent, less 5 psi flex, even when blasting 15 bps for extended periods of time! I got mine new for $55 shipped and i wouldn't give it up! it's also REALLY easy to clean, no crazy tools needed at all. It's tough too, doesn't scratch easily.
Conclusion: If you can find a good deal on this puppy, TAKE IT. It's way better than all the others except Messiah, but for the money it's way awesome.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 18th, 2003 at 3:50 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Compact_gunner Monday, May 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Strengths: This regualtor Looks really Cool! I enjoy it. I used it on my friends gun and it shoots really well and balls never drop or shoot harder than others!
Like I said it Works really well and doesn't break balls
It's easy to clean and maintain and it also Doesn't break as much as some may think
Weaknesses: When it breaks, it takes a while to fix and it isn't esa
Not sure if it works with CO2 yet and i'm not sure about the guage setup, i didn't notice anything on my friends gun, if anyone knows anything on this please e-mail at cshero3@comcast.net or IM me at cshero3
Thanks
Conclusion: Stylish, light, good grip, get it if you find it cheap
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, April 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
gen X reguator
Marker Setup: 2001 freeflow autococker, dye ultralite, kapp flame dropforward with on/off switch, black ice reg (of coarse), and 68ci 4500 psi crossfire nitrotank
Strengths: It is really consisant
looks cool and black matches almost any gun
comes with a bolted on o ring (pretty much)
really cheap price too
easy to clean if you need to
Weaknesses: not much I can think of now
never had a problem with it
Conclusion: deffinitly consider this if you are getting a reg. If you want to spend the money dont get this one (gen X reg). But if you want an extremely good reg for a good price buy this. Best reg that air america makes, and way better than vigalante reg. It almost never had problems either. Buy this reg!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, March 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
i cant really remember
Marker Setup: nice big cock er
Strengths: it is really consistant and pretty compact. it is made of high quality aluminum so it is durable and will last a long time. my cocker is really consistant with this thing on it.
Weaknesses: if u have a lp gun (below 300) make sure u buy the lp spring for it. it also only comes in black or in nickle (if u get the stanless steal one). black is fine with me, but for some of u people that like to have ur choice of color u should look at the ans reg. thats about it.
Conclusion: great product for a good price. go buy one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, March 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gen X-2 Regulator
Marker Setup: 99 LED
Strengths: This regulator is pretty good, it's recharge time is amazing... better than a few others i've tried. It's sweet on my angel, alot better than the crappy stock one. Also very consistant, it gets about your fps in the range of -3 to +3.
Weaknesses: the guage doesn't really do anything on mine... it doesn't tell you the pressure that goes right up to the gun, but rather the air that goes from your tank to the reg. I guess it could be helpfull if you had a leak or something in your bottom line in between, but other than that...
Conclusion: Nice regulator, reccomend it to anyone
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

foolishmoose Sunday, December 30th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
kingman stock
Marker Setup: em1 with warped sports drop, C.I.P. v/a, clear and blue 12 volt revvy with turborev,12"boomy,black ice reg,clear dye stickies, and a few other things
Strengths: well it is smaller than i thought it would be, pretty cheap, easy ot adjust,like the double output ports so it is easy to fit your style
Weaknesses: ok i am not saying this is for certain a bad reg but this is my own stupid mistake. First off i went to play with this for the first time and everything was hooked right and wouldn't fire at all then i noticed on my gauge on my verticle adaptor that the input was like 825psi that is grounds for expolding my solinoid so i took 30 min out of my time setting my gun back up stock so that i could even play that day good thing i come prepared. so i need to get a low pressure spring pack (if anyone knows the price IM me at mooseboy1486 please!!!).
Conclusion: all in all this is compact good reg for high pressure guns and i will post again when i get the spring pack
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 6:15 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ANS Dwarph Tuesday, December 18th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Generation X
Marker Setup: Custom vertical spyder,black ice reg, dye boomstick,hyperframe trigger,custom air assist,shocktech bolt,AKA tornado valve, RAM air, smartparts drop,68ci maxflo tank
Strengths: Its sweet, went fullo auto for about ten seconds and didnt come close to spiking. Consistant as heck. I thought it performed better or as good as the generation X. Stuck a guage on one side and it looks bad.
Weaknesses: need a low preasure spring kit if you want to go below 400PSI. Its black.
Conclusion: I love this reg! I recomend buying one right now if you want consistant shots and insane accuracy!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, October 24th, 2001
Strengths: Great consistancy, very easy to adjust the pressure
light,looks cool.
Weaknesses: i bought this reg broken with two things wrong wit it. one the regulator seal/t was busted and was tough to change.2 the pressure was set to 900 psi when i bought it and the people failed to tell me that i needed to adjust it. anither thing is that the adjuster on the bottom moves way to easily. needs a lock deperately.
Conclusion: good reg had some problems but that just might have been the people who sold it to me faults. suggest a vigilante over the black ice.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media