paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Xtra / Kingman Spyder Xtra / Kingman Spyder Xtra / Kingman Spyder Xtra

Kingman Spyder Xtra Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Xtra

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Xtra
[ View Photos (79) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1036
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $130

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features Include:
Semi Auto Action, Straight Feed System, Rear Cocking 2nd generation Venturi Bolt, Field Strippable T-Pin, Sight Rail with beavertail, Bottom-line set-up with micro-line hose, 2 Finger tigger with regulation guard, Anti-double feed, Filter system, 12"micro-polished barrel, Aluminum 45 trigger grip frame, Low pressure chamber, TL velocity adjuster, Removeable gas-thru foregrip, Mini expansion chamber, Newly designed cocking grip, Special anodizing, Deluxe drop forward.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Xtra is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (104):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Jaket2009 Saturday, July 30th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
BT-16: It balances out what the spyder xtra can't do.
Marker Setup: Removed the C-02 lines and now is direct feed, electric hopper and camo tape.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Automatic trigger parts or a rifled barrel
Strengths: Light, easy
Weaknesses: Its your high end Wal-Mart Marker,
Review: I had this gun as my first gun and its fairly personalized in the sense its not a Tippmen 98 custom with some after market this and that. Its just A MARKER! But when in rapid succession my xtra placed heavy fire on my opponents and its light! Mixed with a slower woods ball gun its a good combo.

Downside is what I said and I suggest getting better hoses and mounts.
Conclusion: Very reliable never jammed like the tippmens.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Romeshredderz Wednesday, July 1st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98
Alpha Black
Spyder Victor II
WGP BOSS Dark Raider
Marker Setup: Apple Green Spyder Xtra
16" Thunderpig barrel
Clamping feedneck
ACS Delrin Bolt - which I dont use
Recommended
Upgrades:
Honestly, if your not willing to or do not have the money for e-upgrades and you only play woodsball or scenario, the stock gun worked great for me.
Strengths: Gun looks cool
stock barrel is awesome
easy to strip
no-tool adjustable velocity
Weaknesses: Too tall with stock feedneck
Beavertail is crap
Eventually replace parts and make repairs
Review: I have had my Spyder Xtra for probably 8-10 years now. It has worked good for woodsball over the years. Overall I have not had too many problems with this gun and when it is working, it is awesome and I love it. I also own a Spyder Victor II and a BOSS Dark Raider, and I have used tippman 98's and Alpha Blacks, and would use the Xtra over the others any day.

I have a 16 in barrel for it but actually use the stock one instead because in my opinion it works better (the barrel must just suck). I purchased an ACS anti-chop bolt for it and had bad luck with it (would pinch the paintball in the marker and get stuck???). But I don't really care because I use the stock bolt and it works great and doesn't chop ball (have only ever chopped less than 10 balls in roughly 10 years).

Over the years I have had to replace many o-rings and tighten many screws. Recently had recocking problems (very frustrating) but found that the problem was the cup seal. The pin would not thread into the stripped cup seal, so I super-glued the pin into the cup seal and the gun worked awesome since.

Conclusion: Obviously now they have changed the xtra quite a bit since my ancient apple green Xtra 10 years ago, but I would recommend this gun to anyone who just plays woodsball and is looking to play recreational paintball and not take it too seriously.
JUST REMEMBER TO KEEP IT OILED ESPECIALLY THE BOLT!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

darksteelaeon Wednesday, January 14th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Bravo one
TIppmann A5.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Tippmann X7 LP Hopper
RT
Spyder 16" Alfa Black Barrel
Barrel thread adaptor (Tippmann>>>Spyder)
Vortex mod>Squishy Paddles>QEPH>Lightning Rod
OpsGear Aluminium power tube
Rap4 Barrel mount
Rap4 Tactical Bipod
Spyder MR1 sght rail
20Oz CO2
Pen spring mod
Trigger Stop mod
Recommended
Upgrades:
longer barrel (not really nessisary)
Strengths: Cheap
Does what it needs to do
reliable
Weaknesses: Leaks
Review: This marker is perfect for the begginner and It wont kill the bank ballance.

This marker was my 1st marker the reason i chose it because it was cheap R1500 ($150) for the Spyder Xtra-Super kit which includes: gun, mask, spares kit and a 12Oz cylinder.

the stock barrel length is 8.5'' (if im not mistaken) and the gun shoots quite accurately.
the 1st upgrade you get should be a longer barrel, but its not really a nessesity.

The gun is very easy to "field strip", requireing only that a push-pin be removed from a small cylindrical piece of metal, this will allow you to remove the velocity adjuster, spring, bolt and striker from the marker body and this makes cleaning a breeze.

my only problem with this gun is that if the expansion chamber located under the barrel was ever removed and replaced it would just leak constantly even if i changed the o-ring.
(im not sure if this happend on anyone elses gun, it could be an isolated incident, so i will not deduct score for this)
Conclusion: Great gun, Good price for what you are getting (altho I did find the mask that came in the kit was rather budget, so that was the first thing i changed), Very reliable and easy to clean.

All in all, a perfect gun for the player who is only beggining to enter the sport

10 out of 10 :)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Legendaryspleen Sunday, September 21st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder pilot
A1
ion
98c
Marker Setup: spyder xtra
delrin acs bolt
ricochet apache hopper (feeds 20 bps)
rocker trigger
21" barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
clamping feed neck
some sort of electronic trigger
Strengths: Cheap
Easily upgraded
Easy to clean/fix
Weaknesses: Slow stock trigger
Feed neck is tall
Slightly heavy
Review: I got this gun a while ago and it has been one of the best guns i've ever used. its easily upgraded. i bought a rocker trigger and it took me 5 seconds to swap it out with the stock trigger. if a paintball does happen to break its very easy to clean, just take out the internals by taking out the pin, sqeegee it out, and oil it. the only weakness is that its slightly heavy but that can easily be fixed by using the tank as a rifle butt and actually pushing it into your arm that way the weight is evenly distributed. the only problem i have now is it jamms alot but ITS NOT THE GUNS FAULT! its my bolt.
Conclusion: Not one of the best guns stock but upgraded its just as good as any other high end marker
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kindness Friday, April 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Similar to alot of other spyders
98c they are very similar personal preference on which is better. Shoot both stock, then decide.
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine
14" J&J Ceramic Barrel
Blade Trigger
Delron anti-chop Bolt
Revvy with X-Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel is decent. I like it better than my stock Imagine barrel, but should still be upped.
If you are breaking paint, barrow a faster hopper and see if that helps. If it does, get one.
The mini expansion chamber is a joke. Get a Regulator.
Nitro/HPA eventually. It runs good on CO2 though.
Venturi bolt sucks. Get a new one or modify existing one.

Get this if you are a hardcore player. Recreational player just have fun with what you got.
Strengths: Accurate.
Reliable
Price
Durable
Simple
Weaknesses: Color for woods
Slow ROF
Trigger
Loud
Bolt
Review: *Strengths:
-The greatest strengths it has is that it comes right out of the box ready to go. Stock barrel is extremely accurate compared to other stock barrels. The other great strength is the -price. It's pretty cheap, but not cheap in performance.
-This bad boy is almost as rugged as chuck norris' beard. It can take a beating. Very durable.
-It is very reliable. Hardly ever breaks balls. Can play in hot humid conditions as well as cold. Don't go to the extreme though unless you have HPA and reg or you could hurt someone.
-If you can't figure this thing out, then you won't find a paintball gun that you can.

*Weaknesses:
-The color is awkward in the woods, but this is a gun for a newbie so he will probably be spotted for something else besides gun color.
-It's rate of fire is nothing compared to higher end guns, but it doesn't matter in the woods.
-The trigger itself is nice. The pull is a long one though. Perfect for woods IMO. I could tell you how many sensitive triggers that have gone of next to my foot.
-The mechanics are loud. I personally like the chink, chink when I shoot.
-The bolt actually restricts the airflow with that star thingy. I think it's in the manual. There are mods on the internet to show you how to get rid of it I think.
-Does have occasional jamming more than ball breaks, at least for me.

*Side Notes:

I can't tell you how gas efficient it is...never really paid attention.

Don't remove the sights even though they are useless as sights. It protects the cocking beavertail.
Conclusion: Ratings...

Performance: 6 out of 10. A realistic score. Don't be discouraged by this. Many other markers would get less than a 4. Only $1000 dollar guns get 9 and 10. It has bolt issues (easily remedied), Slow ROF, long trigger pull, and loud. All are acceptable! It is highly reliable. Mine occasionally jams, but I've had it forever and played often.

Appearance: 7 out of 10. Blue ones get an 8, 'cause the are sexy. I don't really like their looks, but that's a preference right? (You might as well substitute your own score here)

Value: 10 out of 10. The price compared to performance is perfect. Tippmann 98c is a little more expensive with nearly the same performance. I think the stock barrel is more accurate on Xtra, but 98c is more reliable.

Reliability: 7 out of 10. It will still shoot good in bad weather. Not Tippmann reliable, but close. I recommend renting a brass eagle for your first couple of times...you'll never complain about a gun again :)

6+7+10+7=30 30/4= 7.5 People can say it rounds up...but I don't care. It stays were it is, which is what it deserves in it's category of low end mechanical. This is a realistic score! I'm sorry if it offends you. But if you see a 10 out of 10, then they are not being honest. There are so many perfect guns on this site. I wish it were true, but it's not.

If you are new to the sport and want to get in, this is a perfect gun for you. You'll be pleased. I am at least.

Real Score is 7.5!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

USMC17 Sunday, March 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
piranha, inferno, other spyders
Marker Setup: Just got a new spyder extra, nothing done yet .
Recommended
Upgrades:
Id like a longer ported barrel and a bolt, different expansion chamber with a air gauge. And maybe the E-grip.
Strengths: Theyve been around for a while, durable and trustworthy, Shoot awesome, Lots of options.
Weaknesses: Dont like vertical feed, color is awesome but to bright for the woods.
Review: Well kingmans been in the game for a long time, they are very durable, last a long time. My first gun was a diablo inferno, same design as a spyder and it was a cheap hundred dollar marker and had power and distance, it was pretty awesome.

Ive had many others too, im actually also using a jt tac 5 recon that i just reviewed also, but i like the cheaper basic markers better than high ends. They are so much cheaper and easier to work with and unlike my buddy who went out and dropped over a thousand on an autococker, im not the one always in the shop getting it fixxed.
Conclusion: Spyders are worth the money, they arent that expensive and theyve been in the game for a long time. Easy to maintain and use.

I give em a 20 on my scale.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 29th, 2008 at 1:28 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xtravs2 Friday, January 11th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
JT Tac-5 Recon
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra
Halo B
3000 PSI Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Feedneck
Strengths: Accurate With CO2
Weaknesses: Barrel
Feedneck
Review: Ok I am new to paintball and this gun is very nice for a starter gun i paid 75 bucks for it on clearance. I have upgraded to a rocking trigger, a new feedneck, and a smart parts all american barrel. It is very accurate with the new barrel and 3000 Psi tank. The rocking trigger allows it to shoot 30 bps and the halo hopper helps alot.
Conclusion: I reccomend you get this if yourstarting up
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jpspadaro Thursday, January 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra w/ 14" Smart Parts Progressive Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
The gun is pretty good out of the box, but i bought a new barrel because the accuracy was its weakest point
Strengths: -Doesn't use much air
-Cheap
Weaknesses: - Accuracy (not too bad, but can improve)
Review: This was my first gun, and I got it for under $100 at a local wal mart. I wasn't expecting much but this gun is pretty gun. It keeps the velocity consistent, so you know that your shots will be close. It also doesn't use much air, which saves a lot of money, but it still shoots pretty fast . The only problem i have with it is the hopper and the plastic part that connects it to the gun (the one that came with it in the box). They break pretty easy, and if it breaks during a game your hopper can fall off and you're screwed.
Conclusion: Great...the best part is when you shoot someone with a $500 gun and all you had is a mechanical spyder
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Z-FAIN Tuesday, December 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder MR1
Marker Setup: Pirahana gti w/ dye barrel and halo b hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer, better barrel
Electronic trigger
Strengths: Gun shoots good
Doesn't break a lot of balls
Looks nice
Weaknesses: Cocking bolt
Review: The gun was a pretty good gun. It fired well and hardly broke a ball. But everytime I went to clean it it was always a pain. The cocking bolt would never want to come out and one day I went to pull it out and the bolt broke completely.
Conclusion: This is a great gun for a starter if you get one with a good cocking bolt.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fortyblank Sunday, December 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Compact 2000
Core Spyder clone
Marker Setup: 2002 Spyder Xtra
Smart Parts Progresseve
Kapp Feed Neck
12-Volt Revy

2001 WGP RF Autococker
WGP Hinge Trigger
Kapp adjustable front reg
STO 3-Way
Shocktech Front Block
Delron venturi bolt (I don't know who made it)
Custom Products On/Off
Custom Products Flame Rail Drop Forward
Smart Parts All-American
9-Volt Ricochet LCD
Pure Energy 68C.I. 4500 PSI tank wrapped in a Proto tank cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
New bolt
E-trigger
New Drop forward
New Barrel
New regulator
New metal feed neck
Strengths: Price
Available upgrades
Weight
Reliability
Ease-ability to clean
Weaknesses: Trigger pull
Feed neck
Tourny lock
Top heavy
Loud pinging sound
Inconsistent volocity
Review: I bought this back in 2002 for 100 bucks at my local paintball store. I think I bought the Progresseve with it but I can't remember it was five years ago so who knows. First time playing I loved the wieght of it, it was so much lighter than anything else I had used except the Spyder Compact 2000. The trigger pull is long put I got used to it and eventully was able to shoot reasonably fast for a mech-Spyder. After a while the plastic feed neck started to crack so I replaced it with Kapps non-adjustable feed neck. It made the gun less top heavy by lowering the hopper whitch helps when you play the sides like I do. After a while I noticed a Loud pinging sound every time I shot and after complaining about it to a few people I was told that it is because of running it on CO2. So I bought my brothers Pure Energy Compressed Air tank and problem solved. The accuracy and range is quite good if you have a good paint-to-barrel match. I prefer Marbs(Marbalizer) or Diablo Formula 13. I don't think I ever broke a SINGLE round when I had a good paint-to-barrel match. Do not lose the metric tourny volocity screw. I lost mine and the field I played at would not let me play witch makes sense now but was a pain then. The screw cost me five dollars for a four centimeter screw. So don't lose it or you'll have to pay.
Conclusion: I highly recommend it to anyone who is begining. It is solid and easy to clean and repair after you get compterable with taking it apart.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 16th, 2007 at 11:22 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (104):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media