paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Xtra / Kingman Spyder Xtra / Kingman Spyder Xtra / Kingman Spyder Xtra

Kingman Spyder Xtra Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Xtra

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Xtra
[ View Photos (79) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1036
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $130

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features Include:
Semi Auto Action, Straight Feed System, Rear Cocking 2nd generation Venturi Bolt, Field Strippable T-Pin, Sight Rail with beavertail, Bottom-line set-up with micro-line hose, 2 Finger tigger with regulation guard, Anti-double feed, Filter system, 12"micro-polished barrel, Aluminum 45 trigger grip frame, Low pressure chamber, TL velocity adjuster, Removeable gas-thru foregrip, Mini expansion chamber, Newly designed cocking grip, Special anodizing, Deluxe drop forward.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Xtra is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (104):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Paintballmania5 Sunday, October 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder VS3(my main gun)
BT-4 Ironhorse
Spyder T-L
Spyder Shutter
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra with Viewloader Revolution and remote system
Recommended
Upgrades:
Straight feedeck.(preferably plastic,the kind they dont make anymore)
Strengths: Accuracy
easy to clean
easy to fix
speed(is normal for semi)
not much problems.
Weaknesses: Drop forward(sorry i dont like em)
Review: This was my first gun ive ever had and it never let me down.I rarely broke a ball in it,u can still brak balls in it but i barely did.Cleaning it is easy, all you have to do is take out the bolt and things and put oil on the o-rings.I think you put some oil on the bolt too,im not completely sure.The accuracy,hmm what to say.Just AMAZING!For a gun that costs $75(i got mine less than that) it is really accurate.That may not be with all people but if you want good accuracy put alcohal and Rain-X thru the barrel.It didnt give me alot of problems,but when it did they were easy to fix.
Conclusion: Altogether get this gun for a backup or if you just wanna play with an Xtra!This was may main gun till I got a Spyder VS3.The Xtra is a good back-up and main gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PUL5E Monday, August 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom
Spyder Victor 07
Spyder Pilot ACS
All autocockers
PMR
SLG
Marker Setup: Main
PROTO SLG
warrior clamp feedneck
evil pipe kit
CP on/off
Warrior S trigger

Back up
Spyder Xtra 2005
Spyder FASTA e-Loader
32 Degrees Drop
Spyder Quick-Detach Feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
New trigger
New feedneck
Strengths: Accurate
Doesnt chop
Customizable
Great beginer or expert gun
Weaknesses: C02 sometimes freezes if you have a hose
Bolts
Bulky
Review: This gun is amazing for the price. I purchased the Xtra off ebay for $39. It was a great deal. When I first got it, it was very sleek and nice. The aluminum is very smoth and doesn't allow paint to dry up. I took this baby to the local paintball arena. I played rounds of CTF and it was excelent. It can hit a human size target accuratly from 40 ft away. The paint doesnt chop with the new Anti-Chop bolt that comes with the gun. No double feeds at all. The one thing that bothers me is that it is very hard to use the double trigger because the middle finger spot is slightly moward than the index finger one. It isnt even and can cause non-consistant fire rates. Overall this is a ver very good gun!! Buy it if you don't want to buy a Diablo or Bob Long. Great first gun.
Conclusion: Excelent quiality and price. One of the best semi-autos under 200. Better than the Sonix and Victor. Thanks for reading. Happy Paintballin!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 25th, 2008 at 10:17 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Albert 93 Wednesday, June 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Diablo Wrath
VL revvy
HPA

Spyder Extra(no longer in working condition)
20 oz co2
APP gravity
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
E-Trigger
Clamping Feedneck
Strengths: Cheap
Begginners gun
Weaknesses: Loud
Inaccurate
Review: Well this was my first Paintball gun i got in 2005. I got it for $85. I got the Black Spyder Xtra Because Cobalt was too shiney and i didnt really like shiney guns back then. So i bought some Paint and a filled tank fomr walmart and pop some shots off. This thing was loud and kinda inaacurate. But it still shot people. On the Field i felt i was outgunned by people with Egos, Karnis, Shockers. The Range on this is isnt good so you have to play front.
Conclusion: Good starter Gun
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

paintballfan531 Friday, May 25th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Recommended
Upgrades:
longer barrel
Strengths: Accurate, looks nice, sturdy, easy to clean
Weaknesses: None really
Review: i liked it it was a good gun and it didnt have that many problems. I use it when me and my friend go paintballing. It's a good gun. I recomment it to a noob or an experienced player. This is a good reliable gun and I don't think that if you buy this gun you will regret it. I like this gun and anybody who uses it will be happy.
Conclusion: Good gun buy it.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Funko Tuesday, May 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Eradicater- NOT EVEN CLOSE!!

32 Degrees Icon X- Similar but spyder wins
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra Stock setup
Recommended
Upgrades:
This marker comes ready to go out of the box. If you want any upgrades they are just prefrence upgrades on how you want ur gun to look.
Strengths: Does not Chop Balls.
Cheap
Great look.
Accurate!
Weaknesses: Mines bright blue so it stands out
Review: This is a great buy for a beginner or advances paintballer. I use mine for bushball and it works great. Mines bright blue so i gives me away in the bush but thats the only bad thing i could find about this gun. I have shot over 5000 balls with this gun and not one has broke in the barrel.
Conclusion: Cant loose with this buy!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Soo Bin Yim Monday, May 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
- Tippmann Custom Pro (Similar "starter's" gun)
- Spyder E-99
- Spyder Imagine
Marker Setup: - Spyder Xtra Stock only
"I'm here to explain the most accurate facts about the Spyder Xtra without any mods/upgrades for those people who are wanting to know about this gun"
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel:
- The stock barrel is very good for its price and as a stock
- It is easy to clean when if was a chop
- An upgrade for better accuracy and less noise would help (Smart Parts, Dye, etc)
Strengths: - Best Beginner's/Intermediate's choice of gun
- Cheap
- Accurate stock barrel
- Reliable (Kingman)
- "Easy"
Weaknesses: Vertical Feed:
- Gun is tall(read for myths)
Colour:
- Very bright
- Difficult camouflage
Noise
- loud
Review: I've been paint balling for a very long time and I can remember the day that my friend wanted to get his very first paintball gun. "Which gun is the best gun for me to use and that is cheap?". I right away had two brands in my mind. Spyder & Tippmann. Tippmanns tend to be "unbreakable", meaning that it's very strong and will last a very long time. The reason that I told my pal to get a Spyder Xtra was that the Spyder Extra was very cheap. Yes, im being honest here. This gun was very cheap compared to every other guns around!
"But i think its way too cheap, i don't think it'll work properly and stuff, you know?"
-WRONG
The spyder extra was one of the guns that worked extremely well for its price.
The barrel was very accurate. For a stock, the barrel delivered accurate shots across the field. The few thing that i noticed was that the gun was pretty noisy compared to many other guns. A new barrel which i tried certainly helped a lot on decreasing the amount of sound that the gun produced.
"Dude, your gun is so tall"
A lot of people say that the tall hopper makes the gun very unpleasant to carry around and difficult to aim. My thoughts about that is that as you use the gun even for the first time, you barely notice the height of your gun. I don't know about some people but i realized that during games, you'll be easy comfortable with its height and not even realize the height of your gun. Of course there could be more percentages of getting hopper hits but every gun has its own weakness. Aiming. Yes i know for those newbies who are always used to aiming through a little hole or slit to aim can be frightened to hear that you have to aim sideways along your gun! Aiming will become your second nature while you play with guns that have vertical feeds.


Conclusion: The Spyder Xtra is a fantastic choice of gun to buy as a starter. This gun delivers the best quality shots and maintenance for its price. You might experience few chops, leaks, bad accuracy, etc but so what? As long as you have a good time with your gun that wasn't even that expensive. And those of you who think that the gun is way to vibrant for camouflaging, use CAMO DUCT TAPE! haha enjoy
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 7th, 2007 at 9:21 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dmjamman Saturday, April 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Strengths: It Feeds the Balls really well, and has a really easy trigger pull.
Weaknesses: It chops alot, and isn't the most accurate gun.
Review: This gun is just an ok gun. I haven't been playing long but almost every time i go out this is the gun i use. But thats will soon all change. Its a good gun in case you get into a fire fight, but definatly not not a long range gun, because if you try to shoot your opponent from a far distance the balls will curve away from them. It is just an Ok gun.
Conclusion: I don't think i will use the gun any time soon again, because every time i try to shoot someone it would always chop-up the balls or curve away from them. Its a good fire fight gun because it has good feed. But a bad sniping gun because it it curves away and it will chop the ball about 5-100 balls. Its just OK.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

themop Saturday, April 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
maybe all spyders...well most.
Marker Setup: 2004 spyder xtra(repainted it metaicllic green)
evil pipe kit(12 inch black)
dxs pulse hopper(black)
orange ultrashock 2 bolt
kingman esp 3.0 elctro trigger frame with dye stickies grip
lucky spitfire board
bob long torpedo reg
twisted low pressure volumizer
flame drop forward


Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel either teardrop or whisper if ur on a budget or if ya got some change laying around get a freak kit or evil pipe kit
new hopper either a tsa halo or an egg maybe a revy if ur new and cant walk the dog that good...but only need a electro hopper if u get a eclectric trigger frame new bolt eighter evel ventrui bolt or acs
Strengths: Depenable gun...strong grip comverable gunn angle... light not heavy like others
Weaknesses: Stock barrel,not electric. the bolt thtas about it
Review: Good gun (stock)for newbs or just strating out easy upgradeable when upgraded properly it can be a deadly gun.great gun shoots decent i got clocked at 23 bps...(with upgrades listed) it can go faster) tons of upgrades. its not fast stock, ok on accuray when stock can hit some people, when i first got it the guy say its benn droped on concret, its been droped in woods and speed and still works like a charm
Conclusion: Very dependable if taken care of ver y simple design aslo i fella little cooler when u cock it from the rear of the gun..good gun for stock
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

towergod Saturday, April 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder sonix
tippman c98
Marker Setup: kingman fenix ACS with 16" progressive smartparts barrel 32 degrees high performance valve trinity spring kit
kingman Xtra with acs and 16" smartparts linier barrel gravity feed hopper for now
Recommended
Upgrades:
the stock barrel isn't bad but get a longer barrel if you want the accuracy
An acs bolt is nice to have but not really needed
Strengths: Price is not bad, ready to go out of the box
Weaknesses: Just the barrel
Review: I have 2 xtras one 2005 and one redesigned 2006 both guns work awesome out of the box. I recommend getting a longer barrel for accuracy and i tossed in an acs bolt just for fun. trust me the gun doesn't really need it but it helps in serious speedball games. this is a good gun for a beginner or a seasoned player as the add for this gun says when it just has to work the xtra delivers. This gun is massively upgradeable so it can conform to just about any playing style. however i don't recommend low pressuring this gun. This is not because it performs poorly when low pressured it does awesome it is because of the price involved in buying the parts needed. if you want low pressure go with a vs2 or vs3 the work is already done but as i said you don't need to low pressure this gun get a 14 or 16 inch barrel and the gun will be quiet as a mouse this gun rocks
Conclusion: I recommend this gun to any player its accurate fast as any semi and is just plain easy to work on. Even my wife who knows nothing about paintball can use this gun and service it when it just has to work the xtra delivers
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jedianakinsolo Monday, April 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL Triad - Not half as good.
I've fought and sampled other guns, but the Triad's the only one I've used extensively.
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra
- Smart Parts All American 14''
- Custom pistol grip mounting stock
- Custom grips (They're also mounted on the pistol grip, in case you're wondering)
- VL Revolution
- Bob Long Torpedo Reg
- Shocktech Superfly Bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck, first thing. The stock one I swear comes out of the box cracked. Does not last.
Barrel, soon as possible.
Regulator, hopper, stuff like that, but only if you want it. The above two are nearly necessary.
Strengths: Cheap
Tough
Parts availability
Easy to find help on
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Barrel
Review: I got mine about a year ago for twenty bucks. It shot fine, worked good, loved the gun.

It's rugged. I don't think it's as indestructible as a 98c, but it's a tough gun. It's easy to clean also. I've yanked the guts out multiple times on the field and run the squeegee through. I don't know if it's the brightest thing to do, but the fact that you can, and it works, speaks for itself.

It's easy to find. Not only did I get mine cheap, but I got my brother's for twenty also. Being easy to find, it's also easy to get parts for, and on the same token, there are a lot of people who know what's wrong with almost any given problem. It being a Spyder, you automatically have the OtterSC site which is awesome for reference, help, upgrades, anything.

Upgrading it is unlimited. First things first. The feedneck sucks. Doesn't matter, straight or bent, Kingman elbows stink. I used mine for a day, chucked it and got a PVC adapter and stuffed it on. Works way better. If you want something fancier, there's always the CCM or NDZ feednecks.

The barrel. The barrel works fine for a few games, but after awhile, you start wanting some more length and some better accuracy. Does a barrel contribute to accuracy? Yeah, definitely, but it's not gonna make your aim perfect. The stock Kingman barrels leave a lot to ask for, so grab a J & J ceramic or something. Me, I grab whatever has decent reviews and is cheap on the Trading forum.

After those two necessities, you can go for Low Pressure setup. That's my goal at the moment. That includes Regulator, modded/new VA, spring kit, good stuff like that. You can also get hoppers (After some experience, you start wanting to just be able to shoot, not shoot shoot shoot, shake, shoot shoot shoot shake. The VL revolution solves that problem.) and maybe an Electronic grip.

Overall, I love my Xtra and my brother likes his. The only Spyders I'd really choose over them would maybe be the Rodeo or the Sonix. Upgraded like my Xtra is, it'll out perform a stock Rodeo and Sonix, but stock, I think the Rodeo's a little better. It's also more expensive. For me, a used Xtra beats everything.

Also, the only problem I've ever had with my Xtra is the bolt chopping a ball and getting stuck. It's happened twice. The bolt gets stuck halfway and will not move. It takes taking apart the gun and cleaning it to fix that. Otherwise, not a problem, and I haven't had that problem since I got the Superfly bolt.

Conclusion: Awesome gun. Great for a woodsballer, or somebody who's not paintballing every weekend and then some. You want a gun you can go pick up and have it work, Xtra's your gun. Just clean it out after every game.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (104):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media