paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Xtra / Kingman Spyder Xtra / Kingman Spyder Xtra / Kingman Spyder Xtra

Kingman Spyder Xtra Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Xtra

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Xtra
[ View Photos (79) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1036
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $130

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features Include:
Semi Auto Action, Straight Feed System, Rear Cocking 2nd generation Venturi Bolt, Field Strippable T-Pin, Sight Rail with beavertail, Bottom-line set-up with micro-line hose, 2 Finger tigger with regulation guard, Anti-double feed, Filter system, 12"micro-polished barrel, Aluminum 45 trigger grip frame, Low pressure chamber, TL velocity adjuster, Removeable gas-thru foregrip, Mini expansion chamber, Newly designed cocking grip, Special anodizing, Deluxe drop forward.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Xtra is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (104):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
bparres Monday, April 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 and 98 custom
Marker Setup: Spyder Extra
ESP Trigger Frame
Dye Boomstick 12 inch
viewloader x-board hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Electronic Trigger Frame (for more serious players)
Strengths: Reliability, Accurate, and Nice
Weaknesses: Hopper set up...very tall eay target for oppenents
Review: The Spyder Xtra is a great gun for any begginer looking to stray from the standered pick of the Tippman and wow your friends. With its sleek and classy design to its great performance it is a sure way to go. Stock the gun works wonderfully. Accuracy is reliable but with a new barrel (only if u plan to make it a sport rather than an occasion gathering) this guns full potential is recognized. Great in wooded play and great speed. On speed ball it can be a hassle with its set up with the hopper standing directly on top of the gun making it very tall and eaisy for hopper hits. I highly recodmend getting an electronic trigger frame for this gun to make its beauty match its power.
Conclusion: This is a great starter gun for any player who is looking for a classy gun that shines in performance and in style.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

413sonix Friday, April 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Other Spyders, some better, some worse.
Tippmanns, a little worse.
Marker Setup: Nothing at the moment.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Lo-rise clamping feedneck
HPA
Fast hopper
ESP frame.
Strengths: Upgradeable
Accurate
Easy maintenance
Efficent
Weaknesses: Not fast
Loud
Feels big
Adjusting velocity is a pain
Review: I owned one of these for a short while. I bought it off of a friend for something to tinker with. I used it once and sold it back to him. It's not a bad gun. While I was dirtbiking I got another chance to use one of these. For some reason, the one I was using was unusally accurate with the stock barrel. I pointed and the ball went there. I don't know how, it just did. Spyders are also easy to maintain. Takes me less than 10 minutes to take the thing apart and put it back together and clean it. You can also upgrade EVERYTHING on Spyders. It did feel like it was a huge gun though, and it was pretty loud, and of course it's not fast because it is a mechanical marker. Adjusting the velocity is a pain on this too. The beavertail gets in the way of the adjuster.
Conclusion: I recommend it as a cheap beginners marker.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

some person Sunday, March 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
other spyder mechs- same
ions and other electric guns-obviously much better but its hardly fair to compare a gun like this with them
Marker Setup: ion, 72/3000 air tank, empire barrel kit, clamping feed neck, halo, warrior trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
maybe a regulator
Strengths: Cheap
always works
fairly accurate
good for price
Weaknesses: Cant fire fast
loud
kick
Review: If you are new to paintball, or need a gun that will work no matter what as a backup, this is a good gun to get. higher end guns are more complicated, so obviously more things can go wrong with them, and if you have a problem with your ion or something it can ruin your whole day cuz you have to stop playing. this gun or any other spyder mech gun may not be as good or fast, but it will always work, so you can keep playing even though you wont be as competitive.
Conclusion: Get it if you need a backup gun, or are new to paintball because it wont let you down
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cwpaintball Tuesday, March 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion
Other spyders
Marker Setup: Ion
16 inch freak kit
Rake trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Bolt
Trigger frame
Board
Spring kit
Strengths: Light
Accurate
Weaknesses: Big
Loud
Kick
Slow
Review: Ok about 1 yr ago i got this gun with high expectations it was slow yet very accurate. I had used this gun to go about 2 time in a month but it served me well than i got the ion.But that is off topic so anyways the wieght isnt that bad although it is louder than anyother gun out.
Conclusion: This is a good begginer gun i reccomend
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SpyderJT Monday, March 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder imagine
Marker Setup: stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing really, its a good stock gun
Strengths: Twelve inch stock barrel.
Weaknesses: Beaver tail gets in the way.
Review: I recently got a spyder xtra superkit for christmas and its a good gun, starter gun anyways. I've used this gun numerous times with out any breakage, the barrel is pretty accurate, this is a good gun but no ego.This gun is good for $130. I wouldn't reccomend this to the wealthy player except for maybe a practice gun. To the noob in the stands it would be a comp. gun.
Conclusion: If your just starting but cant afford the best, get it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 31st, 2007 at 3:23 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hako_Asian_Tako Sunday, March 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion, Tipman 98
Marker Setup: Spyder XTRA is all stock. Ion has blackheart, firebolt, QEV, CBQ roller, CBQ feedneck, a bunch of other stuff.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, electronic trigger frame maybe
Strengths: Efficient, Pretty Accurate, Durable
Weaknesses: Loud, Screws came loose for me, Tall with feedneck.
Review: I bought this marker as a beginner. When i finally played with it I didnt exactly know a good gun from a bad one but all i knew is that i was getting guys out who had fully automatic A-5s. The referees at the field told me that i would usually need to refill my tank after like 3-4 hoppers i believe. But it took a lot more than 3 or 4 hoppers to empty my tank. Other than that i realized my shots weren't going crazy like they did with a rental gun.
Conclusion: If you are just starting out this is a very good gun to buy. If it wasn't this marker i wouldn't have gotten so into the sport.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Invisty Monday, March 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor II
Marker Setup: Tippmann Triumph AL-200 Hopper,
Smart Parts Linear 16" Barrel,
9oz Vanilla CO2 w/ Spyder remote line,
V-Force Vantage Pro Mask,
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely a new barrel. Although the 12" stock barrel is good for the price, getting a new barrel is first priority for a performance increase.
Also, a rail offset is recommended if you plan on making any expansions on the sights.
Strengths: Value
Reliability
Construction
Quality
Weaknesses: No Serious Weaknesses
Review: The Spyder Xtra is the second marker I have owned, and it performs amazingly.
Chopping is rare and even with a non-electronic bog standard loader, it worked fine for me 100% of the time.
The only issue with this gun, off the shelf, is the barrel. it is a standard 12" Spyder barrel, and generates more noise than a name barrel would.
The accuracy is on par with stock guns, so while the stock barrel is perfectly tolerable by all means, it is your first major item on the upgrade list.
I found the stock drop forward to be perfectly acceptable, considering some low-end semi-auto markers of other brands do not come with drop forwards.
The construction and design of the marker is top notch, with a strong metal construction and high durability.
Maintenance is simple, being a mechanical marker. Documentation was easy to find.
Balance was not perfect with the mods, but of course a remote line is going to change the balance.
Given the right upgrades, this marker can really perform in scenario paintball. I have not played speedball with it so that is an unknown for me.
Conclusion: The Spyder Xtra is a great low end marker for budding enthusiasts and beginners alike.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hsu773 Saturday, March 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
TIppman 98 custom, Sting ray, spyder victor II
Marker Setup: My Trusted spyder xtra
14 inch Razzor barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
only the barrel
Strengths: It's accurate
Quiet
Light
Cheap
Weaknesses: It's too flashy for woods ball. Perfectly fine for a starting speed baller tho
Review: This gun was a birthday presant from my Dad, he bought it at wal-mart for like 97 bucks. I went paintballing with some of my friends with the stock barrel and it shot pretty decent, but i think an after market barrel is a must have. The gun's pretty sturdy and it's easy to keep clean. Shoots very well for the price. But if your a woods baller, then get the color black, the other colors will give you away. I only had 3 balls chop in 3 years.
Conclusion: It's Light
Cheap
Looks great
Shoots decent out of the box
Quiet
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Don Carnage Thursday, March 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other Spyders.
Tippmanns.
Cockers.
Ions.
Automags
Marker Setup: Paradigm Pro Automag w/ Custom Products Razor drop and on/off ASA, Viper-blade trigger, and Lapco Snapshot
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel.
Bolt.
Expansion Chamber.
Metal feedneck since the plastic ones break.
Strengths: Cheap.
Simple to operate and maintain.
Weaknesses: Needs too many upgrades to make it worth it.
Review: I bought an X-tra years ago to use as a loaner gun and as something to work on and upgrade. Since then I've replaced just about every part in it. It works well and has never once given me a problem.

However, by the time you're done upgrading it, you spent more than it would have taken to have just gone ahead and bought a high-end gun. The expansion chamber barely qualifies as one. The bolt scratched up the inside. The barrel is horrible. It required a bolt-on plastic feedneck that is prone to breaking.
Conclusion: While it's easy to use and perfect for a beginner who has no knowledge on paintgun internals, the X-tra is not a gun to be proud of. There are much better entry-level guns that can offer those same things and give better results.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 1st, 2007 at 10:29 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintball_Ninja Thursday, March 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
MY mod 98, see setup
most mech spyders
Marker Setup: Model 98 16" Progressive barrel 47ci 3000psi compressed air

For Now That Is.....
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, new gun....
Strengths: Stock barrel is longer than 98c
Weaknesses: Trigger pull
Not very strippable
It is a Spyder...
Review: My dad owns this gun, and i absolutely hate it. It has the worst trigger pull in the history of the world. It is something around the lines of an inch and a half or so. This completely defeats the purpose of the double trigger, as it is impossible to walk it. Also, as a woodsballer, i generally like to look down my gun, which is impossible due to the feedneck, though this isnt that big of a deal. However, a feedneck extender is required, which is a pain. I generally dont like spyders anyway, though i did like the shutter, possibly because it was the first marker i shot.
Conclusion: Buy a tippmann, they're better. However, it is better than a brass eagle, or the tac-5.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 1st, 2007 at 8:06 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (104):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media