paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Xtra / Kingman Spyder Xtra / Kingman Spyder Xtra / Kingman Spyder Xtra

Kingman Spyder Xtra Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Xtra

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Xtra
[ View Photos (79) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1036
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $130

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features Include:
Semi Auto Action, Straight Feed System, Rear Cocking 2nd generation Venturi Bolt, Field Strippable T-Pin, Sight Rail with beavertail, Bottom-line set-up with micro-line hose, 2 Finger tigger with regulation guard, Anti-double feed, Filter system, 12"micro-polished barrel, Aluminum 45 trigger grip frame, Low pressure chamber, TL velocity adjuster, Removeable gas-thru foregrip, Mini expansion chamber, Newly designed cocking grip, Special anodizing, Deluxe drop forward.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Xtra is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (104):  First  |  43  |  44  |  45  |  46  |  47  |  48  |  49  |  Last
        Next Page
magnus_pyros Monday, March 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Piranha, Tippman 98 Custom, and Spyder Xtra TL
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Xtra
14"J&J Ceramic Barrel
12oz and/or 20 oz CO2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, maybe a larger expansion chamber
Strengths: Price, less than $100.
Stock barrel isn't too bad.
Weaknesses: Barrel doesn't have great range
I chop a few balls once in a while.
Review: I bought this gun after going through great thought, i was leaning on three different guns, two of which i mentioned earlier. I played with a spyder tl and was very satisfied with it but found that the Xtra had most of the same features for a lower price. I am very satisfied with my purchase, especially when i went on against my father who has a tippman 98 custom with a 14" barrel. I had just a stock barrel and still shot more accurately than he did. I do chop a few balls out of a hundred, but it probably was the cheap paint, that is mostly when it happens. the stock barrel is good but could have better range, and if a ball breaks I had to squeegee it to shoot straight again. The expansion chamber is nice but i a larger one would be a lot better. All and all a great gun for around $100.
Conclusion: Great gun, would recommend to anyone. Great price and performance
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SpyderPride Monday, March 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor- Horrible barrel, inefficient
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra (blue)
20 oz PE Co2 Tank (anti-syphoned)
WGP Ergo Regulator (black)
Maddman Springs
Magnaport valve w/ maxflow pin
Polished internals
1 cm trigger job (will be shorter soon)
VL200 Hopper
Custom Products Black 12" Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel- inside of stock not smooth.
Anti-Syphon tube
Regulator
Strengths: Well-made, efficient, upgradable, durable, easy to clean, CHEAP (paid $75).
Weaknesses: Bolt scratching (normal, though), WEAK expansion chamber, stock barrel
Review: This was my first paintball marker and it got me through the newb stage very well. It works very well out of the box for beginners, and now I have it upgraded pretty well for higher level play. I actually got mine to recock down at ~180psi, with the upgrades I did above. It shot a little hot when I first got it, but a lighter mainspring calmed it down. Definitely recommend reg, a/s, and new barrel if you want to compete with better markers.

Conclusion: If you are a beginner and you are considering this marker, GET IT!!! You will not be disappointed. When you get better, this marker can get better with you, for a pretty low price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

the-tyrant Sunday, March 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98
Marker Setup: xtra, ricochet G2K, 20 CO2, JT barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new BARREL!!!!
Strengths: how gooos it is out of the box
Weaknesses: none!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Review: this gun is one of the best semi auto gun out on the market if not the best and if ur just gettin started in paintball then this is the gun to get!!! because comes great right out of the box and about the best thing u can do to it is a get a better barrel
Conclusion: it is well worth the $75 i spent on it and its the greatest gun to get started with
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

painter007 Saturday, March 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder sonic-not as good as the Xtra
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra-J&J ceramic, bob long topedo reg., superfly bolt, srint e-trigger,ak hopper,12 co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
doesn't need any upgrades right away but like all spyders over time, you buy new things for it
Strengths: accuracy/range-very good for a spyder
looks
doesn't break that many balls
Weaknesses: not good in cold weather
breaks a few balls but what gun doesn't
Review: The Xtra is a good all-around gun for beginners and people that have been playing for a while. The stock performance is pretty good but after awhile you'll want to upgrade it with a new barrel etc. For $80 it's one of the best in it's class. Go for it!
Conclusion: One of the best semi-suto spyders. Highly recommended over any other low-end semi around $100
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pimpedoutsport Saturday, March 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder sport (not as good)
VL orion (not as good)
Marker Setup: 32 degrees icon E
14 inch thunder pig CMI barrel
Veiwloader Quantum Loader
Unique 12 oz. C02 tank cover

Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Nice Strong Metal
Accurate
Cocks Easily
Weaknesses: Ugly Color
Shiny
Review: This is a decent paintball gun. My little brother got one and sad to say he beats me a lot. But thats not what im here to tell you. It is a nice sturdy gun thats quite accurate with a longer nicer barrel. It's one of the coolest guns to modify because theres so much you can do with it. You deffinately cannot beat the price and quality of this gun i strongly reccomend it to anyone with even a modderately tight budget.
Conclusion: This is a WONDERFUL gun for the price i deffinately reccomend it to anyone thinking about getting in on the sport.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Penny4You Friday, March 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year15 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Clones, Tippmans
Marker Setup: 04 Autococker with all the goodies.

Stock Extra
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Accurate
Gass Efficiant
Kick Isnt too Bad
Good Anno
Weaknesses: Trigger pull is very long
Hopper adapter makes it very tall
Review: Well, my father wanted to try out paintball. Asked me whats the cheapest thing he could get without looking like a total fool. Ended up getting one of these with a 20oz, and just a regular hopper plus a mask for about $120. I would be shocked if in a game he could fire even half a hopper. Treats it like each shot is gold, while im off shooting everything that twitches. I used it a few times, shocked at the quality, when it costed something like $70. Great quality. I also take care of it for him, keep it all oiled and clean. Very easy. Just pop the pin out, take out the bolt/hammer, few drops of oil, right back in. Takes 60 seconds. Never frozen up. Oh the 20oz co2 is directly screwed into the gun. Drop is worthless though, i will say that. Not sure it does anything at all. Anno is cool looking. Has yet to scratch or anything. Stock barrel is fine. You can hit a foot wide target easily at 100 feet with it in about 4 shots. Trigger pull is massive, but you can still get a good string of paint going. Kick is normal for a blow back, not any worse or better. The only thing i really hate is the hopper adapter, makes the hopper ride about 2 inches higher than what it would on something with a low rise.
Conclusion: Want to get started in this sport? This is the way to go. Screw the tippmans. This thing is half or a third of the cost. And just as good if not better. Definety more simple to operate and take care of. You can upgrade it to a delrin bolt, and even to an electro. Get a reg, and you have yourself a tourney entry marker all for the cost of a stock autococker. It runs very well off co2, i have yet to try my N2 on it. Its all metal, im sure it could take numerous falls, and even a ride out a car window on the highway and still operate just fine. Its definetly a marker made to take the beating of a new player. Im sure this will be working 10 years from now, its that good. The bolt is metal, people say "get a delrin it will scratch the body". Not true. The metal work is outstanding. I have shot it without oiling it before, and it works fine. Bolt still moves very slick inside. Very very durable marker. Defintly over-looked. People who buy a tipmman over this are making a big big mistake. For what you get at the price, its most definetly a 10. Should easily cost $150-$160. Barrel is great for a stock. And the grips are good quality too. They didnt even junk out on the grips. Thats how good this is. Impulse stock grips are aweful. And thats almost a $600 marker stock. Its not heavy either. Weight is about 3-4lb with a full hopper and 20oz. Very sturdy. BUY IT. You wont be disapointed. I promise. If your going to trust anyones advice, trust someone who uses a $1200 autococker as their main marker. This thing is defintly worth what they ask.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 7th, 2004 at 11:35 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

joshdp16 Sunday, March 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
i used to have a Spyder delux and it doesn't even compare. On my Xtra the first thing I did was buy a new barrel. Ibought the 2 piece dye ultralite 18", and it works great.
Marker Setup: Currently I'am using a Spyder xtra with a dye ultra lite barrel and 20oz. Co2 tank. It works exceptionally well for a $200 dollar gun.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Some of the must have upgrades would be the better barrel, and a shorter trigger.
Strengths: With a new 18" barrel it is extremely accurate.
Weaknesses: It is a little on the heavy side.
Review: the gun is good all around. You will notice a difference like night and day when you do get a new barrel. I love this gun, I'll say that when under pressure it packs a punch. If you know how to use it then buy it. In my last game I out lasted almost the best Autocockers and to me that is pretty good for this type of gun. this gun you get more for the price that you can afford.
Conclusion: I'd say that this is one of the better gunds that Spyder had madebecause it has alot of quality parts for acheaper price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

morbidgoth01 Sunday, March 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra
12 in. Progressive Barrel
ESP Trigger Frame
PMI Pure Energy Regulator
Psycho Ballistics Drop Forward
20 oz. Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel, accuracy isnt the greatest but isnt the worst at the same time
Strengths: Good gun
Sturdy
Strong
Capable of fast R.O.F.
Weaknesses: Accuracy
Review: I like this gun as is, but with all the upgrades i have made on it, it is P.M.I.P......and that is ment to be spelled that way. The accuracy isnt the greatest, and witht the stock trigger frame, its hard to shoot as fast as the gun itself can handle. With the new trigger frame, it is capable of shooting 13 BPS now. And with the regulator, it is very consistent, only jumping about 10 either direction. And the drop......ummm......the drop..........................allows me to turn on and off the Co2 tank....ya....thats it.........o, it also balances it out pretty decent.
Conclusion: Overall, this is a great gun, just needs a little help on the accuracy. it is all up to you to get the upgrades or not, but my gun is one of the best on the field compared to what i payed for it, consistent, fast, accurate....
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SpyderOwnzNewbs Saturday, March 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
-All Spyders are made with the same internal (Bolt,Hammer) design, so any spyder product you buy from kingman is pretty much the same ,only difference in there guns is the outer design, electro/semi grip, barrel and regs. which seperates these guns from each other is there extra features ,looks and most importantly barrel length.
-yes tippman custom is a good gun very durable but comes with the worst barrel.


Marker Setup: Yes i have owned all 4 of these guns starting for my first gun >Black Dragun->Spyder Shutter->Spyder Xtra->Spyder Rodeo
-currently own the xtra and rodeo,both have progressive barrel which works excellent with PmI and Zap paint (Diablo is a bit over sized for this barrel) ,Air although not the smartest choice iv made doesnt make that big of a difference over c02 other then cold gun and consistancy (Which i love). the bolts in these guns are pretty impressive all spyders use the same bolt except the old compacts and their other old non selling guns. Thats all they pretty much need Electro hopper is not for me , because im a bush player and dont forget to get new springs(PMI spring work good)
Recommended
Upgrades:
well i only know the progressive and teradrop barrel(Pmi and Zap work best in it except zap wont break on target,but its a good price) Since these guns have a LONG trigger pull it is hard to fire fast , so i wouldnt plan on buying a electro hopper for this gun and dont for get to get a new spring or cut your stock spring to get near the 285-300 fps mark
Strengths: price ,preformance ,consistancy, and accracy with new barrel
,!!The performance is awsome!!
Weaknesses: clour baby blue,length,tallness with hopper , but that doesnt affect performance!!
Review: Very good gun!!! Iv own the shutter,xtra, and rodeo -the xtra i prefer over the rest because of the $Price$ but i bought my rodeo even thought there proformance is the same ,so i could pass my xtra down to my brother and we could both play.

~Awsome preformace has never let me down~

Weaknesses-->Oh my god the COLOUR UGLY (baby Blue) and it gives your positon away in every single game(i spray painted mine)fixed, 2nd it is a pretty long!!! but short compared to tippmans length, and the gun needs a elbow to connects the hopper to the gun and it makes the gun like a foot tall and i guaranteed youll get hit in the hopper everygame(welding class fixed that now its nice and tight)
Conclusion: best gun you can get for money dont spend you money on a shutter or rodeo cuss you think the more money you spend on the gun is going to give you a better proeformance thats what i thought and i was wrong ,if you wanna spend the extra dollars to get a shutter or rodeo your only doing so for a different design/barrel/and reg(not worth that extra 50$) Their preformances are all the same!!!and let the price seperate them!!!!
>i gave this gun a 10 because it is with no doubt in the top 10 best semi
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

corbo Monday, March 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann sl68 and pro carbine - like any tippman not as good
spyder amg lcd - shoots faster
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra
Centerflag model 400 47/3000 HPA
smoke empire reloader
Vforce Armor
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, electro hopper, bigger dropforward, regulator for nitro.
Strengths: Its very light, inexpensive, you can shoot as soon as you get it
Weaknesses: Thebarrel, dropforward, beavertail.
Review: I got this gun after i tried my friends and read some reviews. Its really nice overall.
GOOD
It only costs about 130 cdn so you have money to buy all the extras you need to start. It looks good except when your trying to play woodsball then it can be to shiney. You can basically pick it up out of the box put some air and a hopper on and go play. You dont need to set anything up for it except to get it chronoed. It has a good rate of fire and the bolt never chops a ball (as long as you have an electro hopper or else it will). The grips that came with mine are super nice. This gun is also very light compared to my friends 03 cocker. It wont be a burden to carry around. It is a super nice gun. You can get lots of upgrades for it to and make it even better. It also has very good air efficiency.


The not so good
First is the barrel. Get a new one pronto. This thing really sucks. Its a bloody blender. I swear there was razorblades inside of it. It chopped every game i played. Plus its loud and not very acurate because it chops alot. The beaver tail is pretty horrible to. Its super sharp so watch out for it or better yet take it off like i did. It will scratch anything it can and its not very strong. My trigger also squeaked when i first got it which was anoying but it stopped. The dropforward is a little small for my liking. You can fix each one of these problems by buying a new barrel, taking off the stock beaver tail, and buying a new dropforward. Other than these this gun rocks.
Conclusion: This is a great gun if you getting into paintball and want something with a little more jazz. People at the field with notice your gun. I would buy it again if i had to. you just need a new barrel and your good to go. The minor problems are imo so this gets a 9 because its so good.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 11th, 2004 at 12:52 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (104):  First  |  43  |  44  |  45  |  46  |  47  |  48  |  49  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media