paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Xtra / Kingman Spyder Xtra / Kingman Spyder Xtra / Kingman Spyder Xtra

Kingman Spyder Xtra Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Xtra

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Xtra
[ View Photos (79) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1036
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $130

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features Include:
Semi Auto Action, Straight Feed System, Rear Cocking 2nd generation Venturi Bolt, Field Strippable T-Pin, Sight Rail with beavertail, Bottom-line set-up with micro-line hose, 2 Finger tigger with regulation guard, Anti-double feed, Filter system, 12"micro-polished barrel, Aluminum 45 trigger grip frame, Low pressure chamber, TL velocity adjuster, Removeable gas-thru foregrip, Mini expansion chamber, Newly designed cocking grip, Special anodizing, Deluxe drop forward.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Xtra is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (104):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
blakeo44 Thursday, January 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Strengths: Easy to clean, maintain, good starter gun
Weaknesses: Long range shooting, cant hit anyone past 40 feet accuratly***
Review: Great start gun. Gets the job done for the most part. If you plan on going to any corses that are big and open dont plan on being too good with this gun. Not very accuracte. Good for getting into paintball and getting down the basic's. Very inaccurate. Cant shoot effectively at anyone beyond 40 feet.
Conclusion: Good close range gun out of the package. Barrel should be the first thing you buy. Great learning gun.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

rb2151 Monday, January 1st, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
TL-R and older Xtra's.
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra - stock except icon e-trigger.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing mandatory
Strengths: Easily upgradable, stylish, shoots well right out of the box.
Weaknesses: Off-set screw holes for trigger upgrades, nothing else.
Review: I'm no pb guru so I wanted a marker that would fit my budget. After reviewing other markers, I came to the conclusion a Spyder Xtra or TL-R would suffice. I wasn't fond of the long trigger pull so I was convinced to upgrade the entire trigger assembly, which has worked very well. The trigger is ICON, it does have fully automatic capabilities, however, this stock marker is not prepped for such a feature as it will break balls.

The velocity adjuster is conviently located in the rear and does not require an allen key like some markers, a simple turn of the knob and you're set. This particular model has the curved body and bright blue aluminum shine. The tail on the top of the marker is useless and probably only useful to protect your body.

The marker shoots very well, this of course always depends on what type of paint you're using. I've used a variety of paint and quite honestly Whack paint shoots well out of this marker. I've used diablo heat during warmer weather and that works well too. Whack doesn't cover well but the balls are half decent for the price.

This marker disassembles easily, it does come with a parts list and shows you how the marker is assembled, a nice addition for us new guys.
Conclusion: Recommended for new folks to the game, a down right reliable marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

timbabeu Friday, December 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
View loader triton. Older model Xtra. A Blade I think it was, some other marker I forgot the model.
None compared, this gun ROCKS!
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra, with an antichop delrin bolt, spring kit, e-grip (soon to be installed), Total Freak barrel kit, regulator, expansion chamber, locking feedneck.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new feed neck. I really don't like the type you need that elbow thing for.
Delrin bolt, cycles faster and won't wear out the gun. But, the stock bolt is fine.

Really though, this gun works great even stock.
Strengths: Cheap, upgradable, pretty good quality stock barrel, external velocity adjustment
Weaknesses: If you add a regulator, you need to get an adapter and a new hose.
Review: I have used 2 of these guns, and both worked very well. Didn't chop paint, very little recoil, pretty fast feed rates, very comfortable to hold since they have the gas thru grip. They come with a drop forward. The stock barrel isn't that bad, it's very smooth and at 12inches long it's about the perfect length, performance wise. They are very cheap, but feel good in your hands. They even have a metal trigger frame and trigger, some more expensive markers don't have that. The gun is all aluminum, so it's tough. It's very easy to find parts.
Also, it's a dream to work on. Everything comes apart easily and quickly for cleaning and oiling. And if you like tinkering with stuff, that's a major plus.
Conclusion: I would highly recommend this gun to a beginner or intermediate player. It's easy to use, and it just plain works. And with a few small upgrades, it's a really sweet gun.

I'm giving it a 9 because of their choice to use such a poor feed neck.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

C-Haze Monday, December 25th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
GameFace Vexor Eye(my bros) Spyder TL-R
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Strengths: Distance, Durable
Weaknesses: Not the most accurate drops and curves
Review: This is a very good and durable gun the Paintballs drop down a little bit when shooting. I reccomend this gun if you are looking for a good woodsball gun and you are a begginer. I shot my older brother (im on his file) and he screamed and called me a little Bast*** . So it shoots very hard without busting paint balls.
Conclusion: A Great buy for newbies
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

paintballisgayy Friday, December 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm6, shocker, fs8, anything
Marker Setup: xtra
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing, rips straight out of the box!!
Strengths: Fast, light, accurate, sexy.
Weaknesses: Spyder name
Review: This gun compares with anything out there. I love this gun i recently sold my dm6 to purchase this awesome gun. First of all this thing is very sexy. very accurate also. My preference is in this sexy gun. I love this gun. i cannot stress how good it is straight out of the box.
Conclusion: Please, get this gun NOW!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Divebran Tuesday, December 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Pmi Pirahna R6
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra
12' Stock Barrel
Gravity Hopper
12oz Spyder CO2 tank

Recommended
Upgrades:
Electic Hopper
Strengths: Shoots pretty much strait, has good fps, inexpensive.
Weaknesses: Hopper jams occasionally
Review: I bout this gun in a super kit from Sports Authority while it was on sale. It was really inexpensive. The gun shoots rather accurately. I have not had it break at all in all the games I've played. My gun has been shot numerous times and dropped also and still functions fine. The trigger pull is a little bit long for extremely fast shooting. I bought some really cheap paint (monster balls, and practice paint and not a single ball broke inside the barrel.
Conclusion: It is a great gun for people who don't have very much money. It's a really nice gun. One word of warning, Don't get depressed if your field rents out this gun. It's still a really good gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

WillieWilson Thursday, December 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Ion, Tippmann Pro Carbine
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra, PMI Razzor 14", ShockTech Delrin Bolt, Ricochet 2KX LED Hopper, Catalina 20oz CO2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
After Market Barrel, Bolt.
Strengths: Dependability
Quick Strip Pin
Simple design
Durability
Upgradability
Weaknesses: Loudness
Trigger Pull Length
Review: I bought this as my first marker in about June. I have not been let down. I have played with people who have all kinds of markers, Tippmanns, Autocockers, Piranhas, Orions, etc. (I guess to lots of you, "Low end markers") Anyway, I have spent a total of about $120 on this marker, and I am very happy with this gun for me, a "beginner".
This marker has only chopped paint once out of about 5000 paintballs, and that's when I was firing as fast as I could, and it hardly affected the accuracy or performance.
It "only" fires 7bps tops, but all it takes is one hit to eliminate your opponent.
Conclusion: I hihgly recommend this marker for a beginner to intermediate. I'm sure if you buy the gun and spend $200-300 upgrading it, you could get to the "professional" level. But for most of us, it will do. Compared with other guns of the same class, I'll give it an 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

m1gs Friday, December 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion (not really very similar though)
Spyder Sonix
Spyder Esprit
Tippman 98C
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra (beavertail removed)
Smart Parts 14" Teardrop Barrel
Kingman Rocking Trigger 2.0
Delrin Bolt
Ricochet Apache LCD hopper
polished internals
Shocketech Spring kit
48/3000 HPA Tank
(on stock trigger frame: lighter spring taken from a pen)
(upcoming) CCM feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Feedneck
Spring kit
Lighter trigger spring on stock frame
Strengths: Easy to strip and clean
Very simple and reliable operation
Cheap
good beginner marker
Weaknesses: Feedneck + adaptor + hopper makes for a HUGE profile
no regulator
loud
Review: Before I begin, here's a bit of intro.. feel free to skip this paragraph if you want to.

Although my first time playing paintball was 5 years ago, I had not taken it very seriously until this year, due to the immense costs of playing. Now that I've got a full time job, it's a bit easier for me to justify spending money on this sport. I found out about the Xtra while reading http://about.paintball.com, where the Xtra was listed as one of the best markers under $100.. and so I looked around and purchased a used Xtra w/ a Teardrop barrel w/ a 12 volt revvy for a decent price.

As a semi-auto mechanical marker targetted to beginners, the Xtra is a great deal. It's cheap, efficient, and reliable. I haven't shot it with a stock barrel, but it shoots well with the Teardrop, albeit it's still quite loud. I haven't had much of a chance to test it's accuracy in a range or anything, but it seems pretty accurate judging by how well it performed on the field. I decided to replace the trigger spring, which gave a lighter pull, increasing my rate of fire marginally. I also polished the bolt and striker, as I found that the bolt was getting scratched up from normal use.

Since there is no regulator on this gun, it can get pretty inconsistent when you go to chrono it. I replaced the main spring with one from the shocktech spring kit, and I get very inconsitent readings, from as low as 220+ up to 260+ using HPA. Although this problem isn't so bad when operating at a low rate of fire, it is very noticeable once you've slapped on an electronic frame.

With my Rocking Trigger and ACS Delrin bolt installed, the marker isn't quite as accurate as when firing single shots. Shots tend to be inconsistent, and I've already had a couple of barrel breaks which further exacerbate the problem (especially with the Teardrop). I highly doubt that I'm outshooting my hopper, which feeds about 18-19 bps, and I've tested the paint to bore match, and it fits well. I'm pretty sure if I converted to a lower pressure setup, it might decrease this occurrence, and the eyes would prevent ball breaks, but I've already spent enough on this marker as it is, and I'd rather move on to bigger and better things.
Conclusion: As a marker for beginners, it's a great investment. I've learned so much about the inner workings of paintball markers, as well as troubleshooting and maintenance(the previous owner didn't take care of the marker as much as he should have).

However, as a word of warning, don't bother spending too much money on upgrades. I've learned this the hard way. If you want a Spyder to tinker with and upgrade, find something that is dirt cheap, as most of these Spyders are basically the same anyway, and you'd probably end up replacing the foregrip, bolt, springs, trigger, etc.

I give the marker a 7 out of 10... That's definitely not a low rating, if anything, it should be about average. Most people on this site tend to rate things a lot higher than they should, perhaps to justify their purchase.

The Xtra is a good marker, and a great value. Unfortunately it doesn't really stand out above and beyond the other Spyder markers that are being offered at a lower price point.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 2nd, 2006 at 10:57 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

broadsword Friday, December 1st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: -Tippmann A-5 w/ response trigger, 18 inch interceptor barrel, remote, CO2
-Tippmann Pro-Carbine with JCS folding stock, JCS Bipod and 16 inch J&J Ceramic barrel, remote, CO2
-Zeus G2+
Recommended
Upgrades:
power hopper
Strengths: Cheap
Weaknesses: Breaks balls and inaccurate
Review: This was my first paintball marker I ever owned. I was so happy to own my own paintball marker then I was dissappointed. This marker was cheap and works like a cheap marker. I had good paintballs, but it kept breaking balls. This gun is not worth your time. It might be good for a starting player, but I don't recommend it. Plain and simple this marker is crap.
Conclusion: Do not buy this marker, its not worth it.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

rougen Friday, November 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Xtra
Kingman Electra
A-5
Impulse
Nerve
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Nerve
Halo B
68ci/3000psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
New trigger frame
Faster hopper
Different Feed neck than stock
Strengths: Price
Performance
Reliabilty
Weaknesses: None
Review: I'll start off by saying this was the first paintball gun I ever purchased, and when I got it my mind was completly blown. The first day I took it out to go and play I got out about 25 people, and I've been addicted ever since. This gun is extremly reliable, and you barely have to give it any matinence at all, and it will still work flawlessly. I never upgraded anything on my gun except for the trigger frame. I took the trigger frame from my broken Electra and put it on my Xtra, and the gun shot faster than any gun I had ever seen at that time. To my dissapointment I would still get owned but when I took it out the next time I got at least 15 people more than I did the first time I went out. This gun performed extremly well for me, I probally shot the gun around 6,000 times before I ever even learned I needed to be cleaning it consistently, just goes to show how much this gun can put up with and still performe
Conclusion: Great gun, Very good price, Extremly relialble product, Will out performe any guns its cost, or 150 dollers more
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (104):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media