paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Xtra / Kingman Spyder Xtra / Kingman Spyder Xtra / Kingman Spyder Xtra

Kingman Spyder Xtra Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Xtra

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Xtra
[ View Photos (79) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1036
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $130

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features Include:
Semi Auto Action, Straight Feed System, Rear Cocking 2nd generation Venturi Bolt, Field Strippable T-Pin, Sight Rail with beavertail, Bottom-line set-up with micro-line hose, 2 Finger tigger with regulation guard, Anti-double feed, Filter system, 12"micro-polished barrel, Aluminum 45 trigger grip frame, Low pressure chamber, TL velocity adjuster, Removeable gas-thru foregrip, Mini expansion chamber, Newly designed cocking grip, Special anodizing, Deluxe drop forward.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Xtra is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (104):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
tac1snipa Wednesday, November 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98custom custom pro and pro carb (the pro carb was a rental and the other were my friends' gun)
Marker Setup: Tac-one w/ egg
68/4500
(maybe 14" stiffi)
NXE 5 pod pack

back up/ up for sale
Spyder Xtra
q loader
14" stiffi
camo cover
remote line w/ milling job
remote line
4 1 pack
Recommended
Upgrades:
stiffi barrel new hopper camo cover for woods pod pack remote line
Strengths: With a new barrel and bold quiet an good light trigger pull fairly light
Weaknesses: Loud, orriginally bright in the sun, and innacurate without after market barre.l
Review: Over all a good starting gun. I started with it because i needed a light gun when i started and i diddn't want an el gunko brass eagle. I started playing sniper and i bought the q loader for an offset hopper. Afterwords when i already had a 16" all american ( very good barrel) i bought a 14" stiffi which was insainly quiet and accurate. Overall this was an excellent gun. I wouldn't reccomend a fast hopper since the xtra has a low max cycle rate.
Conclusion: I would recomend this to someone who wants a light gun that can be easily moded. This gun is more of a stepping stone to another gun so don't get too attatched.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 8th, 2006 at 6:02 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

M1lkman Wednesday, November 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Victer II
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra
20 oz CO2
Gravity fed hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe some slow electro hopper, new barrel.
Strengths: Durable, cool looking, great price, and very reliable.
Weaknesses: Not that many really, cocking is kinda awkward but nothing really bad or weak.
Review: Ok I bout this gun from my friend when I had over 1 years experience. I thought it was so awesome I mean common in my opinion spyder's always looked cool. But I went out to the Field and was really exited about it. This gun shot fairly accurate and did not curve or break often at all. In my opinion I think this could be one of the best Low-End Mechanical markers there are out there. The site rail might not do as good as you would hope but this gun makes up for any weakness you might think this has. Maybe is this gun had a regulator and better barrel maybe a 14' J&J put on it, it would be one of the best Low-End Mechanical markers out there. This is a fabulous gun and I would suggest it to anyone who is serious at paintball and is just starting out.
Conclusion: I loved this gun every second I had it. I would give this a 10/10 if it had a regulator but it doesn't so - 1 point. 9/10, awesome gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hockeysnow Wednesday, October 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 custom, kingman spyder E99
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder xtra, 20oz pure energy co2, graviy fed hopper, proto 14" barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (1st and most imporant) (get the proto 14" VERY accurate)
New trigger (eventually u dont need this right away)
Strengths: Accurate, cheap, works great, runs on co2, powerful
Weaknesses: Stock barrel, flimsy rear guard, very tall, unreliable(at least mine is)
Review: I recently bought this Spyder Xtra i got the new 06 version that is black andi must say it is probably the BEST value for money to gun in paintball. U can use this gun right out of the box stock and it will dominate. This gun isaround or better than the performance of the 98 except its $50 cheaper.

The only real problem with this gun that i have found is that my spring has been causing problems for me. i had to go to the pro shop and they figured out that the spring had to be cut down because it was shooting 370 fps. But than the next week i came when i went to chrono it was shooting 150 fps turned all the way up but then eventually it came back to normal after about 30 minutes.

Once this gun is upgraded with a new barrel and a new trigger it will tear up any gun within $500 of this. I took it out for a couple weekends and i am vey impressed with how this gun constanly keep me in the games. the only real problem is the vertical feed, it needs a piece of plastic to funnel the b alls fromm the hopper to the gun and with that little piece it extends this guns height, which is only a problem when u dont want ur hopper to be seen 10 inches above the gun.

The mini expansion chamber ont his is extemly helpful when its cold and so it doesnt hurt the gun when a new trigger is fitted. The rear of the gun has the cocking pin which has a rather flimsy covering (but that can be ignored), and the velocity changer is a knob which is turned to change the fps.
Conclusion: Overall i would say that this is an amazing deal for this gun, if u are looking for a tippman buy this gun because it is much cheaper and easier to upgrade once the need arrives.
BUY THIS GUN!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, November 11th, 2006 at 7:57 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballassult Sunday, October 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom; the Xtra is way better
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra, 12 inch stock barrel, 12 OZ Java CO2 tank, 200 round java hopper (non-electric), Marbilizer paintballs (really nice paintballs)
Recommended
Upgrades:
A trigger upgrade and a new barrel (recommended: smart parts spyder teardrop barrel)
Strengths: Cheap, accurate, reliable, easy to clean and maintain, upgradable, high end recreational gun.
Weaknesses: None, really.
Review: I went paintballing for the first time at my friends birthday party, and I absolutely loved it. I went home that night and looked up paintball guns on Amazon.com. I looked for a couple of days, then found this Spyder Xtra package. I reviewed it on paintballgunreview.com, and it looked like a good gun. So I bought it. The package came with the marker, a 12 inch stock barrel, a 12OZ Java CO2 tank, a 200 round non-electric Java loader, manual, and squeegie. A week later, I went paintballing. I got the tank filled up and took it to the shooting range. It shoot great!!! It was loud, but pretty accurate and well balanced. Since i bought it, I haven't had a single chopped ball or break. However, I would recommend you get a new barrel, preferable a teardrop barrel (see my review on the barrel review page). The trigger pull is kind of long, but you can still get a high rate of fire with it.
Conclusion: If you are a newbie looking for an affordable paintball gun that will last you, make it easy on yourself, and get this gun. You can even upgrade it to your personality, whether your a sniper, or a marine, or a kamikaze type dude, this gun will fit your personality. Just get the gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 15th, 2006 at 12:32 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

klonatlong Friday, September 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom-lasts longer, better for woodsball, but requires a few upgrades to make it stand up to the Xtra
JT Tac 5 Recon-100 times worse
Viewloader Triton- average, the Xtra is astep up fr only 20 dollars more
Spyder Pilot- better for the speedballer, about the same as the Xtra in accuracy and durability
Spyder Imagine- would take the Xtra over any day, the only advantage is the speed
Spyder MR1- my Xtra outlasted my friends MR1 easily, but it does come with a stock and military style
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra-VL 200, Pure Energy 20oz, Daisy Maxview Sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel would be great. I've heard that the J&J Ceramic works wonders.
New bolt wouldn't hurt.
Strengths: Fairly Accurate stock barrel. Decent Grips. Great Air Efficiency. Good balance.
Weaknesses: Color and that's about it.
Review: I bought this as a starter kit. I have had it for 8 months and haven't had any trouble out of it. It can easily stand up to the average Tippmann or Viewloader. I usually play woodsball. The only disadvantage is that the Shutter Blue paint job gives you away sometimes. The stock barrel is definitely better than that of a Tippmann. I can usually get a little over 1200 shots off of my 20 oz. Once again a major advantage over a Tippmann. The double trigger will allow you to fire faster longer.The drop forward is nothing to brag about, it is mostly for looks. With a full hopper and 20 oz tank, the gun gets rather bulky. I have heard of people sawing an inch off of their hopper to shorten the gun. If you have the extra dollar and are into speedball, the pilot is a greatmarker to start out with. If you decide to try the Xtra, you will definitely be pleased.
Conclusion: Buy it! Just 100 dollars and is better thatn most 300 dollar guns!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

tjg92 Tuesday, September 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
A pirahna, I don't remember which one, but it chopped like crazy and was inaccurate.
Marker Setup: Sypder Xtra with 14" Teardrop barrel and trigger modification.
Gravity fed 200 round hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better barrel, trigger mod, and probably HPA if you want to play in the winter.
Strengths: Cheap
It works
Easy to maintain
Looks cool
Endlessly Upgradable
Weaknesses: Slow trigger
Beavertail bends easily
Rich kids will mock you
Review: I picked this maker after looking at reviews from this website. I wasn't disappointed with it when I got it. It looks cool, and it works great too. It's very easy to take apart and maintain. The design is simpler than other markers so it's a good place to start. I decided to buy an aftermarket barrel (Teardrop) and then I went to play with some friends. The rental tank was HPA, and the hopper I was using was just a 200 round gravity fed. It was fun playing with this gun, because the grip was very comfortable. I did however have problems shooting fast with the trigger. I didn't chop any balls, which is good compared to rentals I've used were nearly every other shot chopped. My accuracy was pretty good, and overall I was satisfied with this markers performance.
Recently I took apart the trigger mechanism and replaced the spring with a weaker one. Now the trigger pull is way lighter.
Conclusion: I recommend this marker. I haven't tried others in this price range, but this is very nice and will not disappoint you. If you want to shoot faster, either mod the trigger or buy an electric frame, if you want better accuracy, use HPA and buy a better barrel. This isn't perfect, but it's good enough for me.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

OTEdge Thursday, September 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
All Spyders (Alls Same, Cept Some Faster if Electro)
Mech Cockers (More Accurate, Less Reliable)
Tippmanns (I Hate Tippmanns)
Marker Setup: Black ETek
Smoke VLocity
Crossfire 68/4500 HP
-----------------------------
Black to Blue Spyder Pilot
Trinity Clamping Feedneck
SP Teardrop Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Clamping Feedneck
Anything Else
Strengths: Nearly Everything Within The Range Of a Very Low End Marker, Read Review.
Weaknesses: Very Minor Problems:
Screws
Barrel
Feedneck
Review: First Im Going To Say, Yes This Is Only Tested. But Its My Dads And I Have Used It Many Times and Can Easily Be Nick Named "Ol' Reliable". Also I Am Not Going to Even Think About Including Speed Into This As If You Are Not Smart Enough To Know A Mech Spyder Is Not Very Fast You Can Go Shoot Yourself Thank You =)

Feedneck
This Is The Same Cheapo Feedneck That Comes Stock With Every Spyder I Belive Except The New 06 Electra's (Correct Me If Im Wrong) So One Of The First Upgrades Will Be a Few Plastic Elbows Or A Good Upgrade Would Be The Metal Clamping Feed necks For Around $30. Try The Company's Shocktech, CCM, and Trinity.

Durability
This is where I would recommend anyone to buy this gun. I Don't Care If You Play Speedball or Woodsball. If You Clean This Gun At least Once After 2 Days Of Play this will never ever ever never let you down. And If It Ever Does Its User Malfunction Or Abuse Most Likely.

Availability
These Are Extremely Common Guns, Mainly For Beginners. Any Proshop you go to Should Sell Them Including Online Stores Such as Action Village Or Something. While On This topic Let me Say These Are Extremely $Cheap$ Guns and Worth That Whole $75.

Maintenance
Good For Starters To Learn About Their Gun. Just Pull Pin, Slip out Bolt and Striker, Lube. Done. Pretty Simple Huh? Then Next Time You Go You are Sure It Will Work. Every Like Year Or So Strip The Gun Entirely And Lube Every Oring for Top Performance.
At The Field Velocity Adjustment is A Breeze, Almost To Easy. Just Turn The Knob On Back and Wahla!
Oh And After About 3 Game Sets Take Some Allen Screws and Tighten Every Exterior Screw As Most Spyders Become Loose after a while.

Feel
This Gun Doesn't Have Much To Its Simple Design, In other words the lack of parts in it leads to it being light weight. It is fairly Compact and has a dropforward which I do not really care for but that's all personal preference. The Grips on The Xtra Suck. They Feel Like Rocks. I Think They Are Interchangeable But Whatever, Waste 40 Bucks Or Suck it Up. Feel Is All Personal Preference.
As For The Feel While Actually Firing This Marker Is... Well....OK. With C02 It Has Pretty Bad Kick But Put Some N2 On And It Feels Pretty Smooth. Don't Get Your Finger Hit By The Cocking Rod In The Back Either. It Hurts =)

Accuracy
Damn Straight Yo. Balls are within a good distance of each other and this thing fires pretty straight. If Balls Aren't Getting Much Distance This Could Be From Bad Paint Or Low Velocity, Check Your Paint, Fire At A Chronograph.
Conclusion: I Will Add More To This Review From Time To Time. I Will Post Some Extra Helpful Info Into The Comments Section too. Feel Free To Post Any Questions, Suggestions, Or Helpful Criticism. Please No "Your Review Sucks" Post A reason Why Thank You.

If you want a cheap,reliable Marker, Look No Further. This Is a Great Gun And Will Cheer you Up When you Darn Autococker Or Dm6 F's Up.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 5th, 2006 at 8:09 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

pippin Monday, September 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tipmann 98 C
Spyder Rodeo
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra
New Springs
Gravity Feed Hopper
20oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
For those with extra cash:
New spring (I maxed at 210fps out of box)
Barell
Bolt

None if you're a woodsballer/recreational
Strengths: Price
Efficiency
Decent accuracy
Weaknesses: Balance
Loud (Oh well)
Review: Price:
I looked for a month at different guns, since this was my first gun I didnt' want to have to immediatly upgrade anything. I got my Xtra for 80 dollars, used one time. I played some woodsball against 14 or so people, most of them using full autos. It was my second time out, and first time ever with over 6 people. It shot nicely though, and I found my initial fears of the other/better guns were NOT well founded. Remeber that the gun does not make the player. Anyways, the price was great for what I got, and I only had to replace the springs for 8 dollars. A very affordable gun, and fun to use.

Accuracy:
I found that reading reviews that tested a gun in a fixed position was not helpful in a real game situation. So I will testify to this guns accuracy by describing it's performance in game. Please remember I am still new to paintball so I might not be the greatest shot in the world.
When playing against Tippmans with Flatline barrels I found that my Xtra could never match these guns. I had to get very close to these guys to make it even. I accredit my aggressive gameplay style to this guns accuracy. I'd say if you can get within 50yards of any other gun without getting shot you'll be fine. This gun shoots straight enough with no upgrades...for a limited distance. Like I said within 50yards, you'll do fine.

Efficiency:
Not much to say here, I feel it does a wonderful job with CO2. About 1000 rounds + per 20oz tank.



Conclusion: Worth it?:
If you dont' have alot of money to spend on a gun, or paintballs/air then this gun will be a perfect buy. I love my Xtra and I always go into the game feeling I can rely on it. If you're going to play speedball I wouldn't recommend this gun at all. Maybe if you put an electronic trigger on it then it would do fine, but it's not meant for speed. If you're going to play woodsball you'll probably need a teamate if you're going up against autos; this is not a rambo guy's gun. Compared to other semi autos this gun is average even though I enjoy every moment I use it.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

cor_man257 Sunday, September 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra, Daisy Red Dot.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A Red Dot sight. make use of those side rails. $8 at Wally World and help your game alot.
Strengths: Side Rails. Upgradeable.
Weaknesses: Hopper Adapter.
Review: The Spyder Xtra is extremely durable. I have used it for 6 months now as a new player. And I have put my gun threw hell. It stands up to anything. Its a good marker that will last you a long time. And I have only broken one ball, and that was my own fault, not the guns. Plus you have all the upgrades of a Spyder. you can make this gun your own.

But this gun has a Few bad spots. The hopper adapter. After a while your going to want to by a metal Feed tube so that you won't keep breaking those plastic ones. I think an metal adapter is like $5-10 bucks and hooks straight to your gun. Plastic ones are like $2 and break.

Over all this is a great paintball gun. As a newbie to paintball I can say its a great gun to start with. You wont need another one fr awile. Its great.
Conclusion: This is a great beginners gun, and a great gun for those who demand durableity. Buy it.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaintballkidB Wednesday, August 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
jt tac-5 recon
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra, BSA 30mm Red Dot sight (don't ask how I got it on without a new rail), kingman esp camd trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
not much, maybe a new barrel and bolt
Strengths: Very durable, inside and out, lots of cool accessories for it
Weaknesses: Very specific about accessories, beaver tail bolt is annoying
Review: I got this after my tac-5 broke, and I'm glad I did! I can't believe how different the two are. This is much easier to field strip. I did it without a manuel. The pull on the stock trigger is so much lighter. There are a lot of accessories for it but they have to be those specific ones. You have to make sure it'll work before ya buy it. Other than that it's great. Oh, and get a new bolt if you want. I like it but no one else does.
Conclusion: Great gun, for starters and experienced players. GET IT!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (104):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media