paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Xtra / Kingman Spyder Xtra / Kingman Spyder Xtra / Kingman Spyder Xtra

Kingman Spyder Xtra Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Xtra

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Xtra
[ View Photos (79) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1036
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $130

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features Include:
Semi Auto Action, Straight Feed System, Rear Cocking 2nd generation Venturi Bolt, Field Strippable T-Pin, Sight Rail with beavertail, Bottom-line set-up with micro-line hose, 2 Finger tigger with regulation guard, Anti-double feed, Filter system, 12"micro-polished barrel, Aluminum 45 trigger grip frame, Low pressure chamber, TL velocity adjuster, Removeable gas-thru foregrip, Mini expansion chamber, Newly designed cocking grip, Special anodizing, Deluxe drop forward.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Xtra is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (104):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
paintballbrute6 Wednesday, August 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder victor, tippman 98, vl triton, jt tac 5 recon, spyder imagine, spyder pilot.
Marker Setup: spyder xtra w/ vl 200 round hopper, b.e. 20 oz. tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
like all stock guns, a new barrel isn't necessary but is a plus.
Strengths: Looks good.
Shoots nice.
Not to loud.
Weaknesses: A little to tall and long.
Review: All in all its a nice gun. This is the second gun i've owned but i've played with others.(see similar products used.) And over all this is the best one i've used. I used to own a Spyder Victor but the sear spring snapped and i couldn't find a suitable replacement. So i gave that to a friend and picked up the Xtra. It is sweet. I played with it today, and i was shooting over 8 bps stock.
Conclusion: Awesome product.
Buy this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 2nd, 2007 at 12:48 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaintballBenny Monday, August 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Have tested a friend's Spyder Rodeo, but never had any other gun other than this one.
Marker Setup: Just a plain ol' Spyder Xtra, no add-ons.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Spring clipping.
Strengths: Great accuracy, can nail a running person from the other side of a small arena.
Weaknesses: It's pretty loud.
Review: I've only had this gun for a few weeks, but have been pleased with it's performance in the small time I've had it. I've been doing great, Nailing loads of people every time I go paintballing. My friend has bought the same gun, he is more experianced than I am and he's pleased with his gun aswell. The double trigger is great, now I can fire twice as many bullets as I usually fired with the Arena's rental guns. The gun is also nice and light. It's a great gun.
Conclusion: I recomend this gun to anyone, especially newbies and intermediates.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LegacyDelt525 Friday, August 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Parinah SE, Spyder Compact, Spyder TL- All old stuff!!!
Marker Setup: Spyder X-tra with a 14" Dye barrel.
PT Extreme
Recommended
Upgrades:
I'm thinking about a remote hose but I don't want to because the marker is pretty light as is. Get a barrel!
Strengths: Lightweight, shoots straight (with upgraded barrel)
Weaknesses: Some of the parts used are kind of cheap
Review: Been playing actively again now for about 6 months. I played from 13-15 when guns sucked! A bottom line was a great upgrade back then! Now this gun came stock with all the stuff I put on my Compact and it was only freakin $90! I used to have a Spyder TL (do they even make those anymore?) and it was very similar to this gun but the price was way different. I actually bought the gun in academy when I was buying 12 gage shells. I bought it because it reminded me of my old TL. Once I got it two of my friends bought them. This is the Honda Civic of paintball markers. Its cheap, efficient, generic, simple, and common. Its great to begin with because it comes pretty upgraded stock. (or at least more upgraded than markers did stock 7 years ago)

One con amongst all the pros: Its kind of cheaply made. Well duh thats why its inexpensive! My beaver tail on the sight rail bent in transit. I lost the little dang screw that holds the velosity adjuster in place, and the threads on the velosity adjuster stripped! Just be careful with the gun. DON"T drop it whatever you do. It would probally come up looking like a crushed soda can. Good thing is that if you do break it, the parts are easy to replace and find and they're interchangable! Thank God for Eli Whitney (the guy who came up with the concept for interchangable parts- for all you non history majors!)
Conclusion: Great "Starter kit" this like anything "you get what you pay for and its good until you don't take care of it"
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lucasfox792 Monday, August 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Numerous Brass Eagles
Spyder MR1
Pump Guns
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra
21 inch Tiller Barrel
AIM Inline Shock Regulator
32 Degrees Spring Kit
Modded Stock Bolt (Venturi Star Removed)
Polished Internals
Recommended
Upgrades:
New 16 inch or more barrel with less porting
Spring Kit
Strengths: Works great right out of box
Easy to maintain
Great for the price
Weaknesses: Barrel should have less porting
Grip kind of cheap but no big deal
Review: This was MY first gun. Before I would always just use someone else's. So I went and picked up a cheap gun. I got it for 100 bucks at WalMart. The next day I took it out and played with it. Worked great! 100 bucks right out of the box works great. Comes with a feedneck with thumb screws to hold the hopper in place. Also came with a barrel plug. Then I got more into paint-balling so I thought what could I do to make this gun even better. This was a very easy gun to modify. So first I picked up a 21 inch Tiller barrel for some better accuracy for about 40 bucks off eBay. Many will say anything over 16 inches doesn't make a difference. This barrel screws off into an 18 inch and I tried it with that. There was actually a slight difference so I was happy with that barrel. It also has less porting which is good. Then I had my cousin remove the venturi star from the bolt and polish the internals because I decided to go low pressure. That also made a huge difference in accuracy. Another thing to get was a spring kit. You could pick one up anywhere for around 10 bucks. These make a difference in accuracy too. So since I was going to low pressure I used a high valve spring and a low main spring. Then I bought my regulator and hooked that up. After that I was pretty happy with the performance of this gun. There isn't much more to do with it. Many would want an e-trigger but shooting fast isn't important to me. It's where you're shooting that's important. One more thing I might get in the future is a bottom line with an on/off switch for the co2 so I don't waste any air taking the tank off. I might also get a clamping feed neck cause that would be a little easier than the thumb screw feedneck that comes with the gun.
Conclusion: I was surprised how great this $100 gun would be. I am very happy with it's performance I would recommend to starters or someone who's been playing a while.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

NavySealSpyder Sunday, August 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor II--Tested
Marker Setup: -2005 Spyder Xtra
-Halo TSA Hopper
-22"/17" Blitz 2Boku Modular Sniper Barrel
-14" Barrel off of a Dragun
-20 oz. Pure Energy tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, but if you want to better out the gun then an electric trigger frame and barrel.
Strengths: Accurate
Reliable
Sexy Looks
Good with CO2 consumption
Cheap in Cost
Weaknesses: None at all.
But it would be cool to have different colors.
Review: I've had my Xtra for like a year and a half maybe and this thing is my baby. It hasnt ever given me problems and its always shooting like a god for me. Its no DM6 or Ego but for begginers and intermediate players this gun is perfect. From what I think it doesnt need any upgrades, but if you've got the money and want to better out your Xtra I reccomend a new barrel, and thats it. But for specialness than you can get a new electric trigger frame too.
Conclusion: This gun kicks many buttox.
I reccomend it to ANY beginner and intermediate player looking for a good gun.
Extremely reliable and durable for gameplay, and its a damn pretty gun.
And its super easy to clean and lube up.
So get it if your just starting out or want a new gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

IDpaintballkid Tuesday, August 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder rodeo
Marker Setup: xtra with hittmann adjustable stock
14" CP barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
better barrel
Strengths: RELIABILITY
good stock accuracy
co2 efficient
Weaknesses: Shiny blue sucks for woodsball, but that can be fixed
screws come loose by shooting
Review: i got this marker 1 year ago and never rote a review. this gun is very good for the new paintballer. It is very reliable. also, i usually get about 800-1000 shots off a 20 oz co2. this thing is tough. i have dropped this thing on concrete a lot of times and it hasnt broken yet. the barrel stock of course isnt the best, but it isnt as bad as some. this gun is good for the newer player.
Conclusion: Get this if you cant afford something better.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 3rd, 2006 at 2:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sirlaughalot Monday, August 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Rodeo>Slightly better consistency in velocity and accuracy. Electric trigger added. Not as comfortable as some other guns I have used.
Spyder Fenix>Better consistency in velocity and accuracy. Very nice gun that feels great. Completely different price range however.
Tippmann Custom 98>Horrible accuracy and fps...Then again it was a rental.
Marker Setup: Stock setup
Gravity fed hopper
20 oz CO2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
I have not used any upgrades with this marker however switching to compressed air will help the velocity's consistency.
A a new barrel is definitely recommended...My friend and I swapped stock barrels for a few games (he uses a Spyder Rodeo) and we were shooting more accurate (at least we think so). I'm not too picky on the accuracy of this gun considering the price I paid for it however I've tried other barrels (EM1 barrel comes to mind) and there is a definite improvement
Strengths: Price ($80)
Durable and reliable
Decent out of the box
Weaknesses: Tall and long
Not the best accuracy - cheap paint though
+/-20 fps-weather dependent
Review: Throughout my paintballing experiences I've borrowed many low-end markers decided the Spyder Xtra is an excellent beginner marker because of its low price and reliability.

-Durability and Reliability-Over the 3+ years I have used this gun about every couple of months rigorously for a whole day running and banging it against air bunkers, PVC tubes, wood buildings and many other objects but it has held up with a few nicks and scratches here that don't affect the performance. Overall my Xtra has jammed twice and that was off the field when I was tinkering with the loader or something and soon discovered a jammed gun in the starting break of the match. It rarely breaks down and when it does the Xtra usually can be up and running by the time the next match starts.

-As with most Spyder products the Xtra can be dismantled within 5 minutes and be cleaned without messing with nasty electronic triggers or complicated screw and spring messes (other than the main few).

-The Spyder Xtra is very efficient with its use of Co2 as I usually get about 900-1000 rounds out of a 20 oz. tank before having to refill.

The only complaint I have about this marker is its decreasing accuracy over long distances and inconsistent shots over short ones. I release a quick burst of 2-3 balls and tend to hit my target with at least one however it can sometimes take 10 shots. Southern California has hot and cold days which affect the Spyder Xtra's fps consistency and accuracy but the more you play with any marker the better you can adjust and adapt. Better paint helps but the $40 stuff works well too.

Edit-Finally after 4 years of use the trigger spring (was still stock) broke and I was forced to replace it...other than that and a jam due to a paintball skin getting stuck in between the bold and the inside wall (stumped me as to how that happened) I have had no other problems with this marker.

I also just purchased a Bob Long Millenium from a friend with a bunch of upgrades however I've yet to test it on the field.

Edit 7-20-08 - Just thought to mention that the trigger assembly tends to loosen from the frame and needs to be checked every few outings. This would be due to normal wear and tear on the screws.

Also I'm thinking a bout getting a clamping vertical feed neck for this marker because I've broken 2 or 3 plastic feed necks so far. Tall and long...
Conclusion: What is true with any sport is it is not the machine, product, or tool that wins the game it is the player and their skill at the game and proficiency with the machine that wins. Out of the friends I play with and strangers who populate public fields I have the cheapest and least accurate marker out of any of them (other than the rented tippman 98) and I still perform better than most just because I know the strengths and weaknesses of my gun.

The Spyder Xtra is a great gun for its price and is capable of playing with the higher priced markers in the right hands. Highly recommended for starting players and more experienced players who are looking for a backup marker. What I've found is if you start paintballing with a low-end marker then buy something more expensive later one you'll learn how to play smart and not just learn to spray and pray.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 20th, 2008 at 4:35 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AznBoarder378 Sunday, August 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor II
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion (stock)
3a-paintball 68/3000 glass fiber tank

Getting:
tBoard
SP 360 QEV
Shockteck Ion Clamping Feedneck
e-pipe kit
Halo B w/ Rip Drive
CP Reg
CP Rolling Trig
Tech L6 Bolt
NDZ Alien Body
Recommended
Upgrades:
- Barrel
- Feedneck
- Hopper
- Esp Trig Frame
- ACS Bolt
- Macroline
- X Chamber or Reg
Strengths: - Durable
- Light
- Easy to maintain
- great buy for $
Weaknesses: - barrel
- trigger pull, unless u get ESP
- Lack of Color
Review: I have NOT used this gun stock.

I recieved the gun a while back from someone who had an ESP trigger frame on it.

My current setup on this Xtra is:

ACS Bolt
ESP Frame
Polished Internals
Clamping Feedneck
Dye Excell Barrel
PMI X Chamber

This is my backup marker and it was my main up till a few weeks ago and then i got an Ion. This Marker would shoot great. It was VERY accurate and light with the ACS Bolt and the Excell Barrel. I could easily maintain a grouping of 6-8" inches with the STOCK barrel and about 5" for the Excell.

This gun is VERY gas efficent as i was running CO2 on it and could get about 800-1000 rounds per a 20oz tank on a warm day.

The gun is very nice and easy to maintain, it is INTERIELY able to be customized like all spyders.
Conclusion: Great gun for the price and with the proper upgrades this can hold its grown against many higher end guns out there. If ur new to the sport or just want to move up from a REALLY low end gun, get this and the upgrades that i said.

I gave it a 9 cuz well in woodsball this is just way too shiny.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SuperStar311 Sunday, August 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Spyder Mr1
-Spyder e99
Marker Setup: Spyder Mr1
-Freak jr. 14 inch barrel
-Remote coil
-Stock (comes with gun)
-Scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new gun
Strengths: Price , Kind of nice without the hopper on, stock barrel isnt bad
Weaknesses: Ugly with hopper
unbalenced
range isnt very good
upgrades dont seem to do much
Review: I bought this gun when i was kind of new to paintball, all my brothers had tippmann 98's and i wanted somthing diffrent. I brought it home and decided to test it against the 98. I was sure it would do better for all its upgrades, the tippmann out ranged it by almost 100 feet and the accuraccy was way better for the tippmann has good sights. Around after a month of playing with the gun it broke and it cost me 25$ to fix it so that was another upset.

My friend bought a Spyder Mr1 around 2 weeks ago and i decided i should test it against it, Mr1 fired farther and more accurate despite that it has no x chamber no volumizer etc. And its a cheaper gun :S. Not to mention its alot nicer.

So i decided to buy a Mr1 and sell the xtra cus is sucked.
Conclusion: I think its a bad gun overall. If your looking to have a gun thats kinda flashy and catches peoples attention then get it, But if you want better performance then dont get it, Its very dissapointing.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jeter Tuesday, August 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've used the Viewloader Triton 2 before, <------ The Triton Sucks compared to this gun
Marker Setup: stock, and viewloader quantum electro hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would recomend , ACS Bolt, 14'' J&J Ceramic barrel, 32 deggrees 2003 Expansion Chamber, A better Volumizer, And a KINGMAN ESP CLASSIC E-FRAME C.A.M.D.
OR A NEW GUN
Strengths: Accurate, Fast, Good looking, Cheap, Not a gas hog, , upgradeable, doesnt chop,
Weaknesses: Stock barrel isnt that great, but it is better than most Stock barrels
Review: im not very good at writing so im going to keep this short and simple:
Accuracy: 9 , the accuracy is great on this gun ( even with the stock barrel)
Speed: 7 , this gun is somewhat faster and has a lighter trigger pull than other mechanicle markers
Chopping: 10, This gun is great when it comes to chopping, IT NEVER CHOPS, i shot 3000 pbs before i broke one.
Gas Effiency: 7, for average, i got about 1200 shots from a 20oz co2
upgradeability: 10, u can pretty much upgrade everything on this gun
Price:10, i got mine for 60$$ off of ebay, this is a great price!!


Average score: 8.8 im gonna round it up and give this gun a 9 out of 10
Conclusion: Get this gun, plz get it, you wont regret getting this gun! Imm going to give this gun a 9 out of 10
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 21st, 2006 at 12:53 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (104):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media