paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Xtra / Kingman Spyder Xtra / Kingman Spyder Xtra / Kingman Spyder Xtra

Kingman Spyder Xtra Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Xtra

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Xtra
[ View Photos (79) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1036
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $130

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features Include:
Semi Auto Action, Straight Feed System, Rear Cocking 2nd generation Venturi Bolt, Field Strippable T-Pin, Sight Rail with beavertail, Bottom-line set-up with micro-line hose, 2 Finger tigger with regulation guard, Anti-double feed, Filter system, 12"micro-polished barrel, Aluminum 45 trigger grip frame, Low pressure chamber, TL velocity adjuster, Removeable gas-thru foregrip, Mini expansion chamber, Newly designed cocking grip, Special anodizing, Deluxe drop forward.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Xtra is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (104):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
sanky Saturday, July 29th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
TlX
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5- respnse-j&j ceramic-smartparts max flow tank and reg.
extra stock
tlx
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new gun
Strengths: Cheap
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Ok this gun is cheap gun and made cheap when i bought it i didnt expect anything great from it but the first time i used this gun i took it apart and the rear spring was broken so i had to buy a maddman spring kit

Next i dropped it and the braver tail bent i eventually sold it and bought a tlx instead.
Conclusion: Cheaply made gun not worth it buy a TLX
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

FPSMark Sunday, July 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Hmm idk, this is my only gun
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra, Black
"14, 32 degrees whisper barrel
ASA Gas-through stock
Remote line
20oz co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
The stock barrel isnt very good, so a new barrel helps.
Strengths: Good gun, very consistent barely breaks paint.
Weaknesses: The screws dont stay in place very well, and teh stock barrel is bad.
Review: All in all, this is a excellent gun to use and buy.... i got mine for sumwhere around 80$ and it was worth it. its not very high end, but at the same time its great in performance, good starter gun if you dont want electric. The gun can run on c02 or nitrogen and it has a comfortable grip. The Spyder Xtra is a great buy for starters as well as veterans.
Conclusion: This is a good buy, well worth it if you dont wanna spend alot.

(I give it a 9 only because i havent compared it to many guns)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintassassin Thursday, July 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
This is the one and only gun i've ever used
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra
Java 200 round gravity hopper
12 oz. Co2 tank
12 in. Spyder Barrel
Scorch Paintballs
Recommended
Upgrades:
Probably a new barrel, that's about it
Strengths: Reliable
Durable
No Chops
Great barrel right out of the box
Weaknesses: Sticks out in the woods, highly reflective, tall and wide w/ hopper
Review: This is the first gun i ever got and i've been playing for about six months. Over that course of time I've played about 8 games, firing on average about 100 shots per game. And out of those 800 balls that i fired, not a single one has chopped or broken. My only complaint about the gun is that it's glossy blue milling sticks out in the woods and is easy to see.
Conclusion: This gun is a great starter gun; very efficient and sturdy. Very low maintenance and never chops.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

aroper Wednesday, July 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98
Marker Setup: MXK8 stock set up with 20oz co2, and PMI remote.

Spyder xtra with a 14" smart parts, progressive barrel, PMI expansion chamber, and I use co2

Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel.
Regulator.
If using c02 an expansion chamber, can also use ant anti siphon tube in your co2 tanks.
An anti-chop bolt.
Strengths: Quality marker at low cost
Lots of upgrades available
Weaknesses: Hopper sits high on marker
Breakable plastic feed neck
Eats paint in cold weather
Review: Like any marker take the time to do proper maintenance on it before and after playing.

The price you get it for, and the quality of the gun is hard to beat.

The stock barrel is a medium bore if you need to match a paint type to your barrel a good web site to go to is www.ottersccustoms.com/paintc.html. Its also a great web site to answer just about any paintball question you might have on Spyders.

The stock barrel is pretty good but if you want to upgrade your barrel you don't need a 200 dollar barrel, you will do just about as well with a $30 - 60 barrel, and still have money left over for other up grades.

The best thing you can do is find a paint to match up to your bore size, as a new up grade barrel should only help out the accuracy a little bit, but if you match paint bore to the current barrel bore you get better accuracy doing that then anything else you do.

A good way to match paint if you don't have a kit to match bore size, is if the paint drops, and stops in the barrel, and you can blow it through the barrel its a good match. If it roles all the way through the barrel its to small. If it stops, but you can't blow it out, its to big. Ask your local shop if they can give you one ball of each paint they are carrying, or ask you friends, to try and find a good fit. A decent shop will let you do that if they want your business.

It is a good quality gun if using it as stock only. Like all markers you can up grade, and Spyders have more upgrades for it then just about any other gun, Piranha markers also use the same after market products as a Spyder. But if you don't care to go for any of the upgrades its a great marker as is.

It has an expansion chamber, but it is a one piece expansion chamber, something you should upgrade if using co2. Or a regulator if using air. To help with the consistency of your shots.

Also an anti-siphon tube installed in your co2 tank will help the consistency. It allows the co2 to expand quicker, but an anti-siphon tube needs to be fitted to your gun specifically.

As far as the color goes the blue really stands out in the woods, my friends had no problem picking it out. So if you get a blue one, just get some hunting camouflage tape, and tape up the guns body, and barrel. Be careful not to cover up the porting. Or get some camo fabric, and find some one who can sow a cover for the body of the gun. As soon as I did that my friends could'nt see it any more.

Or lastly, to cover up the color, paint it. Its what I eventually did, it looks better and I prefer the new look for woodsball For help with painting your gun visit www.ottersccustoms.com/paint.html

But Spyder has listened to the complaints and they now come in Black, as one of the guys I paintball with has a black one, but there are silver parts you probably want to cover up.

The hopper does stand up a little to high on the gun because of the adapter, but its not really much of a problem. If you want to spend the money you can get a low rise feed neck for the gun, which isn't a bad idea as I have broke 2 feed necks already, and that ends your day, plus the trouble of trying to get a replacement which can be difficult.

Another complaint is the trigger, it has a long pull on it. You end up doing a one finger pull on the trigger. With great difficulty you could probably learn to walk the trigger.

As far as breaking balls goes, this is my biggest problem when the weather gets down to +8 celsius. Even using winter paint I am still breaking paint in the gun on a pretty regular basis. If you play in colder weather use compressed air of nitrogen. I would also suggest replacing the stock bolt for an anti-chop bolt.

My only other issue is I lost velocity on my marker. I replaced the spring, all my "O" rings, even polished my internals, that's with the marker dialed in at its highest velocity I can put it to. Originally when I got the marker it was over the 300 fps so I had to watch to velocity, over time I lost the ability to long ball as it struggled to get above 270 fps. I tried a lot of adjustments but gave up, as to why it happened its a mystery. If you have suggestions let me know in the comment field

Its now a back up marker or a loner for friends, but over all it was a good solid marker.
Conclusion: What is your final recommendation on this product and why?

In regards to upgrading this to an electric gun, as others have mentioned, you would be better off price wise just buying a gun with an e-trigger rather then upgrading it later on.

If you are buying the Xtra to play speed ball, it is not the gun for you if you are going to play frequently, or against others who do play frequently, unless you get an e-trigger.

If you are playing woods ball, or just once in a while indoors then this is a good gun for you.

The only thing I would suggest to upgrade is the expansion chamber. Either buy an expansion chamber preferably one with 4 or 6 chamber's, if your using CO2. Or a regulator if shooting with air. The stock chamber has only 1 chamber for the co2 to expand in.

You may want to upgrade the barrel, as a stock barrel its pretty good. But the upgrades are a some what better for accuracy, and as I mentioned, nothing helps accuracy as much as matching paint bore to barrel bore.

You can't beat the price that you will pay, for the quality of the gun your getting.

Get this gun if you like woods ball, or your only playing occasionally in doors, you won't be disappointed. But if you like woodsball I would suggest a Tippman A-5, they cost more, but are worth it in the end.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

celticsgreen05 Tuesday, July 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts Ion '06 (current marker)
Marker Setup: Ion '06
Empire Reloader 2 hopper
72 cu 3000 psi tank
Blackheart board
Firebolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Rocking Trigger Frame
Custom products 2 piece barrel kit
Empire reloader 2 hopper
HPA tank
Strengths: EXTREMELY DEPENABLE
I've played like 8 games in the rain with it
Weaknesses: Stock Trigger is horrible
Review: If your just starting I recommend this as a first marker. I started with it and then moved to a better marker. I mean it is a marker that you can use for a few years and then upgrade to something new. If you want to be able to start with a descent marker and then work your way up then this is the gun for you!!!!

Enjoy
Conclusion: I recommend a better barrel because the stock barrel is kinda curvy
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gman2648 Tuesday, July 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tipman 98/a-5 most spyders i on
Marker Setup: spyder xtra cuz my ion broke
Recommended
Upgrades:
new screws trigger alot of stuf
Strengths: All rite acuracy
Weaknesses: Screws come loose stuff bends cheap trigger
Review: I got this gun a long time ago it was a rip off i thought i had a good gun wen i went 2 play on saturday 4 the 1st time cuz it shot beter than all the crapy rentals its seemed like i got a good deal but after a couple weeks i noticed i had atrigger screw mmising everything was loose and i had 2 keep titening it the triggers not that good yhe barrels all rite overall it had a decent shot just the spyders quality suks
Conclusion: Its really crapy quality but shots not 2 bad
guns alrite 4 its price
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

aljob Wednesday, July 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder imagine is better if u want electric
Marker Setup: spyder imagine,smart parts progressive 16" barrel, richochet ak hopper, 12 oz co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel is a must at least 14",u could get a rocking trigger if u want to go way faster but u will need an electric hopper for that.
Strengths: Great starter gun, kinda reliable, upgradeable
Weaknesses: Trigger pull is way too big, hard to cock, bad stock barrel
Review: this was my first gun that i ever got and it served me well for a year, then i got an imagine and it was WAY better. though this isnt about it so wutever. wut can isay.... its verry durable except for the beaver tail thingy over the cocker, i bent it when i fell and it has been extremely difficult to cock my gun now. i loved this gun because it was verry basic but great for $70, perfect for starting out with + it came with all the stuff needed to play like a mask, a tank and a hopper.
Conclusion: If u r just now starting paintball and cant afford the more expensive guns this is a great option. i give it an 8 because its a good starter gun and u can upgrade it really well but the stock parts are horrible
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

}CGF{Chosen Tuesday, July 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
vl-triad /doesnt come close

vl-orion/ good for its money but is kinda a beginners gun

tippmann 98 custom with flatline barrel/ this gun chopped alot and paint bounced of people

tippmann a5 /all ill say is i am not very fond of tippmanns especially stock

pmi r6/ great gun shot it all stock, xtra all stock is better though
Marker Setup: (marker was re manufactured and some of the components are not stock and i am still trying to figure out some of the components) but other than that most of the marker is stock

-200 rnd vl electronic hopper
-20oz co2 tank
-12in ceramic barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
stock springs on all guns are usualy bad...this one is no different
mebe a different hopper adapter the one the gun comes whith makes it sit kinda high whith a cheap hopper
Strengths: Great accuracy/consistent shooting
Conservative on gas
Weaknesses: New spring/ stock springs are allways worn down and weak
Review: The first gun i had botten was a vl triad kit, after paintballing with it for a year or so i noticed that my firing rate, the distance, and accuracy was a little on the junky side. so for the next year i researched paintball markers and looked for a gun that wouldn't cost me a fortune but was an excellent gun. so a year later i bought this gun re-manufactured off action village for only 50 bucks! once it came in it was excellent out of the box. i filled my hopper and went outside to try it out. even with the stock spring the distance, power and accuracy of this gun was phenomenal!
During my first war(yes i play woods-ball) with this gun i had 0 problems, i used a 9oz co2 and shot more than 500 shots, and had no chops and no barrel breaks. the next war after buying a 20co2 i shot about 1000 shots, still no chops and no barrel breaks. up to now i have shot more that 5000 shots with it and never had a barrel break or chop!
Conclusion: flawless gun! i would recommend buying it for beginer to intermediate. the gun is basically a low maintenance marker, all it needs is some oiling and cleaning and that's it. if you are thinking of getting a paintball gun but dont want to dig into your savings account to get it.....THIS GUN IS WELL WORTH IT!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 11th, 2006 at 7:15 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

auto a5's Tuesday, July 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Accurate, Quiet, Durable
Weaknesses: Breaks too many paintballs, Shiny crome and light blue easy to spot
Review: This is a very good performing gun it is accurate quiet and powerful. It however breaks paintballs lots, during a fight my brother will shoot at me and I'll see paint spray from his barrel. It is overall a good gun though just upgrade. I like the transparent elbow it's good I can tell if my paint is jammed or if im empty.
Conclusion: If your a beginner paintballer or intermediate buy this gun its $280 Canadian for a super pack and it works well.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbf_98 Thursday, June 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Egal Striker, ViewLoader Tritton II, Spyder Sonyx
Marker Setup: Spyder X-tra
spyder bullet volumizer
Dye Ultra Light 14''
Shocktec Spyder Superfly Bolt, Spyder ACS bolt and stock
Dye stikys
Halo B w/out rip drive and w/ victory board
Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new bolt is mainly all you need for this gun, because the original barrel is pretty much all you need and a new feed neck to reduce profile
Strengths: Cost effective
Pretty good in stock condition
Nice BPS for cost(13-)
O.K weight
Weaknesses: Too tall with hopper addapter and too long with the sight rail
Review: If you are new to the sport of paintball and you want a pretty good gun for a pretty cheap price the Spyder X-tra is the way to go. With many upgrades you have almost an endless amount of styles.
This gun is just as good as any other low end guns, and the price is effective. This gun can take you any where it works fine in 10* wheather on co2 and it works fine in 90*+ wheather.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a good but cheap gun this is a gun for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (104):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media