paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Crossfire Stub Air System / Crossfire Stub Air System / Crossfire Stub Air System

Crossfire Stub Air System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Crossfire

Buy Crossfire Stub Air System

Paintball Air Systems and Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Crossfire Stub Air System
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 78
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $170

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
70CI carbon fiber-wrapped tank with regulator, 5 year hydro. This tank is about 1/2in shorter than a 45/4500. Compact size for the front player and plenty of capacity to play mid. weight 3.05 diameter 4.25 length 10.5.
Product Availability 
The Crossfire Stub Air System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Chunkym0nkey Sunday, April 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI tanks, Dye throttle, etc
Marker Setup: Dust black with red parts 05 Speed
Tadao Angry Angel board
Empire Reloader B
Crossfire 70/45
New Designs volumiser
Redz Pepper stickz barrel kit
CP direct mount ASA
CP reg
Strengths: Holds a good amount of air
Consistent
Good customer service
Short
5 year hydro
Weaknesses: Not the lightest
The sticker came off
Review: I got this because I can't use c02. It is short so I can handel my marker better and it holds a lot of air. I get about 1850- 1900 shots out of this tank (my gun is tuned to pefection). It isn't vert light, so it adds weight to my already heavy set up. This isn't a big deal, but it would help with snap shooting and running. Don't know what else to say, its a tank.........
Conclusion: Get it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RollTideFan Monday, April 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Co2 (first tanks)
47/3000 crossy
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Q-lock
S-rail
SP on/off
Freak JR. barrel
Halo b
Crossy 70/4500
Strengths: Price
Size
Shot capacity
Weaknesses: Weight (You wont really notice this at all)
Review: This is a great tank. It has a great shot capacity and is very small. I personally think that peanuts look good on any gun. This tank keeps the air in the tank, WHERE IT BELONGS! It is also has a big gauge to see during game time, just in case. All in all i have had no problems AT ALL with this tank. BUY IT YOU WILL BE PLEASED!
Conclusion: I have had no problems with this tank at all. Buy it you will be very pleased.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ShadowSamurai19 Tuesday, January 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
ICD Freestyle
Alien Species Timmy
Marker Setup: E*Tek Ego
DXS Pulse
70/45 Crossfire Stub
Strengths: Small but holds a lot of air.
Short Length gives good weight balance.
Weaknesses: Was inconsitent at first (fixed)
Review: The reason I like this tank so much is because of the weight balance it gives. It is lond enough so that when the gun is posted up againt your shoulder its not in you eye, but at the same time does not make the gun back heavy. That's not only because of its size but because its carbon fiber. I was worried about getting a reliable nitrogen tank, but this one did the job. I was kind of annoyed when it did shoot consistently at first but the guy who I bought it from (proshop tech.) exchanged it for me. He said the nipple was the problem cause it was bent (which I still don't understand). But the new one works and is consistent now.
Overall, this is a good tank to get. Depending on how much you want to spend on a tank. Just make sure you keep the threads and nipple protected because that's where the problem on my tank was.
Conclusion: I've only owned it for a month so far, but it is a great tank so far. It had only one problem with the nipple and consistency, but the proshop guy exchanged it and it works great now.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bearshockey87 Wednesday, January 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months27 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Macdev Legion Air(Closest to Crossy-this is the one tank that i think i might buy over the crossy, lighter than crossy and similar reg to crossy),Crossfire 68/4500(Same impression as the stubby, would definitively reccomend) ,PMI 68/4500(Quality control issues-it leaked like nobody's business), Dxs 68/45(Nice tank- i found it wierd to use because it isn't a full size tank, but not a full stubby), Centerflag (Very nice tank), Steely 47/3 (haha- no comparison), Steely 72/3(haha- no comparison), Crossfire 45/4500(closest in size to stubby, would buy again)
Marker Setup: SP Ion
360 Qev
L7 Bolt
Freak Jr barrel
Q-lock
S-rail
CP Trigger
Crossy 70/45 with Dye rhino cover
Egg II (Soon to be Halo with V35 board)
Strengths: Size
Reg recharge rate
Capacity
Easy to read gauge
Strong
Weaknesses: Weight
Price(220)- This is for all cf tanks, though, and it is worth it!
Review: The crossfire tank that i have experience is the 70ci/4500psi LP (Blue Reg) (It uses a 450psi output pressure, in comparison to the HP reg, which is a 850psi output). I ordered my tank off the internet for 220 dollars, but now you can find it for 210 dollars. It arrived about 7 months ago. I have used it 2-3 times a week since then .It arrived wrapped in a soft protective foam. Then it was wrapped in bubble wrap, then it came double boxed. It was good knowing that the company cared if the tank got damaged or not! Anyways, here the review!

Looks, User friendliness, and first impression.
- Personally I think stubbies look awesome on guns! The crossfire I have has a blue reg (LP), but if you have a high pressure, it will be red. The tank has an extremely large and easy to read gauge. The actual bottle is a white-ish carbon fiber (note: this is a newer SCI bottle, crossfire started using these in 03, the older stubbies were 72/45 dark fiber GCI bottles) The label on the bottle has 70ci 4500 psi with the awesome crossfire logo on it. These tanks look great without anything on them, but even with a tank cover on you still see a blue/red/platinum band with crossfires logo on it!
-The crossfire 70/45 is really easy to use, just attach the fill nipple to the fill station and the tank is filled. Then just screw the tank into the asa of your marker and boom you're ready to go.
-My first impression of the tank is of extreme quality! The tank is very smooth and the threads were in perfect shape. The fill nipple was all the way in and not dirty (unlike my PMI tank).

First fill:
As soon as i got my tank i ran to my local paintball store and got a cool, slow fill to 4500psi. To see if i has any leak i had to restrain myself and i let the tank sit a week to see if it had any leaks. After the week the pressure feel to about 4450 psi. That was the best surprise this tank had for me! On the contrary, my old PMI tank lost about 2000psi in a week due to a whole leak from the reg, which i rebuilt and then had PMI rebuild it and it still didn't help. The gauge is also the most accurate gauge on the market, some of my other tanks were off by 300 or more psi!

Capacity and size:
Whether you like a stubby tank or a regular size tank is your decision. I personally like stubbies, because i am a front man and it makes my setup very small, but i still can get the amount of shots i would get off of a 68/45. My stubby is 10.75 inches long and 4.25 circumference. This is compared to a 68/45 which is 12.25-12.5 inches long. My stubby is about 3 pounds filled. A 68/45 is about 2.5 filled. In real life, unless you have no muscle, .5 pounds you won't even feel the difference. I would rather sacrifice size for weight. When i first got my tank, i took my qev off to see efficiency of this tank with my ion. I got about 1450 off of my first fill. Sweet. The next fill i got 1400 shots! Sweeter! I then installed my qev again. The first fill with the qev i got 1700 shots! Woah! Then when i got my L7 bolt, I installed it and wanted to see about how many shots i got . I got 1850 shots! This is what i love about a stubby. I can play front with a nice tight setup and if i want to play outlaw ball i can get it filled and be fine for a day to play around with my friends!

Regulator:
As many paintballers already know, crossfire makes some of the best regs in the business. They have a wonderful recharge rate of 10ms! I have an ion which i run at like 120-140psi depending on what fps i need. This LP tanks works fine on my ion. Even if you have a stock ion, you can run this LP tank on it. I have absolutely no shoot-down at 17bps, even when i didn't have my qev and L7 bolt. This reg is made out of top quality stainless steel! One note is that if your reg is creeping (if you blow your 1800psi burst disk, this is a sign of reg creeping) or you have a reg problem (which i doubt you will, these regs rock!) you have to send it back to crossfire to be rebuilt or fixed. Crossfire regs aren't user serviceable.

Condition and Strength:
I have used this tank for 7 months now, and you wouldn't even know it! If you looked at this tank now, you would think it was close to brand new. The fibers are fine, with no chips, cuts, and unraveling. My regulator still looks brand new and the threads are fine. These tanks are really strong, but I highly highly highly recommended a tank cover. I mean you paid 220 for a tank, 25 dollars isn't that much. I recommend the dye rhino tank cover, it looks stylish, protects your tank, and provides a grip on your shoulder. A few of my friends have used their crossy tank without a cover and nothing went wrong, but i really don't recommend it. I also recommend a thread protector, so if you drop your tank the threads won't be ruined. With a tank cover and thread protector, and if you feel the need a fill nipple cover, your tank will be fine!

Conclusion: This is my favorite tank i have ever used! The company is a great company. They have the best customer service and everybody who works their is really nice! The crossy 70/45 is small, has a great reg, a huge shot capacity, its strong, and has a great gauge(most accurate on the market. It is expensive, but it is worth it. I would give this tank a 9.5 just because you can't rebuild the reg yourself! This tank is so durable, i haven't had any leaks, thread proplems,fiber problems, or reg problems. Buy it! Any questions ask in comments
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

nastytyphoon Saturday, December 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire fuel , wgp worr gas, pmi hpa tanks
Marker Setup: olive green dust system x nme le , ruby red halo-b with ripdrive , empire fuel 72/4500 pis low pressure tank ,12 inch freak barrel stainless steel back 05 all american front, was board included
Strengths: Size
capacity
weight
Weaknesses: None
Review: I put this tank on my imp last summer I screwd it onto the check it unimount and it brought me closer to the gun it can help you get tighter for better coverage while playing
small light and compact. and you kno its good cause its made by crossfire
Conclusion: This small tank will help you when you play front to keep you tighter
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

McDoNaLdSbUrGeR Tuesday, November 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Scion 68/5k - Enough capacity, but not tight enough making it uncomfortable
45/45 ( I think the brand is Charleton or something ) - Nice and tight, but not enough capacity.
Steel 47/3k - Why?
PMI 68/3k - Just the basic fiber wrap tank. Nothing special and not tight enough.
Marker Setup: Black/Blue Fade PM6, Orange Bolt, Top hat mod, Virtue Board, CP Sling Trigger, Hybrid Quarter Turn On/Off, Total Stainless Freak Kit w/ 14inch AA tip, Shocktech Micro Rail.

Razor Blue ION, Hybrid Hedlok Feedneck, Shocktech Trigger, Shocktech On/Off, Shocktech 1 inch drop, QEV, TechT Lightening Bolt, Evil Pipe Kit w/ Blue 12 inch tip and Black 16 inch tip, Evil Detonator Regulator, Blackheart Board.

White Halo B w/ rip, Black VLocity. Crossfire 70/45, Evil 68/5k, 45/45.
Strengths: Crossfire Reg.
Tight
Air Capacity
Shape (looks cool imo)
Not too big around
Weaknesses: Weakness? Yeah right.
Review: Well, I finally got my Crossy 70/45 a while back. It's great! I can play just as tight with this as a 45/45 but can get as many shots (actually more) than my 68/5k. The crossy is actually a little shorter than my 45/45. The pictures that I have seen of this tank don't do it justice. It is MUCH smaller in person than it looks in the pics. And the cool part is that it isn't as big around is I expected so no matter how you shoulder it you won't get a chicken wing. From a distance it would actually be hard to distinguish it from a 45/45.
It really isn't as hard to find a tank cover for it as some people say it is. Dye makes a cover for it because they also make 70/45 tanks. One of the best parts of this tank is the Crossy LP Reg. The recharge is very fast. I've heard that you can use LP Crossfires on Egos (which run at very high pressures). I haven't found a better tank. The size, capacity, weight, looks, and recharge rate are all great.
Conclusion: Plain and simple, if you like the size of 45/45s but not the capacity, buy a crossy 70/45.

You will like it. I'll give it a 9 since perfection isn't something you'll find in paintball.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintbala5 Sunday, November 5th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
many other tanks but this is the first stubby ive used
Marker Setup: 05 empire timmy
ultralite barrel
cp reg
cp trigger
ndz rail ndz on/off
new volumizer
twist lock feedneck
eigenram

back up promaster
ndz rail on/off combo
freak jr
cp reg
Strengths: Small
Holds alot of air
Good for playin front
Weaknesses: Mine was inconsistent
LP doesn't keep up on my timmy
A bit heavy
Review: I picked this up from some ksid for $140. for the money i paid i was not impressed. i filled to about 3000psi put it on my timmy and started to rip on it.i noticed that it would start to loose psi and slow down and i was shooting. i put an hpa tank on and it was perfect. the stub was also inconsistent.i got +/-6 or 7 with the cp reg at the crono. not happy. the used my hpa tank and i got +/-2 or 3 with the cp reg. i dont know if mine was just bad but it was NOT worth $140. the compactness of it was nice though. on a full fill it was heavier than my pmi 68/45.
Conclusion: This is not worth it at all unless your gun will not work without. if u get a stub make sure it is hpa.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

gother12 Monday, October 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye stubb tanks
Marker Setup: Black 06EGO (just got it),New Designz pin, Stubby aka peanut crossfire tank

WGP03VF autococker, SuperFLybolt,Dye Ultralite, Psycho Drop, Evo2 with Zboard, 5000psi Scion, Black Magic Reg, Nexus Ram, E2
Strengths: Super Compact
Less hits on body and marker
Holds a lot of air
very consistant
Weaknesses: Price
Hard to find
Review: WOW!! I been using a 88ci 3000psi tank from pure energy for a long time. When I bought my ego, I knew I needed a smaller tank but not just any tank, a tank that can hold enough air like my 88ci. Well, lucky me, I receive my stubb tank on my B day and tested it out as soon as I could on the field. MY GOD!! This tank made my gun soooo compact. When on the field, I never got shot on my gun or hopper cause I was much more tighter on the bunkers. The air, I was amazed. I did not have to fill my tank frequently as my 88ci. Highly recommend this tank...besides, crossfire is known for their very good tanks and most pros use them FOR SOME REaon....cause they WORK.
Conclusion: If you take paintball serious as a sport, buy this tank. If you see paintball as just a pass time...dont get this tank because of the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kdecker40 Thursday, July 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
just a wgp 3000psi tank and it doesnt even match up against the crossfire
Marker Setup: smart parts ion freak barrel kit halo hopper drop forward and 4500 crossfire stubby
Strengths: Small
-light
-compact
-good priced
Weaknesses: None that i can think of.
Review: I frirst got this tank at a draxxus festival last july and from that moment on i love it its perfect for what i use it for like i said in the strenghts its light compact and good priced and also fits good against your shoulder for puttin it right next to you its the best its good air effincicy and looks good with a dye rhino cover
Conclusion: This is one of the best tanks out there i recomend it to everyone who wants a good nitro tank
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shocker1Fan Sunday, July 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
JT 50/3000, PureEnergy 47/3000, Crossfire 68/4500
Marker Setup: '06 Smart Parts Vision Shocker SFT
New Designz v.3 Stinger bolt
Smart Parts Q-lock feed
HaloB w/ Rip drive
Crossfire 70/4500 fiber wrapped peanut w/ Dye Rhino
All Dye apparel.
Strengths: Very light weight, small, air capacity, price
Weaknesses: Gauge could be a bit more accurate.. hard to find..
Review: This tank is GREAT.. now I know that there are maybe a couple better tanks out there (empire fuel), but for the money, this is the best that money can buy. The tank is smaller than a 68/4500 and hold more air at the same time. the concistency is really good and I did not encounter any shoot down when the tank was low.. Now I suppose the pressure gauge could be a little more accurate because it seemed to me to be a little behind what was acutally in the tank, but other than that , this tank is a great choise and I would recommend this tank to anyone who is interested in buying one and can actually find it in stock somewhere... (good luck online..) Buy it.. Im giving it a 9 as the Empire tank is about a 9.5.
Conclusion: Great tank, great buy... buy it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media