paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / AKA Sidewinder Regulator / AKA Sidewinder Regulator / AKA Sidewinder Regulator / AKA Sidewinder Regulator

AKA Sidewinder Regulator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount AKA

Buy AKA Sidewinder Regulator

Paintball Regulators

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


AKA Sidewinder Regulator
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 29
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $95

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The sidewinder regulator was designed specifically for use on the Excalibur because of its extremely low operating pressure. The regulator will work extremely well on other guns as well. The design of the regulator permits the air hose to be connected to the gun in any location the user wishes within a 360 degree circle around the base of the reg, while still allowing the regulator to be externally adjusted from the bottom. The top endcap of the regulator can be replaced with different length ones to allow the user to adjust total length of the reg.
Product Availability 
The AKA Sidewinder Regulator is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
mtbrdude Thursday, March 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: ICD FS8
J&J Edge kit
STD JDS lrp
AKA Sidewinder
CP Trigger
NOX board coming soon.
Strengths: VERY consistent
Swivel macro fitting
Competitively priced
Weaknesses: Only weakness is that it's hard to take apart without a trap wrench
Review: I got this for my ICD Freestyle V8. The stock regulator would have me shooting anywhere from 255-270fps over a chronograph.. the FIRST time i shot my AKA Sidewinder was over a chronograph, and immediately (WITH ZERO ADJUSTMENT AT ALL) i was getting 266-271. What a huge difference in performance, and the reg isn't even broken in yet.

As long as you've got a strap wrench you'll have an easy time lubing this thing up. it's internals are very simple.

The swivel macro fitting also allows you to screw the reg in all the way without worring which way the macro port will face.
Conclusion: Totally worth the money.
I live in Canada, and AKA shipped it out 3 hours after i ordered it, and they even used USPS so i woulnd't have to pay border fees. GREAT company and they make great products.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jaketasty Thursday, February 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
ego star reg... bob long torpedo reg... karnie cocker reg... smart parts shocker reg... and the dye hyper 2 reg
Marker Setup: 06 nexus ego... superblue and gold... tadao... cp trig... sidewinder reg... sly barrel kit...mac dev 68/45 halo-b
Strengths: Very consistent .. looks nice ... you can change the length
Weaknesses: There are no weeknesses.. sorry...
Review: i had the normal ego star reg. on my nexus but after i shot my friends ego with a sidewinder on it i was hooked... any gun a sidewinder is on it turns it into a efficent... consistent killing machine... thats what it was made for...

By far the most consistent reg. i have every shot in my life... looks sick on my ego .. idk about you guys but i love the look of it... and i don't care if it doesn't have a gauge port.. i don't need one with my ego... but if your shooting a spider with a 99" barrel idk you might need one...lol
Conclusion: any speedball player with a gun better than a dm5 should get this reg.. omg .. its HOT!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hatchj Saturday, August 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
The stock torpedo
Marker Setup: Bob Long Alias intimidator
UPs:
Hybrid ram cap
Hybrid verdikt lpr
AKA sidewinder reg
Cp swoop trigger
Ricochet 2kx lcd for now
Pure energy 48 cu tank
Strengths: Good consistency compared to most regulators
Isnt super flashy
Weaknesses: Somewhat expensive
More complicated than others to take apart and clean
Review: I got this in a trade a while ago and I wanted to see how well this thing worked.

I've been using it and I get pretty good consistency. It is quite a bit more complicated compared to other regs to take apart and clean. In most regs, the internals come out very easily.

At least with my sidewinder, i have to force the internals out of the reg. I don't really like having to force out parts of a $90 reg. so that bugs me.
Conclusion: I would recomend some over this, such as a Evil Detonator or the AKA 2-liter

Im still going to give it an 8 because it is very consistent and doesnt give me very many problems
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 19th, 2007 at 11:01 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

vtTaco Friday, May 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Palmer Stabilizer
MacDev Gladiator
Aim 68
WGP Stock
ICD Stock
CP Shorty
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
R/T w/ low pressure upgrade
SpecOps A2-A5 Pro Foregrip
PMI Remote w/ Slide Check
Ricochet R5 Hopper
Crossfire 68/4500
Aka Sidwinder
Opsgear AK47 Folding Stock
J&J 12" S2 Ceramic
Strengths: Consistant
Fast Recharge
Easy to maintain
Weaknesses: 700psi max output
Only comes in black and nickel
Review: I love this reg! The swivel input on the bottom makes it so much simpler to set up your hoses and keeps the hose out of your way when using the reg as a grip. I threw it on, and set my pressure to 650. Consistancy was +- 7. After about 200 shots, everything smoothed up and now I get +-3. This regs simple looks reflect it's simple design. Maintinence is a snap. Unscrew the three main bodies, and everything just slides out. Wipe everything off, drop a little air tool oil on the o-rings, and re-assemble. The top reg section is available in 3 lengths so you can get the right length for your set-up. The max input is specified in the manual is 800psi but the website shows it as 900psi. My PMI tank runs 850 and the reg has had no problems.

It seems that the higher you set the output pressure, the more sensitive the adjustment is. This reg was obviously designed with low pressure markers in mind, but is still fantastic on my A5 R/T.

*WARNING*
Re-assemble the reg UPSIDE DOWN!!!! Otherwise, the brass washer might slide off the piston and be damaged when screwing the bottom part of the reg on. I learned this the hard way.

Also, crank the air fitting at the bottom untill it's snug, but don't go too far or you might not be able to swivel the base.

When I sent an e-mail to AKALMP's tech support, they were the first paintball company that got back to me on the same day. Very friendly on the phone too.

At $75 direct from AKALMP, this reg is in the middle of the road when it comes to cost but at the top for performance. Unless you're using CO2, this the the best reg on the market.
Conclusion: Best HPA reg I've ever used. Not as expensive as many other top performance regs.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Metallix6403 Friday, April 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Spyder TL Plus
AKALMP Lightning Bolt
AKALMP Tornado Valve
AKALMP Sidewinder
Smartparts Total Freak
BooYah Elcd Trigger
Polished Internals
Modded Springs (Main and Valve)
Drop Forward, CheckIt Assault Block, other mods
Strengths: Fast Recharge
Consistant Pressure
Looks
Durable
Weaknesses: None that I can think of
Review: I first thought about buying the Sidewinder once I bought the Lightning Bolt. I later decided to go LP and what a better idea than to go to AKALMP for the perfect products!

I do use CO2 and let me tell you that it doesnt effect the Reg. in anyway shape or form. You must have a good antisiphon job on the tank that youll be using. The only way that the Reg would be damaged in any way is if the liquid CO2 gets in there (obviously).

Aside from that little sidenote, the Sidewinder can be summed up into one word, GREAT. It looks very simple and the there are no flashy millings which I love. Its clean and looks great on any gun. The bottom half is adjustable so you can have the gas coming in from any direction and its pretty durable in any otf those spots.

As for it's consistancy there is no doubt that Its working. Ive tested it with a few spare guages and they all tell the same story. Theres little if no recharge time and the FPS never gets out of 1+/- on my set up. As of right now its at 315 PSI with 3500+ shots on a 20oz and Ive experienced no problems what so ever.
Conclusion: Great product from a great company. AKA is the way to go for alot of internals as well. The reg looks great and performs even better. Check this out if you want a pretty serious regulator. Only problem was that I couldnt really find it any where store wise. Just go to AKALMP's site which is better anyways. I would give it a 9.5 just cause of the fact that it was missing in alot of stores in San Diego but Im rounding up giving it a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jwong Wednesday, March 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Palmer Stabilizer - similar to Sidewinder in recharge but less consistent
CP Reg - similar to Sidewinder in performance
ICD Stock Reg (2k3) - regulates marginally but high maintenance
Marker Setup: B2K4 PDS, AKA Sidewinder, Vapor Valve, AKA SCM 3, Chaos Max
2k3 BKO, Modified stock valve, Zenitram ASA, AKA MItey Max, Palmer Stabilizer, Micro-rock
Strengths: Recharge rate
Consistency
Swivel bottom
Simple but functional look
Weaknesses: Cost - but the performance is worth the cost
Review: I had the CP reg on my B2K4 and it worked well. However, the shorty version of the CP didn't provide much post-regulated volume. I then chose to go with the Sidewinder with the longest top.

With changing that one feature, I went from an HPR pressure of 220 with the CP reg, down to 190-195 with the long Sidewinder, shooting the same fps. LPR pressure also was lowered as well.

The result is a quieter marker with less kick.

Consistency after a break-in period and sizing Reballs to be slightly smaller than the barrel bore gave +-2 fps with my setup. Similar results with real paintballs that are sized slightly smaller than the barrel bore. I've noticed that if I size the paintballs to fit snuggly in the bore (without barrel breaks), my consistency goes off and can be +-7-10. I think that's due to paintballs (from the same bag) not having consistent sizes and therefore, some will fit more snuggly than others leading to changes in fps.

I have not been able to estimate efficiency at this point.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product as it is very consistent with a great recharge with the long top.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 22nd, 2006 at 12:07 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dyeballer24 Friday, September 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
cp reg, shocktech reg
Marker Setup: black ripper 2 with blue sleeve
15" pepper stick
sidewinder reg
conquest 68/45
hybrid grip panelz
Strengths: looks good
VERY consistant
Weaknesses: Absolutely nothing
Review: This is the best regulator on the market, that u can buy!! This is definately the bast reg i have ever used, nt only performance wise, but it looks greak also. just go to your local store and buy one, i got about 1800 shots from my conquest 68/45,ive never had a problem with it.
Conclusion: Get a few bucks, go to your local store, BUY one, and mow faces all day.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, September 9th, 2005 at 10:29 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbreviewman Tuesday, August 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP short and regular
ion stock
Marker Setup: Black custom shaved shell
14" dye ultralight
trinity mini feedneck
Aka sidewinder reg
Violent Products Scythe trigger
Dye stickies
Strengths: High flowing
Very Very consistant
allen key adjusting (doesn't mover when playing)

looks
Weaknesses: none that I have found
Review: All of my friends have them to. They work great and feel good when playing. You can put different caps on to make it smaller or bigger. These are great regs, the only better you can get is an Aka 2 liter, but they are way to expensive. The reg is very easy to adjust psi input. Buy this reg it owns all other regs (except 2 liter).
Conclusion: Spend the money to get this. This is well worth the money and it is very consistant
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ready_Mix Thursday, July 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock WGP regulator
Marker Setup: 2002 WGP AutoCocker, 9v revvy, AKA Sidewinder, Psycho Ballistics Z-drop
Strengths: Recharge rate, size & shape
Weaknesses: Price?
Review: My Sidewinder just came today. The first thing i did was air up and test it. The first thing I noticed was how fast it recharges. The best part is, it doesn't need to be broken in. I like the rotating base. It lets you put the macroline/cable where ever you want it to be. Consistancy is also a key strength. It blows away the stock regulator. While some say the Sidewinder is ugly, I think it means serious business, and once you're opponent's on the wrong end of your sidewinder-equipped gun, they will too.
Conclusion: BUY IT! I got mine for 62 bucks on ebay... It is worth every penny. Don't let people tell you to get any other kind of regulator. AKA makes the best.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

es916 Tuesday, June 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Palmers Stabilizer: This was OK but I have had better for the money. Great for CO2 though.
CP Regs: Very good regs for a decent price but not as consistant as my sidewinder.
BL Torp: Again, for less that $60 you cant go wrong but not as good as CP or Sidewinder.
Marker Setup: 2K2 Gold to Black Fade Dragon Intimidator
CP Vert. Reg, Check-It Unimount Combo, CP 2- Piece 14', WAS 2.8, Clammy Grip, CP roller trigger.... you better believe that more is comming!!!!

Red LED 2K3 Trix (Backup)
AKA Sidewinder Vert Reg(Medium), AKA SCM, S.A.M Orange Bolt w/Aardy Red Kit Parts, SM-1 14' Barrel Kit, Check It Low Rise, Check It Unimount ASA, 68/4500 Crossfire LP Tank, Gun20 Chip, Halo B Loader
Strengths: Blazing Recharge Rate
No drop off
Extremely Consistant
Set it and forget it
Weaknesses: None, seriously no reg i have used is this good.
Review: I got this gem of a reg for like 75 bucks and I can't be happier with anything else. Sidewinders are extremely consistant after a proper break in, which can take 5 cases of paint. Once you get it dialed in where you want it, you will rarely need to touch it. I started using one of these in conjunction with their scm on my matrix. Not only was I (+/-3) on the chrono but at really high rates of fire, I didnt get any drop off at all. What was also nice was the increased efficiency I got. I was able to gain about 2 pods more per fill. So after I was less than satisfied with the CP on my timmy, I went and switched the regs and what a world of difference that was. Again i was about +/- 3 or 4 on the chrono and the drop off during the insane rates of fire was gone, totally gone. I am sold on this reg, in fact I went and bought a silver reg to match the timmy so my matrix can have its reg back.
Conclusion: There is nothing more to say, other than stop waiting around and get one. You absolutly can't go wrong with this reg and once you get a chance to rip with this baby, you will be here singing its praises too!!! This really should get a 100/10 but 10/10 is all you can give. AKA, you have shown why you are the absolute best in air regulation systems!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media