paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / AKA Sidewinder Regulator / AKA Sidewinder Regulator / AKA Sidewinder Regulator / AKA Sidewinder Regulator

AKA Sidewinder Regulator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount AKA

Buy AKA Sidewinder Regulator

Paintball Regulators

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


AKA Sidewinder Regulator
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 29
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $95

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The sidewinder regulator was designed specifically for use on the Excalibur because of its extremely low operating pressure. The regulator will work extremely well on other guns as well. The design of the regulator permits the air hose to be connected to the gun in any location the user wishes within a 360 degree circle around the base of the reg, while still allowing the regulator to be externally adjusted from the bottom. The top endcap of the regulator can be replaced with different length ones to allow the user to adjust total length of the reg.
Product Availability 
The AKA Sidewinder Regulator is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
FSU Paintball Wednesday, January 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Black Magic reg - fairly consistent, very twitchy when you adjust it, difficult to rebuild. Not nearly as nice as the Sidewinder.
Marker Setup: Used on an ebladed Dye Ultralite, and an 04 Freestyle.
Strengths: Consistent
Fast recharge
Reliable
Nice convenience features
Weaknesses: Not beautiful looking
Needs oil occasionally (easy)
A little pricey
Review: CONSISTENCY AND RECHARGE. This reg is second to none in consistency - after your 2-case-break-in-period, most owners see +/-1 FPS with good paint on good markers. It's absolutely incredible. And its recharge is fast enough to keep up with anything.

Aside from that, the base swivels around, so that your fitting can be positioned anywhere. Plus, it's not in your way when you grab the reg.

Also, it can be purchased with different removeable endcaps, which gives you different lengths.

It's real reliable, but you need to keep it oiled. Fortunately, oiling consists of dropping some oil in the ASA and firing your gun a few times. That's it.

On the other hand...
Some people don't like its looks. Also, there's no gauge port, but if you know how, you can drill and tap the endcap for one.
Keep it oiled. Not that that's much of a problem - it's very easy.
A bit pricey - $75 shipped is about the cheapest you'll find.

Something to note - although you will not find fault in this reg, it has been replaced by the 2-Liter reg made by AKA, which is a bit better. However, the sidewinder is adjustable from 0-700psi, while the 2L is only 0-350, plus the 2L's macroline fitting is in the way - at the middle of the reg. And the 2L costs $30 more. So I still think the sidewinder is the way to go.
Conclusion: This is my favorite reg on the market, bar none. An excellent product.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 20th, 2005 at 4:56 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

noakerski Friday, December 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rattler
Black magic
Max-flo
Marker Setup: 2004 impulse tricked to the max
Strengths: Incredible Flow
Awesome recharge Rate
Amazingly consistent
Easily Adjustable
Weaknesses: Expensive
Heavy
Ugly
Review: I replace my bottomline max-flo with this reg and im glad i did.This reg is one of the top performers.It is a little expensive at $95 bucks, But you really appreciate it when you get to the chronos.Although this reg sticks out like a sore thumb on almost every gun imaginable it out perform everything i have ever seen.I mean its not all about looks.is it?
Conclusion: I give this reg a 7 based on looks.But im so amazed by this regs peformance That i give it a 12 based on that aspect.So overall its gonna get a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sonnemann Saturday, November 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Ergo: good intermediate reg, but too uncomfortable and not as consistent
ANS reg: good performance and easy to adjust, but heavy SS bottom half
Marker Setup: WAS/ACE Viking, Crossfire 70/45, Halo, St!ffi
VSC Micro Phantom
Strengths: -Looks
-Swivel fitting
-Consistency
Weaknesses: Price (though I would pay $150 for it)
Review: This is the stock reg on Viking, blah blah blah...short of the 2-Liter it is probably the best reg out there, and is my personal favorite. It looks awesome and goes well with the minimalist look of an unmilled Viking, it's easy to adjust, maintenance consists of dropping in a bit of AKA lube now and then...and it's consistent. Very, very much so. Readings of +/- 1 and 2 are had regularly, with decent paint and barrels, on my Viking.

It's a small thing, but the swivel fitting on the bottom is a godsend. No more having your macro fitting sticking right into the palm of your hand...you can just swivel it around to the other side. The 'winder is very smooth and nondescript, so it also makes an excellent and very comfortable handgrip in addition to its regulating ability.If you're on a tight budget, buy a CP reg. If you can afford to spend 20 more, buy a Sidewinder. If you're rolling in dough and need every last bit of performance from your parts, buy a 2-Liter. That's all there is to it.
Conclusion: If you have a Viking or Excal with one, keep it...if you have any other marker...buy one. Or a 2-Liter if you're so inclined.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gebo Saturday, May 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Palmers Stabilizer
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with Removed R/T, Pure Energy 68/3000, Dye 14" Ultralight barrel, Lapco Grip bottom with Uni-Mount, AKA Sidewinder Secondary Regulator.
Strengths: Ease and accuracy of setup. Customer Service. Bottom Hose connection.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: I had the Palmers Stabs on my 2 A-5's. One broke and the other would never let me get over 255 FPS with the Dye ULight barrel. Called and talked to AKA and they were so helpful and willing to work with me. I didn't know but they are the main regulator used in those "Robots" on that "Robot Wars" show. I figure they must have the quality.

I wish I had known about AKA before I wasted my money on the Palmers. Oh yea, the Sidewinders need no break in like the Palmers. I asked the AKA Tech about break in and he just laughed. He said there's are ready to go out of the box.

You can also interchange parts on the body to increase or decrease body length. You don't have to buy another Regulator.
Conclusion: If you use HPA, this is the proven Regulator. Call them up and talk to them. That always tells me a lot about a company.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wakejumper731 Saturday, April 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
dragun reg and ANS gen X regulator
Marker Setup: dragun "the one" w/ smart parts teardrop barrel, qloader, AKA sidewinder REG, CP flame drop, cobra paintball on off valve, Bandit Bolts TES bolt, 20oz c02 tank
Strengths: everything
Weaknesses: nothing cept the looks but who cares?
Review: of all the regulators that i have tested this is by far the best one it is very consistent and much more accurate than the stock dragun regulator my marker came with. before i got this regulator my marker used to fire all over the place but but when i got this i went out in my back yard and fired it and was able to hit a stick multiple time about 1 or 2 inches wide from about 25 feet away.
Conclusion: over all this is a great reg it is very consistent and i recommend it to anyone
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

HELLSPAWN Saturday, February 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long Torpedo, AA mesiah
Marker Setup: Spyder Aggressor, CiP Assualt Block , CiP Fullforce ,AKA Sidewinder ,Rocket valve,Freak ,Boo-Yah , and shocktech drop w/thor
Strengths: -Consistency
-high volume [when using the tallest its really good]
-high flow
-swivel end cap
Weaknesses: -looks to some people but to me it means business
Review: Well I recieved this reg from Splatt Entertainment a few weeks ago. When I got it outta the package I fell in love. This reg doen't use looks to sell obviously but it looks nice and simple to me. Anyways I put this on my lp spyder and emptied my hole tank. It was increadibly consistent and I had no problems with it. The appearance is a little acward in the fact of the hard anno kind is lighter than black but thats not a problem fot me. The thing never gave me any problems

Conclusion: Great reg, decently priced. Not purely cosmetics, it more of a performer than a looker. I really suggest it if ur looking for a good reg
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

torbo Friday, January 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
wgp ergoreg, angel mini reg, pure energy reg, max flow
Marker Setup: Black 2002 Angel IR3
Cobra trigger
12" Dye Aluminum

Blue 2002 STO Atucocker
WGP 2 piece barrel
WGP hinge frame with flame trigger
AKA Sidewinder
Strengths: see below
Weaknesses: see below
Review: high flow. Ive never seen shootdown, even on trixes or timmys shooting 20 bps
consistant. Ive got no numbers, but its very consistant for sure
different lengths. You can buy it in different lenghts so it will clear your drop, etc.
swiveling bottom. Its easy that way to mount your air lines

uh bad is that it is rather expensive, although worth the money. And it doesnt look great, rather plain, but its quite all right.
Conclusion: well worth the money. In my mind the best performing reg on the market. 9 for the plain looks and expense.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

diverdown Sunday, November 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
ICD Stock inline reg
Marker Setup: BKO Bushmaster,AKA Sidewinder,AKA Mighty Max, AKA Tornado Valve, 12" Freak Barrel, System X drop w/on-off, PE 68/3000
Strengths: ready to go, right out of package
Weaknesses: If using marco line do not screw in adapter too far into the reg
Review: I have just started using this product from AKA. To start with the tech support is very user friendly and easy to get in touch with. I have replaced the stock reg and a Thor sec stage reg for the Sidewider...........and what a difference just this single reg made. OUTSTANDING.........hats off to AKA................the base of the reg rotates to make the connection to your air supply easy. Just do not screw it in too far for it will have an affect on the air coming in. Like I said Tech's are very user friendly at AKA.
Conclusion: If you decide that you want play this sport and have a good system to shoot, try the sidewinder as your reg, you will be very pleased that you did. Vapor works....well i ordered some stuff from them...but still have not gotten them......go ahead and spend a couple of dollars more........get AKA
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Joker_Fl Friday, October 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP ergo, black ice, Blackmagic reg, ANS reg, vigilante(if you can call it a reg), palmer, i think thats it.
Marker Setup: 2003 Autococker, custom milled body, ans ram, oracle 3-way, rhino reg, rat valve, lightning bolt, blah blah blah. Yeah the only thing wgp on this thing is the serial #.
Strengths: Consistency. This reg is by far the most acurate, reliable reg on the market.
Weaknesses: None...
Review: I bought this reg at a shop on vacation in Indianapolis, (akalmp's home town, mine too). It was before they even hit the stores, over two years ago. This thing has not given me a single hiccup since purchase. The reg posts constant velocities +,- 2fps, has an easy grip to it and is simple to operate. The hex setting on the bottom is very tight and cannot be accidently changed. (unlike ALL air-america equipment)

Compact design, easy grip, great look in nickle or black anno, and the best performance ive ever seen.

DO NOT USE WITH CO2.
Conclusion: If you've got the money, don't hessitate. If your lookin at buying something cheaper.....keep saving.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NKP82 Friday, September 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
MacDev Gladiator, Palmer Stabilizer
Marker Setup: ICD Bushmaster 2002 BK0 with
>12" Freak Barrel (SS backing with Silver Freak front)
>14" J&J Performance Ceramic
>Dye Stickies (2 piece)
>AKA Sidewinder
>MacDev Red Valve
>Phat Performance Flame Drop
>Phat Performance On/Off valve
>Viewloader 12v Revolution with with X-Board
Strengths: >Very Consistent
>Comfortable to hold
>Fits just about any marker with a ASA
Weaknesses: >Besides being expensive, none yet that I have seen or had
>See Below
Review: The Sidewinder is a very nice regulator, very consistent, fits any vertical ASA, and has a very high flow rate. The swivel base is big plus, you never have to worry about the gas line getting in the way and making the regulator uncomfortable to hold. The high flow rate is perfect for those low pressure markers that are all the rave now, so you dont have to worry about poor performance because there is not alot of air behind the ball. The Sidewinder is very consistent, maybe a +/- of 2 to 5 fps, so you can set you very close to the field fps limit and never really worry about the fps going over the field fps limit. And the fact that it fits just about any marker is a big plus, especially the BK0, mainly because it is one of the only regulators that I know that will fit the stock ASA with no problem.

The only problme that I had with mine was that it came with a blown O-ring on the swivel base, but since there is Pro Shop with the right O-ring that was fixed easily.
Conclusion: Like I said above it is very comfortable to hold, it is consistent, and has a very high flow rate. And very nice for all those BK0 owners out there because it fits perfectly on the stock ASA. All in all, it is a very nice regulator and I suggest it to any body in the market for a new regulator.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media