paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / AKA Sidewinder Regulator / AKA Sidewinder Regulator / AKA Sidewinder Regulator / AKA Sidewinder Regulator

AKA Sidewinder Regulator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount AKA

Buy AKA Sidewinder Regulator

Paintball Regulators

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


AKA Sidewinder Regulator
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 29
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $95

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The sidewinder regulator was designed specifically for use on the Excalibur because of its extremely low operating pressure. The regulator will work extremely well on other guns as well. The design of the regulator permits the air hose to be connected to the gun in any location the user wishes within a 360 degree circle around the base of the reg, while still allowing the regulator to be externally adjusted from the bottom. The top endcap of the regulator can be replaced with different length ones to allow the user to adjust total length of the reg.
Product Availability 
The AKA Sidewinder Regulator is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
SaiNt Saturday, September 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Black Magic regulator.
ANS Regulator
WDP Spiral Mini
Marker Setup: My current setup:
Shocktech Bomb
Palmers Micro Rock
WGP STO Ram
WGP Orracle bolt
AKALMP Sidewinder
Eclipse Blade
PMI 68/4500
CP 12" Two Piece
Strengths: - Consistent
- Good recharge rate
- Swivel bottom
Weaknesses: - Nothing really.
Review: Very consistent regulator. It has never creeped on me so far. The recharge rate is incredible. I never experienced drop off yet either. Another thing that caught my eye was the swivel bottom. This was very convenient for me because you will never have that silly macroline in your way. Also the lengths can be changed by just purchasing another top for a pretty low price, so it can accomodate all hand sizes.
Conclusion: Great regulator. Nothing better in my opinion. They are a bit pricey, but you pay for what you get. 9/10 because nothing is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

toothpastedog Thursday, July 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
max-flo inling and on gun set ups, palmer stablizer, ergo/black magic regs, and hyperflow regs
Marker Setup: impulse vision, max-flo, hsw front grip, k2 werm trigger, voodoo bolt, tapeworm, nd front cap, nd bio cap, sp brass hammer, strange derlin bolt pin, silk shot ram, rip valve, smart grips, twister lr, freak, ti boomstick, halo, warp (don't use it that much due to halo), and a old angel led frame converted to fit on my impulse (w/ some mods) made by imperial (werm) paintball. i thinks that's it.
Strengths: very consistant, very low pressure, reliable, and sizes
Weaknesses: color, bottom can come off if one's not careful
Review: best reg for the autococker hands down (it you don't own a stock on) and some other guns. This is the only reg that even rivals the smartparts max-flo inline reg. the only reason the max-flo is better is because it work great with co2 along with hpa, while the sidewinder only is for hpa. the fact that the reg is so consistant at such low pressures is quite amazing. this reg should only be used for low pressure markers that need high flow regs. like...

shocker (stock reg is fine though),
impulse (stock reg is fine though) ,
autocockers (go with this reg),
aka markers (comes with this reg),
matrixes (a good choice),
and not angels (their stock reg is matched to the marker for optimum performance),

don't use it on any co2 requiring markers
Conclusion: if you've got a cocker get this reg. also (i forgot to mention) this reg comes in 3 standard lengths (short (2.8") medium (3.5") and long (4.5")). also the air inlet at the bottom is on a 360* axis so you have easy hose access. dont unscrew the or try to because if you do, your screwed. 9/10 because max-flo can handle co2
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

be1498 Saturday, March 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Air America Vigilante - not even close
Bob Long Torpedo - great reg, but I don't like having the input anyplace but the bottom of the reg.
Marker Setup: Classic Intimidator w/clamshell, WAS Equalizer, Sidewinder Reg, Delrin bolt, barrels, hoppers, yada yada yada
Strengths: This reg has fantastic consistency!
Weaknesses: Looks...but who cares!
Review: Most Timmy owners love the Torpedo, but the Sidewinder is my favorite. I believe the Sidewinder is the best reg I've used. It's extremely consistent and lets me mount the input hose in a way that keeps it from interfering with my grip. The input is at the bottom, and it swivels to put your hose exactly where you want it. I don't need a gauge port because my Timmy has two right above where this reg mounts.

I wasn't sure about the plain-Jane looks, but it seems to match my LPR and Volumizer pretty well, and makes a good grip.

It has no problem keeping up at high ROF, and there's no shootdown. For $83, it's not a bad deal, and has a real no-nonsense look. You can buy them in 3 different lengths to match your marker or to compensate for different size hands.
Conclusion: Get one! I'm sure you'll like it. Even though I haven't had any problems with it, there's a large amount of information at the AKALMP website.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

a_system Sunday, May 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock Autococker regulator
Marker Setup: 2002 Vert feed Autococker, Dye Excel Barrel, Sidewinder Reg, Shocktech RAM, Palmer Micro Rock Pnuematic Reg, Shocktech supafly bolt, Ricochet 2k hopper.
Strengths: Let's make a little list, shall we?
1. Consistent as hell
2. Crono's at +-3 on a stock cocker
3. Externally Adjustable
4. Good Front Grip
5. Little Spinny thing helps position hose
6. Diferent Sizes
7. Does what a reg needs to, and does it well
8. Experienced players know that it's a good reg even if it doesn't look it
Weaknesses: A much shorter list...
1. Not the best looking reg
2. (there is no 2)
Conclusion: A fantastic reg! If you want to make your gun shoot at full potential and avoid hot-gun penalties then this is the reg you need. It's not as pretty as a Gen-X but it's not especially ugly. As far as consistency goes it's king, even on crappy internals it can manage to pull off a +-3 at the chrono. I would recomend this reg to anyone. And if it's price that you're worried about, then you shouldn't, all regs fall into very similar price ranges and if you get a good one then you won't need to spend more on annother later. This earns my 10, buy this reg.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gladiator24_7 Tuesday, May 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Genx, stock
Marker Setup: Red ANS GX3 Chaos Cocker
Silver Sidewinder Reg
Red 16/10' SS Freak
Crossfire 88/45
Chrome Eclipse HInge
Ricochet
Strengths: Its rock consistant. I get +- 1 or 2 on the chrony. I can now consistantly hit a ribbon about 50 feet away with this badass.

The swivel part on the bottom is cool

Mine does not ring at all. Its dead silent.

Mine is easy to adjust when pressurized. Its not problem for me.

Good grip.
Weaknesses: Its kind of blase. Theres no special cosmetic features on it.

There is no place for a guage. This is almost purely cosmetic, becuase you can always put a guage on your pnues.

The base unscrews before you can get the reg out of the gun. This is no biggie, but I'm just being picky.

Its pricy. I got mine for $100. That may seem like a lot until you get it on your gun and you see how consistant it is. Besides, its comparable to most other top of the line regs. Gx3 is about $130. Messiah is $90+.
Conclusion: This is a FANSTASTIC REG! It hold your pressure so steady it will amaze you. All the shortcomings are almost purely cosmetic and are easily ignored when you are ablse to gog people from half a field away.

This reg may not look as gaudy as some others, but the fact that everybody knows that this reg is the best in existance is cool enough for me.

I'll take off a point because it could look cooler, so it gets a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dexecon Tuesday, February 12th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra with sidewinder and N2
Strengths: Very smooth, makes the xtra more consistent. Dont have to worry about cold weather freezing up CO2 when i have N2 and the regulator. It is the same company that makes the Viking and Excalibur so you know it will be top quality.

Weaknesses: None, maybe a little on the expensive side but it's worth it !!!
Conclusion: This regulator is as good as a Palmer but the sidewinder is easier to get. I live in Canada and its hard to get a Palmer.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, January 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WDP minireg, stock cocker reg. The minireg does not like LP, and the stock reg you can adjust without opening it up.
Marker Setup: 2k2VF cocker, shocktech front, wdp inline reg, chrome dye pivot, other goodies.
Strengths: well, it has been super consistent since day 1. I dont really get that "ring" noise. You can choose what size you want, or you can change the size later.
Weaknesses: Well, it's not soo bad, the adjuster is a little tight when it's gassed. I like that. Nothing really bad about it. Not even the price, it's cheaper than an ans gen x for example.
Conclusion: Well, if you want a reliable reg that is good for LP, and will not give you problems get it. You cant attach a gauge unless you have it tapped.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, September 20th, 2001
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
 
0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: This is an awesome reg. It is so consistant. I have used this reg on almost all of the many guns I have owned. Great tournament reg, after i got this reg it helped me with my "hot gun" penalty problem. Now my team isn't pi$$ed at me that often. I think this is the second best reg out there, since i prefire the Centerflag inline reg.
Weaknesses: The bad thing about this reg is
-it is priced pretty high, but is worth it.
-it is ugly, but a good second grip.
- the thing pops apart to easily when i am cleaning itor taking off some stuff.
- It is to hard to adust when it is pressurized.
- oh yeah all the ones i have had had rung like a damn telephone. At tournaments, I can here people saying, " hey i heard you comming" or on the field, " o $#it here comes the cocker guy" This is good sometimes since it tells people i am coming and then it strikes fear in to them. HAHAHAHAHA
Conclusion: Over all it is a sweet re. I think AKALMP needs to do some cosmetic work on it and they should stop the ringing thing. It is defenitaly worth it, but i would rather have a centerflag inline reg. It is better looking, just as consistant and doesn't ring. I think the swiveling thing is cool, it saved some of my hoses and it is at the bottom unlike the centerflag, it feels better. I also think it needs a gauge like the centerflag and grips. I think dye should make sticky grips for regs!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, April 9th, 2001
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Very high flow, very light, easy to disassemble and maintain, swivel base is a nice touch for aligning hoses, three different body lengths allow you to customize the regulator to fit your style and desired air volume.
Weaknesses: Lower body comes unscrews from the upper body before the upper body unscrews from the gun. A little pricey.
Conclusion: Worht the money. Lighter and higher flowing than Air America regs. I would highly recommend this product.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media