paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PGI Mayhem / PGI Mayhem / PGI Mayhem / PGI Mayhem

PGI Mayhem Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PGI

Buy PGI Mayhem

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PGI Mayhem
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 20
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Electro pneumatic closed bolt system, left, right, or center hand feed, and accepts all gases.
Product Availability 
The PGI Mayhem is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Unregistered User Friday, December 28th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have had a minimag with a z-grip and a 2001 autococker. The mayhem has similar looks to a mag and shoots like mag or cocker flat and straight
Marker Setup: Mayhem ET vertion 2, dye exell barrel, custom gas through grip, custom drop, vert feed tube, 12v rev loader, and anti siphon 20oz co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
a barrel other than stock, gas through grip, 12v rev loader, a properly anti siphon tank. PGI has a gas through grip, double trigger frame, and board you can purchase
Strengths: Affordable about 400 dollars new and 300 used for the version 2 . Small and light weight, autococker barrel threads, you can change it from left, right, or vert feed with a ANGEL feed tube or with spyder's plastic vert adapter. 100psi operating pressure (that's super low pressure for a paintball marker) that low of pressure makes the marker shoot brittle paint with ease
Weaknesses: It didn't come with a vert feed adapter, sloppy trigger, plastic frame, can't get any upgrades for it on the internet for it. can't get very many upgrades at all unless you call the company, or your machinist like myself and can make your own parts.
Conclusion: The mayhem doesn't have the fast rate of fire like a bushy or angel but good buy for the money. some people say this gun chops paint bad I personally haven't seen it chop at all maybe because I take it apart every time when I'm done playing with it like my bushmaster and lube it with Dow 33.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nicad Thursday, December 13th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
autococker-
automag-
nova-
Marker Setup: Mayhem ET2, freak autococker barrel, vert reg forgrip conversion, air assist, dropforward, on/off switch, angel trigger switch, 47/3k tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel. vert reg or forgrip, drop forward.
Strengths: very light and compact. closd bolt. vert feed. fairly cheep for the features. looks good on paper. easy and fun to modify. looks kinda cool once setup right.
Weaknesses: drinks air like theres no tomorrow! (about as bad as a stock shocker). so light that the kick, what little there is, results in significant movement. low ROF (capped at 8bps)... yet still chops paint too easily, and WAYY to hard to clean once it does chop.
Conclusion: its OK. price makes it worth while i guess. I used it for a few weeks and hung it back on the wall- I perfer a nicely-working autococker. I give it a 8 because the operation design is very well done and unique.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, November 29th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Mayhem ET, clippard board, 32 degrees carbon fiber barrel,
Recommended
Upgrades:
new board!!! clippard is ok, but ROF isn't all that great with it. I heard a morlock board would go great on the mayhem
Strengths: Super accurate(compared to a spyder), had a nice grouping from both short and long distances, it would be descent for backfield play. very consistent, didn't spike bad at all. small, good for snap and shoot positions. very low maintenance
Weaknesses: big gas hog, went through my 20 oz. co2 in about 300 or so shots. tends to chop last shot, probably putting a air assist feed would fix it
Conclusion: This gun is great. good for all players. Not quite as good as higher end markers( angels, matrix...) but awesome for the broke players like me. I would definitely recommend this to anybody and everybody.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, November 26th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: spyder vert. adapter, vigilante reg, big daddy barrel, ricochet hopper
Strengths: This is probably one of the best deals in paintball. I have a v1 but it is still a great gun for the money, and low maintance. Good ROF, with the right reg. and barrel it has good precision. Only cycles at 8 bps, but anymore than 8 bps isnt really necessary. Good trigger pull right out of the box.
Weaknesses: It only cycles at 8 bps, but like i said before, that is all that is necessary. Also looks a little too much like a mag
Conclusion: This is the best buy in paintball, and even I recommend getting a v2 or hold out till the v3 comes out. the v1 is a great buy as well.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tom Dotson Sunday, November 18th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Strengths: Damn accurate! Get a good nitrotank with it (I was using a friend's Nitro DUck tank) and a good barrel with the right paint (my Autospirrit and old paint was responsible for all the breaks I've had with it. I swiched to a J&J Ceramic and Nelsons and had no breaks.) It takes Angel high rise (which I would get right away.). And it takes Cocker barrels (a replacement barrel is a much with any gun). THe stock barrel is alright but I'd replace it. Mine has Dye stickes, a Kapp Angel high rise and the Mayhem foregrip. I don't even use a drop forward. With a 68 ci 4500 it seemed a little back heavy but if I held it by hte grip and foregrip and shoulder it I got very good accuracy and it felt nice too. You can choose between left right or center feed (why would any use anything other than center?) I noticed when you start shooting faster than the gun (I think they locked the chip at about 8 bps.) You'll notice that it'll keep firing after you stop pulling hte trigger. THe reason is that when you pull hte trigger it hits a switch telling the board to run though it's cycle. SInce it's limited when you shoot really fast it has to cathc up. BUt they will be realeasing a new board next year that you can reprogram to shoot as fast as you want. Or you can just go buy a Morlock board now but you'll probably have to modify your gripframe. NExt year they're also be releasing a double trigger frame (cool!).
Weaknesses: Be carefull when switching it to center feed to unplug it of you'll rip the wires coming from the selinoid when you pull the grip frame off. and you'll have to solder them back together. It's not the fastest electro out there I think it shoots up to par with cockers and maybe close to mags. Cockers are quieter than this gun but that depends on your barrel too (I used an Autospirit most of the time and it was still pretty quiet.) . When I got it, it leaked a lot. But some of it was becasue I had a nearly dead battery in it and it just needed oiled. I oied it and waiting a few days they leaks stopped.
Conclusion: With a good nitro tank and barrel it's damn accurate (better accuracy than most guns out there.) I would recomend getting the fore grip with it and a high rise. A tank (or something else) to shoulder it will help alot too. When I had it all set-up the way I like I could shot it at the same spot over and over again. Even though it's slower than higher end electros its a damn good deal for $300. My friends with cockers and Intimidators liked it too. It's got a unique cocking sound. You won't find a better electro for the price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, September 2nd, 2001
Strengths: I just got back from my first day on the field with my Mahem v. 2.0. I would compare it to a cocker with an electronic trigger. If you hit the sweet spot you will easily get a 3-4 shot string, so a pretty high ROF is easy, but i don't think the gun can keep up wtih the angels and such. It is pretty quiet, i added a red cp barrel in 14" and it goes great with the red mayhem. and to top it all off the gun is quite small compared to others out there so it is much easier to keep close to you when you are in a tight space. accuracy and distance are good, and the gun is pretty quiet, not the quietest though. as for gas efficiency, i think that isn't too good 600-800 shots from a 68 compressed tank. In the new version 2 you get a timed action so ball choping is greatly reduced, but if you forget to turn your revvy on then you will chop tons since it is closed bolt the balls must load quickly. runs att 125 psi, that is cool, it will suck your tank dry!
Weaknesses: Chops if you forget to turn the revvy on. Not the highest ROF. the board mine has is a little messed up some trigger pulls you get 2 shots (not from hitting the sweet spot you can hear the solenoid click 2 times with no air in the gun). other times you will pull the trigger and nothing will happen. Bad gas efficiency.
Conclusion: the gun overall i would say was a good buy for $350. it was very reliable, my friend got an impulse and used it for the first time that day too and his gun was causing all sorts of problems all day while mine just kept shooting paint. it was nice going from a M98 to this gun which is so much more compact and easy to shoot. balances well in your hand, and just looks cool. if you are looking for an electro on a budget and don't want to just follow the herd and buty an angel, then seriously think about the mayhem. I lIke it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, June 12th, 2001
Strengths: It's an electro for only $300. It's a new, simple, and cool design. After I got used to the trigger and I can get about 10 bps. It's light. It's small. It can have right, left or center feed. It runs at about 100psi. It's pretty efficient and runs well on co2(about 1100-1200 on my 20 oz co2 tank). It's closed bolt. It has a .45 grip. The trigger is light and can easily be set to about a 1mm pull. It lasts around 30,000 or so shots on a 9volt battery. Comes in several different colors. It has Spyder threads so barrel selection is great...and I think the version 2 will have Autococker threads. The version 2 is gonna be awesome. It will have a board with different firing options, plus there will be no more short-stroking. It will have twice the flow and will pretty much have no shootdown(although the version 1 pretty much has none either). It will have some other improvements also( I think it might have angel or bushy threads on the feedtube for highrises and such). And it will supposedly still be around the $300-$400 range. Everyone should wait to pick up this new version.
Weaknesses: The stock barrel is not the greatest. But actually not too bad. It does have the external wires and solienoid. The plug acts as my safety since the trigger job renders the real safety useless. Instead of a plug there should have been an on/off switch. The trigger had some side to side play which is fixable. It can be shortstroked, but the trigger just has to get used to. I can't believe those guys got theirs for only $240...you guys must have gotten it at the sale at the grand opening of that store in california, huh? It needs a foregrip which was $35 extra. Not really that much bad about it, just some personal preference kindof things like the wires...i dont care at all about the wires, it's a real nice gun.
Conclusion: This is a great gun for the price. I recommend this to everyone like me who wants a great quality and design cheap electro. Get this over those dressed up spyders. This gun is just awesome. Especially the new version that's coming out. I give it a 9 because the best of this gun is yet to come out. Watch out all you other electros!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, June 10th, 2001
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: The Mayhem electro is a great buy.It only costs $240.The gun gets a high rate of fire,especially for the price.Me and two friends with cockers beat 4 angels.I got three of them out with my Mayhem.Some say it looks too spacy, but I think it looks sweet.It takes Spyder barrels.
Weaknesses: Not acccurate with stock barrel but a 16" All American will remedy that.Exposed wires and solenoid valve that could not survive a ball hit.I rigged some metal to the valve and now the gun is very durable.
Conclusion: Quite possibly the best value in paintball today.Some of the other reviews are ignorant.The guy who gave the gun a 5 has'nt even played with it and the guy who gave it a 7 compared to an Angel.So if don't have $1100 dollars lying around for an Angel,buy the Mayhem now.You wont' regret it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, May 24th, 2001
Strengths: Got it on sale for $240, but you can get it regularly for around 300, great for an electric trigger. Trigger on it is adjustable and is fairly light, but not the best. All of the parts are solid feeling and don't wiggle. Selectable feed between center, right, and left, ii has screw in feed tube, I'm not sure if it is interchangable w/ angels and bushys, but that would be cool. It operates at 100psi, but that doesn't seem to help performance. Operates from closed bolt, so there is less kick, but it doesn't have a whole lot of an advantage over open. Very few moving parts, low maintenance. Takes Spyder barrels.
Weaknesses: Some people may not like the exposed wires, and solenoid, but the solenoid could probably take a hit and keep on working. You could easily shortstroke this baby, but ya just gotta get used to it. Has a little blowback, but the newer versions don't. When I first got it and took it apart, it had metal shaving on the bolt oring and on the poppet, but it was easily cleaned up. Not many replacement parts for it yet. Manual looks cheap, but it's informative.
Conclusion: Hey pbreview, you had it right the first time, it's called a PGI Mayhem, not ACI, it just has ACI parts on it. For the price range, this is one of the most valuable markers on the market. Hopefully the newer versions will take angel or bushy feeds (if they already don't) and have a more advanced electronics.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tiger Woods Monday, May 21st, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Many people in the above reviews are ignorant. They say it is either the best electro ever, or the worst. In truth it is neither. It has many excellent features for an outstanding price. I purchased mine for $240. Thats only $40 more than a Spyder Shutter. The ROF is amazing for the cost. The gun can cycle at 21 bps without shootdown, but 9bps is realsitic. The wieght of the gun is about the same as a Spyder, and it is relatively small. The kick on the gun is very minimal, which results in a more stable shooting platform, and better accuracy. It accepts Spyder threaded barrels, so you'll have no problem finding an aftermarket barrel. The Mayhem comes with a single finger trigger, which I prefer. It fires from a closed bolt position. Some people believe this leads to better accuracy. Whether it does or not, I can't say for sure, however it does shoot very accurately in my opinion.
Weaknesses: The stock barrel is more of a tube than a barrel. It is horrible, and you'll certainly need to buy an aftermarket barrel. It has exposed wires. Personally I couldn't care less. However, some nit-pickers will find this annoying. The grip frame is made out of plastic, but so are parts on the U.S. Military's M-16 assault rifle. Plastic doesn't bother me. Some people might not like the futuristic shape. This is only a matter of opinon, though. The main problem is the chopping. You have to learn the trigger. If you treat it like any other electro you may encounter some problems. Never the less, this shouldn't be considered to large of a problem, since the same applies to cockers and mags.
Conclusion: For $240, I feel I got my moneys worth. The features in an Impulse don't justify its $200 extra price tag over the Mayhem. Both come with excellent regs, both can run on co2, both come with 45 frames, both have center feed, etc...

The Mayhem shoots well, looks cool, and is very affordable.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media