paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Shocktech Drop Forward / Shocktech Drop Forward / Shocktech Drop Forward / Shocktech Drop Forward

Shocktech Drop Forward Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Shocktech

Buy Shocktech Drop Forward

Paintball Cradles, Rails, Drop Forwards and ASA's

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Shocktech Drop Forward
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 80
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $35

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
New Shocktech drop forward provides plenty of drop for a well balanced gun and it looks great!
Product Availability 
The Shocktech Drop Forward is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Coachster Sunday, April 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: Custom 98
RT kit
BT double trigger
14" SP linear barrel
Macro line
VL Revolution

NCstar red dot
Laser sight and tac light
Strengths: Better balance and tank positioning.
Looks great.
Solid and sturdy.
Weaknesses: Mounting screws not included.
Review: I just got this Shocktech drop forward a few days ago and it took me a few days to finally install it properly. First off, I had to go searching for the right screws to mount my stock ASA on to it.

After several minutes at Home Depot, I found that you need the following to use the stock ASA:
1x 10-32 x 3/4" flat head;
1x 10-32x 1" flat head screw.

Use the original hex screws that came with your custom 98. If the back screw looks like it's going to hit the back of the grip, you can swap positions so that they both clear.

While installing this drop forward, I managed to crimp my steel hose which made a very tiny hole in it causing me to vent almost half a 20oz tank of CO2. I upgraded to macroline since I didn't want to deal with trying to get the exact length steel braided hose.

Position of a large tank is just about right and I can now sight up properly with out the tank being in the way
Conclusion: Great drop forward. Highly recommend it if you don't want to go with a remote.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 6th, 2008 at 8:35 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

newbieballer50 Tuesday, March 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
My own Custom 8" drop works like a charm
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix'07,14'' J and J Ceramic, stock hopper, polished internals, custom drop and Co2
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: Price
Review: This and all other drops are total wastes of money. I built my own custom 8 inch drop with 1 1/2 in x 1/8 inch flat rolled steel. all u have to do is drill holes to match ur bottom line and ur grip then bend it and screw it on with new nuts and bolts. Mine all together cost me absolutley nothing but thats because my dad had the metal and the nuts and bolts but it is cheap even if u have to buy it yourself. At most it should cost you $15 and a little bit of labor but you know it will fit cause you made it yourself.
Conclusion: Dont buy and drop forwards they are a waste of money and time.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball-freak Saturday, January 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock (if u can call that a drop)
Marker Setup: black ion
red macro line with shocktech on/off asa
shocktech drop forword
smoke halo b w/ rip and v35
cyclone 47/30 tank
Strengths: Drop
looks
Weaknesses: Screws (kind of)
Review: I got this yesterday and looks great on my gun. does its job perfect. didnt come with screws my the guy at my local proshop gave me some and u can use the stock ones, they just dont fit as well. all in all, its a great drop and i might get ones for my other guns.
Conclusion: Great product. bout 30 bucks, so decent price. looks sweet.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BlackSushi222 Tuesday, July 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock forwards from spyders.
Marker Setup: WGP Autococker Trilogy Sport
Jackal High Speed Derlin Bolt
Shocktech #4 Dropforward
Halo TSA LED Frontman
Teardrop barrel 12" --> Spyder to Autococker adapter --> Python system = 15" overall length
Anti Siphoned Co2 20 oz
Strengths: Balance
Looks
Got the chrome version
Weaknesses: No screws hehe... >.>
Review: I ordered this product for a cheap price of $12 shipping included in the price. Once I took it out of the package, I was like "Wow a piece of metal, but lets try it". It placed on my gun and put a filled 20 oz tank on. Wow, balance was great and it made my small, compact gun even more smaller. The only problem, which was very minor for me, was that it didn't come with any screws. Luckily I also work alot around the house so these screws were bound to be somewhere in my garage. Other than that great product. Just a hunk of metal but gave my gun also a nice look.
Conclusion: If you can get it for cheap like I did, then I'd definately recommend to the utmost.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hopwheels Thursday, June 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Automag ULE, X Valve/Level 10, ULT Trigger, Evil Driver Barrel, CCM Lo Rise Feed
Rex RX, CP Barrel, CP Reg, CP ASA, CP Drop
Tippmann Custom Pro ACT, polished internals, stock, not much else
Strengths: Seems to be well built
Weaknesses: The RED is not really red, it's magenta... or PINK
Review: Granted, I'm a newb. However, I do dive right into things I try, and have with PB. I've also spent 25 years working with color in photography, the graphics industry, multimedia, high-end lithographic printing and more. I'm building a custom Mag. Red ULE body, red/black no rise CCM feed, red fade Evil Driver, etc., etc. Not that aesthetic value is ALL markers are about, but you have to admit, if it doesn't look good... well why have it.

To my point. If you're looking for BRIGHT, MEDIUM WARM RED to match your red ULE anodizing, or the red tip of the evil driver barrel, or the red clamp on your CCM feed, etc., etc., .... DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT IN RED. The red on the Shocktech web site is not even close to the actual product I received. What I received is magenta, or a berry color. What most people call... PINK.

Long story even longer, talked to Shocktech and they basically said that IS their red. So I politely told them they should look into matching their web site red better, or change the site, but most importantly I got an RA# and back it went (along with the gas-thru grip I received from them... also PINK).

At any rate, why build an expensive, one-off marker, in a wicked looking black and red color scheme and walk out onto the field and have someone say... " dude, what's up with the pink?" 'Nuff said.
Conclusion: Didn't get to test the function... probably it's great like the rest of the reviews. My complaint is strictly on their red colored products. They ain't red. If you don't care about color, or are color blind (or maybe if their red products were the only accessories on your marker) probably fine. So a below average 4 from me, 'cause I think you should sell what you advertise, even when it comes to color.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 7th, 2007 at 4:02 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

team_xile Thursday, May 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
smart parts drop
Marker Setup: 2005 Smart Parts Nerve
NDZ roller blade trigger
NDZ ported manifold
NDZ vented backplate
NDZ equalizer pro bolt
NDZ ball detents
Hybrid lady grips
Kapp on/off
Full Freak Kit
45/4500 Crossfire
Blue Diamond Empire Reloader B
2005 Smart Parts Ion
NDZ roller blade trigger
Shocktech Drop
Smart Parts on/off
Strengths: Looks
Weaknesses: Too big of a drop for an ion....the large drop is anyway
Review: I bought this drop for my ion. I like it but there are some problems with it. For one, this drop forward drops the tank to far forward. I have a 1 inch piece of macroline between my on/off and reg. This is not really the ideal drop for an ion, trust me.
Conclusion: If you are using a shocker, ion, epiphany, or nerve, do not get the large drop forward, get the medium or small. I can't really give a bad rating because of the wrong size....9/10
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 17th, 2007 at 9:34 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

eggface Tuesday, April 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
cp flame drop for spyder
Marker Setup: stock ion (ups to come) =)
blue shocktech long drop w/ shocktech on/off
trinity clamping feedneck
Strengths: Drops tank perfectly
Assorted colours (black, blue, red, chrome)
Weaknesses: .....Can't find any
Review: so i just bought this for my ion and i haven't had any problems. i wanted the black one but my local store kept selling out, so i settled for the blue, but it still looks BOMB! umm, the drop places your tank in the right place for your marker. it fit snug tight into my shoulder, it just felt right! =) as opposed to the stock ion asa which made holding the marker awkward. overall great product.
Conclusion: Get it! its good!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sPyDeRdAwG Friday, July 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Ion
Q-Lock Feedneck
All-American
eVLution II
Empire Quik Flip ASA
Shocktech Drop Forward
72 ci 3000 psi tank
Strengths: Looks
Brings the tank forward
Not to far of a drop down
Weaknesses: None that I could find
Review: This is a good drop. It is compatable with a rail or with screws. It is better then the stock Ion ASA. It brings the tank forward, but it doesn't drop it to far down to increase your profile by much. It looks good and is easy to figure out how to use. It didn't cost very much either. It is very durable and it weighs very little.
Conclusion: Great drop forward. I don't plan on buying a new one unless this one breaks. Get this if you have a rail ASA.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IronCorps Friday, July 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Crappy drops from crappy companies.
Marker Setup: Silver-Gray Wrath LTD, Apache LED, Worr air 50/3000, shocktech #5 drop, random on/off, empire barrel kit.
Strengths: Balances even the largest tanks.
Strong.
Cheap.
Weaknesses: None for this product.
Review: I've used this same drop on and off for the past year on different guns, and i just always seem to come back to it. It balanced both my huge 72ci/3000 and my lighter 50ci/3000 on every one of my guns, perfectly. It is a very strong drop also. It won't break like those cheap flame drops. Comes with a asa set screw.
Conclusion: Great drop, i highly reccomend it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Iram Friday, July 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Straight, non-angled ACI bottomline
WGP and Tippmann down-angled bottomlines
PBW Drop
BE Stringray (down-angled air adapter attached to the rear of the body)
Marker Setup: WGP Trilogy SF Competition in black
* Lapco Big Shot stainless steel barrel
* Shockteck Drop Forward with on/off
* Lower trigger setscrew replaced
VL eVolution II loader with Y-Board
PMI Pure Energy 68ci 3000psi tank
Strengths: Light weight
Decent finish
Long drop
Tank is reasily removed
Weaknesses: Not many color choices
Setscrew could come loose
Review: This dropforward is idea for the smaller player, or anyone with a huge tank. I'm 5' 5" tall, with short arms, and without this dropforward I find it uncomfortable to shoot a marker with a 20oz tank, and it's almost impossible for me to shoot comfortably with a 68ci tank.

The finish is a standard, non-dusted black anodize. It uses a rail to mount an on/off, with a single setscrew to hold an on/off in place. I got this installed by the tech at my local shop (Boston Paintball Supply in Somerville, MA), and about a week later I found it would rattle a bit with a tank on it. Upon close inspection, I discovered that the screw that holds the on/off on was loose. I tightened it up and haven't had any more problems with it. It would probably be appropriate to put a drop of loctite on it to make sure it stays put.

One nice thing about this is that it drops down far enough that you won't have any problems with the fill nipple on a compressed air tank hitting the dropforward, as can happen with some smaller drops.
Conclusion: Overall, this is a nice accessory. If you're a bigger guy with long arms, it's not necessary, but for a short guy like me, this is essential. It's well constructed, light weight, and asthetically pleasing.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media