paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Piranha PRO TS G3 / PMI Piranha PRO TS G3 / PMI Piranha PRO TS G3 / PMI Piranha PRO TS G3

PMI Piranha PRO TS G3 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Piranha PRO TS G3

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Piranha PRO TS G3
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 157
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $280

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features:
-Custom triple fade/splash finish
-Custom cocking knob
-Aluminum double trigger frame
-Chrome ball detent cover
-Custom shop drop forward
-Pure Energy adjustable in-line regulator & 1200psi mini guage
Product Availability 
The PMI Piranha PRO TS G3 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (16):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
sollo44 Sunday, January 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
pretty much any spyder or piranha marker
Marker Setup: Evil Minion 07
J&J Ceramic 2 piece barrel kit
crossfire 70 4500
empire B reloader
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel or barrel kit
non force fed agitated hopper
Strengths: Very reliable and very consistent well balanced.
Weaknesses: You can't put a new feedneck on.
Review: I first tried this marker a couple years ago when i my friend purchased one. Before that point i had been using strictly tippmann's. The first thing i noticed upon using this marker was how well balanced it was and how fast it was. For a mechanical marker this is pretty much as tricked out as you can get.
The ONLY thing I can downgrade is that you cannot change the feedneck on this marker. meaning there is no way to put a locking feedneck on which is always a good idea.
Having the drop forward that comes standard makes this marker VERY well balanced. It is fast lightweight, by mechanical standards, and quite accurate. Much of this accuracy can be attributed to a good barrel and the consistency of its velocity.
Though many call this a spyder clone in truth this marker is better than any spyder.
This is one of the LAST great low end mechanical markers ever made. The only current fully mechanical markers on the market that are worth looking at are the tippmann A-5's. And those are really only suitable for woodsball as they are a bit too long to use in any sort of close quarters combat for a sustained period of time. This marker though is not like that. It is quite adept at close quarters combat. It is also sturdy enough to handle the down and dirty of woodsball and keep ticking without a second thought.
Conclusion: If you can find this marker buy it. Its older and out of stock but even used is still a VERY good marker. This will either be a great primary marker or a solid completely reliable backup.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 18th, 2009 at 1:44 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

woodsballwookie Thursday, May 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
4 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman Pro Carbine
Tippman 98 Custom
Spyder Shutter
View Loader (not sure the model)
Spyder Xtra w/ E-trigger
Marker Setup: 14" barrel upgrade, the rest is stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
-barrel to increase accuracy
-if you really want to throw paint, upgrade the hopper, trigger and bolt.
-could use a regulator upgrade, but it works fine
Strengths: -Consistent
-Easy to maintain
-Inexpensive
-Few chops
Weaknesses: -A little picky on paint (don't shoot the cheap stuff)
-loud

Review: I have been playing with this marker for several years now and it hasn't let me down. For the price, this is where it's at for a well-rounded, consistent marker. It's ready to go right out of the box. With a longer barrel, the loudness of the blowback can be greatly reduced. I'm not one to throw paint, but this marker can lay out a decent BPS (~8). Without some upgrades to the bolt and trigger, you don't stand a chance against a 20 BPS high-end marker.

Maintaining this marker is a snap. It strips down easily by removing one pin and can be cleaned in no time. If you have ever tried to strip down a Tippy 98 you can definitely appreciate this.

Accuracy is great if you take your time. Again, if you throw paint your accuracy will be all over the place. I can consistenty hit a 12" group from 100 feet (great for those masks peeking around trees).

I've had very few chops. When I did it was because I was shooting old or cheap paint. Quality practice paint will shoot great. I've also noticed I have better consistency with hard-shell paint (except in cold weather).

Mine came with a stiffer spring. After changing it out I was shooting at 390 FPS with the velocity all the way down! I'm sure I could bring it down some more after tweaking the regulator, but that spring seemed to me like overkill. Most fields won't allow over 270 FPS anyway (and for good reason).
Conclusion: Overall this is a great marker. Low cost, easy to maintain, and easily upgradable to compete with the big boys. Perfect for someone on a budget who wants a marker that can grow with their skill.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 18th, 2007 at 5:59 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Beaverfox416 Sunday, April 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagles
Piranhas
Marker Setup: Piranha PRO TS G3
eVLution 2
Nitro Duck 47ci 3000 psi tank
"X" Drop Forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new drop forward
Strengths: Loud (scares people)
Easy to maintain
Very Accurate
Weaknesses: Trigger
but other then that none
Review: This gun is great, the guy i got it from was a Semi-Pro who had almost all the upgrades on it.
The Guy sold it to me for $40, way low for what is should be, he put a new Expasion Chamber in it to withhold Nitrogen, and to get the gun up to 450 fps. He put a new drop forward the never leaks and can use Nitrogen tanks. A new Bolt assembly that can get the gun up to 15 bps. And now this gun rips on the field
Most people dont like the noise level of this gun, but i do.
when i go paintballing, the field i go to is so small that i can bunker people really easily, when i played 2 on 1 against some noobs, i bunkered them and when i was about to run and get them, they got scared and gave up because the gun sounded like it was gunna hurt them, alot....
the only other upgrades that this gun could use is a new trigger system, but other then that its a great gun
Conclusion: Buy it
you`ll love it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

phantomoak Sunday, August 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Pilot ACS 05
Tippman custom/A5
R6
Cockers
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS 05, PMI remote, HPA, Ricochet 2KX hopper (~12BPS to gun)
Piranha Pro G3 TS, CO2, normal hopper.
Crono 270-290(between the markers)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Hopper(at least a 10bps hopper)
Strengths: Reg, barrel, bolt, accuracy, trigger pull
Weaknesses: Mech trigger
Review: Used this gun until I got my Pilot. With the reg and the ROF there is not really a need for HPA. The barrel is awesome for a stock barrel, butthere is no way you will EVER shoot out a break.

as accurate as the autocockers I have palyed with. AMAZING Accuracy.

The nice thing is I can rain down paint on target with VERY accurate fire at a heavy rate of fire with the light trigger pull...

The reg will keep you shooting low (I set mine at around 500 or so) so you dont use much Air. It will also help keep your accuracy up when shooting hot, so you dont have to worry about buying HPA.

Much better gun then any I was fighting against.

I recommend a good hopper. This gun shoots fast enough to screw with gravity hoppers.
Conclusion: I only bought a new pilot because my roommate got into the sport and she needed a gun. I like the accuracy of the piranha MUCH better, I never missed. if you can still find one BUY IT, the cost to rebuild a lemon is worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 21st, 2005 at 5:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ian1081 Thursday, March 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder aggressor xt, x-tra, wgp autococker, tippmann 98. (never owned these, only tested)
Marker Setup: Piranha Pro TS G3, 2K4 EForce, Boss Blade Trigger, Boss Bolt, Flush mount cocking system, Egg II, CP Reg, MACDev Barrel system, Turbo valve, high flow pin, Macro, C5 Adj. Drop Forward.
Recommended
Upgrades:
bolt, barrel, regulator. after that, whatever you desire.
Strengths: Cool graphics, easily upgradeable, rare, easy to clean, dis-assembly/assembly is a snap.
Weaknesses: Regulator leaves a little to be desired, bolt, and barrel.
Review: Easy to use in every sense of the word. Easy to clean, assemble/disassemble, shoot, good looks, fairly rare, inexpensive and upgrades. Upgrades being the key word here. Compared to the other markers that I have only tested, this one still remains my favorite. The bolt needs to be replaced fairly early in the markers life. Same with the regulator. Does it compare to the markers of today...no, not really. But if you can find one, they are usually pretty inexpensive. It is an excellent marker for the beginner, intermediate and recreational player. Beginner, because it is so very easy to use. Intermediate and Rec. because of all of the upgrades that are available, it will keep you in the game and keep you competitive for years to come. If you have the 300-500 benjamins to drop on a brand new, high tech, fancy shmancy marker....congrats, go for it. If you want to spend a little now and then, here and there and stay in the game..go with this marker.
Conclusion: great marker if you can still find one, I highly recommend it! Its definitely not a 10, but it is DEFINITELY not a 1 (thanks Akarikon). I would give it a 8.0 to a 8.5, but to make up for "Its a 1 out of 10" review, i will give a little extra.... 9/10.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 31st, 2005 at 10:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

elmoknows Saturday, March 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Practically any spyder
Marker Setup: Pro Ts G3
*Cp one piece barrel
*32 degrees sticky grips
*Twisted Volumizer
*Assualt Block

Phantom, spyder xtra,
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel of course...
Anti siphon
Strengths: See below
Weaknesses: See below
Review: Strengths:

Looks
Style
Shot consistancy
Shots to tank ratio
Feels really nice to shoot
Best piranha/spyder clone you'll find


Weaknesses:

Spyder clone ;(
older
Has some weight to it
Tough to find
Regulator leaks when oiled (really annoying)

This marker has some awsome looks to it and can work great in tournments. I just went into my first tourny and it felt great wiping out timmy and angels with this thing when everyone expected you to lose.
Conclusion: Amazing marker that's good for anyone
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Akarikon Tuesday, January 11th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL-X Way Better
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-X
9oz Co2
200 Hopper

Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
New Drop
Bolt
Strengths: Nice Anodizing
Weaknesses: Accuracy
Consistency
Bolt wears out
PRICE
Review: So my friend buys a Tippy and he owned this gun. He sells it to me for $69.99 so I think it is a good deal. I was wrong. I take it out to the field, and it works fine for two games. Then the balls start flying everywhere and chopping. Also, I looked at the bolt and it was all scratched up. Later, when someone thought I was running hot, I got a chrono, and it was +/- 15. My TLX is only +/- 3 or 4. As for accuracy, I cannot hit a 3inch wide, 4ft tall target (A little kid partly standing out of a bunker) I realize why my friend bought a Tippmann 98 Custom and sold me this gun. And $280 for this gun!!!!!! You can buy a much better gun with that money
Conclusion: Do not buy. Buy a Spyder TL-X or Tippmann 98
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

EEric22 Wednesday, November 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bonebrake f/s
Tippmann Pro Carbine
Macdev Cyborg
Black Dragun (I dont know the model)
Marker Setup: Pro Ts G3
Egg 2 w/ z board
Eforce frame
CP regulator
twister barrel
Pure Energy 48/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
E-force frame
New Barrel though the stock isn't terrible
A new reg if you want low pressure
Strengths: Very durrable
Good out of the box
Upgradable
Doesn't chop much
Weaknesses: Horrible stock regulator
feed neck is welded on
Review: I researched this gun and decided on buying. Let me tell you it is the best 200 bucks you can spend on a gun. The Pro Ts is a well built powerhouse. Out of the box you can shoot a respectable speed with a non-electronic trigger. The barrel is pretty acurate and the gun doesn't feel like it's going to break if it gets shot or if it takes a hard fall. I've shot at least 15,000 balls through this and looking back on it I realize this gun doesn't chop much at all. It's incredibly easy to maintain, just put 6 drops of oil in the ASA, dry fire about 15 times, and your done.
The main complaint I have is that the stock regulator is awful. PMI claims it to be adjustable but I've fiddled with it all i can and couldn't get it to change from 1000 psi. Also, the feedneck is welded onto the body to don't think you can get a clamping feedneck.
With my new CP regulator I have this gun set at 300 psi. That's near the range of those 500 dollar plus guns.
With an electronic trigger, reg, and barrel, this gun can take on any impulse out there (depending on you fingers of course).
Conclusion: See last paragraph of the body
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MrNo Saturday, November 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman A-5
Spyder(unknown type)
Rental Piranhas and other unknown rentals
Marker Setup: Piranha Pro TS g3
CP flame drop with on/off valve
68/4500 compressed air tank
evo II
Recommended
Upgrades:
New drop
Note: Drop-forwards and position of tank are completely a personal preference
Strengths: Lightweight
Accurate
Looks
Easy to maintain
Comes fully tricked out
Fires very fast
Weaknesses: None!
Review: Well, let's just start off by saying this marker is a beast. When I first arrived with it at the field, everyone was like "whoa." This is just because it looks intimidating, then the very first time I fired it at the field, within about 3 seconds the ref turns to me and says, "Is that an automatic?" So I answer him no, and continue shooting. I ended up taking out 4 players that round, and 3 or 4 the next round. I put 600 paintballs through that baby owning those guys in just 2 rounds. So now I'm the pro kid with the awesome marker. I had people wanting to know where I got it from, and for how much. During the first round, I see a guy at the bunker across from me, shooting at my ally to the right. So I've only got about 5 paintballs left in my hopper. Well, I knew that my marker was dead-on accurate, so I fired a single shot at him, saw that it was a little too high, then lowered the aim, and fired twice, boom. He's out, I hit him twice in the head, with the only 2 shots I fired. That's how accurate this marker is. It uses very little air, I was that accurate using very cheap paint, and didn't even chop a ball the whole day while using the marker(I probably have the venturi anti-chop bolt to thank for that, and yes, I use a completely stock Pro TS g3, minus the CP drop-forward). When you first get the marker, the pressure is set to about 700, but it's very easy to turn it down, I did that just a few seconds before the first game started, you just take an allen wrench, put it in the bottom of the reg, twist it in the right direction, and you're pressure is lower, very simple, easy, and fast. I only used 1000 psi out of my 4500 tank shooting 600 paintballs. Imagine how many I could get out of the whole tank. This marker has got to be the best marker I've ever even seen for it's price. Sure you can spend $1,000 buying an autococker and tricking it out, but why bother when the Pro TS g3 costs you only $100, is just as good as a fully tricked out cocker, has the full back-up of PMI if anyting goes wrong, and looks way cooler? The paint job on the marker is just amazing.
Conclusion: Definitely get this marker if looking for one! It's the best there is, for only $100!! Perfect accuracy, great looks, extremely easy to handle, is very lightweight, cheap, uses little air, comes out of the box with all the upgrades you need, and has the Piranha name and guarantee on it!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, November 9th, 2004 at 1:20 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballjungle Sunday, October 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine
Spyder e-99
Black Dragun Compact
WGP Nightkast
Spyder Compact 2 in 1 Java
Rental Piranha
Marker Setup: Trilogy Sport Autococker, 68 ci 3000 psi tank, 12 volt revolution
spyder imagine w/ 14 inch PMI razzor barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Razzor barrel or Boomstick or Teardrop
Strengths: Quiet
light weight
shoots straight stock
Weaknesses: Shoots about 7 bps.
Review: This is a great gun. I borrowed this gun from my friend 3 times when my gun was broken. It shot so well. I saw this thing on the internet that from 108 feet, they shot 10 balls, and the furthest apart from each other was 16 inches. Thats how nice this gun is. I never thought they could make a nice Piranha.
Conclusion: Again this is a great gun. Anyone should buy this gun for rec ball. Don't buy this if you play airball a lot.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 4th, 2005 at 4:12 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (16):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media