paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Piranha PRO TS G3 / PMI Piranha PRO TS G3 / PMI Piranha PRO TS G3 / PMI Piranha PRO TS G3

PMI Piranha PRO TS G3 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Piranha PRO TS G3

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Piranha PRO TS G3
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 157
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $280

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features:
-Custom triple fade/splash finish
-Custom cocking knob
-Aluminum double trigger frame
-Chrome ball detent cover
-Custom shop drop forward
-Pure Energy adjustable in-line regulator & 1200psi mini guage
Product Availability 
The PMI Piranha PRO TS G3 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (16):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
kar202 Tuesday, August 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 w/ flatline, Brass Eagle Silver Raptor
Marker Setup: Piranha TS G3... when it doesn't break on me
Strengths: Accurate, no ball breaks, looks cool
Weaknesses: A little loud, miscellaneous problems (see full review)
Review: I've had this gun a year and every single time I play, something goes wrong. The first time I played with it, the air gauge began leaking CO2. That's annoying, and meant I had to put the gun away for the day and rent a Tippman Carbine. The next time I play, the TRIGGER FALLS OFF. I kid you not. Two of the pins that hold the trigger in fall off right as I'm playing speed ball. I managed to a little work and keep the trigger intact, and to make a long story short, the trigger ended up getting completely stuck every time I shot (this started happening the third time I played), which rendered the gun next to useless. So it looks like I'll be ordering a new trigger.

Still, when the gun actually works, it performs awesome---I really love it. No ball chops, unlike my brass eagle, which was a nightmare. The double trigger is nice but the pull is a little long, which can be modified. The stock barrel is probably the best stock barrel I've seen. Performance wise, it gets a 10/10, but because of the malfunctions, it gets a 7/10... sorry PMI, but I expect higher quality.
Conclusion: I got it at a good price. I would recommend it, assuming that not everyone has the ridiculous problems I've faced.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 5th, 2004 at 4:03 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

kevjo24 Monday, August 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
zaps, spyders
Marker Setup: I use the PMI Piranha Pro TS G3 with a 12 oz co2 and stock barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel would help but the stock barrel is good enough for me
Strengths: Never chops, quiet, accurate even with stock barrel, easy trigger, and looks nice
Weaknesses: Drop feed infront of sight rail.
Review: This is my favorite gun. I've used spyders, tippmans, zaps, and other similar guns....i think this one by far is the best. I've never got as many headshots with any other gun as i have with this one and i've only used this gun a few times. Even though its not a fully automatic, it seems like it is because the trigger is so light and even when firing as fast as i can, every paintball goes in the same spot as the last one. As soon as i saw this gun, i fell in love with it...and when i first used it, i never wanted a different one. I had one problem with this gun that just happened recently. I was at my friends house and after we finished playing paintball i left my gun outside with the co2 still in. All of the sudden my gun made this whistling sound and a piace from the handle sprung out and i lost it...but that was easy to fix, and it wasn't the guns fault....i shouldn't have left my co2 in the gun for that long.
Conclusion: If you want a great gun thats cheap to buy and still more dependable than any other....buy this one..don't go out and buy a fully automatic just cause everyone thinks they're the best....they waste co2 and paintballs almost instantly...save money and get a better gun like this one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SilentSight Monday, July 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
04 cocker
03 spyder extra
tippman a5
tippman model 98
e99 avant and orginal e99
Marker Setup: e99 avant. lapco bigshot macro line shocktech supa fly bolt shocktech shim kit multi metal exp chamber and i think thats about it oh and a empire eltrc hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel a electric hopper and possibly ethier a new exp chamber or reg
Strengths: Everything
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: i have an e99 avant after selling the ts g3.....horrible mistake the reason i sold it is because i was new to the sport and the reg was leaking and i didn't know how to fix it so i sold it for 150 and bought an e99 after the e99 started to fall apart i went back to ebay and bidded on another g3 i plan on switching all parts from my e99 to the gun if it is possible and i will have one sick g3 im also going to see if i can somehow make the electronic trigger frame work on it if so the gun will be AMAZING because it is very low pressure which means no chopping and no wasted gas ......cant wait lol.

the bad....reg mine leaked but it was also nice cuz i got my pressure extremely LOW like 250 or something it was very nice on gas
the good.....crazy accurate with a lapco bigshot
Conclusion: I think if you want a very accurate gun this is for you
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ctrl-S Tuesday, May 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Recommended
Upgrades:
I shouldn't really have to say these things but:
-You need HPA. Don't waste time with CO2, you'll just end up wondering why your regulator is leaking.
-Get a barrel kit so you can have good paint-barrel match every game.
-If yours doesn't come with a beaver tail, for the love of God, get one or you'll end up scratching your lens.
-Motorized hopper. Even if you don't shoot fast.
Strengths: Very consistent airflow.
Easy to clean.
Fairly light weight.
Weaknesses: The trigger pull is long.
The marker kicks a bit.
Review: I think this marker is a great first marker for the player who is looking for accurate shooting.

Appearance:
Aside from the splash pattern, the marker looks pretty plain, and it is. You won't be winning any awards for flashiest marker, but it's respectable.

Handling:
The marker is fairly light. With an HPA tank on the drop-forward, it naturally wants to point up. Because of it's weight, and the fore-grip, it's pretty comfortable to hold.
But the handle may become a bit uncomfortable after a while. There is a square edge on the bottom of the trigger frame plate which may irritate your hand if you have larger hands or hold it a certain way. But wear gloves, and you're fine.

Disassembly:
Disassembly is very, very easy and very fast. It's a simple marker, so there's not too much you can mess up. The only exception is the regulator which is not so easy to disassemble. But you won't have to do that very often.

Firing:
The trigger pull is a bit long, and can become tiresome after long periods of sustained firing. You can adjust the regulator and the spring to get the right balance of ball velocity and air consumption. You'll probably need about 500psi to successfully recock the bolt after firing.
This marker was not built for high rates of fire. Even with a motorized hopper, you're not going to fire very quickly with a mechanical trigger.
The marker is not extremely loud, but it's in the loud category.

Performance:
The marker performs very well for its price range. The airflow is very consistent, and with the right paint-barrel match, you'll find that the shots are also very consistent.
But if a ball breaks in the stock barrel, it doesn't clean out so well by dry-firing. You'll have to squeegee. I would recommend a barrel kit anyways, but the stock barrel does well with the right paint.

Conclusion: I would HIGHLY recommend this marker for a beginner who is looking for accuracy.
I would NOT recommend this marker for a beginner who is looking for rapid firing.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

supersteve1 Sunday, March 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
only gun except tippman 98(friend's) and rental guns
Marker Setup: piranha pro ts G3, 32 degrees terminator barrel, VT electric hopper, and 16oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
32 degrees terminator barrel(cheap+good) and electric hopper
Strengths: shoots fast, looks cool, durable, cheap just dont buy at msrp
Weaknesses:
- stock barrel sucks(of course)
Review: I really like this gun, it's the only one I have owned, but my friend likes it a lot more than his tip' 98 shoots pretty crooked w/ stock barrel though, and has a good rate of fire
Get the above recommended upgrades and some good paint.
This is a good beginner gun and i recomend it if you want to spend the cash.
i got it at like $190
Conclusion: buy it, just not at msrp, and make sure you get a better barrel cause it will shoot fast and well that way
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbextreme Friday, February 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra, PMI Piranha (org.), Tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra, 20 oz. CO2 Tank, 200 rd. hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Possibly Nitro, Electric hopper, Maybe a new barrel.
Strengths: -pretty fast
-rarely chops
-Looks
-durable
-pretty accurate
-sort of light
-not to expensive
Weaknesses: -sort of loud
-hard to get a new barrel that matches anodizing
-could be cheaper
Review: This gun is very cool looking for 1. The one I tested was Black, blue and silver. Now if you want a new barrel for it, you may have to look for a while because it may be hard to find a barrel that matches the guns anodizing. Of course the stock barrel works fine. And this gun rarely chops paint! I love this gun. IT IS GREAT!!!!
Conclusion: I would definetly recommend this product to anyone who wants a good gun a a semi-resonable price. GET THIS GUN!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

VMackolov Sunday, February 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman Model 98 Custom, Spyder e-99
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha PRO TS G3
WDP Worr Gas 70/4500
Richochet AK Hopper
CP Lighting Drop
Recommended
Upgrades:
None For Beginners - Good Out Of The Box For Rec Ball
Barrel System and hopper are always good.
Strengths: Good Starter Gun, Nice Paint, Parts Available Everywhere
Weaknesses: Regulator Is Not Too Good <Both Of Mine Were Bad>
Review: This gun is a good gun for Rec ball and lower tourney play. Out of the box it works well and looks pretty. I have both the black/green/silver fade and the black/blue/silver fade, both colors are nice. The gun works good on HPA and on CO2, but the regulator is a weak point. Both of my regulators have failed, one leaks from the bottom, the other the pressure creap is almost 200 psi. Other than that the gun works great, It is pretty accurate with the stock barrel and is easily adjustable.
Conclusion: This is a good product. The gun is good out of the box for Rec ball and beginning tourneys. The regulator is a weak spot and is the reason that this gets knocked down from a 9 to an 8.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

c_anderson_2478 Wednesday, February 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass eagle raptor, spyder a, eradicator, automags, autocockers, shockers
none even compare with my gun exept for the fact that the last 3 are much quieter but they are also much more expensive.
Marker Setup: Piranha PRO TS G3 (black,to green, to silver fade) 20 co2 with smart parts on/off valve, evil grip, aci one piece barrel, clear pmi hopper, and all the other upgrades it already comes with
Recommended
Upgrades:
i recomend a new barrel although the stock barrel is surprisingly accurate, it already comes with a buttload of upgrades already on it so, i guess if you can find some other stuff to upgrade with then go for it
Strengths: accurate, shoots fast without jamming, hardly ever breaks balls
Weaknesses: slightly loud, would be better if it was electro, thats it
Review: well when i got my gun, the venturi bolt it came with had a defect on it, on the front of it it had a piece of alluminum that was pointing strait forward and it was pretty sharp, sadly i haven't been able to get them to replace it for me yet. it caused some balls to break i'm sure, but it still hardly ever breaks any balls, when you break a ball it's best to squeegee it immediately because if you don't it will begin to make the balls curve. With the new barrel i got ( ACI one piece barrel) it is very deadly, it's accurate, it shoots fast, it's accurate, it looks cool, and did i say it's accurate.
Conclusion: i reccommend this paintball gun to anybody who wants to be have an accurate gun and performs well, i got mine for $167 but that was a year ago when xpaintball was having a sell. So i'm here to tell you this is the gun to get. i've had mine for a year and haven't even thought about getting a new gun
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 7th, 2004 at 7:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Neo520 Wednesday, February 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Classic
Armotech WG65
Recommended
Upgrades:
None it comes with everything it needs
You should definetly used compressed air though on anything
Strengths: Doesnt break balls, fast firing, accurate, not loud, cool paint job, easy strip, consistant
Weaknesses: none
Review: This gun is probably the best gun I have owned so far. I went through a Talon and 2 Spyders before I got this gun and it converted me from spyders forever. Alot of people call it another spyder clone but this gun is a real piece of art. The stock barrel is not that long but is very accurate. It was at least 6 months before I broke a ball in it and thats becuase I was stupid and was firing way to fast with a regular hopper and I cuaght one halfway in the feed. The trigger pull is smooth and light. The entire body of this gun is made out of metal so you dont have any issues like those you have with plastic body guns. I would rate the performance of this gun much higher than the new 2k3 version of the Pirahna. This is a great gun even for advanced players.
Conclusion: Great price, great gun, doesnt need upgrading, go get it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 18th, 2004 at 3:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

richk Tuesday, February 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder 2 in 1
Marker Setup: -PMI Piranha Pro TS (Added Storm Electronic Trigger, 14" All American barrel, and Ricochet AK Electronic Hopper)
-Sheridan PGP (Added C02 quick change, wrap-around rubber grips, velocity adjuster, quick loader, and new pump handle) held at my side by a cops911.com tactical holster
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel comes first. Then when you get better and more comfortable with it, upgrade to an electronic trigger (E-Force, since the Storm makers are out of business now) and get yourself an electric hopper. With those upgrades you're set!
Strengths: Reliable. Decent speed. Very upgradable. Pretty accurate with a new barrel.
Weaknesses: Accuracy only goes so far. Sucks without an electronic trigger and hopper.
Review: When I first bought this gun I liked it. The more upgrades I put on this gun the more I like it! That's what's great about Piranha's. You can put so many upgrades on them and beef them up from mediocre into a pretty good marker. I've never had any major problems with the gun. The anodizing looks awesome too.
Conclusion: For the money, this is a great marker for the beginning and intermediate player. You can start off with a decent gun, and upgrade into a rocking one as your skills improve. It's also made by PMI, one of the oldest and best in the business, so you know you're getting a quality product.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (16):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media