paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Excellerator 3.0 / JT Excellerator 3.0 / JT Excellerator 3.0 / JT Excellerator 3.0

JT Excellerator 3.0 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Excellerator 3.0

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Excellerator 3.0
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 101
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
.68 CALIBER • Vertical feed port • Exclusive jt designed barrel • Stainless steel valve body • Deluxe sight rail with beaver tail • Low pressure volumizer • Ergonomically shaped gas through fore grip • High impact polymer grips • Rear cocking bolt • Die cast aluminum grip frame • Double trigger • Velocity adjustment • Stainless steel high pressure line • Corrosion resistant finish
Product Availability 
The JT Excellerator 3.0 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
zdmechanic Monday, May 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
4 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Excellerator 4.0 and 3.5e
Marker Setup: Excellerator 3.0/ standard hopper/ 12 oz. air container/ 14 in Jt One piece barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
e-fed hopper (if you blaze through paint) and maybe a barrel
Strengths: Very easy to disassemble and clean
Compatable with most Spyder parts
Simple design
Weaknesses: It gets cold fast
Clean/lube often
Review: I've owned this gun for about 4 years now, I bought it before I left for the military. Since I used to just play woodsball with friends, it was the best gun in the group, especially considering all we played with were wal-mart bought Tigersharks and Stingrays.

From the beginning, I easily beat out my friends in accuracy and speed, but like I said, mine was the best gun in the group. So as far as woods ball goes, if you use it for that, I would recommend no more than a 14 in. barrel upgrade because if anything, that's all you might need.

As far as speedball goes, this gun did a wonderful job for a low-end mechanical marker. I was actually surprised, because I never used it in actual speedball until 2 years ago. The stock setup works wonderful, and I found myself shooting too fast for a regular grav-fed hopper. I bought a VL 12 volt revvy, and that seem's to work fine in speedball.

As for chopping, in about 4 years use, ive had a grand total of about 6 or 7 balls chop with the stock setup. The metal bolt looks scary, but it works just fine. I replaced the seals once and it was actually 7 months ago that I did. If your afraid, get a delrin bolt, but be sure it fits the 3.0! Some say they will, but they actually dont go back far enough since this is a rear-cocking gun. you can find them on ebay usually.

The one major downfall (if you think of it as one) is the fact that the gun gets cold fast. If you speed through paintballs your gun will start to freeze a bit. In hot weather, it works wonderful. but come the fall to winter, dont even think about using this gun unless its warm out, you could run the risk of breaking balls or seals.

Ive taken the gun apart litterally hundreds of times, and its full metal construction stands the test of time, so keep it lubed! that is a must! all metal guns NEED to be lubed or else its bound to fail you.

EDIT: Ok, I was having this problem of the gun not re-cocking fully after firing it fast. I thought it was the trigger design that was catching the hammer as it went back from low pressure due to fast firing, BUT... I discovered that the gun will fire as fast as you can pull the trigger. What was making the gun not recock fully was halfway due to fast firing and loss of pressure, but it had nothing to do with the trigger at all. In fact, the bolt had gone foreward, yet instead of chopping a ball, it stopped on it! this explains why ive only choped a ball with my bolt once, because the bolt itself rarely chops balls, instead it stops before it chops them. This problem of it no re-cocking can easily be fixed with an acs bolt, but im just happy that the bolt didnt chop the balls. Ok, that's all i had to add.
Conclusion: For a first gun, its great. For experienced players, its still great. As a matter of fact, the player makes the gun, and an experienced player will still be very dangerous with this marker. I always enjoy using a gun like this, with such a simple design it cant fail you unless you fail to take care of it. It's still my favorite after all these years.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 21st, 2006 at 5:42 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

majerle Tuesday, March 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
jt 5, spyer aggreser, victor
Marker Setup: jt 3 with 32 degrees night stick
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel and bolt
Strengths: Quiet, accurate(w/ new barrel) but nice stock barrel, shoots nice.
Weaknesses: Not electric(buy electric) and no expansion chamber.
Review: I like the feel, it seems smaller then it really is and shoots very nice. I would recommend for brand new players to the sport. but if you were looking to get more into paintball get an electric gun there is a big difference. one other thing i got is an electric hopper because you can out run a regular hopper if you shoot fast enough which will lead to lots of balls breaking. this gun is easy to clean and maintain.
Conclusion: Get it if u want a reliable gun for beggining paintball.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Im13seriously Tuesday, August 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT masks, thats bout it from their company.
Marker Setup: Currently Tippmann A-5 Stock Barrel (don't need a replacement accurate enough)
For Backup-JT Exellerator 3.0
Co2's: a 12oz, 2 16's, and a 20 (I know....co2...)
Thermal JT mask.
Recommended
Upgrades:
better ballstop cover?
Strengths: Great-backup-quiet.
Weaknesses: Ball stopcover and glare-tight handle, It is also discontinued, its hard to find parts.
Review: This thing, never broke a ball on me (even brass eagle brand I used a few times) for 3 years, and I'm serious. becareful when putting the ballstop cover back on, if you disassemble that for any reason....when you screw it back in, be as gentle as a butterfly, the plastic snapped like a toothpick with barely any pressure.
Its quite accurate, (you would think it wouldnt be that accurate aiming down the side of the gun)I shot a half inch diameter stick.....sticking out of the ground at like 50 feet? all 3 balls hit...so its got potential. now...this is my fault (this is a warning for beginners)I never lubricated the gun....I've used it in the woods for I would say 40-50 hours?I am a recreational player, so I dont play that often...but for 3 years it was fine, until one day, the bolt o-ring busted. so the gun never REALLY screwed up on me...it was me that screwed up the gun. one other thing I dont like about the gun is it's silver glare...it gives you away in the woods. If you are playing speedball, and your 10 feet in front of the opponet, than thats fine. I say paint the damn thing black (stops it a little). the gun frame is tight (its fine for me, but for older teens +)where your thumb is when holding the vertical handle, you can barely get it in there. But! (now I haven't checked) the price has probably gone down on this gun...its pretty old...but it is still useable.
Conclusion: +stock barrel is very quiet
+All Aluminum except for handle and ballstop cover.
+cheaper-bang 4 buck
+reliable-doesnt blow up, or break balls if cleaned and used right
+no HAVE TO upgrades
-shiny...you must paint it if you plan to play in woods
-discontinued...hard to find parts for it
-Tight Frame
-+You have to aim down the side of the gun (thats easier for me)
-+Be very careful with ballstop cover, I recommend getting a new STEEL one made from a machine shop like I'm going to do


Over-All.....in my opinion I love it...I give it a 10 out of 10, nothing majorly wrong with it for me, but I'll give it a rating that comes closer to what I have reviewed on it.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 5th, 2004 at 7:26 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spartan III Friday, July 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyder victer-nowhere near as good as the jt
spyder agressor xt- close to but not as good as the jt 3.0
Marker Setup: currently using a tippmann 98custom with a flatline, a stock, and a viewloader revolution
a true sniper gun and not really my style
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel is a must, your best off with a smartparts progressive barrel, its definately worth the little bit of money it costs,and an electronic hopper is also a good idea.(i've heard a new bolt is also a worthwhile investment but i personally dont think it nescesary)
Strengths: Compact size
Reliable if well maintained
Acurate , with barrel upgrade
Weaknesses: Stock barrel less than impressive
Trigger pull is very long
No expansion chamber
Review: I used the jt 3.0 for the first today, a friend of mine wanted to use my tippmann for a couple games so i used his jt. Truth be told i liked it more than my tippmann. It is a far superior close range gun. Although it wasnt very acurate past 30 yards it was great for me. The next gun i own is going to be one of these, and the first thing im going to do to it is shorten the trigger pull a lot. It slowed my rate of fire very badly. And of course a new barrel is also in order, most likely a smartparts progressive. You cant beat it for the money. It will be a great speedball gun by then. As for playing large field recball games you might be at a slight range disadvanage, but if your stealthy enough its not a big deal.
Conclusion: If your looking for a great entry level gun that can be very competative this is the one for you (with some minor upgrades).
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Patton Sunday, April 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98, Spyder Extra
Marker Setup: Tippmann custom 98, 20oz Co2, Remote line. Laser scope, 16 inch freak barrel
The JT is my Back up gun
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Strengths: Light weight. Easy to maintaine shoots pretty accurate.
Weaknesses: Dosent like to work the best in cold weather
Review: This gun is Awsome. I bought it off my friend for $40.00 canadian. He said that it didnt feed the balls properly. All I had to do was clean the bolt and ball dent. The gun is good for rec players and walk on games at a field. Its easy to clean and it looks cool. If you take care of the gun this gun will take care of you.
Conclusion: Id say buy it. Its a good gun for the weekend player.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

skinner05 Friday, February 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: diablo mongoose, view loader quantum, pure energy 20oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing really, it's great stock...but it could use a new longer barell
Strengths: looks great, not too loud, doesn't chop balls.
Weaknesses: a little on the loud side..nuthin to worry about
Review: Alot of other people reviewing this marker say it's loud and chops balls....this is probably coming from people who think they are all that and probably use angels, cockers ect. i used this gun for about 6 months, it's great for the mid ranged player, it looks great, it's not too loud, and no it doesn't chop that many balls, out of the whole time i was using it i might have broken about 10 balls in the barell. jt is a great name, it's very solid and reliable..i noticed in one review that the guy said the cocking pin fell out and so did the rest of the parts of his marker....he must have had a pretty crappy gun, because no matter how fast you shoot the cocking pin won't fall out, unless it's not put in properly. this gun is also very easy to strip, u can litterally take the boly out in 5 seconds, over all u can take the gun apart in less then a minute.
Conclusion: this gun is great..don't be nervous because of what other people may say about the gun because if your a mid ranged player like i was it's an excellent gun, and it's pretty cheap. it will last u a long time if ur good to it. i would give this gun a 20, but the scale only goes up to 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

trojan_puppy Friday, January 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none really similar to this
Marker Setup: stock 3.0 with 20oz
Recommended
Upgrades:
i would say barrel but i havent been able to test an aftermarket barrel on this gun yet so im not quite sure
Strengths: cheap
durable
accurate
nice safety
looks
Weaknesses: sticks if not oiled
weak in cold
Review: i got my 3.0 from walmart about 2 years ago, and it has served me fairly well ever since. at first i had some problems with breaks, but just buy some decent paint and you'll be fine. ive only had 3-4 breaks from about 750 rounds of pmi something-or-other. ive only used my gun in a couple games over the past three years, so i wouldn't count on this review to sway your opinion too much. i'm going to get an a-5 in a couple of months, though the 3.0 is a great starter, or at least it has been for me.
Conclusion: buy it as a starter, but plan on getting something else in a year or two if you decide to really get into paintball. this gun is nice, but has its limitations as im sure all starter guns do. im going to give it a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaintallBlake Tuesday, January 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann a-5, tippmann pro\carbine, JTexcellerator 6.0.
Marker Setup: Right now i am using my tippmann pro/carbine. because it is extrmely accurate. i have a 200rd. viewloader hopper. a nice tippmann flatline barrel. a 9 oz co2 tank. and a red dot sight.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would look into purchasing a new barrell
Strengths: Accurate, cool looking, nice stock barrel, but i would upgrade, and easy grip.
Weaknesses: chope about 30 out of 200 balls. gas leak through the barrel.
Review: The 3.0 model is a great beginning gun, or if you are looking into playing rec. ball. It worked great for me. with a new Armson Stealth 12" barrel the gun was unstoppable. it is a great woods gun and only had one major problem. i had 2 gas leaks through the barrel. when i purchased a new barrel, the leaks began to quit. If you like wuick shoting guns with a realitively accurate gun. this is a great start.
Conclusion: I would definitely reccomend buying this gun for a first. it gives a great feel for the game. once you really get involved in pb. i would maybe upgrade to a higher price gun. The 3.0 is a stallion!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Javelin Wednesday, December 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various Spyders
Marker Setup: JT Excellerator 3.5
12 oz. CO2 w/ anti-siphon
Smart Parts Progressive 14" barrel
super fly bolt
Empire Reloader hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new Barrel is definately a must. I added the relatively cheap Smart Parts Progressive barrel and noticed a huge difference. For the price of this barrel it was definately worth it. A new bolt would also be a good idea. Also, the grip is only a gas-through, it is not in fact an expansion chamber. So, for more consistency in your shots, make anti-siphon a definite upgrade for you CO2 tank
Strengths: Quiet & Accurate (with new barrel)
Reliable (with proper care)
Weaknesses: Unreliable if neglected
Double-shoots sometimes
Needs alot of oil
Gas-through grip
Review: This gun shoots well stock, but once you throw on a new barrel, it is a low-range wet dream. I feel no need to upgrade from CO2, because I get great consistency with what I have, and since I don't shoot fast, I don't really need an electronic hopper or even a fully auto paintball gun like the E-99. My next upgrades for it are going to be a anti-siphon and a new bolt, but I'm not too pressed right now. Maybe for christmas.

I took some time to write this review, after purchasing this gun last christmas, because I wanted to play with it for awhile, learn its quirks and maybe offer some actual advice on maintenance. Okay, here's the key one. OIL THE BUGGER. Every time you come in from a day of playing, make sure you clean it, and oil it. Use a good oil too, NOT grease. Also, I wrapped some plumbing tape around the gas-through, because it didn't seem to screw in all the way out of the box, and I've never had a problem with it. Replace all your o-rings with high-quality ones out of the box as well. I think that has saved me alot of hassle. At least the ones around the volumizer and gas-through grip.

The most important thing is not to neglect your marker. Keep it well cleaned and oiled and you shouldn't have a problem. I replaced the spring once and my velocity has been ok, does not fluctuate too much. If you take care of it, then it will take care of you and shoot nice and straight for you. Lots of oil. Problems I didn't think could be solved by oil, were. So, if you have ANY problems with this gun, make sure your first step to trying to fix it is to field-strip it and oil every part.

I also found this gun to be incredibly quiet once I put on my new barrel. In addition, the accuracy improved by quite a lot. In my opinion, the barrel is the most important upgrade you can get for this gun. I know that there are other upgrades I should do, but my gun just fires so well right now I feel like I don't have to do anything to it at all. All my friends wonder how I can be happy with an almost stock JT using CO2, but I don't care. It runs perfectly well right now in my opinion.

I find that I can shoot as fast as I need to, but I also recognize the fact that if I try to crank off 10-15 balls per second without an electronic hopper I'm going to chop. Oh, and can someone tell me why there is a sight-rail on this thing? Anyone? JT?
Conclusion: Fantastic gun, but does require some work to keep in good firing condition. Not electronic, and some of its parts annoy me (sight rail and gas-through grip), plus I wish the drop-forward was a bit better. However, it is a fantastic price, and more than worth the money. I CAN compete with any gun out there, your gun is only as good as you are. I don't have to feel intimidated by gun owners because I know that my gun has the capability to shoot far, shoot straight, and tag them out. All I need to do is be better than they are.

Fantastic entry-level marker.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 5th, 2004 at 7:47 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

metalnick Thursday, September 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I dont know if they are considered similiar, but my first gun ever was a stingray 2 ice from brass eagle(never ever purchase that one kids) and an electronic amp transformer (also a no-go for the smart buyer)
Marker Setup: Excellerator 3.0 with 14 in JJ ceramic barrel, viewloader electronic 12V aggitated hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stock barrel on these is ok, but its a good idea to look into a new one, as is the case with most stock barrels on any gun
Strengths: Straight and true flight of a paintball. ACCURATE, doesnt chop at all.
Weaknesses: Flashy colors, weight, doesnt like the cold weather
Review: I hated my brass eagle and i wanted a new one NOW. But I didnt want a tippmann. I guess I wanted to be different, then I checked this site out and found out about the JT when it was fairly new. I picked it up and fell in love. The local dealer of Tippmanns now carries JT USA cause they caught his eye. They are worth the money and a great piece of equipment. It is conventional and reliable and can be purchased almost anywhere, even wal-mart!
Conclusion: Pick it up beginners and intermediates. With just a simple upgrade to a new barrel, you won't ever regret purchasing any version of excellorator, i think they are up to 6.0 electronic right now.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media