paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Planet Eclipse Shocker / Planet Eclipse Shocker / Planet Eclipse Shocker / Planet Eclipse Shocker

Planet Eclipse Shocker Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Planet Eclipse

Buy Planet Eclipse Shocker

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Planet Eclipse Shocker
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 16
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $989

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Shocker from SmartParts has proved itself to be one of the best top-end electro-pneumatic guns on the market. The Shocker has been there from the very start of the electro revolution, and can almost be considered the Grand-Daddy of the genre. The Shocker has some very unique features as well as some very fine characteristics that add up to it being a highly desirable piece of hardware. At it's launch it was its super-low operating pressure that made it so unique. It was also the reason behind the gun being so quiet, have so few ball breakage's, have the ability to shoot really fragile paint, and, together with the true closed-bolt mechanism, make it so accurate. However, despite how good the standard Shocker is, there is still room for improvement for the Eclipse makeover.
Product Availability 
The Planet Eclipse Shocker is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
gosuckalemon-00 Monday, March 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Odyssey RPM (sort of like it), SP Ion (sort of like it)
(the rest are nuthing like it)
Tippmann A-5, 98c, Pro/carbine, PCS US 5, all sorts of spyders, like all walmart guns, a few cockers, Dragon The one(sort of like it).
Marker Setup: I had a 2k2 Eclipse shocker
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Board
-Bolt maby
Strengths: -Looks SICK!!!
-Stock barrel
-Everything
-Runs better on CO2
-Will turn heads
Weaknesses: -Pretty slow compared to guns these days
-Nothing really
Review: This gun is SICK!!!, I loved it but had to give it up because it wasn't fast enough for me. some people say it really heavy but seriously its not like 40 pounds, probably reliable, mine wasn't the best it was old and out of date when i got it leaking but was fixed with new o-rings and a good lubing. this guns is vary vary nice i loved it but was too slow for tourney ball
Conclusion: this gun is a good collectors gun or just something to have a little fun with but its not for hard core tourney ball. I would want one to clean up and put it on my wall really.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 14th, 2007 at 6:17 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sdlm Friday, August 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
shocker 4x4 (same performacne but, cosmetics suck)
matrix, accurate but, way faster
angel LED close in performance, but smaller
i've used everything else out there but, it doesn't seem relavent
Marker Setup: 2k2 Eclipse shocker pewter to black fade
16" all american barrel
eclipse blade trigger
eclipse vertical maxflo

98 shocker 4x4 RF
OTB frame, and single trigger sometimes
vert maxflo
modified DS board
kapp drop zone with on/off
14" CP barrel

114/45 AA raptor rex

also have bko, cocker, pgp, talon, tippman 68 special, and tigershark
Recommended
Upgrades:
morlock board
large capcity Nitrogen tank, or carbon fiber co2 tank
Strengths: Not too much required to make it good. Competitive speed, Never breaks balls only pinches
Weaknesses: Heavy, Big, Horrible trigger logic, Max flo cap too small to grip
Review: Well, these are pretty good guns, not somthing that you see everyday, but since the impulse was released most people have believed the hyped ROF and just bought it instead. shockers have low kick, and good consistancy therefore good accuracy, and this one stock will get 13 BPS the only problem is with the stock board you cannot pull faster than 13bps I can pull the trigger about 16-17 times a second and this yields a fire rate of 4bps, but when I pull it 10 times a second it shoots 10 times a second, so this gun has no shot buffer, it really benifits from an after market board. there is noting wrong with playing front or back with these guns, they are not too big and heavy to use, and they do not consume but so much gas, just use a bigger tank.
Conclusion: I reccomend this product to somone who likes the performance of the normal shocker but, must have a good looking gun as well, seeing as most people don't like the look of the stock one. but you do pay for those looks
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballingemu Friday, April 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used an autococker and a minimag but this shocker when a turbo board and blade trigger are installed scream! They blow the other markers out of the water completely.
Marker Setup: eclipse shocker
10'' Freak, 16'' Big Daddy barrel,10'' CP classic barrel
turbo board
blade trigger
evolution 2
centerflag 68ci 4500psi carbon fiber tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
turbo board
A good reg
a high capacity tank
blade trigger
good barrel ( the stock one is very good too. But it depends on the position that you play)
Strengths: Very accurate
Fast shooting
very basic (easy to maintain)
Weaknesses: air efficency
weight (compared to angel)
Review: Overall I would say that if you want a quality marker that shoots faster and better than a cocker this marker is definitely the way to go. Also the pricing is very reasonable and the cool part is the fact when you are all on the field and they ask you what kind of marker you have you can say with pride and bragging rights I have an ECLIPSE shocker. So I would definitely recommend this marker over a cocker a mag or any other marker. Except of course a timmy,angel or other insanely priced markers.
Conclusion: I would say that I have covered it all. Basically buy this marker!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dye_punk456 Sunday, December 15th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A mixed Assortment of angels, Many many custom cockers, and much more.
Marker Setup: Shocktech Sfl Autococker (Jet black), Center Flag inline regulator, Shocktech Pivot trigger, Wgp flame drop forward, 68 ci compressed air tank 4500 psi, Smart parts Freak Barrel stainless steel back and black teardrop front.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ive only tested the gun but you might want to get a Max flo tank and one with very high amount of air because the gun is an extreme gas hog.
Strengths: -Very accurate
-comes with freak barrel
-has a good regulator
-Has very little kick
Weaknesses: -shakes all the bolts loose
-Gas hog
Conclusion: This is a great gun. It is very accurate and wonderful to shot. Trigger pull is very smooth and the trigger pull is SHORT. With a slight trigger job the triggerpull coulld be even shorter. Ill gibe it a...........
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Squall_Shocker Monday, September 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Eclipse Impulse and Eclipse cocker.
Marker Setup: 2k1 Green to black fade Eclipse Shocker
Freak
Black shocktech drop
88ci 4500psi low-pressure crossfire tank
12 volt revy with xboard
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well there isn't much you can do to this great gun to make it better than it is, but i would say buy the rest of the 8 inserts for your freak and get a nice tank.
Strengths: 1. This gun is one of the best looking guns out there because of its milling and high gloss anodizing.
2. The accuracy of this gun is unbelievable. If you are looking for an electro with great accuracy this is the one.
3. Speed. This gun is pretty fast even thought it is limited to 11.25 bps. With the new blade trigger I can get off strings of about 9 bps easy. Let me just say that if you are worried about the speed of this gun, DONT be becuase it is fast enough.
4. Very easy to clean.
5.You will intimidate newbies and im betting you will put a few whelps on them with this gun.
Weaknesses: The only bad thing about this gun is that it is a gas hog. It will eat your air alive.
If you get a pretty good size tank with a 4500 fill then you should be fine and dandy.
Conclusion: This gun is totally worth the money, and by far one of the best electros out there. If you have the money for this gun then buy one before they are all gone!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, May 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo Matrix
Adrenaline Angel
Angel lcd 2001
Impulses
Tribals

Marker Setup: Eclipse Shocker 88ci Air american Melee 3000psi, Psycho ballistic dropforward.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definetly gonna wanna put compressed air on this beast.
Strengths: Amazingly accurate especially with the freak that comes with it
Amazingly fast very easy to adjust trigger because now blade comes standard with the eclipse and has 2 set screws one for drag and for the return
Looks awesome. The gun comes with some of the sweetest anondizing and milling around.
People say its so heavy but the eclipse is milled down to perfection its actually really light.
Quiet
Weaknesses: This gun is a gas hog.
Price costs about 1200 if u order straight from england. This gunb is worth 1200 easily.
Conclusion: Amazingly awesome gun. I love this gun so much. If u have the money get it it is worth every dollar spent.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

backmanfromhell Friday, April 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ICD B2K2
2K1 Custom Vert Feed Cocker(FOR SALE!!!)
Marker Setup: 2002 Eclipse Blue Shocker
Chrome Eclipse Long Drop
Blue Smart Parts Grips
SS Freak Back, 14in Blue Freak Front
Blue New Style Max Flo 4500psi with a 88/45 PMI Bottle

Recommended
Upgrades:
9volt Converter, easier to change the batteries, dont have to charge them
NITRO IS A MUST, NOT AN UPGRADE
Strengths: Everything. This is the most accurate, and reiable marker I have ever owned. My team had to go electro, and I only use cockers, so this is great, it has the accuracy of a cocker, the reliability of a tippmann(laugh if you must, but tippmans a very reliable, they just cant compete in the tournament level), and the rate of fire of an electro. Combine all 3 of those options, and you have, in my opinion, the best marker for the money. They may weigh alot, but they are extremely nice.
Weaknesses: Kind of a Gas Hog. around 1400 Shots off of my Blue New Style Max Flo 4500psi with a 88/45 PMI Bottle.

Nothing else really
Conclusion: Deffinatly worth every penny I have spent. I LOVE MY ECLIPSE SHOCKER!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

angel freak Friday, March 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker TURBO
Hyper Sport Works SL shocker
Eclipse Angel
Eclipse Bushy
Eclipse Impulse
Eclipse cocker w/ DYE double trigger
Matrix
Cockers
Adrenalin Angels led, and lcd
Cobra angels lcd and led
sandridge cocker
Marker Setup: I have more than 1 eclipse shocker.
I will list two setups to give you some ideas of where you can take it--
Eclipse Fire Splash shocker TURBO
Hyper Sport Works HyperGrip
AIR 88 with DYE tank cover, anoed red, dye cover, red, red lok sok
Matched anoed DYE boomstick
Matched anoed freak
Red Sticky grips
Eclipse drop forward matched anoed
HALO
ANGEL KILLER :)

2. Eclipse shocker Banzai green splash TURBO
Blade trigger
Armegeddon 88 matched anoed green lock soks
Matched anoed boomstick
all american freak kit with stainless back and matching all american tip
clear stickies
shocktech drop
chrome ricochet 2k
Recommended
Upgrades:
it depends on your style of play, and what you want (no kidding)
also some people buy an eclipse for the limited quantities, and might not want to upgrade it, otherwise risking lack of resale value.
I personaly would never sell one of my guns.

to shoot faster - turbo board, or hyper grip
accuracy - well the new eclipses come with freaks, can't get much better than that.
range - no current upgrades
tightness - eclipse, or other type of drop
NITRO IS A MUST NOT AN UPGRADE

Strengths: Well for one thing it is a shocker at heart, what does that mean?

It means it has outstanding accuracy, range, and a decent rate of fire. While I can out shoot it with my tricked out adrenalin angel, that gun can get 15-16 bps semi auto depending on your trigger finger. This gun, due to limitations in its firing mechanism can only get 11.25

Now, if your smart, you know this is a plenty high rate of fire. Most people cant shoot much faster than that anyway. Not to mention, you can hit them, and they can't hit you, amazing!

The accuracy is the best I have ever seen in a paintball gun, I think it is much more accurate than a cocker.

Size - the shocker is really only as big as you make it. I've seen plenty of front guys with shockers and KAPP drop zones, and 10 inch barrels that are not big at all. The shocker is about the same lenth as an angel. One of the reasons people think shockers are so bug is because they ship out of smart parts stock with a massive 16 inch barrel. Well if you'd wake up, you'd realize that any gun with a 16 inch barrel would be huge. Another thing is that you need a masive N2 tank to compensate the pitiful gas efficiency.

Efficiency - Is absolutly rediculous on a shocker. You basicly need an 88 4500. Therfore, you buy a stock shocker from sp, and an 88 tank, its pretty easy to see why people think shockers are so big, now huh.

Weight - no the shocker is not that heavy. If you think it is, you best hit the gym.

back to size - if you put your shocker on a drop to suit your needs, and a smaller barrel, the shocker can get quite compact. Also if you are a front guy and don't shoot too much paint - around 600 rnds a game, you could probably get away with a 68 tank, as long as your field has day fills, or free air.

A bit more on rate of fire - Now for you people that think you shoot so fast - if you have an angel, I know its cool to tell all your friends you can shoot 22 bps or something, but if you look at the shot counter you probably have 13 or so. People with out angels are probably a bit lower or around the same.
Weaknesses: It can be a bit large if you have make it that way.
Conclusion: I think smart parts should definately ship the shocker with a 14 inch or smaller barrel. My friend bought his retail with a 14 inch boomer instead of the 16 in AA. The eclipse is a wonderful gun for a back to mid player. If you set it up small, it can handle front play. Also, the blade trigger has a great bounce to it. This allows you a great snap shot touch, and you get the occasional trigger bounce turbo type thing.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, November 25th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Cocker - THE BEST
68 Automag - don't waste your time even trying this gun, much less buying it
2001 Lockout Autococker - Nice, but is very fragile
2000 Custom Dark Angel - hard comparison considering the ammount of stuff on the angel
99 (i think) Angel LED - the shocker and the angel shoot almost identical too each other, with similar feeling triggers
Marker Setup: 2001 Eclipse Shocker
Matching anoed blade trigger and freak
68/45 Armaggeddon Tank
Hogue grips
Recommended
Upgrades:
Freak if your eclipse shocker doesn't come with one
Blade trigger if yours doesn't come with one
Hogue Grips
Strangler feed (I don't have one, but ive seen them and they look nice)
Strengths: NO play in the trigger -- feels great for fast firing
Very fast - lay down some paint from the back
Accurate
Good range
Reliable
Looks Sweet
Good On/Off
Lots of cool little things
Eclipse has good customer service
Fairly consistent
Weaknesses: People say its heavy, but its really not, Eclipse milled off so much
It uses WAY too much air, I would reccomend using a 68ci CO2 or a 88ci 4500psi tank with N2 (it doesn't really get any shots on compressed air)


Conclusion: Well, it's nice, its what most back players use. It looks nice and its a good gun. If you are looking to spend around $1000 on a new gun than this is probably your best bet
I would say that if you are looking for an electro than this is the only way to go. It shoots WAY farther than an impulse and it will shoot better at lower velocities than an impulse (my friend has an Eclipse Impulse)
Its range and accuracy are very similar to that of an Angel LED, but the shocker probably shoots a little farther, and the angel a little faster, depending on the setup of both guns
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, November 21st, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
matrx , elipse bushy shocker
Marker Setup: i have the freak turbo rev and i have a air 88
Recommended
Upgrades:
good tank turbo rev
Strengths: everything
looks kool
is awesome
accurate
disatance
nice trigger
has the kool lights in the back of the gun not on the side
Weaknesses: kinda big
sumwhat heavy
gas hog
Conclusion: i love this gun it kiks ass i play mid and it is perfect for me i think it could be one if not the best gun on the market and definenlty is for the price
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media