paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Black Maxx / PMI Black Maxx / PMI Black Maxx / PMI Black Maxx

PMI Black Maxx Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Black Maxx

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Black Maxx
[ View Photos (13) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 212
Average Rating: 7.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Black Maxx takes advantage of the latest hi tech materials. This marker is made almost entirely of a custom aerospace polymer. Although from just a few feet away you cant tell its not metal, but in your hand you can tell it is not your basic plastic. This marker comes stock with many high end features found on tournament proven markers. First it has a very comfortable .45 double trigger frame, and the trigger pull is a very light and short 2 1/2lbs. The rotary safety lock witch is conveniently located for one handed operation, actually disengages the trigger. The adjustable sight suites it purposes well, but it also comes with a standard sight rail to upgrade.The rotary switch at the back end of theTrracer s/a releases the elliptic lock that lets you field strip without tools. This allows you to pull out the bolt and hammer assembly in one piece, very handy on the field. Speaking of the bolt it has a flush cocking design, this is the hottest new feature in bolt designs.Barrel is ported at the end.
Product Availability 
The PMI Black Maxx is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (22):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
qrrbrrbirbel102 Saturday, October 3rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel!!!!!!
Strengths: Light, crisp trigger pull, accurate with new barrel,easy to clean, little cost
Weaknesses: Stock barrel barrel is loud,elbow might slip off,
Review: This gun is very good if ur a beginner it is reliable and wont break. I found it very accurat as long as u buy a new barrel it has a smooth trigger pull allowing you to fire fast for a semi-auto. It has a very quick and easy flush cocking system.



Accuracy:8(with new barrel)


Reliability:9

Noise:8(5with stock barrel)

Durrabillity:9


Weight/portability:10


Conclusion: All in all a good begginner gun i wouldnt reccomend it if u arent in ur first year of paintball
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

XxGunz4shoWxX Thursday, October 1st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock tippman 98, tippman a-5 w/ flatline barrel

98- not a whole lot better in my opinion with the 9 in. barrel it has awful accuracy and i dont care for the single finger trigger, but other than that i think its a decent weapon to have in your arsenal.

a-5 w/ flatline- this is a really great gun i really like the grip on the front really helps steady the gun for improved accuracy. like the cyclon technology in the hopper helps shoot quicker. the flat line barrel i dont really understand i think its kinda a waste of 90 bucks. but thats just my opinion.
Marker Setup: PMI black maxx
Recommended
Upgrades:
i think definitely this gun should be upgraded with a longer and more accurate barrel.
Strengths: Very light. Light trigger. Extremely easy to clean out.
Weaknesses: Freezes up on occasion.
Review: i have a stock PMI black maxx. i know embarassing right. i have only played in a couple tourneys but i think that it served me well. all these guys spend thousands of dollars on their guns and shoot 50 bps and have to relaod 15 times a game and i still find a way to get them ot before they get me. i did put a pretty cool home-done paint job on it. its a three tone army tiger stripe camo pattern it looks pretty good. i usually only play woodsball so i think it works pretty good for me. i dont have many complaints. it has decent accuracy for only a 9 in. barrel. overall i think its a pretty good gun, especially for beginners. probably a 7.5/10
Conclusion: I think this is a good gun, especially for beginners. Its not heavy and has a very light, two fnger, trigger.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bombadee Saturday, July 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder victor 2, tippman 98. brass eagle blade,
Marker Setup: Autococker trilogy competition select fire model (stock)
black maxx, 12 ounce co2 tank, extreme rage hopper, 14" smart parts linear rifled barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new bolt o-rings (use bottle o-rings they are the same size as the stock rings)
new barrel (12" or more )
new feedneck
Strengths: price
pretty accurate with a new barrel
good ROF for a noob gun
field strip
Weaknesses: breaks very EASILY
sucks when stock
field strip switch gets jammed
spring needs tuning
Review: STATS:
stock:
accuracy: 6
range: 7
weight: 10
price: 10

upgraded:
accuracy: 10
range: 9
weight: 9
price: 9


I bought this gun off a friend who had gotten a BT4 assault.
For 80$ i got the gun, a brand new mask, a 12 ounce CO2 tank, and a hopper.
when i went to use it for the first time, it worked; second time: not so much, the spring had disconnected from the rest of the bolt assembly, I just used the field strip and reset the spring. unfortunately, the next game, my gun started making sounds like it was low on gas as well as not re-cocking, however, the tank was full. When I tried to access the bolt through the field strip, the little knob was jammed, I had to spend 40 minutes trying to open it, when i did, i found that the spring was to small, so I just stretched it and put it back in.
I was excited and entered the arena for the next round I fired a few times and the balls were only flying for about 30ft. then all of a sudden the gun wouldn't do anything, I would pull the trigger and nothing would happen. I once again opened up the gun and three of the four
o-rings had been shredded... I bought new o-rings ( use bottle o-rings ) and a new barrel at the pro-shop and after that the gun worked fine, i could shoot 120' without the balls ever lobbing and I chopped one ball out of 400 ( it was my fault, i used moist paint ) and I never ran out of CO2. Plus, I was playing with guys who had inverts and ion's, but while they all made fun of me when my gun would brake, once i had it all fixed and had my new barrel on, they were all impressed by the performance of my cheap little black maxx!
Conclusion: Don't buy this gun if it will be your first, all of the problems it has, and how poor it is stock will overwhelm you. However of this is going to be your second gun and your low on cash or if you want a good loaner, this gun is for you. you can buy it online for 40$ and due to your previous experience with guns you can easily replace the o-rings in advance as well as make sure the bolt is properly assembled. plus with a barrel worth more than the gun, you can get AMAZING accuracy out of it.
once you get this gun working properly with a good barrel it is better and cheaper than any spyder or other beginner gun hands down!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 15th, 2010 at 5:51 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PB-Dan.S.J. Thursday, July 2nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98
Marker Setup: PMI Blackmaxx
Freak Jr. 14" Barrel
Laser Dot Sight w/ Pressure Pad
Coiled Remote Line
13/4500 Ninga HPA Tank
VL Quantum Electronic Hopper
BT Tactical Bipod w/ adaptor
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer Barrel & HPA (depending on how fast your fingers are or your playing style electronic loader).
Strengths: Very Light Weight, but extremly tough.
Inexpencive.
Has a 3/8 Dovetail mount.
Weaknesses: Short Barrel.
Comes with a horrible tank, mask and hopper.
Review: My first gun so I was quite happy with it's preformance and it's weight. My first game using it i ran out of Co2 (didn't upgrade yet) really quickly so put it down and asked if i could borrow my friends rental. Holy Crap! It was like 4 pounds heavier. I gave it back and tried to get the flag (which I did!). I have also shot close to ten cases of paint this past year and only had two barrel brakes.
Conclusion: I don't know if I just got a good one because all the other reviews talk crap about this gun. Great beginner gun that you can make into a great intermediate gun too. Just shop around.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tscar5463 Wednesday, April 22nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: Black maxx, 9 oz, VL 200
Recommended
Upgrades:
-New barrel
-electric hopper


Strengths: - The gun is light weight and is accurate for the price.
Weaknesses: Very loud!!!!!
Review: The gun is all plastic but is suppossed to be good plastic. the double trigger is nice for a semi-auto marker. For a preaty cheap marker the bps capible for this gun is outstanding and well worth your 30 dollers. The gun is very light weight and wieghs maybe 1 pound. Which is great for little kids.
Conclusion: Great gun for a beginner who is just going out on the field to give it a whirl for the first time and feel what it like to play in a real NPPL campionship fieild with ollie lang.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sceresnik00 Wednesday, October 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: I have a Extreme Rage hopper
Extreme Rage Goggles
9oz blue Rhino C02 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Silencer, very loud
Strengths: Cheap(not expensive)

Weaknesses: Loud
It sucks dont buy it, it breaks very easily
Review: I got this paintball gun a couple days ago. It is the worst gun i have used! This gun is horrible but very cheap. It is loud but. I have already got a huge welt from it. THIS GUN HURTS. It is an very bad gun. I dont recommened this gun to any paintballer.
Conclusion: This gun is A very bad gun
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 18th, 2008 at 2:29 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gimpy3 Saturday, August 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing really
Marker Setup: Spyder Mr1
14' linear progressive
Spyder wire stock
acs delrin bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrell
Strengths: Very cheap
Light
Easy to clean
Weaknesses: Chopps paint
Review: I bought this gun for very cheap and i wasnt expecting much out of it but i was wrong. This gun is very good for how cheap it is and the look of it. This is a good gun for anyone starting paintball.It is also a very good woodsball gun.
Conclusion: A very good gun for a beginner.I reccomend this gun to anybody.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SpecOps417 Monday, August 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker, Spyders, Piranhas
Marker Setup: PMI Black Maxx, Smart Parts 12 inch barrel, laser dot,
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel upgrade (reduces noice, better accuracy). I would recommend a smart parts 12 inch barrel. try not to use a longer barrel.
Strengths: It has a very solid look and feel, very affordable, relaiable, and excellent handling.
Weaknesses: I would say the key weakness would be the stock barrel that it comes with.
Review: this is a very good marker to start with or to use it as your back up marker. i love how light this marker is, how solid it feels, easy to clean with a simple switch. i currently have a tippman A-5 with many upgrades, which i normally use in woodsball, but my black maxx has always been there in the rare case my a-5 runs into trouble. i currently own 4 PMI Black Maxx because of its cheap price and because i know that they are by far more relaiable than any brass eagle t storms or any wal mart paintball markers.
Conclusion: I would definately recommend this to anyone who loves paintball. I am sure begginers and experts will love this gun for its great durability and control
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball noob Friday, April 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
32degrees icon x, tippman 98 custom.
Marker Setup: full stock 12oz tank gravity hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
i wouldnt bother with any.
Strengths: Price
Weaknesses: Plastic, rubish trigger made of plastic (like the rest of this gun).
Review: this gun is not worth the money in my opinion. This gun is a cheap gun made of plastic for the extra $20 i would upgrade to a spyder or a tippman.
however this gun is cheap however this gun is cheap however this gun is cheap however this gun is cheap.
Conclusion: In conclusion this gun is hardly better than a pump.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SpyderMan1492 Saturday, March 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
EVERYTHING'S BETTER
Marker Setup: 32 Degrees Icon Z
Rocking Trigger Frame
Steel Braided Hose
Smart Parts Progressive Barrel
Viewloader Revolution w/ X Board
Acs and Stock Bolts
20 oz Co2
32 Degrees Univerdal Drop Forward

Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW GUN!!!
Strengths: Shoots
Extremely cheap
Weaknesses: Leaks
Chops
UNRELIABLE
Inaccurate
Review: Wow in a bad way. The only good thing about this marker is that it is very cheap, otherwise it's prolly one of the worst markers I've ever shot in my 3 years of playing paintball. So basically what i'm trying to say is throw it off a bridge and don't look back! Better yet, throw it in a fire with the co2 tank screwed in and let the fireworks display begin!
Conclusion: Please just don't bother and get a spyder if you can!
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (22):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media