paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Black Maxx / PMI Black Maxx / PMI Black Maxx / PMI Black Maxx

PMI Black Maxx Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Black Maxx

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Black Maxx
[ View Photos (13) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 212
Average Rating: 7.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Black Maxx takes advantage of the latest hi tech materials. This marker is made almost entirely of a custom aerospace polymer. Although from just a few feet away you cant tell its not metal, but in your hand you can tell it is not your basic plastic. This marker comes stock with many high end features found on tournament proven markers. First it has a very comfortable .45 double trigger frame, and the trigger pull is a very light and short 2 1/2lbs. The rotary safety lock witch is conveniently located for one handed operation, actually disengages the trigger. The adjustable sight suites it purposes well, but it also comes with a standard sight rail to upgrade.The rotary switch at the back end of theTrracer s/a releases the elliptic lock that lets you field strip without tools. This allows you to pull out the bolt and hammer assembly in one piece, very handy on the field. Speaking of the bolt it has a flush cocking design, this is the hottest new feature in bolt designs.Barrel is ported at the end.
Product Availability 
The PMI Black Maxx is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (22):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  Last
        Next Page
Justin The Pyro Sunday, May 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Marauder
Marker Setup: Tippmann
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Cheap
Reliable
Perfect for a newbie
Easily field strippable
Light
Quiet
Weaknesses: Weak
Review: Well this gun, by FAR is the best newbie gun someone can buy. You can get it for like $30 or $40 and it has a 6 month warranty on it. People are always saying Brass Eagle is better for newbies because you get what you pay for but look at this...You can buy this gun semi auto with a warranty for the price of a talon. Talons are pumps with no warranty. Which seems like a better deal? Anyway, this gun is somewhat weak...It needs some more power behind it. I would normally suggest getting some new springs but this gun is more of a temporary gun you'd buy to experiment with until you get something better. It is quiet, and light and easy to maintain. Doesn't chop either. For the money, this gun is well worth it.
Conclusion: Get this as a backup gun or if you've just started out and aren't sure if you want to pursue paintball or not.

EDIT: Just did a search. You can get this gun for $25 at actionvillage...
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 2nd, 2004 at 6:52 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

wenyadh Wednesday, April 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: 32 degrees Icon Z (almost all stock)
upgraded spring
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing. This gun does wat it needs to do and getting upgrades is a waste
Strengths: cheap, light, easy to clean and take apart
Weaknesses: The hose on it is pretty weak. No foregrip to hold on to. Bad accuracy.
Review: This is a great paintball marker. It is just bout everything a new player needs to get into paintball. You pull the trigger a ball comes out thats always good.
This marker is quite cheap too. ( price wise)

The main complaints I have about this marker is how weak the hose is. It is hard to use it as a grip because it feels like it'll rip out. Also the accuracy is very bad. A new barrel should be able to help it but I'd recommend a new over a barrel.
Conclusion: Get this as your first gun. Very simple semi automatic
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MarkSpot Sunday, April 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Any other compact simple gun.
Marker Setup: 32 degrees Icon-E black
20oz c02
200 rnd hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing.this is just fine.
Strengths: small,lightweight,looks cool,comfortable grip,fires fast,easy use,accurate,looks mettalic without weight.
Weaknesses: grip looks cheap,nothing special really.
Review: When I got my new Icon-e my lil bro went crazy.All he had was a brass eagle blade 02 pump gun(all you older ballers can relate to crossing over from pump to semi).He eventually saved his money and got this gun a week later.He bought a 14 oz skinny c02.the first thing I noticed about this gun is every thing about it says metal exept for the weight.everything was easy to use and nothing required a hard pull or twist even c02!when I let him try my gun he was getting all frustrated about how he couldn't cock it,use the switches,or even carry it!he was happy to see that there was a nice semiautomatic gun he could oporaye completely on his own!Its also really simple.The instructions are completely unneeded.Down to gameplay.this thing can actually compete with high end guns!believe me I know.My first game against him I agreed to give him a 5 min head start,and keep my gun on semi and he beat me,a little kid!it was so easy to use that he ,without hesitation or worry,fired again and again at me!him being small completely hid himself behind the tree me not being small was uncapable of that!it fired at a constant rate extremely accurate.even when I fired back he just completely went behind the tree.size does matter!he hit me in the elbow lol.he can run to with it!he can't hardly carry my big ol gun!I tried using it a bit too it was nice and light but was lacking in fire rate and power.It was better than alot of guns I've used.I like not using a gun thats made by spider spider says cheap even though they are not and certainly doesn't deserve that label.anyway this gun is great the gun looks high quality mettalic even though its some sort of ultra dense plastic.The grip is easily plastic if only it coulda been the same materiel.
Conclusion: if you want a gun buy this
if you want a reliable gun buy this
if you want a decent gun buy this
you caan't beat the price and this is a REAL SEMI its not a TOY PAINTBALL GUN as you may have been led to believe.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spyder_victorII Saturday, April 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Victor II, Freak Barrel, 12 oz Co2,
Marker Setup: Victor II, Freak Barrel, 12 oz Co2,
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing..usless
Strengths: light,
Weaknesses: Loud, inaccurate,
Review: truly, this gun realy sucks. The first time i got my hands on one of these it started leaking Co2 and broke down on me befor I even got to use it. I would not recomend this to any one unless your willing to go repair it every day. The gun is louder then a gun I can here my bro shooting it almost 100 yards away. Nothing I can upgrade exept for the Stock Barrel, I have a bad feeling holding this gun. When I was getting started to play in the winter i just left my house and came out side I took a shot and it froze, It chops 4 out of 10 balls.
Conclusion: I reomend to ppl just starting the sport. Over all i give it a 2*
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WhackMasterFlex Tuesday, April 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Blow Backs
Marker Setup: I don't have one right now so I borrowed the Black Maxx from a good friend.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A barrel, maybe a steel hose but the gun can't be upgraded any further than that.
Strengths: Semi Durable
Cheap
Does it's job
Doesn't break down on me at all
Weaknesses: Made of plastic
Lack of upgrades
Review: I borrowed this gun from a friend because I currently don't own one. I had shot it before and knew it would do it's job. I played on two different occasions with it and I was impressed. The gun shoots pretty straight and doesn't chop balls. It's pretty light on the Co2 consumption as well. The gun is also very light weight and easy to clean.
Conclusion: With a price of 40-50 bucks if your in need for a cheap blowback you can't go wrong with a Black Maxx. It does it's job and lives up to the PMI name and the price tag.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BlackOwl Saturday, April 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Espirit
Bone Daddy
Brass Eagle Blade
PMI Piranha Ext Pro 2k3
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha Ext Pro 2k3 with new springs and regulator

PMI Black Maxx
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Strengths: -lightweight
-inexpensive
Weaknesses: -Internals are Plastic
- internals aren't durable
- stock barrel
Review: I've been playing paintball for about two years now and this was my first gun. When I purchased this gun I knew almost absolutely nothing about paintball. I purchased the marker a week before a huge paintball outing composed of 20 people; some experienced some like me, clueless. I went into the outing playing two games and the gun held up well but I had to aim a lot of paint on one person before i can hit them. After the games i went to clean my gun when i realized that the striker was already wearing out after only 3 games! I used it for one more game when i selled it to a friend.
Conclusion: If you want to play a few first games to see if you like the sport of paintball, get this gun. Highly recommended for newbies or just people who want to shoot around (if anyone actually does that). If you plan on using it for awhile get a new barrel, stock one suxx maxx.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

giavannirims24 Thursday, April 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98 custom,tippman A-5,kingman spyder Xtra.
Marker Setup: an 16oz co2, red dot scope, 18" big daddy angel barrel, custom drop foward, clear elbow, view loader 200 round
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommended a 18" dig daddy angel barrel and the red dot scope
Strengths: the key strengths are verry light, pretty cheap, and double finger trigger is verry good.
Weaknesses: there is not many key weaknesses exsept for that little stock barrel
Review: the pmi black maxx is a very good gun for begginers and maybe very exsperent players. I really reccomened this gun to any kid or adult. and don't play around with it because it really hurts, I accidentally hit my little cousin in the arm and it sweld up like a tomato. lol
Conclusion: if any one gets this amazing gun just get the 18" barrel or even an 16" barrel and a red dot scope.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

boxcarfan41 Saturday, March 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyder TL (test) it was about the same
Marker Setup: pirana black maxx with an aftermarket barrel and heavier hammer spring
Recommended
Upgrades:
longer barrel, heavier spring for bolt,
Strengths: very easy feild stripping. It is very light. And can fire fast for its price
Weaknesses: It kinda has bad velocity. needs an after market barrel

Review: The Black Maxx is an extreamly good starter gun. It helps alot to have an extended barrel though. Ive been useing it for affew months now and have only had one minor technical difficulty which I am getting fixed right now. It dosent breack many balls and is pretty good about co2 consumtion. The one thing that I cant stress enough is the need for a longer barrel.
Conclusion: overall this is a good gun. If your a newbie then you should seriously consider this gun
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

d-dawg Tuesday, March 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
zap zxs 400
Marker Setup: i used a stock black maxx with a 20 onze tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel
Strengths: it has a pretty high fire rate and it is light.
Weaknesses: its a little loud and its plastic
Review: i really liked this gun compared to the other guns i have used before(zap zxs400 and the blade 2).i think that it could use a new barrel but its a really good gun for the price you pay. it doesn't really chop many balls either like 2 out of package of 500 at the most.
Conclusion: I think this is an awsome gun for many levels not just beginners or rec players because its cheap, light and a cool gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

clown_13_2001 Monday, March 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
VL Orion
Spyder Victor II
Tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: PMI Black Maxx w/ 9 oz. co2 and VL barrel

Spyder Victor II w/ 20 oz. co2 (just got it, so everything's stock)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: -cheap
-durable
-good entry level marker
-quiet
Weaknesses: -weak spring
-plastic internals
-stock barrel
Review: This marker is a very good entry level gun mainly because it is cheap and durable. This was my first semi-auto marker and was very surprised with it. It has a fairly light trigger pull and has lasted me forever. The only thing I don't like about the gun is that it never chronos over 250 and the internals are plastic, which will probably break very easily.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to just about anyone entering the sport of paintball and dosen't have enough money to buy an expensive gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 26th, 2004 at 6:27 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (22):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media