paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Black Maxx / PMI Black Maxx / PMI Black Maxx / PMI Black Maxx

PMI Black Maxx Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Black Maxx

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Black Maxx
[ View Photos (13) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 212
Average Rating: 7.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Black Maxx takes advantage of the latest hi tech materials. This marker is made almost entirely of a custom aerospace polymer. Although from just a few feet away you cant tell its not metal, but in your hand you can tell it is not your basic plastic. This marker comes stock with many high end features found on tournament proven markers. First it has a very comfortable .45 double trigger frame, and the trigger pull is a very light and short 2 1/2lbs. The rotary safety lock witch is conveniently located for one handed operation, actually disengages the trigger. The adjustable sight suites it purposes well, but it also comes with a standard sight rail to upgrade.The rotary switch at the back end of theTrracer s/a releases the elliptic lock that lets you field strip without tools. This allows you to pull out the bolt and hammer assembly in one piece, very handy on the field. Speaking of the bolt it has a flush cocking design, this is the hottest new feature in bolt designs.Barrel is ported at the end.
Product Availability 
The PMI Black Maxx is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (22):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  Last
        Next Page
moose99 Monday, January 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None really
Marker Setup: PMI Black Maxx, 20 ounce tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel is a must.
Strengths: Priced cheap and works just fine.
Weaknesses: Crappy short barrel.
Review: A value priced paintball gun that will keep you in the game. You can really rely on it. There is one huge weakness though, it has the shortest barrel ever. If you buy a barrel then it is a really great gun. I bought it as a marker package and it only put me back $99. I went paintballing at an indoor course for around 5 1/2 hours. It wasnt non stop playing of course. Another thing that is good about this gun is that it uses very little co2. Great gun with a barrel upgrade.
Conclusion: Buy it with a barrel at the same time. Dont even try the barrel that comes with it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

John O. Alba Monday, January 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman A-5 and 98 Custom
All with 12 inch barrels
Marker Setup: Black Maxx with 13 inch System-X one piece ported barrel 0.689 bore. 12 oz CO2 bottle. Red dot adjustable sights
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely a new stiffer Hammer Spring and a 12 to 13 inch barrel.
Recommended Barrels: 12 inch Terminator by 32 degrees, 12 inch ACI Zero Gravity Barrel, Custom Products One Piece Barrel in 12 inch (not the Classic), System-X One pc 13 inch barrel. Also Replace all the O-ring
These are all in-expensive barrels under forty dollars. This will increase velocity, accuracy, and distance.
Strengths: Cheap, Polymer Plastic, Light, well Balanced, stylish, ergonomic. Easy field stripping . Flush cocking System. Accurate.
Weaknesses: Hammer spring is very weak.
Stock barrel needs to be replaced.
Review: I would recommend this marker to anyone new to the game or intermediate players.
The Plastic stock is well made and durable. For all you so called experts: Polymer plastic is a plus not a weakness. A lot of popular, well made, reliable, durable firearms (real guns) are made of Polymer. (Glock, HK, Colt, Smith & Wesson, Ruger, etc....). The M-16 is made with polymer. It is light and very durable.

The first thing one should do is replace the weak Hammer Spring with one that is much stiffer to give you better velocity and buy a quality in-expensive barrel. The stock barrel on any marker is crappy.

This marker has real sights you can actually use. I don't subscribe to point and pray, or point, shoot, and hope method of shooting. I believe in one shot-one kill. And you can replace the rear sights with laser sights or Red Dot Sights.

This marker has a lot of real good features. It's light and well balanced, has a flush cocking system, elliptic lock for no tool fieldstripping and the entire bolt, hammer and spring assembly easily slides out in one piece.

Just Remember to match the paintball to the barrel. I have very few if not any paintball breaks in my barrel, so the Black Maxx Paintball Marker is pretty reliable.
Conclusion: With the upgrades mentioned above, This Paintball Marker will perform just as well as any other Marker and may even out perform more expensive models and it's cheap. Just under fifty bucks. It's accurate with the barrel I have and lets face the truth, Paintballs aren't accurate. Remember It's 80 to 90 percent the player not the Paintball gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntballer3fun Friday, January 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Black Maxx
Heavy Spring
Icon Z Stock Barrel 12"
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Heavier Bolt spring
Strengths: Light weight, durable, balanced
Weaknesses: Barrel, Not enough velocity with stock spring, plastic bolt.
Review: Excellent marker. Well balanced, cheap, durable. Great marker for woodsball. To long of a trigger pull for speedball. Watch out when raising the velocity. You will break a lot of balls in the barrel. Definently need a longer barrel. The trigger frame is very comforterable. The safe is an awesome one hand flick of a finger. Very easy and fast to field strip the thing. about 2 seconds.
Conclusion: Great beginner or intermediate marker. Get it. Great for $50.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

matt 13 Sunday, January 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
eradicador spyder victor
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14" Thunderpig sniper barrel
GTA drop forward
Car Stock
Custom made bipod, and custom paint by me.
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: fast fire quiet looks killer light weight
Weaknesses: length (not long enough) poor accuracy needs new trigger frame
Review: i would say that this is an excellent beginner gun. if your new to paintball get it because it has a fast rate of fire. it already has a double finger trigger, and the barrel is ok. i would say that for a newbie this is perfect but for someone that is already into the sport then you wouldn't want it. i doesnt chop balls and it has fairly good co2 effeciency. better buy one quick. plus it is very easy to make look cool with just some paint is certain areas.
Conclusion: buy it. its fast and fairly accurate. if your new buy it. you can get them at most k-marts for about 50-60 dollars. cheap effecient and killer looks
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shutter_guy Sunday, December 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Various spyders, both mech. and electronic-better than this
Orracle Autococker- no comparison
Marker Setup: Black Orracle Autococker
ACI Bulldog 3 68/4500 w/JT Tank Cover
Y-board Evlution II
Psycho Ballistics Bullet drop w/ on/off
NWPP QD Block
14" .689 Kaner Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: Snappy trigger
flush cocking system
Weaknesses: Leaked
loud
Review: My friend bought this marker. He had a problem with it so he let me take it home to fix it. I fixed his problem (which was his own fault and not the markers; he screwed in the spare air adapter too tight and couldn't get it off) and aired it up to see what it could do. I quickly hear that infamous PPSSSSSSSSSSS sound coming from the asa. No matter what I did I could not get rid of that lead. I tried teflon tape in both small and huge amounts. I tried about 4 different tank o-rings. I tried putting an oring into the asa before screwing it in. The only fix would be a new asa, and for a $50 marker I don't know if it would be worth it. However, NW Paintball Products makes something that might help. Can't remember what it's called.
Conclusion: My friend's leaky asa seems to be an uncommon problem. It looks like most of the other people here have not had problems. Its a solid marker and it has a nice trigger pull (nowhere near an autococker or electronic anything, but for a $50 marker it's pretty snappy). Because the leaking seems to be an isolated incidence, I will only take off one point for that. It gets a 7.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

baserunner77 Friday, December 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom much better and more durable
Marker Setup: 98 custom, 16'' Tru flight QB, GTA expantion chamber, GTA double trigger, cabelas red dot scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
anything you can find
Strengths: -Cheap
-Light weight
Weaknesses: -Short range
-Not durable
-Bad stock barrel
-Leaks
Review: When I first got this it was my first gun and I just got into paint balling so I was caught up in the thrill. When I went to play for the first time the Co2 hose was cracked where it met the plastic. during the time I played, it would only go 50 feet and even if it did hit someone it wouldn't break. After about 100 rounds it started to shoot 2 balls at a time and jammed every 3 balls. I found this marker to be an OK starters gun but even if your half serious get a better marker. I guess you get what you pay for because I only payed 50 bucks for it. Its a peace of junk, I would recomend using a blowgun before using this.
Conclusion: I recommend getting a new barrel right away and also any other upgrade you can find.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 6th, 2004 at 2:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

I EAT BABIES Sunday, December 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Avenger (sorta like it)
Marker Setup: Black Maxx w/ 14"Stingray barrel
2003 core zx pistol
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW BARREL
Strengths: its light
well balanced
great accuracy w/ new barrel
its easy to field strip
Weaknesses: stock barrel is crappy
Review: This is a great gun in for the money. its klight, accurate with a new barrel, and field strips in about 2 seconds. its really easy to care for, and i've never had a single problem with it. all i al, its a great gun and i love it, but if you have more mooney go with a tippman.
Conclusion: this is a great first gun because of its easy care and decent preformance. i've played with it for three years, and had no problems. the stock barrel could be alot better, but i used a 10 " barrel off of my avenger and it was fine.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

blonz Wednesday, December 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
well some entry level spyders
Recommended
Upgrades:
This is a entry level gun and not ment to be upgraded but a better barell would be nice
Strengths: cheap, reliable, light, easy field stripping, good sigths, powerfeed, spyder thread barell, invisible bolt movement
Weaknesses: accuracy but all guns with stock barrel are not that accurate, bolt is plastic
Review: Lot's of people are not fair when they give ratings for this marker, remember this is a entry level gun for under 50$ so you should it compare only with markers in the same price range. This gun has a very good ergonomic grip and the plastic doesn't feel cheap at all and it is one of the best field stripping mechanism I've seen so far. It actually has sights so can aim and the powerfeed doesn't obstract the sigth like all other guns do.
A friend of mine has this gun too and we have some of them in our club as rentals and no problem has occured so far.
Conclusion: It is a good gun for under 50$, it is for newb's only or children. But you can buy a spyder for just 5 bucks more. If you don't like the vertical feed (like I do) and only play occasionally buy this gun otherwise buy a spyder.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cay199 Tuesday, December 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none like this
Marker Setup: semi-auto, co2, scope, 14 in. barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
upgrade the barrel
Strengths: pretty accurate, not lout, inexpensive, looks nice (too me anyway)
Weaknesses: the stock barrel, leaks only a little bit
Review: Overall, i like this gun. Its my favorite out of all the cheap (under 120$) ones ive used. Reccomended for begginers. Its pretty accurate at a close range, but dosnt shoot very far. On the other hand, it is good for cleaning out wasp nests (thats pretty fun). Buy it, its cheap, but so are alot of other guns.

oh, yea, its plastic, but that dosnt really bother me, it just makes the gun lighter
Conclusion: I would buy this gun if you were a beginer, but only that, not very good at speed-ball, only rec. Conclusion, umm, buy it, its cheap, its worth it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

invisible grunt Thursday, November 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
various PMI and Piranha guns
Marker Setup: i use a phantom stock class now
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: CHEap
lightweight
Weaknesses: inaccurate
Review: This gun is really light weight and has a light trigger pull. The gun can be found for like $40 and is well worth it. It is very durable for a cheap gun. It has a great safty where you can pull the trigger all the way back without the risk of an accidental fire. The gun is incredibly easy to field strip and clean in field. The only problem with this gun is the accuracy, but it is still a good gun for beginers.
Conclusion: If you are a beginer or just looking for an extra gun. It is very light weight and easy to use.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (22):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media