paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Black Maxx / PMI Black Maxx / PMI Black Maxx / PMI Black Maxx

PMI Black Maxx Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Black Maxx

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Black Maxx
[ View Photos (13) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 212
Average Rating: 7.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Black Maxx takes advantage of the latest hi tech materials. This marker is made almost entirely of a custom aerospace polymer. Although from just a few feet away you cant tell its not metal, but in your hand you can tell it is not your basic plastic. This marker comes stock with many high end features found on tournament proven markers. First it has a very comfortable .45 double trigger frame, and the trigger pull is a very light and short 2 1/2lbs. The rotary safety lock witch is conveniently located for one handed operation, actually disengages the trigger. The adjustable sight suites it purposes well, but it also comes with a standard sight rail to upgrade.The rotary switch at the back end of theTrracer s/a releases the elliptic lock that lets you field strip without tools. This allows you to pull out the bolt and hammer assembly in one piece, very handy on the field. Speaking of the bolt it has a flush cocking design, this is the hottest new feature in bolt designs.Barrel is ported at the end.
Product Availability 
The PMI Black Maxx is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (22):  First  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  Last
        Next Page
Akoto Wednesday, November 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: 2003 outcast
14" progressive
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel, definitly.
Strengths: quite light, cheap, looks ok, bolt stays inside gun ( i personaly like that)
Weaknesses: lousy acuracy, loud, mine leaks out the top of the gas line
Review: its a good beginners gun if you dont wana spend alot of money. i got this gun and used it for a bit (my first real gun other then the ghost talon). i then went to an outdoor place (flag raiders) and was totaly dominated by everyone there. i quicky upgraded and got my outcast which is obviously much better.
Conclusion: i like it much better then the marauder which some of my friends have because its smoother and the bolt stays inside. if you do decide to get it, get a new barrel. the balls fall dead after 50 ft or so. i reccommend that you don't get this if your going to be playing more then occasionally and just get the tippman 98 for a bit more.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

davis4364749 Thursday, October 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
now i have a tippmann 98c...a different kind of gun, heavier, durable, more comfortable and all around better
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom, stock barrel, 90z co2, im getting a dye excel pretty soon
Recommended
Upgrades:
are there any? maybe a longer barrel
Strengths: very light, cheap, ok stock barrel.
Weaknesses: not alot of upgrades, needs a new spring, plastic...
Review: I bought this gun as a package before i went paintballing for my first time, it comes with an xray goggle system, squeegee, and barrel plug, pretty basic... it worked really well, you have to oil it every so often...i used super lube...it holds up pretty well and its a fun gun to mess around with
Conclusion: if your dirt cheap like me and a beginner id reccomend this gun, its better than raptors and marauders...but if you wanna stick in the sport save up and buy an xtra or a tippman 98 c
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mackl Sunday, October 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder (several models), Pirahna (several models), Bruizers, Rebels, Jokers, GT 2000, Avalon markers.
Marker Setup: Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Low cost, rate of fire, light weight, good balance.
Weaknesses: Bolt breakage, poor inside finish on barrels.
Review: Bought 5 for use as loaners for our paintball club, general operation good but would break paint unless fed with some of the costlier brands. After 2 seasons of play, 4 of the 5 have broken bolts. I haven't tried to get parts from PMI yet, but I suspect they will be available.

If you do buy or have one of these you MUST keep it cleaned and lubed to ensure that it will last past the 6 month warranty period.
Conclusion: Given the low cost of metal markers (Spyder Victor and Aggressor) I would steer clear of the Black Maxx unless you need to use them for a week or so.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

danpuls Wednesday, September 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra
Marker Setup: PMI Black Maxx
12" 32 Degrees Quiet Riot
20 oz CO2
Red Dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
-New barrel (not too long or the velocity will be close to nothing)
-New spring
Strengths: -Good for plastic
- Stock Barrel OK
-Doesn't chop many balls
-good w/sight
Weaknesses: -Low velocity
- needs frequent repairs
-hard to find replacement parts
-CO2 usage is bad
-PLASTIC
Review: Overall, a decent first marker. I had my gun for a year and it needed about 3 repairs. I recommend to spend a little more than $50 and buy a spyder xtra for $75. It has great velocity and is very upgradeable (and it is made of metal).BBBBBBBBB LLLLLLL AAAAAAAAA CCCCC KKKKKKKK MMMMMMMMMM AAAAAAAA XXXXXXXXXX
Conclusion: Like I said above, spend $25 more and buy a better beginner gun.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

krajoz Saturday, September 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Many Blowbacks
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Hpa
Hopper
not very many upgrades
Strengths: -very light gun
-light trigger pull
-pretty realiable
-quick strips easily
-slush cocking
Weaknesses: -plastic
-stock barrel sucks
-no foregrip
Review: The PMI Black Maxx is a very good beginner gun in my eyes. The gun is spuer light and has a very nice trigger pull. Also like piranahs u can easily take apart the gun easily without tools or pins. Another cool feature of this gun is the flush cocking system. This means no moving parts on the outside of your gun. The bad things about this gun is that it is made of plastic and the stock barrel isnt too hot. Some people say the internals fall apart but i have never had this problem and the plastic seems very strong. The stock barrel isnt horrible but I would recommend that you get a new one.
Conclusion: Overall this gun is a great product from PMI. this is a great cheap gun to start off with and i would recommend it. It gets an 8 due to the fact that it is still plastic and its not very upgradable
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cpt.Dan Tuesday, September 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
NONE
Marker Setup: Brass Eagle Samurai, Spyder Sonix, PMI Black Maxx
Recommended
Upgrades:
Replace O-rings on bolt cause the stock ones tore up fast even with Lube.
Strengths: Ummmm...Accurate, Good speed, Decent Gun For Its Price
Weaknesses: Stock o-rings suck on the bolt they tare quick. Get stiffer spring
Review: Over all this gun is a decent gun for new players getting into the sport like myself. Its sturdy look is great made of some realy good plastic Aerospace polymer is the material. This is a pretty good gun for the field. I strongly recommend chaging the o-rings on the bolt and lubricating it the most..I would also recommend getting a stirdier spring for more velocity if you want!
Conclusion: Overall its a decent gun for a first time player its overall performance is good! I would recomend this gun to anyone that has a budget limit and only wants to have fun in the field..
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KING ZOTH Tuesday, August 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Electra Dl,Spyder Compact,Spyder Flash LCD,Spyder Xtra
Marker Setup: PMI Blackmaxx,it has no accesories.
Recommended
Upgrades:
It has no upgrades.
Strengths: Cheap and low maitence.Dose'nt chop balls.
Weaknesses: Its range sucks,accuracy sucks,its plastic,and it overall pretty much just sucks.
Review: I got this gun as my first paintball gun and right away i didn't like it because compared to other guns on the field,this gun was too bad of range to reach and too bad of accuracy.Its cheap but i would suggest other entry level markers for beginners.The only real good thing about it is that it hardly ever chops balls and it dose'nt jam either.
Conclusion: Don't buy it unless you are short for money.It has a good price but thats about it.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 19th, 2003 at 1:38 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shiro4200 Tuesday, August 12th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: In the process of buying new gun
Recommended
Upgrades:
uhh
Strengths: It is a good beginner gun
Weaknesses: The sear always has problems..
Review: This gun is OK for a beginner, the sear always has problems the bolt sticks the trigger on mine is just stupid it get stuck, It looks bad but that doesnt really matter the barrel is louder than a donkey, yes a donkey. I dont really like the feel to it, Its impossible to add a drop forward, I dont know if you could add a reg, If you did, it would be a waste, All the allen wrench screws all strip with the slightest turn of the allen wrench, there is nothin you can upgrade except the barrel, the springs and the orings, and those are more accessories over upgrades, I might have gotten a bad lemon, But i doubt it seeing as how my friends has the excact same problems...
Conclusion: Good gun for someone just gettin in the sport, but its just not reliable enough for my likings, get a talon, they never have problems and you can upgrade talons...Ok gun, not my favorite, but not my least favori..wait yea it is..
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Sniper#56 Sunday, August 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
dont know really
Marker Setup: 98 Custom 14' Dye Excell double trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
its really hard to find upgrades for and its ok the way it is
Strengths: its very light cause its plastic but its a tough kind of plastic
Weaknesses: velocity and distence
Review: i dont have one my friend does we were playing in the woods one time, he was shooting at me and i noticed it didnt really get good distence but again great beginer gun im sur you can BUY A NEW BARREL FOR IT it has a built in 2x trigger though which is good
Conclusion: if you have the money buy a 98 custom heavier but better but still the black maxx is a good gun
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 10th, 2003 at 10:24 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sharptapp Sunday, August 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Marauder (tested)=(total crap)
Marker Setup: a-5 rt
minimag
F1
BKO
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better barrel (Lapco or Taso)
Strengths: light weight
quick strip
simple operation
Weaknesses: only reasonable upgrade is a new barrel
Review: Got one in a trade. Played with it in the yard, sold for $40
Good beginners gun, won't shoot over 250 fps on stock spring. I made a spacer (5/16 inch) to go behind the spring, pushed it up to 285 fps. Barrel is spyder threaded so there are a lot of barrels new and used to choose from. This a much better gun than a BE Marauder or Eradicator (I have worked on too many of these). PMI has much better quality control. Much smother trigger pull and a better grip frame, less recoil. This is a good choice for the casual non competetion player. The asa is molded into the grip and the hinged body will not alow a reg or expasion chamber.
Conclusion: better than average for it's price .... who ever got mine for $40 got a good deal.
Not upgradeable .... good BAsic gun.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (22):  First  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media