paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Black Maxx / PMI Black Maxx / PMI Black Maxx / PMI Black Maxx

PMI Black Maxx Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Black Maxx

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Black Maxx
[ View Photos (13) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 212
Average Rating: 7.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Black Maxx takes advantage of the latest hi tech materials. This marker is made almost entirely of a custom aerospace polymer. Although from just a few feet away you cant tell its not metal, but in your hand you can tell it is not your basic plastic. This marker comes stock with many high end features found on tournament proven markers. First it has a very comfortable .45 double trigger frame, and the trigger pull is a very light and short 2 1/2lbs. The rotary safety lock witch is conveniently located for one handed operation, actually disengages the trigger. The adjustable sight suites it purposes well, but it also comes with a standard sight rail to upgrade.The rotary switch at the back end of theTrracer s/a releases the elliptic lock that lets you field strip without tools. This allows you to pull out the bolt and hammer assembly in one piece, very handy on the field. Speaking of the bolt it has a flush cocking design, this is the hottest new feature in bolt designs.Barrel is ported at the end.
Product Availability 
The PMI Black Maxx is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (22):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
paintballer2142 Friday, December 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
pirhana r6
Marker Setup: ---------------------------------------------------
blackmaxx---- stock
20 oz co2 and 9 oz co2 tanks
extreme rage gravity feed hopper
extreme rage 20/20 goggles
vl harness and pods

In the summer I might get a spyder victor
Recommended
Upgrades:
a bigger tank, mine eats too much co2 for a 9 oz, it's good for a backup though
possibly a longer barel, but mine is quite fine for all my shots, anywhere from 10 feet to 150 feet
Strengths: Wont break
Strong plastic
Fairly good woodsball gun, the gun dosent shine in the sun
Weaknesses: Freezes up during long strings of rapid fire without lube/oil
Eats co2
Review: I find the Blackmaxx a good gun, it dosent glare in the sun, which is good for a woodsballer. It's like every gun, it needs to be looked after, I found that I had to cock mine every shot without lube. I find Brass Eagle liquid fire works best in my gun, yeah I know Brass Eagle turns you off right away but it does the trick in mine. The bps is farily good too, with probally 8-10 bps.
Conclusion: I would rate this gun for 9, it has fairly good accuracy with the stock 9 inch barel and the is really no down side besides sometimes it frezes up and eats co2

ld rate this gun for 9, it had fairly good accuracy with a 9 inch barel and the is really no downside besides sometimes it freezes up and eats co2
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

woods2speed Saturday, June 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
vl triton, vl triad, spyder sonix
Marker Setup: black maxx and vl triton no upgrades
Recommended
Upgrades:
Best used with elbow and 200 rd. hopper
Strengths: Very good for its price great barrrel inside mechanics spring,hammer ect. are geat
Weaknesses: Loud.
Review: Very good for its price great barrrel inside mechanics spring,hammer ect. are geat very very easy to clean great gun for a beginer. Great gun to start with in the sport great for woodsball, tactical gun with good adjustable sights, lightweight the black finish does'nt reflect light.simble and easy to use very good gun for such a low price. anyone can use this gun with very little to no problems at all
Conclusion: Great gun for beginers,great gun for woodsball, lightweight, accrurate, does'nt chop or jam a lot unlike most low end markers, very very easy to clean.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bedfordraider Tuesday, May 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL TRITON
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel, hopper, elbow and maybe a new mask
Strengths: Light wight, Trigger is easy to pull, Cheap (not expensive),
Weaknesses: Freezes up during long strings of rapid fire, the stock barrel is loud
Review: I got my PMI Black Maxx for christmas and almost instandly went out side to play, i was out for about.... 20 mins by the time i went in the marker was frosted adn the elbow the broken. But i think it is a very good gun for begginers, i like the trigger its easy to pull.
Conclusion: It was my first marker
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Changstur Sunday, May 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Mech Spyders
mech pirannas
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine '05
Black Warrior clamping feedneck
Shocktech trigger
Core Derlin Bolt
Checkit speedy dropforward
Evil Detonator
Smart Parts Progressive 14" barrel
Evlution 3 hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Electric hopper
HPA Tank
Strengths: Cheappp
Low kick back
Light trigger for a mech
Weaknesses: freezes up
you Will get made fun of if you show up at a tourney.
Review: Wow first off I had one of these a while back and bought one off of my friend last week.
I forgot how fun these guns really are.
Completely stock, this gun is crap, but today I threw on my Proggressive barrel, and HPA tank and...quite frankly....I loved it
The gun was incredibly light, quite, and accurate.(light compared to all guns,quite compared to mech spyders,accurate compared to all guns.)
The best part is you dont need to care what you do to this gun its so inexpensive.

I'm planing on trying to fit an evil detonator on this baby, that'd be crazy.
Conclusion: If you can get it for 35$ good deal.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

cpt_crunch Sunday, May 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder sonix
Marker Setup: stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Gun
Strengths: Very easy to strip
Weaknesses: Made of plastic
O-rings all expanded
Low ROF
Hard to upgrade
Review: I got this gun for $60 bucks, the stuff it came with was great but the marker was horrible. the gun was one handle (annoys me) it was plastic, it had to upgrades. the marker took spyder barrels which was nice and it was incredibly easy to strip these are its only pluses. the bolt had four o rings, all of which needed to be replaced within 3 or 4 games. I never chopped paint because it fired so slow. the threading for the tank and the barrel dont end so you can never tell if its in tight. the trigger can stil be pulled all the way back if the safety is on, you have no idea how many times i started to shoot only to realize no balls were coming out. The barrel is junk, throw it out. Oh and another thing, im not sure if this was it or me but my feed elbow snapped in two.
Conclusion: The gun was horrible but it was cheap and it came with great stuff, so it wasnt a total waste
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 20th, 2007 at 1:16 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Filboyt Wednesday, May 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pirahna (original - Fully hopped up +18" barrel, co2)
Pirahna R6 (same Upgrades, 16" barrel)
Tippman Pro Lite
used a various handfull of spyders and tipman products.
Marker Setup: Currently Pirahna's and about everything that can be added. all CO2 powered.
also have tipman pro lite (stock)
Recommended
Upgrades:
First and Foremost, A stronger spring and a barrel at least in the 12 - 16 inch range.
Strengths: CHEAP $$
Strong plastic / polymer body
EXELLENT Take Down
Flush Cocking
Weaknesses: Could have came with spring selection
Spare O-Rings.
limited upgrades unless you "modify"
Review: I bought this Gun just for its unique features, I love the 1 button field strip,
Not big on the double triggers so i used a dremmel to modify it to single trigger.
as stated many many times here, the stock barrel is crap, and louder than most guns could ever be. and the spring it comes with is weak.

However, this Gun with a nice spring, and possibly a shim just for added FPS, Mixed with a good barrel of your choosing, can be an excellent marker, and rival guns over 3x the cost after upgrades. ive only had the SUPER CHEAP balls break on occasion, And have never had a ball chop in all the matches ive had (i use gravity hoppers, not electric feed). but when the ball breaks and the barrel needs cleaned (NO GUN can EVER avoid this) the field strip is a flip of a switch, and literally saves you as with all pirahna's.
this gun is lightweight, so in long matches / hunts your arms wont tire and you can easily maneuver around. its also durable and wont break as easy as people say (take care of your equipment, and it takes care of you).
Conclusion: For the over-all, i preffer this over every spyder ive ever used. and for the price its great, not only as a beginner gun for those new to the game. its also a good back up / spare gun. everyone sees what it is, and expects you to lose, only until you take them out a round or 2 at their own range or farther.
i rate it 8 for what it is, and can do for its price range, but should you be inclined against it, go pawn shop hunting for a pirahna in the 40 - 80 range.
With a 4-6" barrel its a backyard blast!
Just remember, Dont rely on equipment for skill !
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

giltyfrontman Friday, April 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing this bad
Marker Setup: All stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW MARKER
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: See review
Review: When I used it the first time I used this gun, my friend loaded it with paint and Co2 (new gun) he took a cuple of shots at a box in his backyard. I wasn't really paying much attention to the shots, but then he let me try it out...

NOTE: THE BOX HAD LIKE A HUGE T.V. IN IT AND WAS REALLY BIG

I just picked it up and shot at the box, yes I was aiming right in the center of the box and no I am not a noob with bad aim. I shot and what happend a ball rolled out not even going half way across the yard (small backyard) and the volocity was on max.

I aimed again at the center of the box and it went over the fence hitting my friends neibors house! As I shot and my friend shot the volocity was jumping every time.

The gun is also very unaccerate, one of the shots (friend shooting at the middle of the box) went over the fence over the other fence and landed in my backyard!

I used it again a few weeks later and the same thing was happening so it was not just an out of the box kind of thing. After that day sometime the gun just opened up and the bolt and everything came right out.

I couldn't beleive it... the bolt... was... a peice of cheap plastic! The bolt was terrible.

I HAVE USED THIS GUN MORE THAN STATED IN REVIEW.
Conclusion: This is a terrible marker. You might want it becasue of the price but do something like buy a Tippmann like me. The Tippmann 98c is really reliable and accurate, I mean come on A PLASTIC BOLT!
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 18th, 2007 at 1:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

blah.blah.blah Monday, March 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing
Marker Setup: Just what it came, i recommend getting a new barrel, though.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel and bolt O-rings.
Strengths: Inexpensive, low-maintenance. Good accuracy.
Weaknesses: Makes you look like a noob at tournaments. Poor power.
Review: All in all, a good starter gun. It was my first and now I have three. I want to get a new gun, one that makes me look more preoffesional but it still gets the job done. A few months after getting it, it stopped working for some reason. The bolt went forwrd really slowly and paintballs wouldn't come out. I lubed it over and over but it didn't help. So I went to the store and picked up some Brass Eagle Bol O-Rings and replaced the ones ot came with, lubed it once once more, and it's been working perfectly ever since. However I was at a paintball tournanet at Wasaga beach the other day (for those who were at Frosty's Revenge 2 I salute you) and I noticed how inferior the gun was to others. The power couldn't get the balls to reach most of my opponents, so I had to get up pretty close and shoot as fast as I could. The accuracy is nice though. Overly a good beginner gun.
Conclusion: Good for beginners but if you've been playing for awhile, I recommend something more proffesional. And if you do buy one, you should get a better, longer barrel and you may want to purchase some new O-rings, just in case. :)
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Consfearacy Tuesday, December 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha R6 (stock), Spyder Rodeo, Sonix, Pilot ACS, Imagine
Marker Setup: PMI Black Maxx - 12" J&J Ceramic Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely a new barrel. I suggest a J&J Ceramic Barrel a length of no longer than 14". If you have the extra money, use an N2 tank for better performance. Possibly new internals, but that really doesn't matter, because they're good already.
Strengths: Aesthetics, Extremely light, Read review.
Weaknesses: Recoil, Read review.
Review: Okay, I got this gun as a backup for my A5. I never expected 37 dollars for a gun to be so good. I bought a 12" J&J Ceramic barrel just because it's basically the best barrel under 50 dollars. I took it out of its case, hooked up my air to it and off I went to test it. I was satisfied. I was hitting the stop sign with ease from about 100 feet away with every shot. I first used the stock barrel with it, and it was loud and not as accurate as the J&J barrel. This gun is very, very light. Almost everything on it is plastic.

I am going to rate some things out of 10 about the PMI Black Maxx.

Accuracy ~ 9
The accuracy is great on this gun, but you must get an aftermarket barrel, because the stock one is trash. It gets a 9 because you got to remember that this is a 37 dollar gun. Of course it can't be an A-5.

Weight ~ 10
Definitely one of the lightest guns I have ever held. It's less than 2 lbs. When you have your CO2 tank on, the gun's weight seems to be imbalanced, but that's not much of a problem.

Noise ~ 8.5
With the stock, this gun can be pretty loud, but I have definitely heard worse. When you use a J&J Ceramic, the sound is greatly suppressed, but yet again, I've heard better.

Performance ~ 9
Oh yeah, this gun worked out great for a day of paintball. Out of 500 paintballs, I chopped about 2 and I have my gun set at 250 FPS. The Black Maxx was firing around 11 bps and was not curving at all, I am satisfied. There was only one thing that wasn't a big problem, it sounded different when I shot rapid-fire, almost like it was shooting liquid, but I found out that it wasn't, so that wasn't a problem.

Overall ~ 9
The only problems you will get from this gun are recoil that rattles your hopper when you shoot. Also, this gun feels fragile just a bit, but that isn't a problem, because the plastic frame of the gun is very durable and can take a beating from a hammer, so I've heard. If you've ever tested out a Piranha R6, it's basically the same thing as the Black Maxx.
Conclusion: I definitely recommend this gun on 3 accounts:

It's the perfect gun for someone starting out on paintball.
It's easily the best gun under 100 dollars.
Excellent as a backup gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Marksman_Cha Tuesday, December 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Smart Parts Ion
Kingman Spyder Pilot ACS
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
New O-Rings
HP Air
Strengths: Double Trigger
Light
Compact
Cheap
Weaknesses: Plastic Trigger
Barrel
Troublesome
Bad Quality
Review: Strengths

- This marker is cheap.
- Has a double trigger.
- Has .45 Degree trigger frame.
- It's light and compact

Weaknesses

- CHEAP, although the price is really cheap, so is the marker, it is the worst marker I've ever used.
- The double trigger is cheap and made of plastic.
- Marker cannot be upgraded.
- Stock barrel is really messed up.
- Does not have a regulator
- Stock o-rings are made of bad quality materials and break easliy, they are hard to find.
- Constant problems concerning chrono and breaking paint.
Conclusion: Don't buy it, just save your money and buy something better.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (22):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media