paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Black Maxx / PMI Black Maxx / PMI Black Maxx / PMI Black Maxx

PMI Black Maxx Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Black Maxx

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Black Maxx
[ View Photos (13) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 212
Average Rating: 7.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Black Maxx takes advantage of the latest hi tech materials. This marker is made almost entirely of a custom aerospace polymer. Although from just a few feet away you cant tell its not metal, but in your hand you can tell it is not your basic plastic. This marker comes stock with many high end features found on tournament proven markers. First it has a very comfortable .45 double trigger frame, and the trigger pull is a very light and short 2 1/2lbs. The rotary safety lock witch is conveniently located for one handed operation, actually disengages the trigger. The adjustable sight suites it purposes well, but it also comes with a standard sight rail to upgrade.The rotary switch at the back end of theTrracer s/a releases the elliptic lock that lets you field strip without tools. This allows you to pull out the bolt and hammer assembly in one piece, very handy on the field. Speaking of the bolt it has a flush cocking design, this is the hottest new feature in bolt designs.Barrel is ported at the end.
Product Availability 
The PMI Black Maxx is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (22):  First  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22
        Next Page
Eightball Thursday, December 27th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL
Marker Setup: Spyder TL, 16" 32 Degrees Sniper Barrel, New Expansion Chamber, Taso Sight, and Med Blue custom Anodize
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel and springs
Strengths: This gun is great for the price and i don't know why some people is giving this a 4 and below. Yeah the gun will have problems or just that gun has a bug in it. My brother has this gun and it's about as accerate as my spyder. The gun with a alumiunm 20oz tank full is the weight of my spyder alone. also I like the grip and has extreamly light tigger pull. And to all the people that say that this gun is plastic and sucks well what do you think glocks and some other handguns are made out of that's why glocks could be dumped in water then pulled out and still fire.
Weaknesses: Range so you should get some springs their cheap and Sound but everone gets upgrads their barrel i pefer a Smart Parts barrel
Conclusion: If i didn't have a spyder before hand i would of gotten this gun good for a begginer and good for the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, December 24th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98, piranaha g3, and a spyder compact
Marker Setup: stock with a new 12'' barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel deffinatly
Strengths: this is a great gun. i have not had to work on it at tourneys or at the house . it will chop a ball at times but keep in mind what kinda balls you use. a new barrel is really all you need to do maybe get a stiffer spring. oh and it is the littest gun out there that works.
Weaknesses: not anyhting for a beginner like myself.....if you are a big bag of money and have and angel lcd you would hate it but hell with you pricks....i like it
Conclusion: it is a great gun no mater how long you have been playing ....yea even the guys that are ''professionals'' . i would laugh if you all got shot the hell up by it .
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, December 10th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've used a Stingray and I have some experience with some Pirannahs and most Spyders.
Marker Setup: I have a Black Maxx with a Spring Kit and a new barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recomend a new barrel for sure, a stiffer spring, and possibly an expansion chamber if i can find one even though it isn't completely necessary.
Strengths: This gun is just all-around good. It is lightweight because of the plastic yet still strong. With a new barrel it is just as accurate as most of the $100 - $200 guns. With a new spring it can match most of the more expensive guns but it can't seen to reach over 160 - 170 FPS. And all this in an extremely light and EXTREMELY affordable gun. I play with people with Shutters, Xtras, and SE's and I manage to hold my ground quite well if I were to say so myself.
Weaknesses: Like i said it shoots lightly and doesn't have a good barrel stocked. but those can be fixed for under $30. Not anything else I can say bad about it.
Conclusion: The Black Maxx is one of the best guns you can buy at it's price or even higher. It provides a challenge for PMI's own Pirannah Series. If you are looking for a good gun to begin with or even if you've been playing, take a look into it. Most people label it as a beginner marker. If I'd payed $150 - $250 and this was just as good, I'd say the same thing.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, December 7th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle blade and brass eagle avenger
Marker Setup: currently i have just the basic stuff on it with a 200 round hopper and 9 oz. tank

upgrades i would like to get a razor barrel and maybe a stock on the end of it
Recommended
Upgrades:
stock and maybe a razor barrel, even though this barrel is really good for a cheap semi-auto gun
Strengths: the best thing about this gun is that it has a good barrel for close range shooting and it is pretty light as well
Weaknesses: the bad things about this gun is that it is black, because when it is hot the paintballs break; i have a black gun, hopper, and tank so it attracts heat really well, do not get a black hopper. also the aluminum barrel on it sucks for long distance shooting, make sure you get a better barrel
Conclusion: I think for 100 dollars this is the best gun you can buy, not only is it cheap and light weight, is a great quality gun because it is made by pmi
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, November 18th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: PMI BlackMaxx with a Custom Products (CP) barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, I have a Custom Products barrel that works great with this gun!
Strengths: Inexpensive, great gun for the money, I haven't had any problems with it, balls never break, holds up extremely well, more than just a beginner gun.
Weaknesses: Bad stock barrel, some internal parts are plastic, thats it.
Conclusion: Its a good gun for the money and its not just for beginners, although it needs a new barrel.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, November 12th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stingray2
Marker Setup: Piranha sts g2 w/ smartparts progessive barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
I highly recommend a new barrel
Strengths: Easily field stripped
lightweight
inexpensive
reliable
Weaknesses: The barrel is unaccurate
The gun is a little shorter range than my piranha, but if you put in a stiffer sping, it will vastly improve your distance.
Conclusion: This gun is way better than a singray in my opinion.
This is the best gun you can get for $65. Period!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, October 25th, 2001
 
0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: cheap, light, small, and easy to dissasemble
Weaknesses: -Its FPS wont seem to go past 160
-It breaks paint like no ones business
-Loud
-barrel not accurate
-gun recalled cuz it explodes
-stock sight not very adjustable
Conclusion: For the price this gun is pretty good, although the barrel is horrid at best. This is definitely a gun you should shoot before you play with it, to get used to the ball drop off.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, September 8th, 2001
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: its black and it gets no reflection from the sun
light unless you have a 20oz on it
very quiet
friends like it
Weaknesses: heavy with 20oz
leaks with 20oz and up because it doesn't have a expansion chamber
Conclusion: overall good gun and has never broken on me in about a year and a half
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, August 15th, 2001
Strengths: Light weight
Shoots good and hard
Easy to adjust the velocity with allen wrench
Super easy diassembly
Has held up very well being it's plastic (of coarse its only had about 800 balls through it)
Weaknesses: Should be priced about $45.
Conclusion: I would buy more of these to lend out to the company when the come over to play if they were a little cheaper.

It is the best gun at this price however.

Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, August 4th, 2001
Strengths: -Cheap
-Takes Spyder Barrels
-Shoots BE paint with no breaks
-Decent Rate of Fire
-Light
-Easy to strip
Weaknesses: -Plastic internals
-Mine won't shoot on anyhting smaller than a 12 oz tank, don't know why
-One of the O-rings on the bolt comes off a lot, not hard to fix but a pain in the middle of a game
-Sometimes it just refuses to shoot
-Stock Barrels mediocre at best

Conclusion: Not too bad of a gun. Good price, good when it works. I've had a lot of problems with mine, but it could be just mine. Just about even with a spyder compact, better than most for it's price.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (22):  First  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media