paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Coiled Remote / PMI Coiled Remote / PMI Coiled Remote / PMI Coiled Remote

PMI Coiled Remote Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Coiled Remote

Paintball Remotes

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Coiled Remote
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 58
Average Rating: 7.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features quick disconnect for easy installation and removal.
Product Availability 
The PMI Coiled Remote is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
matt_conti Wednesday, August 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
The air tank on the gun?
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom ACT
smart parts progressive 14 inch barrel
200 ball hopper
20 ounze C02 tank
BSA RD30CP red dot scope
NXe 4+1 harness
PMI remote line
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Strengths

it didnt get tangled up when i played
easy to use (dummy proof)
made the gun alot lighter so i could run while playing

weaknesses

it broke when i fell down..... yeah it leaked every where and the quick disconect also didnt work
------------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------

ok well i loved this thing while it was working. i couldnt complain. i was getting at least 2 more kills a game. problem is, i fell on my back one game, and it completly broke on me. im gonna go back to where i got it to see what i should to about it.
Conclusion: Well all in all it was an amazing remote. ill give it a 10 for preformance..... but a 7 for durability... so i ges it deserves an 8
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

johnjohn126 Friday, June 2nd, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none but i bet any are better then this
Marker Setup: SpYder Pilot '05/Rocking Trigger/Blue Halo B w/drive/32 degrees exp chamber/shocktech feedneck/J&J Ceramics Barrel/Pure Energy Remote/Pure Energy 20oz Co2:(
Strengths: Quick Discconect Pin,screw on cap,long
Weaknesses: O-rings Blow out+shred,Can get tangled,Very loud
Review: Okay i bought a remote thinking it was a "great" idea, it was but unfortunately it was completely obliterarated after the first game i used it -.-, so wasting 32 bucks it sucked DO NOT GET IT, i warn you,it was mostly all the o-rings but i tried to put some new ones, it still leaks out and since there are a million o rings and they all look shredded there are pretty much located all the same spot, so i cant figure out how to repair it., pretty lame
Conclusion: This Product Sucks? i only got it because i usually trust PMI but this is prolly a mediocre remote.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ezo Wednesday, May 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Micro line remote, steel braid remote
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ flatline, PMI 68/4500 HPA and remote line, Q-loader, Superfly Front Bolt, LPA kit, Palmer Stabilizer Regulator, Macroline Kit, Tapco SAW Stock, Weaver Top Rail
Strengths: Nice big hose, solid, works well

edit: Doesn't work well
Weaknesses: Slide check leaks
Line ruptured
Review: I have actually owned two of these lines. The first ones slide check began to leak so bad I took it back to the proshop and the owner gave me a new one. Problem was, as many others have stated that started to leak too. After about a week of frustration I went back to the shop and they gave me a simple on/off valve that I could install. Now it works perfectly, never leaks and allows me to run remote flawlessly.

Edit: After a season and a half of use, my PMI coiled remote line developed a leak that turned into a ruptured line rendering the remote useless. Adjusting rating to reflect problem.
Conclusion: The line is great, the slide check is teh suck.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 1st, 2007 at 8:28 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LONG_SHOT Wednesday, May 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A5 ASA
Marker Setup: A5
Smart Parts Proggressive 16" barrel
PMI coiled remote w/slide check
20 oz CO2
NXE 4+1 harness
Strengths: Takes the tank off gun
No leaks
Quick disconnect very handy, helps protecting tank Orings
Weaknesses: Not too flexible (needs breaking in)
Tangles from time to time
Review: I had wanted to get the tank off my gun for a while, so i decided to go remote, and since this remote was the only one my local shop carried, i figured i'd have to try it. Even though the $50 blind investment was a risky one, i took the chance and am happy i did.

THE GOOD: I found, first off, that my A5 is much lighter when the tank is taken off of it, which helps with accuracy and being able to move around the field. After playing about 4-5 full days of paintball, I have yet to find any leaks in the slide check, or anywhere else in the remote. Having the quick disconnect is very handy, since you can just turn it off between games to help conserve that little extra bit of air. It also helps protect the tank O-rings, since if you turn the disconnect off, then fire off the rest of the air in the gun, you can disconnect the tank from the remote without the air hissing and such. Lastly, and most importantly, it works consistently

THE BAD: Just a few minor things i noticed. One was that brand new, it is not too flexible. This can be fixed just by using it more often and by stretching it before you use it. One other minor thing is that it tends to get tangled as air flows through it, or get tangled to clothing and/or your harness. Both of these can be fixed by getting a remote cover which you can find at some stores.

EDIT!!!: Recently, i encountered a problem with this remote. The pin that is screwed in to the top of the tank got stuck, then the knob fell off. Now, i tryed to borrow my friends in a game, he has the same remote but no longer uses it. I couldn't because his was broken too. This seriously worries me about the quality of this product that 2 out of 2 don't work.
Conclusion: Edit: I originally gave this a 9, but problems were encountered after limited use, and the only other person i knew with this remote had a broken remote as well.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 10th, 2006 at 5:56 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FADE16174 Saturday, April 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Coil for the 98.
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra Stock.
Strengths: Very easy to use.
Weaknesses: None at the moment.
Review: This remote is by far the cheapest I've seen. It takes awhile getting used to though. Its recommended to get a harness like a 4+1 to hold it in. It's also very stretchable, if you dont want a harness, the chord will stretch enough to go in a backpack if your just playing a game for fun. Get it and you will Not regret it.
Conclusion: Its very easy to use after you get the hang of it. So get it!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Howlin' Mad Sunday, March 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
32 Degrees Coiled Remote - Close, no slide check
Marker Setup: Marker 1:
Tippmann 98 Custom
BT Designs APEX
Expansion Chamber
Adco IMP
Response Trigger
Shocktech Bolt
Black Dye Sticky Grips
BT Sealed Bolt System
Custom Paint job
Polished Internals
12 Volt Revy

Marker 2:
JT Acclerator W/E-Grip 3.5
14in. Smartparts Progressive
12 Volt Revy
48c.i. Pure Energy Nitro

Marker 3:
Black Smartparts Ion
Pure Energy 48 C.I. Tank
12 Volt Revy
Strengths: Slide Check
Balances Marker
Acts as an expansion chamber
Weaknesses: Shrinks when gassed up
Valve pin can fall out

Review: I love this remote. It really makes a difference in your marker's performance as it improves balance, and gives you an X-Chamber. However it does have its problems.

STRENGTHS:

+Slide Check
The slide check on this remote is really convenient. With it you can vent the gas in your marker and line and disconnect the hose from the marker. Then just loosen up the valve cap and disconnect your tank. I've never had it break or have any problems. It's a very convenient feature.

+Balances Marker
Without the added weight of a tank on the back of your marker its lighter so it's easier to run with, presents a lower profile and helps increase accuracy, due to the lighter weight.

+Acts as an expansion chamber
The remote line gives time for CO2 to expand on your marker. Coupled with an expansion chamber, you'll never have CO2 problems again.

WEAKNESSES:

-Shrinks when gassed up
Once you run CO2 through this, it shrinks and curls up. It'll stretch out some and still maintain flexibility. However it still is a lot shorter with gas in it than without gas.

-Valve pin can fall out
Once when I loosened the valve the pin just fell out into the dirt. Also the valve cap can seize up if used W/CO2 in really cold weather.
Conclusion: I'd reccommend this product, but it does have its faults.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

rdcisneros3 Monday, February 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
32 Degrees Remote Coil - actually worked
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14" J&J Performance Ceramic Barrell
Response Trigger Kit
Double Trigger
Cyclone Feed System
APP Rubber Foregrip
Strengths: None. I couldn't get it to work.
Weaknesses: Didn't work right out of the package.
The On/Off switch was not working.
Review: Unfortunately, I never got to try this product out. It didn't work right out of the package. The On/Off swith was defective; it wouldn't suck air out of the tank and send it into the hose. I tried another remote line (32 Degrees) to see if the gun/tank was the problem and it worked.

I would be careful putting this on a CO2 tank. I had a fully functioning CO2 tank with no problems. I tried using the remote coil on it, saw that it didn't work, so decided to play with just the tank screwed directly into my ASA (air source adaptor). All of a sudden my functional tank would leak air like crazy and it turned out that the top had to be replaced. I'm not saying the remote coil messed it up, but coincidentally, it stopped working right after trying the coil.

All of this was done by a gun tech at the field I was playing at, and he's the one who determined that the On/Off switch was bad. So don't chalk this up as a newbie who couldn't get the product to work.
Conclusion: I'm not sure wether or not to recommend it. I, personally, won't buy another similar product from PMI just because of my bad experience. Brand new, out of the original packaging, it didn't work. Maybe some of you will have better luck. Also, I see from the other reviews here that everyone with a 98 Custom is giving it negative reviews, so if you have a 98C, be careful when buying this product.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

phantomoak Thursday, November 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS 05, PMI remote, HPA, Ricochet 2KX hopper (~12BPS to gun)
Strengths: Works
Weaknesses: Price
Review: I bought this remote as a way to avoid buying an HPAtank and having it filled. My Pilot shoots to fast to use CO2 direct (freezes the SH*Tout of my lead hand). This Remote works perfect. Never had a leak.

The on off and disconect work well.

When you first use it,it will seem stiff as all get out, but after a few games it will be a lot more easy to manage. The only problem I ever had would it would tangle when I first charged it to start a game. DUH, it is coiled, ANYTHING that has pressure added to a coil with twist...My solution was to flip my marker around 3 or 4 times...

Now that I use HPA, I dont need a coil for CO2, but it keeps my gun VERY light still.
Conclusion: I would buy it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DirtyDeeds Saturday, September 3rd, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 custom,
cyclone feed,
teardrop barrel,
response trigger,
vertical feed adaptor,
expansion chamber,
double trigger,
dye sticky grips,
DOD on/off drop froward.
Rocket Cock
Strengths: Works as a mini expansion chamber.
Weaknesses: Slide check, customer support.
Review: I purchased this product because my two friend wanted to go with remotes. I figures sure why not. First day out were all setting up, my buddy's line has a hiss, we check it over and the hiss was coming from the slide check. We fiddled with it for a second but the leaking continued. he decided to remove the coil from his tank. At first we figure oh well, he has bad luck. I try mine.... same problem. Air leaking everywhere from the slide check. We tried everything including some light oil hoping that would creat a better seal when we pushed the slide check forward. As it turned out only one of us used our remotes that day. back at the house while we were trying to figure out what was going on with our remotes. We tried our friends who's remote was working earlier. SAME PROBLEM. Now both my friends have removed the slide check from the rig and just use it straight.

As for me, mine sets on a shelf, I have no time for garbage.

By the way.. those other reviews early on in this thread that give a 10 must have been written by PMI employees. What a joke!
Conclusion: Without the slide check its not bad, but with the slide check this is the biggest waist of money around. Alot of people are also leaning this way. PMI must know there making a crappy product. i guess they just don't care.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

daddy dann123 Wednesday, August 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: tippmann A5, e-grip, red hot power tube, 18"intercepter ops gear barrel, raider handgaurd, raider raised rail, red dot sight, mag kit, 330 rond hopper, raider remote line, tactical car stock with raised cheek pad and padded butplate, front flipdomn weaver handle, 1.5L 5000psi air/nitro tank and 20oz co2.
Strengths: Takes so much weight of your gun.
Gives alot of moveability.
Very tuff.


Weaknesses: There are no weakness, this is a great product and makes alot of diffrence.
Review: i have been using this for about 4 weeks now and have had no problems. It takes so much weight off the gun and it gets rid of the big clumsy bottle on the end of your marker.
it is so tuff and heavy duty that it just ripps through bushes branches and bracken.
and if you don't want to you don't have to un screw anything. A bit stays on the marker and theres just a pull thing and it just slides on. The on and off valve works like a treat instead of turning the bottle just enough to fire the excess gas and then unscrew it, it takes of all that hassle.
Conclusion: i would recomend this product to anyone who wants a great weight to be liffted. Any serious scenario paintballer needs this. And to add to the above it makes it feel more like a real gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media