paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Freak Factory Impulse / Freak Factory Impulse / Freak Factory Impulse / Freak Factory Impulse

Freak Factory Impulse Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Freak Factory

Buy Freak Factory Impulse

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Freak Factory Impulse
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 28
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $895

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Long tear drop and ball mills down side, soft peel-away dwell and eye pot cover. Exclusive freak gas thru grip. Rounded ram, solenoid housing and grip frame.
Product Availability 
The Freak Factory Impulse is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
blaketrickey Saturday, April 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5 response trigger. WGP Karnivor 2005 .
Marker Setup: double trigger.
Pure energy N2 tank
Freak EVERYTHING

Recommended
Upgrades:
FREAK EVERYTHING
Strengths: Weight
Style
Acurracy
Affordability
Never chops a single paintball.
Colour availabilty is amazing
Weaknesses: Dont have any weaknesses against this gun . I think its King crop and thats all .
Review: I love this gun and thats final knowone on the face of the earth will change my opinion on how this gun shoots(amazingly) how this gun looks ( cat , sickly amazing) how affordalble this gun is ( amazing price why spend $1200 on a Angel?) and how amazing the coulours are that you can get this gun in . also upgrades just dont stop on this thing you can get everything different on this gun if you want ..but i dont think theres a need beacuse its amazingly nice and accurate and OWW!! does it look nice .
Conclusion: I love this gun . it has everythign anyone needs for paintballing whether its speed ball or just bush ball this is truly and amazing gun .. I LOVE IT !!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

justinjfrancis Monday, March 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Used a misfit for some time, But i can't make a comparison because both markers operate completely differently. The misfit was good as a low end, and so far the freak imp is working as a great high end.
Marker Setup: Freak Factory Impulse, New designz: rip valve/lpr jackhammer/HE ram housing/slick shot/rat hole/equalizer bolt. Eclipse pro mag blade trigger, all american barrel, CP vert reg, crossfire 68 4500, halo b,
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Designz Offers great ups for impulses. I'm very happy with what I've got now.
Strengths: I ll go through all of this in below
Weaknesses: I ll go through all of this in below
Review: My Thoughts:

I love going to the pb field knowing that I can rely 100% that my freak impulse is going to work and compete with whatever I'll be playing against. Please note that all of my observations and points are based on an upgraded marker and not the stock one. Hopefully you find it all useful.

Key Strenghts:

Speed: I have yet to upgrade the board, so its capped at 20 bps standard vision board. The marker has no issues hitting 20 bps, but the halo using the standard aa batteries can just barely keep up. There is very little change in velocity thanks in part to the cp reg and high flow valve. You probably would have problems reaching 20 bps with the standard trigger, and ive found that removing the 2nd trigger pin and adjusting the trigger accordingly can make walking alot more easy.

Consistency: Chronoed at 272, 271, 272, 270, 271. After good cleaning, lube and adjusting.

Accuracy: Low solenoid pressure and the right bore size can land pb s one on top of others. When your walking it looks like pb s flowing out of the marker in a nice straight line.

Feel: When all the parts broke in, the marker feels like cutting through butter with a hot knife..not literally, but that same satisfactory feel. Minimal kick, somooth sounding working internals.

Efficiency: I hesitate commenting hee because I've not had the chance to shoot out a tank yet. I've always wanted to go into a game knowing I have a full tank. But I suspect it's quite good, the tank hasnt dropped under 3000 on a 4500 psi fill..2-3 hopper fills. Again, not certain.

Key Weaknesses:

Trigger: Eclipse trigger needed some work and locktite-ing. Not a big issue, just time consuming.

Weight: Compared to other high end markers in the same class, it feels just a bit heavier. I havnt put it on a scale or anything, so it could just be mind games.

All American Barrel : Came with the marker, is accurate but cant NOT handle shooting after a chop..not really an issue because chops are so few and far between. But if i manage to break a pb, you need to clean out right away.

Vision Eye: The soddering job that connects the eye to the eye cable wasnt very good and ive had to replace it. AS well as the stupidly small screw that holds the eye in place, its hard to find a hex key to get it out of there.
Conclusion: A definate recommend to anyone either beginner intermediate or pro. I will probably never upgrade to another gun, but i forsee a new anno job and trigger frame in the near future.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 15th, 2006 at 8:27 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GoNexus1991 Monday, January 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder victor 2
ion
Marker Setup: freak factory vision impulse blue-black
clear egg 2 w/ y board
68/4500 pure energy hpa tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
freak barrel inserts
unimount
a clamping feedneck, if required
Strengths: Accurate
Fast
Almost noiseless
Weaknesses: Big
Heavy
Trigger takes getting used too
Back heavy with egg
Review: I was at the proshop at paint storm and they had a ffv impulse there. Now, I was either going to get an ion or this, because i had heard great thing about the impulse. Now ,i got the gun because the were seling it for 750 canadian with an egg with y board, a z board,black egg shell and a one year membership. I calculated it for an ion that it would cost about 100 dollars more for the ion with the same upgrade(or equivalent)(trigger, feedneck and barrel) as the impulse, and everybody has an ion.
The only bad thing i found about the gun is that it is reallt back heavy with the egg or it is impossible to snap shoot whereas the ion is easy to snap shoot with. Another problem is that the trigger frame has a small guard and the trigger takes getting used to, so initially you will probably be shooting about 6-8bps. Anyway, the ffvi is a great gun.
Conclusion: Despite the weight and size of the marker, it is still a great gun, you just have to learn to snap shoot differently. (put more weight on the back of the marker than the front.)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nemesis2k4 Saturday, December 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
my Spyder Imagine but that definitley cannot compare
Marker Setup: 12v Revvy, Smart Parts Teardrop Barrel, 32 Degrees Rocket Volumizer, 32 Degrees Flame drop Forward, 32 degrees Long Bolt, Dye Sticky3 Grips, ACI bottomline, ACI Regulator, New Designz Low Rise, Dye C5 Jersey and Dye C4 Gloves
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new bottomline adapter, LPR and i would say thats all you REALLY need the rest is taste
Strengths: Fast, fairly light, Accurate, looks awesome
Weaknesses: Slightly tall but at least its shorter than stock imp
Review: Everything is great. The trigger is easy to adjust, there are many parts to upgrade it or swap out. i got mine very cheap ---> $399.99 Black/Grey. The gun is very accurate. I would say timmy's and angels are still better but this is close. If you dont care about hieght and dont have 800-1500 bux for a timmy, angel, shocker, etc i reccommend this.
Conclusion: Its awesome get one
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

steveo50 Saturday, September 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
wgp e-orracle
spyder e-99 avant
angel ir3
ccm j2
tippman 98
Marker Setup: freak factory impulse
ss freak barrel with a .693 insert
blade magnetic trigger
empire reloader b
68/4500 crossfire tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
ummm... its flippin awesome when its stock!
Strengths: Fast
Reliable
Accurate
Nice looks
considerably light
Weaknesses: only 1 problem was that I had to lube it alot.
Review: alright i got this gun for my 13th birthday and i must say after 1 day of play i am extremely impressed. This gun is extremely fast with the vision eye on(i hit well over 18bps)and the anno job is sweet looking. One problem i had with the gun is that i had to lube it about 2 times after about only 7 hour of play. when i took it out to the local field at shot it at the chrono everyone was watching me rip the shooting range up. throughout the day i was asked at least 3 times what kind of gun i had. the trigger pull is very adjustable and is easy to walk. one thing that impressed me was that i shot the gun while my barrel condom was on and got paint in the barrel then went back on the field later (and i was lazy and didn't clean the barrel)and it still was shooting perfect ropes.
Conclusion: i got this gun brand new for 400 dollars which is a bargain for this high end gun. If your an ion hater and want to get a real gun for under 1 thousand dollars go pick this up.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

freakfac77 Sunday, September 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
2004 Ton Ton Impulse
Marker Setup: 05 Freak Factory Impulse, blue to fade black
Max Flo 68/4500 system
Vertical Max Flo regulator
WAS Equalizer Board
CP ball bearing rolling trigger
Freak Barrel
New Designz valve
Evo 2 Loader with Z board
Recommended
Upgrades:
new trigger, CP Roller trigger works great
better board
fast electric loader
Freak barrel
Strengths: Very fast, efficient, reliable, doesn't chop, very cool looking
Weaknesses: Heavy, lots of paint needed
Review: When fully loaded, this gun rips! Not only is this gun good to go stock, but it has so many different and easy to find upgrades that improving this gun is a cinch. This gun is fast accurate, and very efficient compared to most guns on the market, especially compared to other Impulses. With a new trigger and a new board, this gun will shoot ropes of paint. Although it is a little heavy, you get used to the weight in no time, and the gun more than compensates for the weight with its superb performance. It's also a great looking gun with the fade paint job. If you can afford to buy this gun and upgrades, you should definitely go for it. This gun is a great value every one has a unique look. Buy one today!
Conclusion: Although its heavy, it is well worth the price and weight. Buy one as soon as you can! This gun is definitely a 10!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 4th, 2005 at 11:17 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Riaden Sunday, March 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Alot
Marker Setup: Automag rt pro with ULE body, x-valve, lvl 10 kit, ULE trigger pull kit, Y-frame,gas through grip, dye exel barrel, worr games torpedo drop,& a 68/45 carbon fiber tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
A drop foward
Strengths: Fast , stock barrel, reg, stock bolt, ect.
Weaknesses: Heavy
Review: The one that i tested only came with one bore size for the freak kit and it leaked the firt time he put air through it, but that was only because his reg was pre set too high,its also realy heavy, but this thing is as fast as lightning, and its got vision the color options are nice too, he got it for 514.99 during a sale at our local pb feild.This thing is nice
Conclusion: Defnatly get this gun if you can find it cheap it is very nice, realy realy fast
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball00001 Monday, January 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel, Timmy
Marker Setup: Imp
Vert Reg
Freak Kit
Vision
Revy (soon Halo B)
Supa Fly
Low Rise
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe the insert kit
Strengths: Everything
Weaknesses: Little Heavy
Review: I bought mine for 500 at a sale and it is so nice with all the colors and i love it. It is a great gun with the freak and vert red and everything Ooo Yeah it also has a vision and it virtually stops ball breakage this is such a nice gun with all the color choices you can even upgrade it to your team colors like me:-D
Conclusion: Get it if you can
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

The Boy Friday, January 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
reflex autococker with e-blade
Marker Setup: factory impulse, crossfire 68/4500, halo b
Recommended
Upgrades:
none, this gun is upgraded already. tape worm, delrine bolt, trigger,freak barrel
Strengths: Reliable - Fast - Accurate - looks good, easy to work on and clean.
Weaknesses: Bit of an air hog, had to replace eye.
Review: I am very happy with this marker. I have had it for a year. and the only thing I can find to complain about is that I had to replace the eye, at $50 a pop i hope this does not happen a lot. I have yet to have any other problems with the marker . it shoots very fast, and with the freak barrel it is very accurate. I had a reflex autococker before this, and it is nice not to have to work on my marker all the time. it is also very easy to clean. not a lot of parts. the operating pressure is 190psi so it works well in cold weather does not break paint.
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker to anyone. It's easy to care for,shoots straight, fast. its an all around good marker. I'm giving it a nine because I had to replace the eye. it only lasted 3 months, and the replacement price is a bit much.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 28th, 2005 at 5:58 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sukohi Thursday, January 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts Vision impulse
Smart parts Shocker
Marker Setup: Smart parts Freak Factory Impulse
Empire Reloader B
Crossfire 68/45
Shocktech fullsize drop forward
Twist lock low rise
Recommended
Upgrades:
Wicked air sports board
Empire or Halo high speed hopper
Twist lock low rise
Strengths: Very accurate
Fast
Delron bolt, no oil needed
Anti-chop with eye activated

Weaknesses: Chops balls if wrong insert is used
Freak inserts not included
A_chop_will_ruin_your_game
Review: I love my Impulse. The trigger is so much better than the stock trigger. The gun is fast even without the WAS board. The gun is accurate and you can make snap shots all the way across the field. The delron bolt does not need any oil. With the eye on the gun ALMOST never chops. The gun is a somewhat heavy setup, not as heavy as a shocker. The freak barrel needs good paint so choose a good brand. With bad paint the gun will shoot "squirrel tails". The gun is expensive at about $800. It does not come with the freak insert kit. You can only use shocker lube for the hammer. This lube cost about $10-$12 a tube.
Conclusion: If you have the money get a Smart Parts Nerve or a used DM4. It has all of these qualities except, it is lighter. If you do not have the money, the Freak Factory Impulse is a great way to go.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 11th, 2005 at 8:33 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media