paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Freak Factory Impulse / Freak Factory Impulse / Freak Factory Impulse / Freak Factory Impulse

Freak Factory Impulse Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Freak Factory

Buy Freak Factory Impulse

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Freak Factory Impulse
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 28
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $895

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Long tear drop and ball mills down side, soft peel-away dwell and eye pot cover. Exclusive freak gas thru grip. Rounded ram, solenoid housing and grip frame.
Product Availability 
The Freak Factory Impulse is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
mad_ukrainian Thursday, April 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
started off with tippman 98 C, then ventured on to Spider imagine, also used an A5 for some time, used a stock impy.... and of course cockers...
Marker Setup: freak factory impulse with vision, a maxflo tank with a botom reg, and a revy with an x-board... oh yea, sticky grips... and a full freak set (a must for a back playa)
Recommended
Upgrades:
get your head checked if you need upgrades for this gun... if you actually think that you need to upgrade it, then simply give me the $money$ and i'll happily upgrade it for you.... (or so you would think....)
Strengths: this sucka rippps!!!! I'm talkin bout really ripppps....
Weaknesses: nothin really, i compared it to a matrix, and mine actually shot strater over distance....
Review: well if you want an angel, then go ahead and spend your money, but if you are looking for a reliable gun that will not chop (if you have vision turned on of course), that delivers a hail of paint on some unlucky b*stard at the reciving end, and is also as acurateas a cocker, then no need to spend more money than you have to, just get yourself an impy... the freak factory does offer better mods then the stock, and it's lighter too..... basically somethig really really "special"... :)
Conclusion: get it, you will not regret it... but if you find out that it's not for you, the resale value for them stays pretty high anyway, so you'll make your money back..... good luck
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Crazydawg702 Wednesday, March 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel, GZ TImmy, RAT
Marker Setup: 99 cocker, shocktech chrome trigger, FREAK grips, PMI reg, 32* Rock Knob, ANS chrome RAM, ACM chrome 3-way, ANS black LPG, CP 13" barrel black, AKALMP chrome lightning bolt, Shcoktech chrome beavertail, Shocktech chrome cocking rod, Shocktech chrome drop forward, chrome ball detent, 68 cu 4500 psi PMI nitro, and 12 volt black revy with x board. I wanna go electro so gun is for sale.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Probably just a fast hopper and HPA system.
Strengths: Fast, quiet, nice looking.
Weaknesses: None really.
Review: This is my friends gun. It is very very nice. He has it set up with the FREAK kit, Max-Flow, and Vision. The gun shoots great, fast, and didn't break that much. It did break a few times, but nothing big, I think it was his paint. I've played out at the speedball field with it and it worked great for me.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun. It is great and shoots very fast. The only flaw I noticed was when it broke paint but like I said, I think that was his problem.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintball Ltd. Co. Friday, December 7th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Imp
Strengths: Unbelievably light, height has been reduced from stock IMP. But with height, why would you try and come over the top anyway? And in that case, you can get the low rise feed tube which drops the height 1.5inch. 18 balls per sec........Isn't that faster than an angle? Accuracy is much better than the angel as well as its range. Price is about the same too. Really nice trigger. Easier to maintain than an angel. HMMMMMMMMM.......Do you see where I am goin here. THIS GUN IS SWEET!!!!
Weaknesses: Prob the cost, but getting to customize it to how you want it is always a plus. THERE IS REALLY NOTHING BAD ABOUT THIS GUN
Conclusion: If you are up between and Angel and a FF. Go with the FF. Just compare both guns. The FF IMP is lighter, faster, more accurate, easier to work on, and more reliable. But if you want a glorified piece of S$%%t like the angel go ahead and waste your money. You can watch me win from the deadbox...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, November 27th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
The Dream Shocker. Bigger, heavier, easier on the paint, strange ball angle.
Marker Setup: I currently have a Freak Factory Vision Impulse with all the Vodoo upgrades available accept for the new grip frame. I run it on a 4500psi Maxflow air system. Barrel: Freak 12" and 14" + borr master kit.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would really recommend the Vodoo bolt kit. It is easier to keep the marker clean and you don't have to grease it in all the time. The Smooth operator is a must have for anyone firing at really high rof.
Strengths: The marker has an awesome rof. limit! Due to the formation of the trigger and the many ways of adjusting it.
It is really accurate! Shooting an entire case of Zap Performance on a target range proved the marker a great deal. Probably better than my Dream Shocker would ever be.
Easy to clean! :)
It is lighter than any other pro marker. Making it easy to maneuver.
This is a marker for both front players and back players.
Weaknesses: It is not as sensitive to the paint as a Shocker.
It breaks paint when it is cold outside. 2-5 ´C.
Conclusion: A good marker for great players!

Best of luck to you all!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, October 7th, 2001
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: The owner of a field i go to owns this gun, and damn, this is a pretty good gun. Im not a big fan of anything resembling smart parts guns, but this is a very good gun. He had the vert feed, vision eye, max-flo reg, 20oz CO2, freak barrel, and badass anno job. He was braggin like crazy saying no one would be happy until they bought one. He let me play 2 games with it and its a sweet ass gun. Shoots awesomely fast, nice nice trigger (he has the blade trigger), feeds really well, and looks very very very nice. Its got a good feel and is pretty light.
Weaknesses: It came with the freak. I prefer the DYE boom or SS. I would even recommend a smart parts AA. These things are damned hard to find.
Conclusion: great gun, if you find it, buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, September 18th, 2001
 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: This gun delivers as advertised. It is significantly lighter and smoother than the stock Impulse. The Vision system is amazing. I ran loader after loader through it without turning on the Revvy. Sideways, upside down...not one ball chopped. No gas wasted dry firing. If there isn't a ball fully in the chamber it simply will not fire.

The Freak Factory Impulse came with the Freak barrel (one insert included, the other 7 were extra). Combine this amazing barrel with the eye and I doubt you could break paint if you tried. Very accurate with minimum drop-off during rapid fire. I added a drop forward & swung the macroline to the side. Though a tall gun, it feels quite compact with this configuration.
Weaknesses: No complaints about the gun aside from its height, but if you switch out the gas-through grip for a front mounted regulator you can shorten it a bit. Really it's all personal preferrence.
Conclusion: For the price you're getting a sweet gun and barrel. The trigger job is amazing. You really don't need a turbo board with it. The lightened bolt does reduce kick to almost nothing and it's easy to let off a string of shots one on top of the other with this gun. Spend the extra few bucks and get all the inserts for the barrel, it's worth it.

Some people say Smart Parts markers are gas hogs. This is not entirely true yet not entirely false. The operating pressure and dwell settings make a huge difference in shots per tank. Set the gun up PROPERLY and you'll get optimum performance without wasting gas. For the quality and performance of this marker you should be willing to play around with the settings until you have it just right. It'll be worth it. And remember, this tricked out gun was made by Aaron at Smart Parts. As such, it's still under warranty even with all the modifications.

Happy hunting
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

meth0d- Tuesday, July 24th, 2001
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: This gun has a lot going for it, looks are decent, VERY fast, efficient, light, won't chop, all around a great gun, unique (only 300), and it comes for a good price (believe it or not)
Weaknesses: I haven't had any problems at all yet and i'm keeping my fingers crossed that it stays that way. The only thing that I think I may replace is the bolt, with a delrin one.
Conclusion: I've yet to see a better deal on a gun package...well, i got a real good deal on mine :)

i got the black-blue fade w/ reverse brushstroke ano. vision impulse, matching deluxe freak, and a 68/4500 new style max flow, all for $1250...that really can't be beat for the performance of the gun.

But in all seriousness, when you stop to think about it...The gun:
1 - is INCREDIBLY fast
2 - very light
3 - will NEVER chop
4 - best barrel on the market
5 - one of the best n2 systems on the market
6 - etc, etc, etc and lots more
...all for the price of say...a stock angel

...and i'm one of those people who have a new gun every week...this one's a keeper, i'd recommend it to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, July 7th, 2001
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: It's a very smooth operating gun. Contrary to the previous review, if you actually know how to size your paint to the Freak barrel it will never break. I've put several cases through mine on hot days, cold days, humid days and have never broken a single ball. And the vision eye means you never chop a ball.

Balances well with a good drop forward and has an amazing trigger job.
Weaknesses: A better safety sysytem. The on/off switch is too easy to accidentaly knock on leading to a shot in the barrel (hopefully plugged) and messy clean up.

Still rather tall even with the drop forward.
Conclusion: I love mine. It has proven to be a very reliable marker and quite durable. Just strip it and lube it after every use and you'll have no problems. It's a good idea to do that with any marker so you should be doing that anyway.

For the performance I think it's pretty much worth the price in that you get the Freak barrel system and an anti-chop eye with a low pressure tourney ready gun. You should never break paint with this gun. If you do it's not the barrel or the marker's fault but user error. I've shot black paint, yellow paint and every color and type in between and never chopped or broken a ball. SIZE YOUR BARREL INSERTS AND IT WON'T BREAK PAINT. So simple a concept, so many morons who can't figure it out....

Still a bit heavy but much lighter than the stock Impulse and with much much much smoother operation.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media