paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / RPS Polar Ice Paintballs / RPS Polar Ice Paintballs / RPS Polar Ice Paintballs

RPS Polar Ice Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount RPS

Buy RPS Polar Ice Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


RPS Polar Ice Paintballs
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 81
Average Rating: 7.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Special formula for extreme cold weather use.
Product Availability 
The RPS Polar Ice Paintballs are newer, so they should be commonly available.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
CT Mafia Sunday, December 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
RPS Marbs,Diablo Heat,Origon Classic,Origon signature series,RPS Evil, Empire Ramp,Empire Engage, Tork, RPS Preimums, RPS Polar Ice, DBX, JT Monsterballs, Scorch, Dibalo Nightmare, Nelson Anarchy, Zap Spank, and white box paint
Marker Setup: Eclipse Ego 06, Virtue, Cure bolt, CP Trigger, NDZ Adjustable RAM Cap, Empire B2, 45/45 Nitro Duck (HP)

Angel Speed 06, Halo B, 45/45 Nitro Duck (LP)
Recommended
Barrels:
Any Barrel with a good bore size to fit the paintballs
Strengths: -Good for winter
-Some what cheap
-Bright fill
Weaknesses: -Not much fill
-A bit in accurate
Review: I used this in the mid of winter but luckly this winter has been very warm which is good, but it was prolly 40-50 degress out when I used these. I got Yellow/Silver Shell and it was Yellow fill. The yellow fill was bright and very easy to see from a distance I think they could put more fill in the paintballs then they would be very high quality paintballs. They flew close to accurate they probally flew in the same area of 2-5 inches for me with no wind. This may have been becuase of the few dimples on the ball which is common but there was only small dimples on them so it was good. I never got one chop either. I bought them for $50 a case which is chepa compared to other paintballs.
Conclusion: These paintballs are good and are made for cold winter conditions I am going to deffiantly buy these balls in the winter again
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dmz boy Thursday, December 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Way to many to list
Marker Setup: TIPPMAN A-5(BLACK)
BT APEX BARREL
R-5 HOPPER
PCS SAW STOCK
DELUXE REMOTE LINE


PILOT ACS 05'(RED TO BLACK FADE)
SMART PARTS 14 INCH PROGRESSIVE BARREL
HALO B WITH VICTORY
TRINITY Q LOCK FEEDNECK
PURE ENERGY 3000PSI TANK(FIBRE WRAPPED) WITH DYE RHINO COVER(RED AND BLACK)
DYE STICKY 3'S(BLACK)
Recommended
Barrels:
Medium bore
Strengths: Great for winter play
Shoot strait
Little chops
Good fill
Weaknesses: Dents out of box(see review)
Review: When it started getting cold in December the course started using these. I'm not going to write a big review like I usually do however alot of reviews go on about the dents out of the box. I agree there defiantly are dents and alot of them(RPS made this box way to small). However shooting these I have noticed great accuracy and bright fill colours. The dents don;t seem to affect the accuracy much. Basically if you want balls for winter play grab these. I have experienced only a few chop and they come at a good price.
Conclusion: if your dedicated enough to [aintball to play in the winter like me and so many others grab these. I guess i should take 1 off for the dents since they shouldn't really be there.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

PhatPat Tuesday, May 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months119 of 119 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Toroball Ice Winter Paintballs - Unknown (Poss. .688)
Draxxus Artic Inferno Paintballs - .687 to .690
Marker Setup: 2006 Angel G7 Fly in Solid Red
2005 Fully upped Smart Parts Ion with .691 Stiffi 14" Barrel (Too many extras to mention)
2005 Tippmann A5 with Ops Gear Operator 14" Barrel
2004 Diablo Mongoose with Smart Parts Teardrop 14" Barrel
Recommended
Barrels:
I have the following barrels and they all seem to work fine for me: -

14" CP Classic Red 689
14" Dye Ultralite Blue 692
14" Dye Ultralite Red 692
14" J&J Performance Ceramic Black 691
14" Stiffi Full Version 691
14" SP Progressive TBC
14" SP Teardrop 688 Red
14" SP Teardrop 688 Black
14" SP Teardrop 688 Gloss Black
14" SP The Freak Jr 693 + Complete Freak Kit
14" Ops Gear Operator
16" SP Progressive TBC

I think thats about it!

Strengths: Quality, Fill Colour, Sound Shell, No Flyers - All Straight, etc etc
Weaknesses: See review......
Review: Quality: -

When I decided to write the review I started looking at the paint more closely and QUALITY is something we are all concerned about, we want our balls flying straightÖ.right!
Well the quality of this paint is superb, out of the perhaps last 8 cases of this stuff I have tried I have not had ANY problems with broken balls in the bag prior to taking it out, I have had no leaking paint inside the bag, I have had NO dimpled paint (see conclusion) ((maybe I was REALLY lucky)). All of the seems were the same, quite large but OK by and large.

Fill Colour: -

The only colour I have managed to get this paint is a complete orange shell with a orange fill. Check out my photo that I have uploaded to the image gallery for an insight into the fill. The orange lends itself perfectly to either woodsball play or tourney ball. Woodsball, the breaks stand out clear and the same for tourney play. Orange, along with Yellow and Pink are the only colours you should looking at for paintball fills, everything else makes no sense in my eyes.

Sound Shell: -

The shell as I pointed out prior is sound. Itís brittle enough to break when it needs to and robust enough to be fed through high end hoppers. I have an Empire Reloader B and a VL Vlocity and I have had NO problems with broken paint through either hopper. The Vlocity has a tensioner system that can be unforgiving on very brittle paint, but it didnít burst a SINGLE ball with this stuff.

No Flyers: -

I suppose this falls into the same category as ďSound ShellĒ, but I think that if you match your barrel bore and paint diameter correctly and your output velocity is not pushing past 300fps, you really shouldnít get any flyers with this stuff. My friend who also used this paint all through the winter did not have any issues with paint flying off at weird angles. Common sense really.

Paint Fill: -

The fill in this paint is on par with most of the Draxxus paints up to Inferno, now this is very important as Hellfire has a higher viscosity and make up. I have used over the last twelve months ALL of the Draxxus range, Zap Chronic 420, Zap Chronic, Toroball Winter, Diablo Dusk, Worr Domination, Nelson Pearl, PMI Evil, RPS Evil (Ultra), TC Paintballs Probox and thatís just the ones I can remember!
The fill on this paint is as I said on par with 90% of the Draxxus range and PMI Evil, thatís all. What Iím trying to say is that itís 8 out of 10 think.

What else can I say about a paintball other then the bore size you should be looking at is .689 to .691. If you are a tourney player and your tube is .693, youíll be well away and will probably be able to shoot through most breaks if you get anyÖÖÖ.I didnít.

I think I've covered everything

As for weaknesses, well I must be really lucky as I couldn't find any. But no product is perfect all the time, so I'm sure I'll find one eventually, in the mean time fill yer boots and buy some.
Conclusion: I can put my hand on my heart and safely say that this paint and Draxxus Artic Inferno are my first choices when it comes to winter month games. Stay well clear of the Toroball at any time of the year as they really are very hard, so hard in fact you cannot crush Toroball with your fingers, you have to walk on it!!!!

RPS Polar Ice on the other hand is a first class paint. I realize that some of the previous reviewers may have had a bad experience with this paint, but I have had not such issues (honestly). In the UK when can have quite harsh winters, not as bad as Canada or the US I understand, but we are renowned for crappy weather. When I have used this paint in bad conditions it has performed without any problems and my balls where the least of my worries.

As with any paint, it pays to try and shop around. Itís best to buy your paint from a supplier that shifts his/her paint quite quickly. You are then pretty much guaranteed to have good quality paint without flat spots etc.

In short, if your after a true winter paint, look at these or the Draxxus Artic Inferno and try to get fresh stock, it always helps.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tony2zmax Monday, May 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
RPS Marbalizer
Scorch
Diablo Heat
Vapor
Draxus Midnight
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Cyclone Feed
14" J&J Ceramic barrel
PMI remote line
Tippmann Double Trigger
Recommended
Barrels:
Any
Strengths: Bright fill
Stored Well
Shot well (if not gunked)
Weaknesses: Poor Firing if gunked
Seemed to chop frequently
Review: I played twice with these paintballs, and found that they chopped very easily. AND after the barrell was gunked up, they did even more poorly. I used Marbalizers and even after chopping one, they still fired like normal. I know think it had something to do with my velocity and maybe my rate of fire. They flew nice when the barrell was cleaned, because the Flatline is very paint-picky. These seemed okay, but I guess I just had a bad day with them.

Update: I have since lost the Flatline barrel system and have switched over to the ceramic barrel and I couldnít be happier. Iíve found that the Flatline is very paint picky, so I figure that is why my balls were chopping so much. Though I thought I understood these paintballs to be designed for winter play, because they advertised a thicker shell, I thought they would hold in my Flatline. I thought wrong, but it doesnít matter much, anyone thatís experienced a Flatline barrel system knows the struggle they provided sometimes.
Conclusion: They're very expensive for what happened to me with them, I just hope that it was either a bad box. Though it was quite possibly my Flatline barrel system.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 9th, 2008 at 12:54 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Juiblex79 Monday, March 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zap Tork
Diablo Nightmare
Marbelizer
Etc.
Marker Setup: Speed 05
Eggy Z-Boarded
Evil Pipe Kit
68CU 4.5kpsi Crossfire LP
Evolve Newton Full Kit
Tadao Board
Recommended
Barrels:
One that you can clean easily
Strengths: Thick Fill
Weaknesses: Barrel Breaks
Hard to shoot through due to thick fill.
Review: I've used these paintballs in the past 2 winters and have yet to have a good experience with them. The first time I used these, winter 04-05, it was hard to find a single one that was spherical. I just figured it was a bad batch so I looked at the other 3 bags in the case and they were all deformed and dimpled so I brought the box back figuring it was my luck that I got a bad box. After going through 3 boxes at the shop I was finally able to get a case of acceptable paint. Four bags of bad paint get through Quality Controll is bad but atleast cases if not more shows a total lack of any quality process on these paintballs. Needless to say it still shot bad, lots of breaks and horrible accuracy. Temps were in the 20-30s F that day.

Next winter 05-06 I had to uses these again nothing else was available but I said maybe they cleaned up their act and my bad luck was gone. So I got another case. and to my suprise they were all nice and round with no dimples. Great I though no going to have any problems today. I was so wrong, all day about once ever 15 to 20 shots I was getting a barrel break. I check all my settings dwell, paintmatch, fps, and so on but nothing seemed to help. Worst part about it was since this paint has an extreamly thick fill making shooting clean nearly impossible and I wasn't about to take off the barrel and clean it every 15 shots. Finally I found out what was causing the barrel break problem when I was reloading my tubes. I was sitting on the steps about 2ft about the ground when one of these paintballs fell from my tube to the ground (asphalt) and broke in half. I tried this with a few more balls, 50 or so, dropping them from about 2ft and 3 of them broke. Was about 30-40 F that day.
Conclusion: They have some Quality Issues be it shape, dimples, or shell. Will be extreamly difficult to shoot through a barrel breal due to the thick fill. If you have a marker that can shoot through the worst paint then this may work for you. Otherwise steer clear if this stuff.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 6th, 2006 at 9:33 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ikey Saturday, February 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
pretty much everything
Marker Setup: stock karnivor
Recommended
Barrels:
anything that fits
Strengths: Ok accuracy, breaks when you want them too, good fill
Weaknesses: Not super accurate
Review: Well these were teh 2nd best paint at the toureny today. the owner bought tehm due to teh cold weather screwing up all of his paint. we bought some. they arent as accurate and pmi premiums, but tehy break when and where you want them too. i did not have a break all day. they did not bounce either. the fill was about as think as ive seen any paintball. im guessing its teh cold weather fill, but its just like any of the highest quality tourney paint. so rediculously think. its almost impossible to whipe.
Conclusion: These are pretty good balls. we were inside, so i really dont know their cold weather potential. overall, i say go with premiums or sumthin cause premiums are more accurate (well of couse go with evils, but im basing on price range, the polar ice are saposed to be about the same quality as premiums). but the fill is good and they are not too brittle or too hard.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ckirkend Sunday, February 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Marballizer
Diablo
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-R
CP 0-500PSI Reg.
Maddman Rocket Valve
ESP Rocking Trigger
Low Pressure Nitrogen System
High Modded Aluminum Bolt
Halo B
J&J Ceramic 14" Barrel
Recommended
Barrels:
J&J
Stock
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: Barrell Breaks!!!!
Review: I have used the Polar Ice paint two times. They did not work well either time. The first time I used them, the temperature was about 45 degrees. I had many barrell breaks with the J&J, not quite as many with the stock. The second time, the temperature was below 30 degrees. I had 20+ barrel breaks at the chrono station before I could even get the successful shots over the chrono. I was so mad that I just asked for a refund and left, because this is a FPO field, and this was the only paint they had that particular day. Also, there were MANY others having the same problem.
Conclusion: DO NOT buy this paint. I have found that the Diablo Heat works much better. I ran 1000 Diablo's through later on the same day as having all the barrell breaks with the Polar Ice.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ICU117 Monday, January 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Marbs, and premiums
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5, Folding stock, egrip, flatline, double trigger
Recommended
Barrels:
Flatline, just about any barrel works fine.
Strengths: Only ones that won't break during winter play
Weaknesses: none that I can see
Review: I have been having trouble with breaks all winter. There isn't an indoor field or any field for that matter near me, so my friends and I play back in the woods. Yesterday I stopped by the store and picked some up, I was reluctant to pay the larger price, but decided to try them anyway. The balls when I took them out looked kinda crappy, the seams where easily spotted and one or 2 was egg shaped. But, once we got to playing I loved these things. I shot over 1000 rounds without a single break! That has never happened to me before, even with marbs. The one thing I hear that is bad about them is that above 50 degrees they don't fly straight anymore. For winter play though, these do as they say they will.
Conclusion: This is one of the only products that I have been fully satisfied with. They do exactly what they say they will. Just don't play with them during warmer months. CT(My state) got 18 inches of snow last week, so its not like I'm not in a southern state...RPS in my opinion make the best paint out there. Premiums for spring, summer and fall, and polar ice during the winter baby!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 9th, 2006 at 2:47 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BrutishOpus Monday, January 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lots of paint, to many to put down (I like to test)
Marker Setup: E-99 Avant with a 16 inch Nightstick barrel, Shocktech Superfly bolt, Dye Sticky Grip

Ion Pro with rail and On/Off ASA, Freak Barrel, CP Blade Trigger, CP Reg, Halo B hopper and a 3000 PSI HPA Tank from Pure Energy
Recommended
Barrels:
.689 worked great
Strengths: Accurate
Bright Fill/Thick Fill
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is a good paint brand, Its premium but put it at rec ball quality, but its very accurate

Pros-

Very accurate, comparible to Marbs and Evil, I used it for a day of practice on the speedball field and it proved accurate, I play back and mid, and I was picking people off and laning really well, it worked excellent

It has a very thick fill and is hard to wipe and its bright enough to be seen while shooting, very good fill, like a goo

Cons-

None
Conclusion: Very good producs, I have nothing but good things to say about it, very nice, another great paint from RPS
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tabris17 Tuesday, September 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Marbilizer, Dusk, Xball Bronze
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-X, Boomstick 14" spyder thread
Dragon Intimidator, frenzy 113, custom reloader b, empire barrel kit, NDZ super lite on/off
Recommended
Barrels:
Empire barrel kit worked rather well
Strengths: Accurate, bright and thick fill, rarely breaks if at all.
Weaknesses: Sometimes bounces because of thick shell, hard to find, some what expensive.
Review: I bought these in january or around that time and shot a few rounds off in my backyard. I found them rather accurate considering at the time of the testing I was shooting a spyder tl-x with a boomstick. The fill was nice and thick and very hard to wipe, not to mention it is bright neon green.
I just recently used them finally in play, September in case you're wondering, so they were rather old but they didn't dimple and they didn't break in the bag at all. I have a Dragon timmy right now and brought these to the field with me and wow, I thought these were going to be horrible because they were so old. They were flying straight with very minimal curving, mostly because my barrel kept coming loose. There were a few bounces but I'd say about 98% of them were breaking when they should have; these are winterized so do have a thicker shell so I wasn't screaming when they weren't breaking because I knew what kind of paint I was using.
I had zero chops with these balls, they all left the barrel like they were supposed to and broke nicely. They were also very bright filled as I mentioned and the fill didn't run like some other paint I've seen.
Conclusion: I would definately use this product again, especially considering how well it handled sitting in my room for so long. Perhaps that was one reason they handled so well, they weren't in a basement or garage. Either way they had excellent fills and shot straight; though they are a bit hard to find and can be a bit on the expensive side.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media