paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / RPS Polar Ice Paintballs / RPS Polar Ice Paintballs / RPS Polar Ice Paintballs

RPS Polar Ice Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount RPS

Buy RPS Polar Ice Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


RPS Polar Ice Paintballs
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 81
Average Rating: 7.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Special formula for extreme cold weather use.
Product Availability 
The RPS Polar Ice Paintballs are newer, so they should be commonly available.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
emagfrenzy Sunday, July 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Hellfire-Some of the best paint out there
Inferno-Best paint for the money
Arctic Inferno-The BEST paint for winter play, this stuff is amazing
Blaze-Good Recball paint
Midnight/Whitebox-Decent paint for anyone on a budget
Evil-Great paint that compares to Hellfire or Inferno
Midevil-Great practice paint for someone use to shoot Evil
32* Team Colors-Cheap whitebox paint, would only use it if I really had to
Marker Setup: DM4
Halo B
88/4500 Crossfire Tank
Dye Ultralite and Freak Kit
Recommended
Barrels:
Why bother... It's a large bore paint, but a barrel kit does help.
Strengths: Possibly the price?
Decent fill
Weaknesses: Breaks too easily
Does not stand up in temps below 35
Dimpled
Seam is terrible
Review: I went to my local paintball shop one day to pick up a case of paint so I could go out and play. The field is FPO, and normally I don't have a problem with this because they carry the paints I like, but this day was an exception. The owner didn't have any Arctic Inferno in stock, and instead ordered Polar Ice. He said it was great paint and even some empolyees said it was good. I try not to let them sell me on things, because the truth is most of them aren't very knowledgable. So I paid $55 for my case and went down to the field. All day long this stuff kept breaking in my barrel. It was an absolute mess to clean up and was very aggravating. Everyone else that day was having the same problem. There were games where I would miss people from 25 feet away because this paint was so bad. If it made it out of my barrel without breaking, don't expect it to go even near your target. RPS jumped on the BE bandwagon on this one, making some very crappy paint.
Conclusion: This stuff is terrible. I will never shoot it and again, nor will I recommend it to anyone. This stuff gives you such a headache, RPS should include a bottle of Advil with the case.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AmbientShadow Sunday, March 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Severe Hurricane and Tempest
Evil
And a whole pile of no-name junk brands
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Pilot
Black Check-it Assault Block
SIlver '04 Mac Dev Gladiator
Custom-Painted Black/Alu. Dead-On Drop Forward
Nylatron Bandit Bolt
14" Black All-American Back/Silver Freak Front
Maddmann Rocket Valve
Dye '05 Black/Blue Tank Cover
Mac Dev Spring Kit
68/3000 Pure Energy HPA Tank
Custom-Painted & Z-Boarded Viewloader Evolution II
Black Java Feed Neck
Mac Dev Gauges all 'round
Recommended
Barrels:
It doesn't matter too much... Anything better than a Progressive is a waste on these.
Strengths: THICK Fills
Nothing beats it in the cold
Small Cases!
Weaknesses: Small Cases!
Doesn't come out of clothes as easily
Review: What it comes down to is there aren't many paints that cut it in the cold. Living in Canada... We Canadian paintballers know these things. This paint works great in the cold, you'll only ever get the very rare hard paintball (just hope you don't take it on bare skin -- BIG ouch). The fills are bright, and REALLY thick, hard to wipe and the bulk of the paint ends up on your target and not in the air around your target.
The SIGNIFICANT downside (and it's really kinda silly and easily avoidable) is you'll notice right away a case of this paint is rather small compared to most paint cases. That's because the paint is CRAMMED into the box... and you all know that means DIMPLES! While this paint seems to shoot "okay" especially at high velocities where it doesn't matter too much, on a field that plays at 240 fps it matters quite a bit. Checking through one of the bags of 500 you'll be lucky to find a dozen balls that aren't dimpled... most bags you won't find one. So... don't use these for anything other than recball or when it's gonna be cold out! As far as chop resistance/barrel breaks, I've put 2 cases through my Pilot (albeit at 10 degrees C or less, why would you use these when it's warm?) and not shredded ANY in the barrel at all... and I don't ever chop so I wouldn't know about that part :D
Conclusion: It's a decent paint and better than many. A quick look around will snag you a case of it for $60.00 CDN which is nice too. While you won't get any "footballs" you'll get MAJOR ball dimpling because the paint is so crammed into the box. RPS if you ever read this... JUST PUT IT IN A BIGGER BOX!
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

quiggly_530 Friday, March 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine (old model) J&J Ceramic 12", 20oz CO2
Recommended
Barrels:
any
Strengths: Bright, tough shell, cold weather formula
Weaknesses: Balls did come dimpled
Review: I used this once. My friends were having a massive rec-party and I didn't want to miss out. I went to my local store to buy paint and all they offered was Polar Ice. I was a little dissapointed, but bought a case (a little high of a price). My friends later said they wish they would have been as smart as me and got severe weather paint. I was glad I got it because that day it was about 30degrees out. So.... to make a long story short, everyone else chopped, I didn't, everyone else messed around, I owned.
Conclusion: It's great paint if you're playing in cold weather (no colder than 28 degrees). Balls did come dimpled, and will dimple slightly in cold weather. Just go through your paint the day before and pick out the few bad ones and you'll be fine. A little more expensive than regular paint, but still worth it 100%.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 18th, 2005 at 9:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stevebski Friday, February 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
White box brand paint by 32 degrees, paint left out in the sun for about a week.
Arctic inferno
Marker Setup: 2K1 autococker with ugraded LPR set up
Freak system
Recommended
Barrels:
One that is easily squeegied
Strengths: Non-toxic, water soluble, biodegradable
Weaknesses: Poor quality, Fresh paint arrived dimpled, large seams, broke in barrle no matter what
Review: Ok, I went to this scenario that a friend of mine put out recently. The paint ordered was Polar Ice- yellow shell/yellow fill. I watched it come in. It was about as fresh as you could get it. I got 2nd case off pallet. First bag, no breaks but every single ball was dimpled. Not just minor dimple, like golfball dimpled. There were some smooth spots on some of the balls though. They were cut in half by a horrible seam.

I figured, what the heck, it's snowing and everyone else is shooting it as it's event paint only so I took it on the field. Big mistake. I sized it to my freak barrel, then went up an insert to account for any moisture in the barrel from the snow. I've done this with Arctic inferno and had no issues. First shot over the chrono, busted down the barrel. Cleaned the barrel. Second shot, same deal. I did this with about a dozen shots before I got my first shot to register over the chrono.

So keeping my squeegie close by, I took the field. Needless to say, I would've been better off taking the paint in my hand and smacking people with it to eliminate them. 1 in 20 shots flew straight if it didn't bust in the barrel. I tried uping the size of my insert after about an hour of frustration to no avail. Same deal all day. I even cleaned my barrel out with cleaner and dried it at lunch time. Took it on the field with a plastic bag over the barrel in case it was moisture. Nope, nothing worked. It got to the point where I put the marker down and ran around with no marker at all doing missions.
Conclusion: Do not waste your money with this paint. It wasn't a fluke case. Everyone on the field had the same issues. How else do you think I was able to run around without a marker and still complete the missions? I'm no SEAL or anything.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

brikar Sunday, December 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
PMI premiums
Draxxus blaze
Nelson Hot Spot
Marker Setup: A-5
E-grip
C02
coiled remote
Tippmann x-chamber
Flatline barrel
Tippmann 12" werks Barrel
Recommended
Barrels:
Both that I have worked
Strengths: Flew straight, No breaks, not oily
Weaknesses: None that I could find, would like to see a darker shell color for woodsball
Review: I shot about 500 to 600 of these today in 20 to 40 degree weather (farenheit) and had zero breaks. I run in "turbo mode" set fairly fast, a little past 1/2 way up. I like these and will probably use them all winter here in Colorado. I would like to a darker shell color.
Conclusion: I highly recommend these to any one who plays in the cold.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cyborg15 Wednesday, February 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
******IN COLD WEATHER******
Evil Tournament (Same)
Maballizer (slightly worse)
Big Ball (worse)
Brass Eagle (bad everywhere)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom with Hyper-Star bolt, 14in. Razzor barrel 4x zoom scope
Recommended
Barrels:
Anything that fits
Strengths: Accurate in cold weather, don't chop if it's above freezing
Weaknesses: Sometimes get bad batches, NOT winterproof
Review: Pro's
*I bought a case of these & played all weekend with them with 30-40 degree weather and they worked great.
*These are made to shoot in cold weather and it shows
*Bright fill (can stain)
*Cheap
Con's
*Can't stay whole/straight if it goes much under freezing
*Paint so thick its tough to clear a barrel if you manage to break one
*Some balls are not round or edges clearly visible
Conclusion: If you know your playing in cold weather, (or can't stay inside) these are good to have in your arsenal. Great cold weather performance, but don't leave em outside. They're not the best balls to hit the market, but a solid value
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tornpony Wednesday, February 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Draxxus Arctic Inferno
Marker Setup: Eblade Orracle, Center Flag 68/4500, B w/rip, Stiffi
Recommended
Barrels:
Something with a large bore
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: Basically a Big Ball
Review: I live in the midwest where the weather gets crappy for about 3-4 months of the year but my urge doesn't go away. I was stuck using these balls until Draxxus came along a nd offered some quality. These balls are not much better than using Big Balls. Very inconsistant, a lot of barrel breaks, and no size consistancy. I still found myself using the swab far to often.
Conclusion: I would not recomend these to anybody as long as the Arctic Inferno are available. Very poor quality. I will give them a one since they were not quite as bad as trying to use BIg Ball in the cold.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 12th, 2004 at 6:06 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

blackbobcat87 Monday, February 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing
Marker Setup: Vertical Reg Vision Impulse
12 in. Progressive
SP Voodoo Bolt
SP Twister Feed
ND Rip Valve
ND Brass hammer
ND Silk Shot ram
ND 15 degree V/A
ND Ultimate LPR
Dye Stickies
12V X-Board Revvy
PMI Pure Energy 48/3000 HPA tank
Recommended
Barrels:
Something small bore, this stuff in kinda on the small side
Strengths: Good for winter use
Weaknesses: Does stain sometimes
Review: I used this paint because it was what the feild owner was selling, I figure $60 a case for winter paint, can't beat that. It does work better than regular paint in cold weather, but below 30 it starts to break more easily. Remember guys, they do have to make this stuff safe for spring and summer use.
Conclusion: My suggestion for paint when the dial drops below 40 or so.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 15th, 2004 at 8:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chris in va Sunday, February 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Arctic Inferno
Marker Setup: CCM Series 5 cocker
CP 12" .689
HP, etc etc
Recommended
Barrels:
Not sure what works with this stuff
Strengths: Bright fill?
Weaknesses: Horribly inaccurate. Throwing paint at someone would be more reliable.
Review: Not much to say here. Didn't work with my cocker or the Xtra. I tried using the stock barrel, a CP .689, J&J ceramic and stock Xtra barrel. Nothing mattered. It just hooks all over the place. No, it doesn't roll out. Fits nicely.

One positive note, it didn't chop. At least the shell didn't get brittle. It does mark the target good and breaks decently...if you *do* hit the target that is.
Conclusion: Don't waste your hard-earned $$$ on this. I suppose if it's a choice between Brass Eagle or Polar Ice and it's cold, well...
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sirzapalot Sunday, January 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
inferno winter fill
Marker Setup: angel lcd= too many accessories to list
Recommended
Barrels:
.689
Strengths: none
Weaknesses: paint stinks, dimples and very discolored.
Review: do not buy this paint it is very bad, i did not know that polar ice paint was that bad. They are not made well at all. It was a new case, i used to work at this field at they get new paint every week. spend a little more money and get artic inferno , best paint for winter. I personally prefer them. Other wise use evil the rest of the year.
Conclusion: dont buy this paint, it is poorly made , the following is just to fill up the page gdghdhuohfngfuhonrghgiurnrghsdherhjoi nrehiriohgoirhgei jtioejgiorgheiohegsdhgo iejro hsoghad
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media