paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Airstar Nova 700 / Airstar Nova 700 / Airstar Nova 700 / Airstar Nova 700

Airstar Nova 700 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Airstar

Buy Airstar Nova 700

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Airstar Nova 700
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 24
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Nova 700 is the world's first totally pneumatic paintball marker. Comes with the following stock features: Articulated Barrel System, Ultra Low Operating Pressure (95 PSI), Pneumatic Trigger (lightning fast), Twist Lock Barrel, External Velocity Adjuster, Bottomline Air Setup, High Pressure Separator, Low Pressure Receiver, Accumulator, Relief Valve, and Regulator.
Product Availability 
The Airstar Nova 700 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
ren Monday, January 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 years7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Super novas... er. dassit.
Marker Setup: I use a nova700. Everything is tuned to perfection, polished, and it's got a trigger job too.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A good D/F, upgrading from stock reg to max-flow, trying to get a SBS from sec8, and a 45 grip.
Strengths: Works on volume, not valve dwell. It's extremely hard to explain in less than 5,000 words, but the gun works extremely differently from other markers. The flow remains relatively laminar due to low pressure, and is probably THE quietest operating marker on the market, period. The spool valve is exceedingly quiet, however, the barrel is what is the downfall of this gun, which is why I recommend a SBS (stationary barrel system).
There are tweaks and tunes to be done to this gun to make it better, but overall it's really good stock. They can be had now for a song and shoot as accurately as any gun out there, and my previous nova700 shot MORE accurately than my phantom, which is "the accuracy god" to most people. The gun is extremely accurate, extremely quiet, and has a really nice trigger pull when properly tuned.
Weaknesses: It's top heavy by design. You need to counteract this with a good d/f.
The eurogrip sucks. Replace it with a .45 frame immediately.
They never work. To be honest, the only reason why people sell their novas is because they're to stupid/lazy to get them working right. So they pass it on to others, and novas get a rep for not working merely because people are stupid. Airstar went out of business, which doesn't help, but luckily one can find support in the PGI section of pbnation.com, or you can email me and I can probably help you out.

*THE BARREL*
The fact that the gun uses an ABS (articulated barrel system) is the single biggest downfall of the gun. The gun will fly around in your hands because the barrel is jolting back and forth with each shot, creating recoil, and "negative" recoil, where the gun goes foward. REALLY annoying, but with practice, you can achieve good accuracy. The gun itself is exceedingly accurate, I really mean that. But the fact that it jumps around ruins the shooter's accuracy, so it is thus worsened by the cause. Sigh. Anyways, it's great for things like single shots, taking about 3 shots/sec, and it can also rip when properly tuned too. I can hit about 14bps with my nova. It totally flies when you want it to.

However, the stock reg shoots down when you're going over 8bps for longer periods of time, which is why the max-flow is a good idea.
Conclusion: The nova is an excellent gun. If you're a player who wants something for "snipuhing" and taking mainly pot shots from concealed positions, but also wants to have ripass potential, the novas for you. If only I could get my paws on a SBS....

The nova would rock if the fuggin barrel didn't jolt around...

If you've got the money, I suggest you take a look at section 8's new lunacy coming out. The nova is a primitive gun. It uses ideas way ahead of its time, but you can see that section 8 markers like the lunacu and darkstar are fixing all of the novas problems. I hang on to my nova because I can't afford a lunacy and I like the gun. To be honest, the lunacy is a better gun and has better design. I like to keep novas alive because they are the grandaddy of all spool valvers. The matrix, darkstar, mayhem, super nova, lunacy... it's all from the nova700.

Its a GREAT gun, but not recommended for people who are really serious for performance. I'd recommend it as a tinker/backup gun which is really nice. I'm a pump player and I don't shoot fast anyways, so a gun like the nova which has mad accuracy, great trajectory, super quiet, and also is able to blaze paint, is a good gun for me because I usually take slower, more aimed rof. It's almost a semiautomatic trainer. If you fire too fast, you'll lose your accuracy through the recoil of the gun. Anyways, I highly suggest it if you want to have a nice practicing gun or backup. Great gun, definetly is worthy of the full 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, January 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Super Nova -- about the only thing similar to the nova 700
Marker Setup: VSC CCI phantom -- Lapco Autospirit barrel
Palmer blazer -- loads of crap on it
Recommended
Upgrades:
Anything you can find. although great stock, why not make it better?
Strengths: Both the airstar supernova and the nova 700 are equipped with built in regulators, and D-ICER beads, which give them superior performance in the colder weather.
You can also dual-regulate them to gain even more control over the velocity of the balls.
The novas are purely pneumatic powered: no bolt. Thus, the volume of the shot is very reduced from other guns: having the effect of a silencer.
The ROF is pretty much unsurpassed by most other semi-automatics, but it will chop your paint if you don't have a motorized loader.
Weaknesses: hrm, airstar went belly up. hard to find parts.
but--> silver lining! light at the end of the tunnel!
Section 8 paintball has parts, and upgrades!
Conclusion: Great product, deserves more recognition.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, November 26th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Super nova, stock nova 700
Marker Setup: Electronic trigger, 45 frame, red wood grips, Darkstar reg, ptp warp feed, 88ci 4500 psi pmi, cp flame drop forward 2 inch, new 12 inch barrel with NO porting.
Recommended
Upgrades:
all of the above
Strengths: (all based on the upgrades)
very nice accuracy, consistensy on velocity, especially with the warp I can blast long bursts and never loose a shot due to misfeed or ever break a ball. Reliability is out of the question. It has lasted me quite a while on this setup.
Weaknesses: the nova will work on c02, but if fired for a long burst it will have shootdown.
Conclusion: I solemnly swear that this gun is THE messiah (in my opinion). People get freaked out when they see the nova in tournaments, its funny! Anyways, if you can find this gun, buy it. It is worth your time.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BOUNCER75 Saturday, November 10th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gun is down, need a breakdown on it to take aprt & clean it
Marker Setup: I have a one-of a kind. a Flatline SHO Sniper-2. This gun wil outrange any gun on the market today. I also own a mirror finish Auto-Cocker. I recently purchased a very rare gun out of Hawwaii. A Aarron Carter Ranger. I had some problems with getting the velocity up. I had it broke down at a freinds house while he was taking apart his Phantom. I noticed that the internal were the same. I put his Phantom parts in my gun & bamm. No more velocity problems. I just love this gun.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would just like to find a breakdown on this gun to clean it properly. Once I get it running, I'll let you know what could improved on it.
Strengths: The good would have to be the extremme low pressure this gun operates on. I was given this Nova 700 today by a friend who inherited a field & all it's supplys. The Nova was used as a rental gun. I had seen it in action & was very impressed with it. I helped this buddy of mine out by loading up all the rental equipment, sup-air field, & going thru all the stuff to see whats in inventory. Not a bad trade off for a Nova.
Weaknesses: I'm hoping there won't be anything bad about this gun. If anyone out there knows where I can look at a breakdown, I would appreciate it.
Conclusion: Seeing the Nova in action, I would have to say it lived up to it's original advertisment. It's a shame that the Nova wasn't recieved with the same excitement as other guns.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, November 3rd, 2001
Strengths: Absolut the best Gun out there.
No need to dinger around like the other Guys.
Plug in the Air and you set.
Have it now for 2 year,bought it from a Friend.
0 Problems.
Need to now where to get Upgrades and Parts.
Anyone.
My e-Mail Mthums@cfl.rr.com
Buy one if you get your Hand on One
Weaknesses: None
Conclusion: Buy one
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, October 22nd, 2001
Strengths: looks great
shoots even better
quiet
very little kick
gets a lot of looks on the field
everyone wants to try it because they never saw it before(people in NJ dont get out much)
great, short, smooth trigger pull
Weaknesses: company went out of business but PGI and Section 8 can fix it and they offer new upgrades like the stationary barrel adapter so you can use cock er barrels
Conclusion: Does it perform well stock or are upgrades nessecary? it works great
Is it worth how much it costs?cant get a new one anymore but 200 i spent for mine is definately worth it
How does it compare to similar guns?there arent any similar guns
Would you reccommend it to someone? definately
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fatrashfo Monday, July 23rd, 2001
Strengths: This gun is great almost silent i love the range and accuracy on it .Since i got the upgraded 16" barrel this gun has been doing great! It has such good performence. I suggest 1 to evey sniper this truley is the greates sniper gun!!!
Weaknesses: THe only bad thing i found was its hard getting parts but then i was in sears and i looked at the o-rings there i bought every o-ring in the gun.Also if it ever breaks i just send it to P.G.I and thell fix it ask for sean...
Conclusion: SO IN CONCLUSION THIS IS A GREAT SNIPER GUN THAT RUNS ITS BEST ON CO2 WHAT MORE CAN YOU ASK FOR???
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, July 7th, 2001
Strengths: I LOVE THIS GUN!!! I just got it about 2 months ago and its great. Its quiet and the trigger pull is better then some autocockers. its silent so newbies freak out when they see paint coming toward them and not know where it is coming from. the stock barrel is great and there are very little moving parts so the gun has very little problems. And, to oil the gun., u just put oil in the co2 adapter and dry fire. And the gun has internal cocking.
Weaknesses: Well, u cant get parts for it. the gun when u first get it leaks co2 and breaks paint but u have to break it in. u cant use cheap paint with this. Also, the gun is hard to break into.
Conclusion: I love this gun. i got it for $220 from my friends business. this gun is limited so its worth over $300. its worth well over the cost. it hasnt once broken on me yet. u really have to know the gun and the trigger pull because it doesn;t work like most other semi-automatic guns. all in all i love it. all u need is:

12 v revy
nitro tank
i use rps marbelizers as paint

i think that the gun is worth every cent i payed.

Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Aaron C Thursday, June 28th, 2001
Strengths: Oh my god... Man this gun is crazy. Its so simple in design. The barrel is one of, its not the only, moving part. Theres no sear, no hammer, no bolt, its crazy. Lets start the list:
- Very accurate with stock barrel
- Very Quiet
- Barrel is easily cleaned
- The barrel is twist lock, w\hich can be removed rather fast, instead of screwing it off and on or putting in pins
- very few ball breaks
- very low pressure (95 psi)
- I havnt had a problem with liquid co2 yet
- fast rate of fire
Weaknesses: Some bad poits are:
- Little aftermarket parts (there are some)
-manufacturer went out of buisness, but section 8 is opening up soon
- little to no tech support
- double feeding problem (easily fixed)
- you have to "learn" the trigger
Conclusion: This is a great gun to compete with in tourneys, its small and accurate, great for speedball, good sniper gun for games in woods ect.

well worth the money

-Homer
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tjd10684 Wednesday, June 20th, 2001
Strengths: well the low op presure is nice means you can use crappy paint. anno is cool looking. easly cleaned just rinse it under some water and dry. got mine for cheap at a local store it was used. collectors item
Weaknesses: well if somthing goes wrong your on your own the manual really really sux. the brass barrel is easly dented. low op presure means high volume to get the same speed on the ball. not meny upgrades if any at all.
Conclusion: well since there are no upgrades it proforms as good as it can. well its worth the cost if you get it cheap and have patiance to fiddle with it if somthing goes wrong. well the only guns i can really compair it to is my spyder, stingray and my friends m98 and i would say that it proforms as good as my pimped out spyder that cost me around 400 with all the upgrades then i paid 250 for the 700. no compairison to stingray not even fair how much better the 700 is. as for the 98 well proformance wise 700 blows it away but that might be my friends fult. i wouldent recomend this to people who dont really know their way arround in markers.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media