paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Izon Red Dot Sight / Dye Izon Red Dot Sight / Dye Izon Red Dot Sight / Dye Izon Red Dot Sight

Dye Izon Red Dot Sight Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Izon Red Dot Sight

Paintball Sights

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Izon Red Dot Sight
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 19
Average Rating: 7.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This site gives you the appearance of a red dot on your target. You aim with both eyes open, one eye looking through the site and the other looking at your target, and you'll see a red dot on your target. The sight is adjustable and it requires no batteries.
Product Availability 
The Dye Izon Red Dot Sight is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
dbowman70 Friday, January 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: WGP Trilogy Tactical

Loaders
Empire Reloader B, Brass Eagle Pocket Hopper

Gas
48/3000 HPA, 13 cu in with Myth reg

Barrel
Redz Pepper Stickz

Drop Forward
Trinity Drop Forward

Bolt
Alamo City Paintball

Grip
Dye Sticky 3
Strengths: Looks.
Weaknesses: Needs bright light and falls apart.
Review: This product started out missing parts when I received it and was nearly useless in all lighting conditions except the brightness that can be found outside during the day. Giving up on using it I left it on my marker because it looks cool and an adjusting screw fell out of the top adjusting dial without anyone touching it.

In total I have sent Dye 4 requests for help without any response. Obviously, they'll take your money but I'm not sure who you need to be to get assistance.
Conclusion: Don't buy it, it's a waste of money.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tman8626 Wednesday, October 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: PMI Pirhana E-Force GTI 2004 w/ DYE ULTRALITE barrell, Halo TSA LCD Hopper, CP Regulator
Strengths: Very precise
Weaknesses: Next to impossible to work in darkness
Review: This sight is a good add on to your gun. It will really help your aim if used peroperly. When you first use it, it may not be perfect because depending on the shooters eyes, the fiber optic rod might be out of place. Luckily, the sight comes with dials that the shooter can turn to place the rod perfectly.
Conclusion: This product is someting that I would recommend to all players. It is a great add-on and also makes the gun look amazing. The concept of using the sight and aiming with both eyes is pretty challenging, but when it is mastered, it works nicely.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fireballfx Thursday, December 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Armson Prodot - more expensive, but a better product overall.
Marker Setup: Acid grey VSC Phantom
11 Inch Stock Barrel
12 Inch Matching WWA Fr-Antom II
Matching T-Stock
Matching 3.5 oz tank
Matching Armson ProDot
15 Round SC / Center Feed breeches
Strengths: Basically gives you a point of reference for shots
No loss of peripheral vision
Weaknesses: Expensive
Less durable than the Armson
Mounting rail
Dim / small dot
Review: I tried this sight out once, and immediately disliked it.

This sight is designed after the Armson Prodot, and I must say, I am thoroughly dissapointed that DYE did such a poor job with this product.

The sight is less durable than the Armson, since about 40% of the construction is of plastic, while the Armson is about 90% aluminum.

The dot is dimmer than the Armsons, making it difficult to find in dimmer areas. The dot is also smaller, making the dot difficult to acquire when looking through the sight.

The rails are also non standard dovetails - you must either buy a DYE sight rail (coincidence?), get your rail adaptor milled / rigged, or buy a dovetail adapter from CCI (the manufacturer of the phantom).

I was originally going to buy and Izon because it is cheaper than the Armson, but once I tried the Izon, I decided it was worth pitching in the extra 15 dollars (buying used) for the Armson
Conclusion: Overall, I think this product is overpriced, and underperforms. Save yourself the hassle of having to sell off your Izon, and buy an Armson in the first place (or any other red dot of your choice).

-1 for price, -1 for performance, -1 for design flaws
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

123cct Wednesday, June 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
bsa ret sot sight
Marker Setup: A-5 , flatlinew/ shroud, fx forend, m16, front sight, palmer stabilizer, bsa red dot sight, thermal lense covers, e grip, double triggers, ez sling, collapsible stock, lapco big shot soonto be snapshot, asr-1, polished front bolt,remote
Strengths: small
durable
no batteries
Weaknesses: hard to get the dot into focus fast
Review: I have tried to use this sight to no avail you can't sight it in past 20 yards. Also the red dot is hard to aquire when you are in a hurry. You would be better off with a bsa red dot sight , yes it does use batteries but it works 100 times better and costs about the same. I dont know why anybody would give this product a 10 its really is no where close. my advce it you is spend money on something that is actually worth it. i give this product a 4 because it is a red dot sight and it doesn't require a battery.
Conclusion: do not get this because you can get a better sight for the same price and easier to acquire the dot
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

akaAssasyn Sunday, October 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: AM Sentinel, BL Torpedo reg, Powerlyte SS Speedline, AM adv. drop, VL revie X board, 20 oz CO
Strengths: compact
Weaknesses: mine in particular wasn't made very well
Review: changing from a power feed to a vert made it difficult for me to eyeball the tip of the barrel to the target like i usually do. so i wanted a sight to help me aim a little more. i don't like to spray and pray.

i ordered it online and i noticed the clear plastic part was wobbly and actually poped out. the tube itself was rotated the to the left alittle (which isn't a big deal). but about the clear plastic part, it was loose. so i took it part and put in a bigger oring like the one for my tank and now it. this let me see the insides of the thing after i pulled of the black washer.
Conclusion: its the only sight that fits my marker and i still have to get the bolt pin ground down. it does what i expect it to.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 7th, 2003 at 12:47 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Guest Friday, July 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
adco red dot sight
Marker Setup: agd polished high rise center feed e-mag number 1685
agd level 10 low impact superbolt
agd 88 ci 4500 psi flatline regulator system number XFL10573
stainless steel hose with quick disconnect setup
shocktech chrome drop forward
doc nickels stainless steel mag to cocker barrel thread adapter
dye black ultralite 18 inch barrel
dye black izon fiber optic sight

tippmann red/black milled gill model 98
full boar shadow cocking system
generic steel 16 ounce CO2 tank
tippmann flatline barrel
dye black ultralite 12 inch barrel
psycho ballistics inc black drop forward
tippmann chrome techline sight rail
ADCO hot shot sight
dye black sticky grip

armotech black zeus G2
Strengths: + looks great
+ durable
+ no batteries
Weaknesses: - not easy to zero the scope nor lock the settings
Review: i was one of those people that was drawn into scopes and everything associated with them when i was within my first year of paintball. of course i quickly realized that the effective range of a paintball was far less than i imagined and after my adco sight exploded upon impact i was forced to put this little stage of my development behind me for about 4 years.

then i received my lovely new e-mag and after getting all the necessary upgrades i still wasnt satisfied. not because of how it shot but because of how it looked. there was a blank void needed to be filled between my hopper and the rear of my mag (the valve) and the dye izon does a perfect job of filling it. and not only does it fill the void but it looks very nice and is great to use.

installation is a snap. it comes with the set screws and you just mount and tighten to your preferred sight rail (sorry forgot the measurement but im sure if you really want to know you can search for it.).

however then comes the need to zero your scope. or dial it in so when you point and shoot it will hit whatever its zeroed on or compensate for distance etc. well this wasnt quite that easy. logic would dictate that one of the two knobs would control the horizontal and the other would control the vertical or the zero. however this was not the case (at least on mine). i would lay prone on my bed aiming at a target while constantly twisting the dials (randomly since logically did not work) trying the get the damn thing centered. after a while i got it down but when i proceeded to lock my settings in place: lo and behold: it messed up everything (slightly but that makes a huge difference in a sight and i had to go at it again). well anyway its finally all set and im not even gonna bother with the lock. this is probably its only flaw.

i am very satisfied with the izon sight. again: it is very nice looking and compliments my marker very well. regardless of your aim it will help that first shot. usually when playing paintball you should just blast away and compensate for missed shots :-) but with the izon you get the satisfaction of drawing the bead without alerting the person nor without the need for batteries. the fiber optic works very well and is able to produce a dot in low light conditions. i havent really been hit in the sight yet so i cant report its durability but it comes across to me as very strong and thick most likely polycarbonate.
Conclusion: i dont think this is a necessity but if you have the money and have nothing else to buy then you will not be disappointed by this sight. it looks cool and does what its supposed to do.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DyE_KID2006 Tuesday, July 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
N/A
Marker Setup: 2003 Dye Ultralite
Ultralite barrel
Freak System
Crossfire 68 3000 nitro tank
Dye Rhino Cover
Hyper In-line reg
Egg hopper
Psycho Ballistics Drop Forward w/ UFA
Dye sticky grip
stock sight
Ordered a E-Blade for it also
Strengths: Really strong
No batteries either
Weaknesses: Nothing really
Review: THe sight is awesome specially since it came with me DYe Ultralite. I was never a big fan of sites but once i used this I loved it. I would not use any other site. Super bright red dot. Takes a couple minutes to get use to but once you get it everybody watch out.
Conclusion: The site is great
REallt strong
Nice bright dot
The site also comes a few different colors to match you fun.
It is super accurate also
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Al382 Wednesday, March 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
n/a
Marker Setup: A spyder electra,dye boomstick and ultralight,dye Izon red dot sight,custom product flame drop,pure energy thor regulator and 68ci 4500psi tank, ricochet 2k loader
Strengths: it is made out of a strong alum. and you can get on sight fast.
Weaknesses: nothing really
Review: the sight performed outstanding when it came to the balls hittingthey don't even damage it in anyway..thisis would be good for people that like to snipe or just need it to see if your targeting the right area or person.I would pay for this if I already didn't have it this sight is great.
Conclusion: I payed much less then it is worth but I might have payed full if I had know that it was going to work so great.I would recommend this sigth to anybody.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 26th, 2003 at 9:30 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

litestab Sunday, February 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Red Dot Sight (sucks)
guess aiming
Marker Setup: 68 Automag
* Shark Sight Rail
* Psycho Ballistics Drop Forward
* Macroline Kit
* red 12 v Revvy
* 32 º terminator barrel ( i hate it )
Strengths: Looks hot

quickest aiming sight i've ever used

standard dovetail mounts

small like the gun

keep both eyes open ( no tunnel vision )

amazing technology
Weaknesses: most people can't figure out how to use it

you need enough light to see the dot

takes a little practice

I hope it never takes a paintball hit
i wonder if i could clean it afterwards
has anyone had this happen? email me ( litestab@moscowmail.com )

Conclusion: Overall one of the best sights you can buy, rivaled only by the armson Pro - Dot which, i might add, is fairly huge and really ugly. you might not use it all that much, but if you play limited paint games like i do, accuracy counts, defintiely need a good gun ( automag) and a great barrel so the shots actually go where you're aiming

*get this sight*
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gladiator24_7 Monday, January 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year28 of 39 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Izon
Armson prodot
Daisy red dot
Eotech Holographic point sight
Taiga 2u Red dot point sight
Bushnell 3x9x40
BSA 40mm red dot
And every other kind of sight ever made ever by anybody ever. Yes, I know my sights.
Marker Setup: -100%% totally tricked custom autococker, red and chrome with all the fixings. Seriously the nices cocker n the face of the planet.
-2k2 Shocker with all the trimmings
-Stock cocker
-Various blowback semis
Strengths: FIRST OF ALL!!!! I KNOW WHAT IM TALKING ABOUT. Don't listen to these dumb newbs who don't really know what they're talking about. Some of these guys are just excited that they spent $50 and haven't digested the info yet.

You don't look through the sight. You look inside of it. You look in the sight and you only see a sea of black with a bright red dot in the middle. That bight red dot is basically a rod of fiber-optic cable, or that strange filament stuff you sometimes see on wierd geeky lamps, except that this cable is about 1/8th of an inch diameter instead of something in the hundreths of an inch. Point is, you can see the colored light beter when you look at the filament from the end. On occluded eye sights, the filament protrutes out the front of the sight, and is covered and protected by a thick bomb proof plastic, the same stuff they make paintball lenses out of. Light shines through the plastic onto the filament. So when you look into the back, you see a bright red dot from the filament, and nothing else, just a sea of black and a bright red dot.

Since you can only see the dot while looking directly inline with it, if you change the orientation of the filament (via the standard screws setup on the side) you can use it to precisely aim.

I hope that made sense. Fact is it works. I can acquire my dot in my reddot as fast as I can line up my barrel for a long shot, the difference is I have 100%% pinpoint accuracy with my red dot. Instead of lining up the barrel tip on your target and target an educated guess as to the angle of your shot, you simply put the dot on your target, and at long ranges, maybe put the dot a few feet above their head. Its the same principle that modern military sights work on. Not two points, like iron sights, but flat panels where you simply point and shoot. I've seriously hit OSOKs on people at 50 or 60 yards, so far away I had to aim like 5 feet over their head to get them. Paintball guns are a lot more accurate than some people think, its just that they're shooting blind with no sight, just their two shaky hands and some by guess and by golly, so of course their aim sucks.

Weaknesses: Ok, now this is where the sight turns some people off. In order to use it, since you can't see through the sight, you have to use both your eyes to shoot instead of just one. You put your head behind your gun so you can see your dot inside your sight, then look at your target with the other eye. You bring the dot onto your target. It works the same as way as... say.... say you want to kill your lightswitch on your wall. From across the room, hold up a finger and block your line of sight to the switch. In this, your fingertip represents the red dot. When your brain combines the images, you see your finger on top of the lightswitch, but you can still see your lightswitch through your fingertip becuase your eyes are combining the images from both your eyes. I'm just saying this because I've heard of people who just can't do this, although I've shown this sight to about 20 people and every single one had no problems and was amazed at how cool the sight was.

Conclusion: Piece of practical advice. I know of two kinds of occluded eye sights made. One is by Dye, and the other is by Armson, called the Armson Prodot. I own both. Two armsons and one prodot on my trick chrome cocker, shocker, and another cocker. The armson is better. Its a tad larger, maybe half again longer than the Dye, but because its longer the filament is larger allowing the dot to the very bright and impossible to miss even under the most harrowing circumstancs. Also, since its longer, the objective lense in the back, the big one you look inside, is larger and therefore easier to find the dot. Since the dot only works when you look directly behind it, a larger lense to see the dot is useful. Finally, I love dye, but the izon isn't the same quality as the prodot. I could seriously throw the prodot out of a moving car, then run it over, slap it back onto my gun and I'm sure it would work fine. I believe its 100%% metal, inside and out, while the Dye is alluminum on the outside but have the occasional plastic piece inside. If your rail isn't large enough for a Armson, go ahead and try out the izon. But all in all, I'll say that the Armson is about 30%% more effective in the standard paintball situation than the izon.

Ok. Done. I hope this answer suffices. I should put it up on pbreview. Warpig did a review I think. If you're still confused you can check it out there.

Bottom line, if you spend the money, get the armson. I'll give it a 5 just becuase 5 is supposed to be average, which is what the Izon is. By the way, I rate the armson about an 8.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media