paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Airstar Super Nova / Airstar Super Nova / Airstar Super Nova / Airstar Super Nova

Airstar Super Nova Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Airstar

Buy Airstar Super Nova

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Airstar Super Nova
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 13
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Super Nova has all the same great features of the Nova 700, plus a 12" barrel with ported foregrip, Vertical feed body, 45 grip with bottomline pressure regulator, removable sight rail, and adjustable pneumatic trigger.
Product Availability 
The Airstar Super Nova is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
calgonrah Tuesday, May 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nova 700, Supernova with DICER, Supernova ET and a gun that i designed that might have been inline for production had the company not gone out of biz. I would have pushed to have it named "The Pulsar". I would luv to upload a picture of my Pulsar to anyone who has an intrest in the novas or has nova owners site.
Marker Setup: Spyder(first gun ever)A left hand feed autococker, an automag and my Pulsar. I have a ton of others that I shoot but not as often.

My pusar has the recipricating barrrel with a cutdown shroud and an extremely modified body. I wont shoot CO2 at this point but Im sure I could remedy that with some DICER tech added if i wanted to.
Recommended
Upgrades:
We were about to introduce a breech system that eliminated the recipricating barrel. I had sever ideas for barrel shrouds for those that enjoyed the moving barrel. Aside from a total reworking of the gun I think it shoots amazing and with just a little info about the internals can be the most problem free marker ever made.
Strengths: Low preasure HIgh volume adds range and accuracy
Weaknesses: Moving barrel stumped some people and it with quirky internals its was tough to learn
Review: Seeing as how I was there and acctually built most of the guns you people are using I find it extremely refreshing that your still writing revues so long after the company went under. I would love to be able to chat with anyone about their gun and I might even be able to help with a few problems or suggest solutions or upgrades. I have a few custom one offs and would share pictures with anyone and I am also looking to buy a 700 as I never got one for myself.

I luv the gun and the only reason I am not shooting my pulsar today is being that it was a prototype body I broke it and I couldnt replace the body in time before the company went under. I do have ideas as how to get it back together and on the field.

Conclusion: on a side not I read here that someone said the gun hates liquid CO2, I would love to put that person to the test with a functional supernova in working order. I would be willing to bet money that not only does itshoot liquid CO2 just fine, I could freeze up the bottle and gun and wouldnt probably even raise an eyebrow at the chrono station
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

4danger Wednesday, April 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
There is nothing out there that compares to the Air Star Super Nova.
Marker Setup: Air Star Super Nova with longer sniper barrel an option that I ordered when I purchased the marker.Motorized hopper.Tippmann A-5 with response trigger.Special Ops 330+ hopper and 400 round hopper.Smart Parts Ion Dynasty setup.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Air Star Super Nova only needs a good motorized hopper.
Strengths: Accurate, really quite, shoots really far.
Weaknesses: Fussy about paintballs, needs high end quality paintballs.I use RPS Marbelizer.
Review: I love this marker.We play woodsball.This marker lets you have another chance if you miss the first time because it is so quite.The only problem that I have had was when the vertical feed tupe became loose.I was getting blow back up the vertical feed tube and started chopping balls.
Conclusion: If you can get your hands on this marker, buy it now! Not recomended if you only want to fire tons of paint.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

za_hulk Friday, May 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: automag rt pro ule q-loader ......
Recommended
Upgrades:
im putting a 12g changer on mine and making it a pistol.
Strengths: Runs on 91psi
Acurate
Quiet
Weaknesses: Cant find spare parts
Review: well i got this gun off of a guy i met on warpig.com he didn't know what was wrong with it he said it was the trigger and he didn't want to take it apart and fix it because hes not very good at thos things. so i offer him $78 and he takes it( it was a steal). so anyway i get it replace teflon tape oil ect. i bring it down to my proshop/field (P&R) and the owner loves it. i bring in unique stuff all the time. so we get it working and the thing cranks for a mech it puts my Automag rt pro to shame ( i haven't tweeked around with my automag yet tho) it was so accurate every shots splatter was touching or was on anther shot ( a 3in spread). and its supper quiet. i was impressed. but we put it down for a little bit then i shot it and a big BOOM alot of gas i don't think i broke it i just have to reset the trigger. it is off a little. its worth it if you can find one.
Conclusion: if you can find one dont pass it up get it. if you dont like it it have a high resale value. im giving it a 10 because its what you need in a mech gun accurate, quiet, unique and NOT a gas hog.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

RhinoMotherSC Monday, January 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cockers, Mags, Nova-700, Ice Epic
Marker Setup: Supernova with original *short* barrel, quick disconnect remote *sometimes not, but mostly*, 20 ounce CO2 bottle or a 68ci 3000 HPA bottle.
Recommended
Upgrades:
You used to be able to get the longer ported barrel for this Marker but its almost impossible to find them now since Airstar went out of bussiness. Maybe a secondary regulator but that can be taken care of using HPA with a regulated valve. There is no big need to upgrade past *out of box on this one unless you just want it to be an electro which Section 8 paintball used to do but I belive they went belly up on doing this also. Will check around and try and update this if I can but it doesn't look promising.
Strengths: Quite, consistent, honestly one of the best guns i've ever used/owned, *Unique*
Weaknesses: The company is no-more it is a rarity tough to fix if not familiar.
Review: The only real problems you'll ever have with this gun should be A) working on it if you ever have to, B) finding replacement parts if you ever need them, C) people always discriminate against what they dont understand. This gun is pretty durable, it had a problem when they first came out yes, but when that was fixed on them they were as tough as any Model 98 Tippmann out there. I bought mine used from Triggertyme in Columbia, SC from the proshop for $100 and a 12v revolution to go with it and the other guns I was using at the time. I had never seen anything like it, and being a mechanicaly inclined and curious sort i had the guys there show me how to strip it down and reasemble it and explain the inner workings of this gun (which they were more than happy to do). The first time i played with it was the next day at one of thier 24 hour senario games so yes it got a trial by fire and I only had one problem that day which was my own stupidity and not the guns fault so I can not blame it. These guns are sewing machines and i had to let a few of my teammates and other friends fiddle with it to and everyone loved it and I was offered $100 more than I payed for it from 2 of these people who both incidently own Autocockers with more than $600 in them. If you can find one for a good price pick it up, try it and maybe one day someone will revive one of the greatest Marker Guns that has been seen in paintball from its conception in the 80's. If this gun were still avalible today in 2007 i'd give it a 9.8/10 because nothing is totaly perfect but this one is close, but because of circumstances out of our control i have to give it a 8/10
Conclusion: If you find one buy it if thier not insane on its price, and someone PLEASE revive this gun's design and get it back out there Nova owners are a few and far between crowd as it is now imagine 5 years from now....
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BigbluSpyder Thursday, May 6th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker is the closest. Not nearly as cool though.
Marker Setup: 98 Spyder Shutter
aci 6-Stage Expansion chamber
Sprint e-trigger frame
Shocktech Supafly Delrin Bolt
VL 12v Revy
Shocktech e-trigger
Smart Parts tear drop barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
A remote hose (No liquid Co2 feed)
An upgraded hopper
Strengths: Ultra-Quiet, Pimp Anodizing, Freaky Barrel, High Rof, Unique
Weaknesses: Lack of Tech support, Very Complex Internals, Hates Liquid CO2
Explodes
Review: This product should have never been released for sale. I'm utterly amazed that no-one has mentioned why Airstar went out of business. It was because of the failure of this marker. I had a local shop order mine straight from the company, and I fell in love with it as soon as I saw it.
However, when i tried to gas it up the first time, the darn thing wouldn't even fire. i took it to my local techie and he turned up the velocity screw a bit and Eureka!. The gun worked like magic. Dead accurate and insanely quiet. I test fired it at a friend's house and nothing went wrong. I was still in Love.
The next weekend I took it to a Big Game in hopes of sniping the masses. I didn't even make it to the chrono station. Some kid was all worked about seeing a SuperNova for the first time and demanded that I demonstrate the barrel system. I obliged him by turning the marker upside down(no balls would feed), and pulling the trigger. BOOM! Metal shot out of the barrel and my entire 12oz CO2 drained in a matter of seconds. Besides almost getting yelled at for letting this happen in the staging area, my gun was totally F-ed. I came home and tried to contact Airstar to get it fixed, but their website said that they had been dissolved as a company and would no longer accept returns or repair any guns. The reason for this? The machine shop that made the internal regulator had built it wrong. Every SuperNova sold had a defective regulator causing them to explode. The cost of fixing them all put Airstar out of buisness. Crap pure crap.
Conclusion: Unless you get it from a friend and it is proven to work. Don't touch it with a 50-foot pole
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Ian_Dubs Monday, September 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None what so ever, this type of gun is a one of a kind.
Marker Setup: Super Nova, 20 oz, smart parts Hi Vis sight, 42 coiled remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
This gun is perfect out of the box, i would go for a remote though, simply because the gun is already pretty heavy.
Strengths: The Super Nova is amazing, it shoots so far for having no bolt or "flatline barrel system", it is also extremely quite.....i haven't heard a gun so quiet. The ABS is the coolest part though....there are not many guns that have a barrel that moves back and forth.....
Weaknesses: The only thing that is semi-bad about it is that it is a bi*ch to clean when you break a ball....which just happened because i have been using my friends revy and he finally took it back.......damn him.....
Conclusion: This gun is just plain unique.....its too bad that it is not made any more.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fenmcconnell Thursday, June 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman M98 and Smart Parts Impulse
Marker Setup: Mostly Impulse with Freak system
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, needs none, near perfect stock.
Strengths: The marker is quiet due to the low pressure (90psi) and no bolt. It is also a fast shooting marker with very few moving parts. Very dependable worst thing that happens is a slight leak that can be fixed with a new $2 O-ring from Sears! D-icer beads help to eliminate cold weather liquid CO2 problems that other markers have.
Weaknesses: not much, a stationary barrel would have been nice
Conclusion: If you can't go wrong with this marker as your main gun or a back-up. They are not in production any more so if you are looking for one it will be used.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SUCKMYCOCKER Saturday, February 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
2k2 cocker
custom 98 w/ armson stealth barrel
Marker Setup: 24 ounce CO2 and remote and a 12 rev w/ x board
Recommended
Upgrades:
none...cuase there are none

Strengths: this gun is beautiful, all chrome, serial # 797, i traded my 98 w/sniper barrel for it and i have been happy with it so far, i leaked when i first got it but it doesnt leak anymore., i didnt even do anything, pretty accuarate short, light trigger pull
Weaknesses: nuthin really, cant find upgrades but pgi will repair it, need to use some pretty good paint, viewloader didnt work wel at all, the trigger pull may be short and light but it is FU*KING wierd
Conclusion: this is a very nice gun and it is a shame that airstar went out of business my advice is if you can get one you should cuase they are very rare and a nice gun to have
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, January 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
The Nova 700 is the only gun that is in any way similar to it :-) its been described as "alien"
Marker Setup: VSC CCI phantom -- Lapco Autospirit barrel
Palmer blazer -- loads of crap on it
Recommended
Upgrades:
Benchmark 45 grip frame
Electro Kit :)
Strengths: Both the airstar supernova and the nova 700 are equipped with built in regulators, and D-ICER beads, which give them superior performance in the colder weather.
You can also dual-regulate them to gain even more control over the velocity of the balls.
The novas are purely pneumatic powered: no bolt. Thus, the volume of the shot is very reduced from other guns: having the effect of a silencer.
The ROF is pretty much unsurpassed by most other semi-automatics, but it will chop your paint if you don't have a motorized loader.
Weaknesses: Airstar went under. Very big disappointment, as it is a good product.
But section 8 paintball is able to repair them, they have spare parts, and are making upgrades.
Conclusion: A very nice gun, great starter gun, or as a replacement, or as an addition to any collection of paintball guns.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, November 5th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: i loved my nova. maintence is really easy. a little oil there and a little oil there. super fast for a semi-auto. runs great on co2. sounds like no other gun out there, people will know who you are out on the field.
Weaknesses: one day the gun will have a little air leak and the next day its fine? just make sure you oil all the o-rings (not to much) and make sure their in the right place.
another thing is dont fill your hopper to the top make sure there is some room or you will chop a ball.
Conclusion: great first gun to have. i know i enjoyed it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media