paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Defiant / Bob Long Defiant / Bob Long Defiant / Bob Long Defiant

Bob Long Defiant Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Defiant

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Defiant
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 65
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $750

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: Inline regulator, Quick release bolt, Different size barrells, Custom milling, Double trigger, Aluminum grip, Aluminum body, Vertical feed, Special splash anodize, Short and long barrel attchments, 3 shot, 6 shot, and full auto, 13 balls a second, and Low-pressure operation (225-250 psi)
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Defiant is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
EleventhDust Thursday, May 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bushmaster B2K & B2K2 LCD. Bob Long Intimidator.
Marker Setup: Cockers. Base Model Angel LCD Pewter. Bushmaster B2K2 LCD. Intimidator Orange Fade. Tippmann Model 98. PMI Tracer. Sheridan PGP.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit. Regulator. 12volt VL w X/Borad. Drop Forward. N2 Setup. Sticky Grips.
Strengths: Fast ROF. Adjustable Trigger. Comes with chaos chip. Comes with a good barrel. Color fades. Multi Modes. Awsome marker ROF ROF ROF ROF. Reliable. Not to big. Its light. With a Drop forward its really small. But that depends on the drop forward. Works really well on a adjustable N2 set up.
Weaknesses: No matter how you cut the body. Change the barrel. Put odd upgrades on these things its STILL a Bushmaster. Just one offers different options that the other. Its loud especialy with no hopper and no paint. If you plan on using a preset N2 set up. You might want to look into a secondary Regulator.
Conclusion: Over all its a Bushmaster no matter how you twist the marker. The great thing about these Defiants are that out of the box they come with a good barrel. They come stocked with a chaos chip. And not to mention the fade colors. You might wanna get a new Regulator if your using a preset tank. Simply because the Defiant and Bushmasters are made to run at a low pressure. For the price I would buy a Bushmaster B2K2 LCD. But like I said its still a bushmaster no matter how you twist it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, April 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
B2K2, 2001 Angel, Intimidator, Impulse, Autococker
Marker Setup: whatever works that day...
Recommended
Upgrades:
GET A NEW REG! I prefer and ANS, and of course get a few new barrels or a good barrel system. but no matter what anyone says get what works for you and your style of play....
Strengths: Gun is light accurate, super quick if you know what your doing! and it's cheap about $500, and contrary to what I've read here B2K2 and Defiant are not the same... biggest difference is the barrel thread of an autococker, means better selection of barrels and in my opinion slightly more accurate and customer service isn't better with either company ( although Bob's company is definitly knows more about the product on the phone) you get the parts all made by ICD in about the same amount of time.
Weaknesses: your VERY OCASIONAL miss fire at high rates of fire,unless your using an Intimidator with the laser eye on, these things happen when your going faster than the hopper..... other than that I haven't had any problems.
Conclusion: If you like a compact gun that is great for snapshots and that is very well balanced this should definitly be one of the guns you look at!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, April 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I have shot angels and a b2k2, and AMG is an electro but the Bob Long doesnt even COMPARE to it.
Marker Setup: I have the Bog Lonb Orange Fade, with a drop forward and a Crossfire n2 tanks.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would recommend absolutely nothing. Its awesome as it is! Dont do anything cept by a n2 tank and you will have a great gun!
Strengths: Everything that I can possibly think of. They call this gun a poor mans angel. which is so true, it shoots with the speed and accuracy and distance of a cocker and angel combined. The stock barrel is awesome, I think I am not sure what it is, but it looks like a J&J Stainless steel Barrel....so even the stock barrel is good!
Weaknesses: nothing at all, the only thing I could think of which might be uncomfortable for people is that the gassthrough is close to the trigger frame, which could be uncomfortable for some people. but for me its not a bad thing at all.
Conclusion: this gun is great, why spend another 500 dollars on an angel when you can buy a Bob Long Defiant, which is just as good pretty much. The milling is awesome and the colors are cool.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, April 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Bushy (bushmaster), Angels, Cockers, and Impulse,
Marker Setup: I have a 2002 Bob Long Defiant Grey to Black fade, with a Flame Drop, and a 47cu 3000psi pure energy nitro tank, and a Freak System. Also a Eclipse Blade Trigger, a Eclipse Tourney Velocity Adjuster, Lapco Vetircal Adaptor, and the valve has been Vapored, and i have a WDP mini reg on it. Also definatly get a 12V Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
a barrel, and a trigger and that freakin reg. if u get the Trigger and REG. You should be fine.
Strengths: Everything i hardly miss, the way it shoots, the lightness of the trigger, and of course the accuracy (remember i use a Freak), super rreliable electro, definatly the new POOR MAN"S ANGEL.
Weaknesses: if you dont get the upgrades, then its still a good gun, but that stock reg. and trigger suck, as far as a barrel its a ok stock barrel, but for that little bit of accuracy that might make the difference get a FREAK.
Conclusion: its a awsome kickass gun if u have the upgrades, i mean come on atleast get a reg. and trigger job. overall i give it a 10 because it hase never failed me. i have a COCKER i use for back up.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

2k1AngelShooter Sunday, March 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker
2k1 LCD Fly
2k1 C&C LCD
Flame Cocker
Stock Cockers
3 Impulses
2 Mags
ect...
Marker Setup: basicly stock, w/ 88/45 nitro.
Recommended
Upgrades:
REG!
Strengths: Well, this is a very nice marker, surprizing accurate. Shoots fast, does the job well. Very simple marker, similar to a Shocker in the way it takes apart.
Weaknesses: (Newest models don't have this problem) but the reg is kind of weak, and the trigger is pretty sloppy. The adjustment screws strip easily.
Conclusion: Well, I'm going to give this an 8, a 9 with a better reg and trigger. A blade or vaporworks trigger is a MUST for this marker. Shoots really well, offers alot of bang for the buck though, but with timmy's coming down in price I don't see to many of these being sold anymore. Very nice marker, very very consistent with paint, but needs a better reg and trigger to really make it a special machine.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, March 12th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
mag (unfortunately)
Marker Setup: blue/purple fade bob long defiant with warped sportz drop forward and a crossfire 114 ci and a 12 volt revvy everything else is stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
actually, just get a drop and a revvy (preferrably 12 volt to keep up w/ high rate of fire) and a chop eye and you are set
Strengths: it shoots fast
accurate
light trigger pull
cocker threads
excellent anodizing
made by Bob Long
Weaknesses: if you chop a ball, you cant play till you clean out the insides, shootin electro is easy to chop a ball, get a chop eye and you'll be ok
Conclusion: I love it. I can easily keep up with those angels and shockers and its at a fraction of the cost. However, dont get this as your first gun. Bob Long has succeeded again
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SuperBa11er Monday, March 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Upgrades- Lighting drop forward, pure energy 88/45 nitro tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel. The stock is some what good but not good enough
Strengths: Great price
Easy to maintain
Does not chop balls (use small bore balls)
Light
Compact
Good accuracy and distance
Adjustable Trigger
Weaknesses: Nothing bad about this gun
Conclusion: If you have the money and are looking for a reliable electronic gun that is light and compact this gun is for you!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DfntPntbll Friday, March 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel, emag, ION, Bushy, Cocker,.....should I keep going?
Marker Setup: Bob Long Defiant with super slcik bolt, palmer reg, 45 ci. nitro, freak barrel, boomstick, J&J two peice, Blue revie, Dye clear grips, worm trigger, cocker trigger spring.
Recommended
Upgrades:
HPA system, barrel, reg
Strengths: Very reliable - 4 years, only had to change one O-ring
Easy to clean
price
Weaknesses: Crazy tall
heavy with upgrades
on/off switch has some wires that can short out.
Review: Overall this gun is fantstic for the money,... but now with the arrival of the new ION from smart parts,... the money you would spend on this would be better spen ton the ION and some upgrade parts. Me having owned this gun for as long as I have, I have aquired several barrels and dont want to really trade,... but now that someone makes bodies for the ION with cocker threads,.. I can upgrade with the confidence that I can use my freak kit and boom stick.
Conclusion: if you have your heart set on a marker of this style,... go with this gun. Otherwise,.. get the ION and some upgrades.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 28th, 2006 at 12:40 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, February 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: green fade defiant w/micro apocolypse drop foward, ANS duck bill bottomline, also i have an 8 inch taso speedball barrel, to go with a "12 long shot barrel. And a macro line setup.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, drop forward.
Strengths: extremely easy to take care of, to clean it pull the pin, and the bolt slides out. People cay cockers are easy to clean? this thing has barely anything to clean, and works amazingly. never have to oil it, is very accurate. sometimes comes with a longer trigger pull then most defiants, like mine. just get a pro shop to fix it up, shouldn't cost much if anything at all. also very small and fast.
Weaknesses: the barrel, and if you stick with your stock barrel for long, you must be confused.
Conclusion: great! great gun right out of the box! it can be even better if you spend a little patience and time to work it in and turn it into your very own. then, once you've worked with it and made all the adjusments you want, it becomes godly.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, February 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
shocker 4x4, diablo matrix
Marker Setup: Some1 tell me
Recommended
Upgrades:
Some1 tell me this too email me
Strengths: I have only felt the trigger. Wow was i suprised it was awesome. As light as the diablo matrix's trigger and lighter than shockers. Not only fast but pretty stock accurate. The balls where coming within 4in of the first ball. Also very light for snapshot. The gun stock is sweet and there are always some little upgrades.
Weaknesses: Nothing really. No gun is perfect though. Considering i have opnly tested for a few games i found nothing wrong
Conclusion: Buy this product. It has a great price for the quality. I'm getting one myself
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media