paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey HALO A / Odyssey HALO A / Odyssey HALO A

Odyssey HALO A Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey HALO A

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey HALO A
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 39
Average Rating: 7.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $130

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Odyssey H.A.L.O. promises to be the next big thing in paintball! The sleek, flawless design of this new hopper promises to make it a best seller in the near future. The H.A.L.O. utilizes a reflected infrared beam located at the top of the feed tube to detect the presence of paintballs. A single recessed push-button is the H.A.L.O.’s only control; it uses an on/off/on sequence to activate the hopper. The recessed button virtually eliminates the possibility of the hopper being activated by mistake in your gear bag. The electronics are in the back, and the battery pack (6 “AA”) is in the front, giving the H.A.L.O. a nice balanced feel.

View videos of the H.A.L.O.

Product Availability 
The Odyssey HALO A is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
redhotee Saturday, March 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
vl 200
Marker Setup: dust blue angel speed with 68 cu 4500 max flow and a halo B hopper with rip drive and a 16 inch all amercan berral with freak front and 2 of those big volumizers lcd upgrade kit
Strengths: none realy
Weaknesses: it breaks left right center
Review: it split in 2 one of the gears grinded down to nothing so it couldent feed just get the bllender going when workd couldent load fast enough so the sensi system wouldnt let me shoot great feture on angels halo a should be called the 130 doller problem and to make it enoughf word i can only say i dont like it
Conclusion: halo a should be called halo pos halo pice of poo i just hope the make the halo b so much better
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 23rd, 2004 at 6:26 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AgentOrange Sunday, October 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Rico AK, 2K 12v revy (yuck),- all really cant compare as this is force fed
Egg 2-Faster more reliable than this but not nearly as good as the halo b
Marker Setup: Silver 98custom
32* 2003 Expansion Chamber
32* Flame Drop
Madmann Spring Kit
Custom Trigger Job
Ricochet Ak
Clear Dye Stickies
16oz Stubby w\anti siphon
Strengths: Pretty Fast
Strong Shells
Great customer service
Weaknesses: Can be unreliable
Pretty heavy
Review: Well I've used this before and it was pretty fast, seemed very durable but was also pretty heavy. Some people will tend to complain about reliabilty problems and the excessive weight but it does get the job done. Its a fast hopper with great customer service. So if you cant get a halo b go for this hopper.
Conclusion: I'd say stay away from buying this now only since the Halo B is out, but its not a bad hopper by any means.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lorquas Wednesday, September 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revy, warps... all kinds of stuff
Strengths: Strength, SPEED, Ease of use
Weaknesses: Weight
Review: This is a great Back Man's hopper. It will feed fast enough to keep up with any shooter. I've never had a jam or a break inside of it... and the batteries lasted through several cases of paint. It is also FORCE FEED, a wonderful feature that allows you to shoot a few paintballs even if you're holding the marker upside down.... this is great for those wierd shots that you need a little extra. I never chopped with this loader. It could also take a beating and still be ticking.
Another nice feature is the button... it won't turn on for no reason inside your bag if it gets bumped.

However, the thing does weigh like 2 pounds. Not something that is ideal for speedy snap shots.
Conclusion: If you don't mind the weight... you definately would wanna consider one of the halo's.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

iownu@pball Wednesday, May 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
evol 2, halo b,ricoshay ak and 2k all better than the halo a
Marker Setup: orange m98, response trigger,rais site rale, dye stickies,double trigger,pb drop forward, r1000 co2 regulator9adjustable, expansion chamber,jj+j stainless steel 18 inch and 10 inch. low pressure kit, starr fire bolt, power feed, halo a, getting evolution2.
Strengths: feeds fast about 15 bps, looks not cheap, simple controls,one button.
Weaknesses: heavy, cracks, jams,lots of batteries
Review: this thing feels like 2 bricks held up by a hollow tube.(not a good feeling) even without batteries. rikoshays are much lighter. it is ok on battery efficiency. it says it takes 9 volsts but it runs out super fast and hopps around in the battery case. ill give it some credit for being wicked fast at feeding. and i like the glossy shell. the outside looks fine but isnt. my lid wobbles and feels insecure, its broken now. the feed neck broke off while snap shooting, leaving the inner tube still there. the battery door broke. the scratches are pretty much permenant and noticable. its so big it blocks all of the shot s and is good when gun hits dont count i paid 92 for it when it first came out and thought i had a good deal, now i wish i could trade it in for 20 bucks.cant wait till i get evo. 2
Conclusion: dont get it. get any of the similar products that i listed:
evol 2, halo b,ricoshay ak and 2k all better than the halo a.
this hopper is a little worse than average because of price and prerformance
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shub0 Sunday, September 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revy 9v, Revy 12v, Ricochet 2k
Marker Setup: Jackal Phase 3 Minicocker, RAT 3:16, Shocktech Superfly, Palmer Stabilizer, Eclipse Blade, ANS Jackhammer, ANS 4-way, Shocktech ram, 12" Total Freak
Strengths: - Fast - Way faster than my Ricochet 2k or my 12v Revolution
- Doesn't seem to be as bad on batteries as everyone says.
- On/Off, Can be a little tricky to turn on/off, press button release for 1 sec then press again.
- Price, I only paid $50 for it from a friend who used old batteries in it and said that it kept on jamming on him. I haven't had it jam yet.
- Did I mention it is fast.
Weaknesses: On/Off - I understand why people say it's bad, but did they really read the instructions, or did they just say that they did.
Price - $130 is a bit much to pay for a loader unless you really need the speed
Conclusion: On my excessively fast cocker my Ricochet would shoot more liquid paint at a high ROF than a Wagner Power Sprayer, my HALO does not have a problem with bolt chop at max trigger.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Amardane Wednesday, June 19th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
12v Revolution w/ xboard and propellors
Marker Setup: Diablo Matrix
centerflag reg
Trinity lp reg
Blade Style Trigger
Trigger Job
12" Freak
Halo
ACI 68ci 3000p.s.i. tank
Strengths: The feed rate is great. It by far out feeds my revy. It's a great hopper to put stickers on.
Weaknesses: Can't keep up with my Matrix. Cost a lot. It's a little heavy, but after getting used to it, it's not bad. It's horrible if you break a ball in it, because it is very hard to clean. If you buy a halo for an Intimidator, you might as well throw it away (consider throwing it into a wall several times, till I got my Matrix and now it works great).
Conclusion: If you can't out shoot about 14 bps then don't bother getting a halo. If you can then get it, but there is a good chance of out shooting it (like me), but if you don't like a warp feed (also like me) then get a halo. If it worked good on all guns I would give it a better rating, but it was horrible on my timmy.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jynxfactor Friday, June 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader power series 2000, 9 V rev, 12 V rev, Turbo rev
Marker Setup: Sandridge F5 on a Spanky supercharged fishbone cocker
Strengths: Feeds fast
Feeds consistently
Sturdy construction so hopper hits don't break paint in side (not yet anyway)
You can fire at greater angles out of your bunker
Weaknesses: A pain in the (you know what I'm gonna say) to clean if you do manage to break paint.

I had to use what was the absolute worst paint I have ever seen last Sunday and broke paint in the loader. I tried cleaning it out at the field and managed to loose two parts. When I got home I canalized an old rev and fixed it good as new.
Conclusion: Without question I will never use a rev again. They just can not keep up with the Halo (original not even the belt driven version, that one should me hear next week).

My recommendation is to get two since cleaning them at the field is difficult at best.

I'm giving the Halo a 9 only because of the difficulty in cleaning. I agree with the guy below on one item the way the IR sensors are in stalled should be modular.

Happy hunting!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Phat John Thursday, June 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Turbo Revvy, Ricocet AK
Marker Setup: I have a 2k2 gothic cocker body with top of the line everything inside, ans gen x reg, 12 and 16in dye boomstick, and a 14 Freak, 90ci 4500psi Nitro duck. I have a Racegun Frame on the way and a Spyder Flash with a Check it products derlin bolt, cp flame drop forward and asa adapter, ans gen x reg, same nitro, and dye 16 inch boomstick
Strengths: Well is is useful for an oversized paper weight but then all it does it get in th way.
Weaknesses: It is weigh to heavy and it just looks weird. It takes 6 AA batteries where two 9v would do a lot better, I don't know if it is just A few high end guns but the few i have constantly break. I have a Matrix Timmy ANgel and Emag and it is constantly double feeding. I expected more out of it. get a old 9v revvy and get a Wicked air turbo board and it will be just as good. It feeds just as fast and is a lot less while keeping the revvy quality.
Conclusion: It is a total waste of money where i can get a revvy and a wicked air board for half the price. Dosen't seem to like high end guns
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, May 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rico - 12v&9v Revy - Warp Feed - Stock Tube
Marker Setup: Diablo matrix
centerflag reg (the real one)
smart parts freak barrel set
pmi pure energy 68/3000
drop forward
halo
Strengths: Flawless operation: Never had any feeding problems while playing.

Strong Construction: Plastic is durable. Feed neck is double reinforced.

No paint breaks inside halo

No paint breaks inside stock matrix

Fits perfect once sanded.

ON/OFF features smart and easy to use if you read the manual
Weaknesses: Neck has to be sanded to get it to fit. According to webpage this was intentional. Good way to get a perfect fit but you have to sand quite a bit to get it to fit a stock matrix (which has a tight fit to begin with)

Takes 6 AA batteries. This provides better and more constant power than a nine volt or 2 but it makes the halo heavy.

Halo is heavy even without the 6 AA batteries.
Conclusion: The halo is good at what it does. I had no problems with it whatsoever. Not once did I break paint in the hopper or chop paint in the marker. I would recomend it to anyone who has had chopping problems with their gun and has tried other cheaper hoppers but still had problems. This new hopper will perform.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, May 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pre BE Revolution, Xboarded Revolution, Ricochet
Marker Setup: Vision Impulse with stainless steel hammer, LPR Kit W/ WGP Tickler, Magnetic trigger, 4500/68 Maxflow, Voodoo Bolt

Silde Matrix with Aardvark Bolt kit, trinity and 88/4500 max flow, warp feed
Strengths: The concept of the loader is good. I have seen these things work on about half the guns i've seen them on and they work psychotically well, feeding angels at insane rates.
Weaknesses: here we go with my experience.

1) on my matrix, i had to sand the neck to make it fit both the matrix feed neck and the warp feed neck.
2) It split in two while firing (the screws were originally blue loctite covered)
3) it blendered paint in my matrix at around 12 bps, something my rev never did
4) it blendered paint in itself.
5) did i mention it split in two?
6) looks cheap
7) 6 aa batteries? It's way too heavy
8) the turn on button sucks., you can't even tell when you've got it pressed or not. Take a lesson from Brass Eagle and Viewloader (if you're around after the lawsuit destroys you....) put a nice little metal switch on it.
9) getting tech support is going to be really hard after Brass Eagle wins the lawsuit against them (look how Odyssey sensors work, look at the evolution....oops.)
10) i live in canada, this thing is almost 250 bucks canadian. A rev up here is 120. There is no price justification. Get a turborev board. It'll outperform this stupid loader.
Conclusion: All in all, i hated this thing. I've seen it work on about half the guns it's been put onto (and i've seen about 20 halos now) I dont' care if prototypes work perfectly, from what the market response is, the HALO works 50%% of the time which is complete garbage.

The Turborev board from wickedair sports feeds my warp feed with no breaks in the ball stack.. The HALO didn't.

I'd give this a decent rating, but considering the hit or miss ratio of this product, i'm goign to fail it miserably.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media