paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Tapeworm / Smart Parts Tapeworm / Smart Parts Tapeworm / Smart Parts Tapeworm / Smart Parts Tapeworm

Smart Parts Tapeworm Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Tapeworm

Paintball Impulse Solenoid Optimizers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Tapeworm
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 21
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $25

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Solenoid optimizer.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Tapeworm is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
jitters93 Tuesday, February 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
LPR- better but can be waay more expensive
Marker Setup: -Trilogy competition
14" kaner
overdrive loader
---------------------------
-Smart Parts ion
yellow body kit
fire bolt
12" progressive
halo backman
---------------------------
-05 Prostock
14" dye ultralite
halo frontman
---------------------------
-'96 Black Magic
16" dye ultralite
halo backman
---------------------------
-Vision Impulse
strange bolt
sp tapeworm
ndz blade trigger
14" all american
halo frontman
Strengths: Helps prevent recocking problems
6 diff colors
Nice cheap upgrade
Weaknesses: Does Not cure FSDO like ppl think
Tuff to get in/out some times
Review: Instalation is easy just take out the skrew under the front cap and put it in (older imp models may require more work). It has red loctite on the skrew so heat it up if u want but i just loosend it wit a good turn. Well ive been using this for about 2 months and i am able to dry fire, and have not had one recocking or other bolt problem. My imp does seem a lil more consistant and i can operate at a lower pressure, not by much but is helpfull. You can get them in about 6 diff colors, barley wieghs anything so dont worry bout making ur imp heavier, it looks kool and is a cheap upgrade.
Conclusion: Awsome, cheap upgrade, it should be the first upgrade u buy for the imp unless u are considering an lpr set
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 4th, 2007 at 2:20 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sprucemoose Friday, October 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: 2k3 blue imp,
ND SS hammer setup,
ND equalizer flush bolt,
ND highflow rip valve,
WAS equalizer board,
ricochet atuohop,
14" progressive barrel,
LPR kit,
blade trigger,
48/3K HPA,
maxflo GM REG
Strengths: This product does what it is designed to do, is easy to install.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: If you cant afford the LPR kit, and if you're really bothered by dry firing your gun and nto having it re-cock, then buy the tapeworm. However I have heard some people say to buy this product to eliminate FSDO, this is not true...the tapeworm doesn't affect pressure levels at all, it reduces effects caused by them.
Conclusion: Great first upgrade, easy to install and does its job NQA. Looks like its worth about $2 though. Has nothing to do with FSDO.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintball Mun Tuesday, March 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
LPRs.....
Marker Setup: -Black Impulse
-12'' 689 Freak Barrel
-Tapeworm
-ND Delrin Bolt
-ND Blade Trigger
-PMI Perfect Drop Forward
-System X Sticky Grips
-Evolution II Hopper
-ACI Bulldog III 68ci 4500psi
-ND Fang Ball detents
Strengths: Eliminates all recocking problems, and allows for a lower pressure
Weaknesses: -Misleading instructions
Review: This is a great product, and does exactly what it claims to do. By installing this, you will be able to shoot at a lower operating pressure, with a great velocity. I can shoot at about 150-160 psi with 285+ fps. There is no bolt stick, but I recommend using a delrin bolt none the less. It will help you lower your operating pressure as well. This does not eliminate the FDOS at all, sorry. The instructions are absolutely terrible. For one thing, you NEED a smaller set screw for the body plug underneath the VA. They do not provide you with one unfortunately, so you'll have to find one in youur toolbox, or get one from a hardware store. It is a 10/32 thread size. WHATEVER YOU DO, Do not use the same screw, that oyu just took out form underneath the VA. If you use it, it will thread into the tapeworm, and you will not be able to get it out. Other than that, everything is peachy.
Conclusion: Get it, it beats paying $100 for the whole LPR deal, and it does lower your pressure too. Just make sure you have a smaller set screw for the body plug underneath the VA.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Muffin_Man1356 Friday, January 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
lpr-much better but more expensive
Marker Setup: 2004 Smart Parts Impulse /w Vision Eye
Vertical Max-Flo Regulator
2004 Smart Parts 12" Progressive Barrel
Viewloader Revolution Hopper /w X-board
48ci 3000psi Crossfire tank
New Designz Equalizer Bolt
Eclipse Blade Magnetic Trigger
Smart Parts Tapeworm
New Designz Back Cap
New Designz Ball Detents
Smart Parts No-Rise Clamp Feedneck
Kapp Bottom Line
Strengths: Lowers dwell (makes gun more efficient)
Stops Recocking Problems
Stops Bolt Stick
Weaknesses: You can't use it with an lpr... you have to take it off.
Review: This part is REQUIRED for a stock impulse. If you don't have one, get one now, unless your willing to spend 125 bucks on an lpr. What it does is help out on the consistancy of the firing and recocking. I had really bad recocking problems, yet this tapeworm is my savior. I recommend it so much that I believe your wasting your money on an impulse without one. I even set my dwell 4 clicks lower than normal.... amazing
Conclusion: Get it as soon as possible. I'm telling you... you really have to get this, specailly if your gun has problems with the recocking and shooting.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sicksk8er2 Monday, August 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Vision Imp
70ci stubby
Halo B
Strengths: Lowered operating pressure
Gun shot a little straighter
No Bolt Stick
Easy to install
Weaknesses: Only semi helped with FSDO (First Shot Drop Off)
Review: When I first got this part in the mail I held it in my hand and said, "I payed 25 bucks for this P.O.S.". But immediatly after i installed it, which didn't take much more than 10 minutes my mind had changed. A couple big differences were the operating pressure was lowered and my shot seemed to shoot flatter. The only difference in the FSDO was that my ball didn't stop in the barrel it lobbed out the front instead of getting stuck.
Conclusion: I give this product a 9 because it didn't clear the FSDO but that is easily cleared by shooting one or two balls before the game. And it gives you a cool spike instead of having a stupid little screw threre
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TeamImpulse Monday, April 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
nothing
Marker Setup: Impulse 2k3
Freak barrel
NW drop forward
tapeworm
47/3k nitro tank
12v revy
blade trigger
Strengths: you can operate your impulse at a lower pressure and dry fire your gun
Weaknesses: DOES NOT cure first ball drop off
Review: I bought the tapeworm because it was cheap and I wanted to operate my impulse at a lower pressure. I have a small tank so I wanted to save on air. From all the reviews I've seen it also cures first ball drop off, but for me it definetely did not. I wasn't too worried about it, because that isn't what I bought it for. It also helps you drive fire(who cares).
Conclusion: An ok product for the money but for some reason didn't work out perfectly for me, but maybe i'm doing something wrong...I don't know.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

pbjunkie1220 Friday, October 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: 14" full freak barrel kit
Blue tapeworm
EvoII loader
45k Crossfire HPA tank.
Strengths: helps get rid of First Shot Drop Off
solves all recocking problems
Weaknesses: really thier are no weaknesses its just kinda a pain to install.
Review: I really like the tapeworm it was definitly worth the money. i noticed a difference in the way i was shooting as soon as a installed the worm. now i don't have any more problems with re cocking and i don't get FSDO anymore. After you upgrade to a better barrel you should definlty look into getting a tapeworm it really does make a difference.
Conclusion: The tapeworm is definitly an upgrade worth getting. it gets rid of all First Shot Drop Off problems and recocking problems. i give this a 10 becuase it really does make a noticable difference in the way you shoot.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DynastyKiD69 Saturday, June 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Black Smart Parts Impulse
Vertical Reg
Blue Tapeworm
New Designz Equilizer bolt (flush w/ back)
Dye stickies
PB drop with SP inline on/off
68ci 3000psi Crossfire tank
Strengths: Does what it is suppose to...get rid of the bolt stick
Weaknesses: None great product
Review: Not much to say about it. its a great thing to have on your pulse. Comes in colors too thats pretty cool. well worth the 20-25 bucks. Most likely one of the best upgrades you can get for an impulse...any solenoid optimizer for that matter i would assume they are all pretty similar performance. Go out and get one if you dont have one already.
Conclusion: This is a must for your impulse. I would recommend this to everyone that owns an impy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

freeballer2001 Sunday, May 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Strengths: It is a great part and fixed FSDO for me... couldnt ask for more...
Weaknesses: Doesnt have any weaknesses, It does what it is made for... simple as that
Review: Great Part/ Upgrade for your impulse and if you dont want to use a LPR than you need a tapeworm. Corrects first shot drop off (FSDO) and it doesnt look too bad on the impulse. The only other thing that could take it's place is a nipple if you have an LPR which happy to say i am soon to have...
Conclusion: Couldn't ask for more in the part... looks good and carries out its function. Money well spent
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hood_12 Wednesday, April 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None. I guess you can get a nice LPR which could fix it but the tapeworm is kinda its own product.
Marker Setup: 2k2 Impy, Evo2, freak barrel, all kinds of upgrades
Strengths: IT FIXES FIRST SHOT DROP OFF HOLY CRAP...... nope... just kidding ha ha.
Weaknesses: one weakness is that the point isnt sharp enough?
Review: Its a well made product. Now for the good part. I know there are newbies out there who will say they dont know how to install this so im gonna help you right now. RED lock tite is tough shizzle. Many people i have talked to said they were afraid to strip the screw in the font cuase the allen wrench wouldnt move. NO WORRIES MY FRIENDS!
Step1. Get your Gf's or sisters hair dryer.

Step2. Put it in the highest setting and point it at the screw.

Step3. let it sit there heating your gun for about 5-7 min

Step4. The gun WILL be hot so dont be a spaz and burn yourself. Get the 3/16th allen

Step5. Gently apply preasure at first to loosen the screw and then start to crank it slowly

Step6. the screw should come off with a little force then get some alchohol and q-tips

Step7. Clean the threading with the alchohol WELL till you cant see very much of the red

Step8. Go buy the blue grip locktite for medium jobs (its not permenent)

Step9. Apply to the threading. Put some Doww 33 to the little o-rings so it slids in easy

Step10. screw it in slowly then give it a good crank to assure its tight.

Step11. You should after it dry's be able to dry fire your gun with no problem.

If you want you can also put the little spike guy in the back with the same silver screw by your On/Off switch. Thats what i did and it does the same thing. Looks more unique.
Conclusion: Ummmm get it? why not, you can chase your cat around the house with out the barrel condom and scare it more? Its a good deal to get guys.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media