paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Knee Pads / Dye Knee Pads / Dye Knee Pads / Dye Knee Pads

Dye Knee Pads Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Knee Pads

Paintball Knee and Elbow Pads

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Knee Pads
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 31
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
From the abrasion-resistant outer skin, to the energy rebound metal insert, DYE Core Knee Pads will give you a sense of protection like no other.
Product Availability 
The Dye Knee Pads are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
GodRoxMySox Thursday, March 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Never worn knee pads before
Marker Setup: Invert Mini w/ 14" St!ffi and w/ Rf chip
Draxxus Pulse - black
Draxxus 68/45 tank w/ diablo cover
Strengths: Very padded
Never move
Very good at sliding
Feel good
Weaknesses: Little hard to get off
Get a little hot
Both don't really matter
Review: I have had these for about 4 weeks and I love them. I had them given to me so I really don't care about the price. My knees feel a lot better when hitting the ground and I can slide a lot further now. Little hard to get on and off but I can stand that.
Conclusion: Great knee pads. Never will be disapointed. Get them now!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wrxtc82 Sunday, November 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Generic foam knee pads
Marker Setup: Impulse mostly stock, Ion - New Designz QEV, Shocktech Micro Drop, CP ASA on/off, CP blade trigger
Strengths: The look, the design, Dye marketing, their reputation...
Weaknesses: Fit isn't that great. Sizing is off.
Review: These knee pads are well constructed and look cool which are the reasons I bought them.

Dye sizing is off, I have skinny but atheletic legs, aka "chicken" legs. I originally got a medium/large and couldn't get them on. I exchanged them for an XL which fit better but not perfect. They are loose at the top of the thigh which eventually leads to them slipping down after a few knee slides/dives. Maybe all knee pads do this and need to be readjusted between games.

One other minor complaint is that the neoprene bunches up behind your knee when squatting or kneeling. I've seen some other brands that either have a hole cut out in the back or use a thinner material.

In the end they do what they're suppose to do, protect your knees from impact with thick padding and offer lateral support.

Conclusion: These are pretty good aside from minor fit/comfort issues. Definitely better than wearing NO knee pads at all, but I will keep my eyes open for other brands that might look like they fit better.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nerdcore Monday, April 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Generic knee pads - kept sliding down & not very thick.
Volleyball knee pads - too thick & not enough coverage.
Marker Setup: WGP 2k3 Vertical Cocker
AKA Sidewinder reg
CP 2-piece
Hybrid Mini Savier Drop (MSD)
Hybrid Grind
Empire Reloader
Crossfire 68/4500
Strengths: Found these cheap!
Good coverage even without the full shin padding.
Weaknesses: Regular price for these is murder.
Review: A week ago, i roughed my knees up pretty bad. i knew i needed knee pads (all paintballers need knee pads, seriously) but good ones were too expensive. So i decided to buy a pair, regardless of the price because the alternative meant knee surgery by the age of 30.

i was lucky to find these as cheap as they were ($30). The store only had one pair left on discount. Luckier still, they fit me!

Used them for the first time yesterday & my knees thank me for it. i was on the ground nearly all day & didn't feel anything but comfort.
Conclusion: Dye products may not be cheap but they know how to make 'em. These pads are great.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

superslurpee Thursday, February 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
jt pads
Marker Setup: LED matrix,dye UL, dye LPR, dye hyper inline, aardvark trigger, cp razor drop with on/off,ccm midrise, evo 2, 68/3000
Strengths: Good fitting and does the job perfectly
Weaknesses: Its hard to think of one.
Review: When i first bought the dye knee pads, i bought them based on looks. Of course dye makes sweet looking things but i soon found out that these are the most comfortbale and functional knee pads. Good for when you wear shorts too. also the pads dont slide around when youre sliding in.
Conclusion: I'd easily recommend these pads to anyone. People ask what to buy first and i say some dye knee pads. Also if you're gonna get the knee pads you might as well get the elbow pads which are just as sweet.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MarkmanA5 Friday, December 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
volleyball knee pads( no I am a guy but they work just as well I tried)
Marker Setup: Prostock
70/4500 crossfire
freakset
supafly bolt
orracle front block
CP reg
W manifold
torpedo drop forward
Strengths: Strong, Looks, tight, stretchy, brand, protection
Weaknesses: No ventilation, tight, slipage, hard to get off
Review: Strong-
I play speed and woods ball but not much damage ever happens in the speed ball fields because it is all oily and full of paint on a flat surface which you slide on easy but in woods ball, there is rocks,tree stumps, roots, holes, mud, etc. so These pads take alot more damage in woods ball but anyway, these havn't lost a seam and don't show any signs of starting. These are awesome in this category.
Looks-
These pads look good. I can't give much credit to this category because most people aren't going to be lifting your pants to look at your knee pads but it is an honorable mention.
Tight-
this can be good and bad. first good, they don't slip much on speedball courses for which they were designed(For the tourney player) but in woods ball every hard hour or so of playing when I find my self sliding and shooting on my knees often I need to pull them up and slide them back into place. and it reduces ventilation and make it 5 times harder to get off especially if you are sweating like crazy
Stretchy-
This can be good and bad too. good, they stretch to fit your knee very well so it reduces slipage but doesn't eliminate it. bad the stretchyness (for lack of better word) will evantually wear out kind of like a rubber band. Thisd hasn't happened but it will sometime
Brand-
this brand ( Dye) is a great company. they make almost everything very high quality and out of great materials.
Protection-
this is the most important part of the product. These give great protection so the next mornig you don't wake up with a huge bruise from when you slid into a bunker full speed and hit a rock sticking up from the ground They DO protect your knees.
Bad
No ventilation/hard to get off
This is VERY bad because most people again dont take these pads off between games so the heat keeps buinding up and never gets a chance to be released so at the end of the day when you are sweaty and hot and tired, these pads are very annoying to try to get off and make your knees very uncomfortable during play but you get used to it a little ( it still bugs you but not much)
slipage-
like I said these pads are ment for speed ball so when playing in the woods they slip. (my hands are getting tired so I dont' feel like typing a whole 2 paragraphs)
Conclusion: good product but just go and buy volley ball knee pads unless you want the DYE jewel and looks in your knee pad
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mills-pb Saturday, October 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
No knee pads
Marker Setup: 2003 CCM J2, Eclipse E-Blade with Samurai Trigger, 14" CCM Carbon Barrel Kit, Evolution II Hopper with Z-Board, CCM Drop Forward with On/Off, Crossfire 45/4500 HPA and ACI Kalibur Dura Sleeve
Strengths: *Comfort
*Protection
*Quality
*Appearence
Weaknesses: ***The sizing of the Dye knee pads runs small
Review: I was in the market to buy knee pads that could be worn with shorts. I live and play in Hawaii where the tempeture is pretty hot. To combat the heat, I wear JT Tournement shorts when I play. I looked at all the different knee pad options and the only ones that looks like they could be worn with shorts were the Dye knee pads. I have used them quite a few times and have been extremely happy with the Dye knee pads. They protect my knees, they do not slip or move around and they look great. If you need quality knee pads which will last a long time, get the Dye knee pads.
Conclusion: Protection, quality, fit and style. What else can you ask for?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xXblinkXegoXx Saturday, August 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none.
Marker Setup: Gold 2k3 shocker, freak kit, aci bulldog 68 4500, halo b clear, HE bolt kit, dye sticky 4, dye tank cover.
Strengths: Comfortable, cheap, protects harcore, puts a very nice spring in your step.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: These things are awesome. No adjusting straps or anything. Feels nice and jelly. Puts a very pleasent spring in your step because it is an elastic kind of material. If you are tall like me and love to kneel down, these are for you. These are a nessecity for paintball, you must have knee pads, and these are just the ones to get. They are very low profile, and cant tell when they are on if they are under some pants. Very sleek and comfortable, and durable. Kindof works as a nice little knee brace too.
Conclusion: As said in the review, these give you a pleasent spring in your step, which seemed to me like it made me run a little easier, beacause it kindof snaps your leg strait when walking, so it gives you that spring. very comfortable, and protects like no other. i have never had a bad product from dye, and this is no exception. go get the dye knee pads, or elbowpads too while your at it, youll like them a lot. :)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SBallJunkie Wednesday, August 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Proto Kneepads, Empire Kneepads, MTB pads
Marker Setup: Alias Intimidator, Techna Rapier, Dye UL, CP Rail, Halo B, PMI 45/45
Trauma DM4, Tadao,Dye UL, CP Roller, CP Rail, Empire On/Off
Strengths: Good looks, durability
Weaknesses: Slippage, poor ventilation
Review: I've had the Dye knee pads for about 6 months now, and have put them through some pretty rigorous testing. Before I comment on performance, I noticed most of the reviewers are bigger guys who probably play back, whereas I'm a front guy who spends most of my time sliding hard into those 40s. These pads constantly slip on me during play, yet they're impossibly tight when trying to get them on. After a few hard slides a game I usually walk off with at least one around my shin. Also, they're extremely hot, however pretty much any kneepad is going to be so this isn't a big concern. I am impressed with the durability of this product, after hard usage I've yet to find a thread coming loose, etc.
Conclusion: I'd recommend these to back players who may kneel but generally arent scrambling for the 50 off the break, but if you're an aggressive front player I'd look elsewhere for a kneepad that offers a bit more stability under stress.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

getupk8 Thursday, June 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing
Marker Setup: Bob Long GZ Intimidator w/ Bob Long Volumizer, 14" Tear Drop Barrel, 32 Degrees Drop Forward, Bob Long Torpedo Reg, CP Valve, CP Bumper, Dye Sticky Grip, Halo B Loader, Crossfire 3000 PSI Air tank, JT Tank Cover, Red Macroline, Adjustable Ram, JT Gear Bag on Wheels, Redz Gun Bag, JT Blue Fire Jersey, Custom Sports Gear Custom Team Jersey, and tons more!
Strengths: Very Comfortable, Great padding, Doesn't Get Folded or Slide off
Weaknesses: Price but it's worth it and they run pretty small
Review: Ok when these first came in the mail from Paintball Gear just right off the bat I noticed that I really like the design of them. When I put them on they are very comfortable but there are a few concerns for people who are big. I am a girl so I have basically small legs and I ordered the M/L and they fit but I could see how most people would think the Large would be pretty big but they weren't so just to warn you they run pretty small. So I bought these for my whole team so during the 1st game I play back so I was moving up to the dorito and slid right into my spot (now this is the same place when last practice i slid and ripped my jeans and tore up my knee) so when i slid they were so comfortable! They make you want to slide more because you can't even feel your knees hit the ground. Then the diamond cut of how the back is designed is great to prevent them from folding and the inside is made of terry cloth to try and keep your knees as try as possible. Then eveything is double stitched to hold them together.
Conclusion: These are quality knee pads. If you are looking to get some skip all of the others and get these. It feels like your sliding on a cloud when you slide lol.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dirtypaulie187 Saturday, June 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Cheap knee pads for volleyball (don't ask my wife bought them for me)
Marker Setup: 1) A-5 e-grip, Flatline & 14" Dye Ultralight Barrells, Psycho Ballistics Double Trigger & Bullet Drop forward w/ on/off (lg), Dead-on vertical adapter, Palmers vertical stabilizer

2) 2k1 Dark Autococker, E-Blade, 16" Freak with stainless steel inserts & back, Psycho Ballistics Bullet Drop forward with on/off (md), WDP mini reg (anno to match), Tickler front reg, STO ram, Shocktech supafly bolt

3) Xonic, Xonic E-Frame, 14" Freak with Stainless Steel inserts, Psycho Ballistics Bullet Drop forward with on/off (lg) Coming soon Free Flow internals ( Valve, hammer, springs, ram w/ QEV's, front block,) palmers micro rock reg & AKA sidewinder.
Strengths: comfortable, they don't slip, protect your knee's well
Weaknesses: hard to get off, after a day's worth of sweating on the field
Review: These things are very comfortable. Like alot of front players I spend alot of time on my knee's tucked tight behind some low to the ground bunker. They can be a little hot but I no longer get that rug burn kind of feeling on my knee's like i used to get with the cheap volleyball ones. They don't really bother me with the heat because the hybrid 04' pants i have are vented really well.
Conclusion: Worth the money & it's another fine dye product
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media