paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel
[ View Photos (12) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 118
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Inserts fit into a econo back, aluminum only. The Freak Junior Barrel front completes this 14 inch barrel. A 0.693 insert comes standard. Availible for Spyders and Model 98s only.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
andymerkle Tuesday, May 25th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel
Bob Long
Dye Ultralite
Marker Setup: 2007 Spyder Xtra
Clamping feedneck
Viewloader Force Hopper
20 oz Co2
Freak Jr barrel kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything
Strengths: 8 Inner barrels, u can change barrel to match any paint
does not chop
Weaknesses: Somewhat expensive but totally worth it
Review: Great Barrel System, the term accuracy is always used loosely in regards to paintball, however this barrel system changes that, no ur not gonna hit a quarter from a buck fifty but definately within a 3-4 in circle from 60 to 70, great for either back or front play, reliable and can turn a decent gun into a terrific gun
Conclusion: For about 100 bucks, it is an affordable upgrade, i have mine on my spyder and my friend on his ion, perhaps one of the best dollar for dollar upgrades you can get for your gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AccessTime Tuesday, February 16th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing similar to this concept.
Marker Setup: Tippmann X-7 Phenom.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any really.
Strengths: Cheap, reasonable accuracy (see below).
Weaknesses: A little long? Nothing too significant.
Review: I got this barrel and some inserts pretty cheap since the company is in the process of going, or recently went insolvent. The general consensus is that they're gone and not coming back.

Anyways I used this barrel over the weekend and put 1200-1500 balls through it. Overall I was pretty impressed. I used it with a low-grade, small-bore, rec paint (spectrum) .682 insert, and it actually shot very well. Then I switched to Toxic, a 'high-grade rec paint', pretty close to the standard bore. I used a .691 with that which also seemed to work pretty well.

Overall accuracy is not absolute top-notch, but by ensuring a near-perfect match it is very adaptable to just about any paint out there. Gas efficiency also improved greatly.

The only thing I dislike about this barrel is the length. I don't think the front piece needs to be so long.
Conclusion: I'd recommend it, especially if you shoot a lot of different paints or want to be able to adapt easily. No negatives here really.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Monkeyboy13 Thursday, March 12th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye ultralight, SP progressive, JJ ceramic
Marker Setup: ACI Maverick with JJ Ceramic Barrel, Brass Eagle pocket hopper and 9 oz tank

MR1 with Tippmann hopper, trinity clamping feedneck, 16 inch Smart Parts progressive barrel, and 9 oz tank

Psyco Ballistics Lightning freak jr barrel, 45/30 HPA tank, Bob Long 360 torpedo reg, AVI ASA, and macroline bottomline kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything thats consistently round
Strengths: Easy adaptation for different paints, accurate, quiet, cheap,
Weaknesses: Aluminum inserts can get bent easy
Review: I got this barrel for my lightning pump and i just love it! it is very accurate even with cheap paint(as long as its not dimpled). I can hit a tree the width of my hand from 70 feet away over and over again now. I like how easy it is to change bore sizes and how cheap the inserts are. My gun also shoots quieter now because the Freak jr barrel has better porting than my CP barrel. If you want a cheap, accurate barrel kit, get this.
Conclusion: Good choice, buy it
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

icyGrip Tuesday, February 3rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
any two peace barrel
Marker Setup: invert mini, Freak Jr. Barrel, pure energy 4500 x 68cc tank, and HALO B with v. 35 Victory Board + RIP Drive
Recommended
Paintballs:
thick shelled paintball, like triumph, and dxs bronze has been working well
Strengths: It's accurate and looks cool
Weaknesses: Barrel brakes
Review: The barrel has it's perks but it's really been more of a pain for me. the thing is one of the most accurate things I've shot. it just looks awesome when it's on your gun and in it's rubbery case.

The barrel comes with little insets for you to select your own boring and they also sell kits with more inserts if you don't find the one that you like. the barrels looks are amazing, it has a cool sleek look to it with freak carved into the side of it. And the last thing is that it is accurate, it is just about perfection when it works.

The bad thing about this thing is that it barrel brakes. When i say that i mean if you use a thin shell paint it will brake on you I've tried evil, elixir, and x balls. i under stand why the evil broke but elixir just pissed me off, my f**king a5 can shoot elixir, and xballs.
Conclusion: When i was looking for a new barrel i was looking at an ultralight and a freak, i got the freak for about $30 less. i should have got the ultralight. for the price of this thing it should be able to shoot fragile paint. If all you plan on shooting is thick shelled paint, i recommend you get it. if not get a different barrel!!!!!!!!
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

20/20eyeguy Tuesday, February 3rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cmi True flight (no comparison)
stock barles on various markers
Marker Setup: Proto Ultralit SLG
Veiwloader Evolutions 2
Freak Jr. 14'
Cp clamping feed neck
Empire quick flip on/asa
Carlton/Crossfire 88/3000 carbon fiber tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
it is a barle how do you upgrade this
Strengths: Acurate,
Cheep,
Weaknesses: Insert may be weeker then then a ragular back.
Review: I first used a Freak Jr. on my old Ephifany witch is were I got hooked. I now us it on my Ultralight SLG. On both markers it is extreamly acurate.

The bighest thing I can say about the Freak Jr. is that it is cheep. Also if you want to make sure your paint a bore match perfictaly the Freak Jr. is the cheepest to do it with. You see once you have the barrel all you have to by is a new insirt. For exmple a new insert $13, a Dye Ultilight back is $60, and the Cp Back is $30. You can get 2 insirts for one CP back and 4 insirts for one Dye back. While the back may be weeker then a acutal barrle but the Freak Jr. back keeps it safe form being damaged by hitting something. That pluse it is cheep enought to make up for the weakness.
Conclusion: Good barrel great price
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PbaLLa124 Monday, November 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
32 degrees riot
stock barrel
Marker Setup: spyder pilot acs
trinity t-lock feed neck
rocker trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
diablo heat, FOrmula 13
Strengths: The barrel is very accurate and quiet lightweight
Weaknesses: Stock insert isnt good; thats y i bought a new one
Review: i bought this of a friend and i thought for the price it would be an OK barrel but,,,,, after i used it for a while, this was one of the best investments i have ever made. my guns isnt exactly accurate, but, it makes my gun ,kinda accurate. its easy to aim wich also helps. if i could have any barrel in the world i would still choose this barrel
Conclusion: I would recomend this to anyone. It is a barrel that is good overall cheap for the performance and is good for anyone.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

viperstarbuck Tuesday, July 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire revolver, revolver shoots slighty more consistent, freak gives a bit more power. revolver has locking inserts = big plus.
Marker Setup: Spyder RS marker, eVLution 2 loader, Empire Revolver barrel kit, Smart Parts 20oz anti siphon valve co2 tank, coil remote line.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything, doesnt really matter just match it.
Strengths: Improve accuracy over stock,
sweet case,
shoots quiet
Weaknesses: Free floating inserts,
odd sizes,
could be better for price.
wont shoot through breaks
Review: Overall this is a pretty sweet barrel set, especially over stock barrels. it grants the ability to size paint to the barrel via the inserts, which obviously improves accuracy. it has a pretty cool, useful, and durable case. the barrel is fairly durable. its of average weight.
but... you could get more for your money. like the ability to shoot through breaks <j&j kit>
or locking inserts <empire revolver>. im not saying this is a bad barrel, i actually really like and still have mine for my backup gun, but it could be better. the barrel shoots fairly quiet. it really does everything its supposed to, just nothing spectacular. not bad, not great.
Conclusion: Definately way better than stock, just not the best in its class.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

twest3 Tuesday, April 29th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP progressive
Stock barrels
Marker Setup: PMR blue dust, Freak jr. Halo B
Recommended
Paintballs:
Its got inserts so it doesnt matter, just dont use crap paint
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: So i orderd this kit with my pmr, its a pretty nice kit but i dont like how it only comes in 14 inch, it is however extremly nice that all american tips/back and freak tips/back are fully compatiable with this system. It has pretty decent accuracy, alot better then a progressive or teardrop barrel, looks cool and is easy to use, it sucks to clean out if you chop a ball though,
Conclusion: I would recomend this product to any one that isnt a high level tourny player, good kit at only $70. im giving it an 8 because there are far better barrels out there.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KMAYER12 Wednesday, January 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: -Invert Mini w/ ups
-VLocity
-Crossfire 70/45 HP.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any, since you have inserts.
Strengths: -Accurate
-Durable
-Inserts
-Looks nice.
Weaknesses: -SOMETIMES the inserts are not way they say they are. I never had that problem.
Review: Received the Freak Jr. kit as a gift. Wasn't expecting it, but I had no barrel for that weekend, and my dad didn't know any better. He went of the local shop keepers advice. Went to play. One break in about a case of paint. Shot straight, and accurate. I actually love the barrel kit. Probably the only Smart Parts product I'll ever use ;).

Conclusion: 9 out of 10. Nothing is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mark lanski Tuesday, January 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: promaster silver
freak jr
70/4500 dye throttle(rhino cover)
evil reg
halo b
planet eclipse asa

98custom
p drop
16 in. progressive
14 in linear barrel
some carbon fiber barrel 14in from walmart
Strengths: Shoots straight
Weaknesses: None
Review: This thing dominats it is one of the best barrels you can buy with sixty dollars from actionvillage i dominant with it and i am fat h h h h h h hh h hhhh hh h hh h h h h hh h h h h hh h hh h h h h h .
Conclusion: This is the best bang for the buck for the buck.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media