paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel
[ View Photos (12) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 118
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Inserts fit into a econo back, aluminum only. The Freak Junior Barrel front completes this 14 inch barrel. A 0.693 insert comes standard. Availible for Spyders and Model 98s only.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
smashtime105 Friday, December 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock a-5 barrel, after market barrel on a black dragon
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with Response Trigger, Pure energy remote, Smart Parts Freak Junior barrel, Y- stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
Thanks to the inserts, any paint will do, although nicer paint is less likely to break.
Strengths: Obviously, the inserts
Looks cool
Quiet
Easy to clean
Weaknesses: Fragile Inserts
Inserts affected by temperature
Inserts can be hard to get out
Review: I bought this barrel used from a friend. So far, its performance is amazing. I started out with walmart visible impacts and they were breaking, but it was like 15 degrees out. I then switched to monster balls in warmer weather and it worked great. It is somewhat difficult to clean breaks, but it rarely happens, so its okay. The inserts are really helpful. Its accuracy is not good at extremely long ranges, but it is much better than my stock barrel. I tested it, and the inserts do shrink in the cold, which is a minus. Other than that, the barrel is quiet, accurate, and is a great all around barrel.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product to everyone who has the cash. It is slightly more than other barrels like J&J's, but I think its performance is worth it. The inserts are somewhat fragile and hard to get in and out, but overall, I love this barrel. I give it a 9 out of 10 just because it could be cheaper and it is somewhat difficult to clean
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

osbain Sunday, September 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tillers
SP Progressive
Sp Linear
Stalk barrels
Marker Setup: WGP Autococker trilogy comp vf
VL Egg 3 hopper
Pmi 45 3000 HPA
32degrees drop
Freak Jr. barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any thing! you just need a matching insert!
Strengths: Accurate
Weaknesses: A Little Heavy
Inserts a a bit expensive separately
Review: I got this barrel rather randomly the other day, I used it a day after with some random paint i had and it shot awesome. I was sniping people out like crazy. It is fully interchangeable with all other Freak and All American parts which makes it very good for doing up to look good or even make interchangeable with other markers. I like the freak Jr. better then the freak only because the insert is not as exposed like on the freak which isn't good for woodsball if your trying to be camouflage.
Conclusion: Great! Buy it if you don't have a lot of money to sink into upgrading your gun and want a good quality barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paint_1 Wednesday, August 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak barrel system
All american barrel
Marker Setup: current:

DM5
cp trigger
lucky barrel
cp barrel

2K5 shocker
cp feedneck
cp drop and asa
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any paintball is good

From 10 bucks worth of zap paint
To 100 bucks worth of xball silver
Strengths: Everything
Weaknesses: None really
Review: Well i went down to badlands calgary south before heading out to the local field(rampage city) to pick a new pod pack up.I went in and payed for the pod pack and got in conversation with one of the staff dudes about which barreli should get for my at the time piranha r6.I eventually was talked into the freak jr. so i go the barrel and went to the field.I went in aas soon as i put the barrel on and i was effin amazed.It shot so well it wasnt even funny. The teams i played on(renting teams lol) won every round and i ran snake every time and owned even with a piranha all thanks to the barrel.
Conclusion: If you want it dont think about it just get the dam thing and you will never regret it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

the nachos Wednesday, July 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
cp one piece
stock
Marker Setup: sp ion
32 degrees drop forward
freak system
virtue ion board
q-lock
cp rake trigger
white body kit
halo B V35 w/ rip drive
pure energy 68ci 4500psi
Recommended
Paintballs:
almost anything made by draxxus or diablo (except heat)
Strengths: Awsome back
Good accuracy
Weaknesses: Expensive
Front is unaccurate
Review: This barrel is very good and passes all of my tests but the one problem is that if you use anything lower than 75$ it sometimes just goes anywhere where as my friend with a boomstick wil put his barrel on my gun with the same paint and shoot fine. It is a very good barrel but thenk about a different front. It should be about 10$ less than it is but it gets an 8 cause it passed all my tests.
Conclusion: Good barrel cause it passed my tests
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

baller1999 Wednesday, July 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye boomstick
Dye ultralight
Marker Setup: 2007 ion
Blue body kit
QEV
16" freak/all american
Clamping feedneck
Roller trigger
Halo B
Recommended
Paintballs:
Ive found that any Nelson brand works great
Strengths: ACCURATE
Quiet
Looks
inserts (changable)
Weaknesses: Inserts can be hard to put in
Review: OK i bought the freak jr beacuse its just about the same thing as the real freak only less inserts and a little different look.
At first the inserts were a little har to put in, i mean i would push until the paint on them would scrape off, but they loosened up after a while.
I would for surely buy an all american front though, i bought the 16" front and now i can hit a fly across the feild.
The only thing i really had a problem with was when i chopped and it got under the insert and all over in hard to clean places.
Conclusion: I recomend this to anyone wanting to seriously up there accuracy and quietness of the gun,and who has an extra 40 bucks for a new front. But i see the freak jr as a freak with a few less inserts for half the price. I think that the price is very reasonable for such a good barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

bunker_bud93 Monday, July 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothin besides stock
Marker Setup: -2006 Spyder Xtra
-14" Freak Barrel
-Spyer Full Force bolt
-Drop kicks
-ricochet apache
coming soon
-rocking trgger 2.0
-halo b w/ rip drive
Recommended
Paintballs:
any
Strengths: -Accurate
-Some what quiet
-Doesnt chop
Weaknesses: -Cost
-Hard to clean if rifled
Review: I got my freak jr. for only $60 at a Scheels. I've been very happy with it even though it took a large chunk of change out of my wallet. Its pretty accurate and doesnt curve noticeably unless your really looking for it. Me and a couple friends were playing and rite of the break i got one of of my buddies right in the center of the gogs, just above the lens.
Conclusion: Its a great barrel thats well worth the money and its deffinately a barrel your gunna keep for your entire paintball career
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

The-Freak Tuesday, May 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Piranha EVO with a Freak Jr barrel & VLocity Selectforce Viewloader. I'm currently running a 20oz CO2 w/ remote but I'm just about to get a HPA.
Recommended
Paintballs:
so far I have used, Swirl, Spank, ZAP practice grade, and ZAP Cryptic and the Cryptic is by far the best.
Strengths: VERY accurate, not really in single shots but makes a VERY tight group.
Weaknesses: Hard to figure out which insert to use. Price.
Review: When my marker's accuracy started getting on my nerves I went to my local paintball store and asked what the best barrel they had was. He immediately produced the Freak Jr. The second I saw just the case I fell in love, sleek and black with the one-eyed green dude on the front. The barrel is amazing looking as well it's the perfect length (14") black with straight porting running along the sides....... but enough about the looks onto performance. I came straight home and screwed it in and went over to my friends field in his backyard. At first I only fired 1 shot at a time and thought it was ok, but thought that it could be better. After a while I just decided to go full-auto on a tree that was say...... 75ft away, I was freaking amazed! (no pun intended) They were all within 6 inches of each-other. (and this with Co2)! Oh and I forgot to mention how quiet it is! Little expensive though paid $90 for mine.

Conclusion: Well I'm happy as a clam with mine! If you're looking to make ANY marker better this is the way to go. 9 because finding the right insert bugs me, and if you put in the wrong one you chop. But once you find the right one............
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 15th, 2007 at 10:42 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Legionaire10 Monday, May 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Empire 10 pice
AA
Marker Setup: Lasoya pm Blue/black fade stock
DOP bullet drop
PMI 72/3K
egg3 with Zboard
q lock
freak junior(.687.689.691)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any procaps paint(aka dxs/draxxus)
Strengths: Interchangeable bore size
Weaknesses: Nothing i can tell
Review: I got this about 3to 4 weeks ago and its been love since first sight, i put it on my gun popped in some stingers(not the best paint) and started ripping. IT was ball on ball accurate at 30 to 40 yards, about the max distance in a game. i could hit just about anything in my yard with complete accuracy. my friends and i chech the back of the bush we were shooting and there was just a sea of orange. point is this barrel is great and it puts paint where you need it, ive taken it to one tourney and i have several more on my schedule this year.
Conclusion: Its a great barrel 'nuf said
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NH-Baller 101 Saturday, April 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion barrel
Stock spyder barrels
J&J Ceramic
Marker Setup: SP Ion
Warrior Trigger/Feedneck
CP rail
Trinity ASA
Freak Jr. 14"
68 45 tank.... needs to be hydro'd
Recommended
Paintballs:
Not Nightmare
out of walmart brands, the monster balls are good practice paint because they have a "new formula" so the balls are acually round. They get the job done for 27 bucks a case.
Strengths: Wicked Accurate
Cleans barrel breaks better than a J&J Ceramic
Customizeable
Weaknesses: If you like barrel backs instead of inserts, this probibly isnt for you
Review: This barrel is, in my opinion one of the best on the market, maybe even THE best.
It is as customizeable as a barrel can get, you can get different backs, inserts and fronts.

This barrel lets you shoot ropes for a medium price. You can buy different inserts later for increased bore match, but the stock insert works great.

The place i play most, besides my backyard field, is OSG Paintball in new hampshire, and they always seem to sell the crappiest Diablo Nightmare at every big event. This barrel does not require a squeegee, because if you break a ball, you can shoot the ground 5 times and then have the same accuracy as , say a stock ion barrel. This barrel is sick nasty
Conclusion: Good barrel
Medium price
shoots through breaks
upgradeable
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

skinnybestard2 Friday, April 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
stiffi, freak, evil pipe kit, redz pepper stick
Marker Setup: 2004 BKO, custom products no rise feed neck, phsyco ballistics on/off drop forward, macroline kit, stainless steel freak barrel, 68/45 fiber wraped pure energy tank, dye rino cover, halo B hopper with rip drive, Jt proteus

Back up gun
Spyder E-99 shocktech trigger, shoctech antichop bolt, freak JR
then same hopper and tank as the BKO
Recommended
Paintballs:
it doesnt matter as long as you have the insert kit
Strengths: Accurate
Cheap
Quiet
Weaknesses: Only comes in 14 inch
Only comes in black
Review: The freak barrel is a great barrel for someone who wants a high end barrel but doesnt want a high price. This would be my fourth or fifth pick out of all the barrels made. This is a very accurate barrel and it pretty much silences the gun. It does have a down side. Unless you get the smart parts Epiphany or the Ion pro it doesnt come in any collor exept black. It also comes in 14 inch only.
Conclusion: The freak jr is a good barrel for a low price. I personally think it is in the top five barrels
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media