paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel
[ View Photos (12) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 118
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Inserts fit into a econo back, aluminum only. The Freak Junior Barrel front completes this 14 inch barrel. A 0.693 insert comes standard. Availible for Spyders and Model 98s only.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
j-baller Monday, April 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP 2 Piece without insert changing.
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail
Freak Jr.
UL Frame
NDZ:
pro-clamp
detents
backcap

PE 2006 Ego
red parts kit
nexus bolt
hybrid grips
Recommended
Paintballs:
depends on what insert you have
Strengths: Accurate
quiet
cleans ball breaks fairly well
Weaknesses: Heavyer than most barrels
Review: This SP barrel is one of the best barrels out there, i have tested lots of barrels including
Stiffi, CP 1 and 2 piece, assassin barrel, J&J, DYE, PROTO, and lots more. Its deadly accurate, quiet (on my rail), cleans breaks nicely, what else can you expect from a barrel. I think the whole insert/barrel backs matching your paintballs is just so the company can make money. just make sure the your paintballs are to big for your barrel. i would suggest getting a .689 insert for your smaller paintballs and a .691 for the bigger paintballs. Its a great barrel, you can go wrong with it.
Conclusion: Buy it, like stated above,accurate,quiet,cleans ball breaks fairly well
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

protofreak Wednesday, March 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
The stock rail barrel
Marker Setup: proto rail black dust
newdesigns slik trigger
proto alloy back cap
16" sp freak
halo b w/ rip drive
rush speed feed
68/45 cf tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo is all i used so far
Strengths: Bore changablity
Weaknesses: Price!!!!!!
Review: Ok the stock one peice on a pmr is great out of the box but there is better ones out there

enter in the freak i have a jr. back but a reagular freak 16 inch front wich is i say too big for the gun
it makes the gun look tiny i mean tiny

with the .687 insert i can fire most diablo paint very accuratly
Conclusion: Great Barrel for the price but the reagular freak is a wallet hurter
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JoeliusCeasar Saturday, March 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire 7-Piece Barrel kit
Evil Pipe Kit
Psycho Ballistics Aradus
Empire Twister
Stiffi .693 16"
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion modified to feed from bottom of the gun. (-:
Qloader
CP Reg
Qev
Empire barrel kit
Hand customized single finger trigger with single trigger guard
Apex Barrel (haven't used it yet)
JT Pro Flex 7
Recommended
Paintballs:
Something very hard so you can get an accurate tight fit without breaking on the hard front edge.
Strengths: If you have multiple guns,
You only need one insert kit for all your guns.
Weaknesses: Breaks paint with a good fit.
Innaccurate with any fit.
Included Inserts to closely sized.
Review: I was shooting Empire Engage in a 10" pattern with my Empire-7 .687 back I switched to a freak .689 larger insert and the first ball broke. I cleaned the freak out and couldn't hit a 3 foot pattern at the same range. The Freak just dosn't have any real advantages unless you have many guns. It seems nice that they have an insert in any size, but if you get a tight fit you break. So it won't do you any real good. With the junior you get three large sizes so you can't use medium or small paint anyways.
Conclusion: If you have at least three guns-get a lucky kit because it has inserts very different from a freak and if its bad it's probably not as bad as a freak and it has 14 inch insert/tips. I haven't used it yet but I want to.

If you have one gun go with the Empire 7 Piece kit or the Evil Pipe
DON'T GET THE J&J EDGE.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 18th, 2007 at 10:46 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

J-R0D Wednesday, March 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Tippman
Stock Pilot
Progressive
Marker Setup: SP Ion
NDZ Composite Trigger
NDZ Feedneck
68/3000 tank
Vlocity Hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
Ne
Strengths: -Accurate
-Decent Sound
-AWESOME
Weaknesses: -None
Review: I used this barrel on my tippy 98 custom, NOT my ion. I was shooting atleast 13bps w/ my response. My tippman was decently quiter, alot more accurate, and more balanced w/ this badass barrel! Great barrel 4 a great price! i am thinking about getting one for my ion even :P
Conclusion: Get it guys, well worth the money!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

allgunsblazing Wednesday, February 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Tippy Barrel (Terrible)
Sp Progressive (quiet, not as accurate as the Freak)
Tiller 16 inch (ebay) (not a bad barrel for 16, accurate, still not as good as the Freak)
Marker Setup: Proto rail
Empire Barrel Kit
Random Brand on/off
Victory Boarded Halo

Tippmann 98
G36C hand guard and rail
Six Position Stock
Tasco 30mm sight
Freak Jr. barrel
Ak mag kit
Polished Internals
Trigger Spring Mod
Remote line
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything, i havent found it to be fussy at all
Monsters
Strengths: Quiet
Compatable w/Freak and All American parts
98 custom adapter included (for a price)
Weaknesses: Can be a little expensive
need adapter for 98 custom
Review: I got my tippman 98 from Badlands, and the first thing i did was take off the barrel, having read horror stories about the tippy barrels, mine was just as bad. So aftermarket barrel here we come.
When i first got the Freak jr., i actually wanted to get a progressive, becuase they were less expensive, but the guy at badlands showed me what the freak jr. could do, and i was sold. i took it out, and did a few test shots with it and was instanly glad i had purchased the barrel

The Jr. is very quiet, with the 16 inch stock tip, and there have been times when the people i have shot out havent known where i was.
The barrel comes with a .693 insert, allowing pretty much any paint to be shot out of it wihtout buying a new insert. strangley, i found even with the large bore, and a small paintball (monster) (about .687) the barrel still maintains its accuracy.
thus far with using the barrel, i havent had any problems with it, other than the paint chipping off the back, and i have found that with the adapter for the spyder threads to 98 custom can become extremely stuck together, and unable to take apart.

The barrel can be picky with breaks, as will any barrel, and with the spiral porting can be a pain to clean. however, a barrel swab fixes this.
Conclusion: a Great upgrade for your gun if you want accuracy, overall i would sugest this barrel, however the price and the price for parts (inserts, tips) makes me have to drop it down to a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ionballa0730 Sunday, February 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock ION Barrel
Empire 14 Inch Complete Kit
Marker Setup: 06 Silver Smartparts ION
CP On/off asa
Redz Clamping Feedneck
Freak Jr. Barrel Kit
Empire Reloader II...Getting Halo Soon...
Air America 47ci/3000
Empire Action Pack Harness
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any Paint That Matches The Bore Sizes
Strengths: Accuracy
Bore Sizes
Looks
Price Compared to Other Kits
Weaknesses: A little hard to screw in sometimes
Review: I just bought this last week for $90.00. It works great and looks great. I have only shot a bag through it so far, but it definitely works great. I was suprised at how nice it looked and how detailed it was. It is lightweight and very accurate. It only comes in one color a size that i'm aware of, black and 14inch, but the back fits any freak front that you may want to upgrade with. The only problem i had was that it was a little hard to screw in to my ION. A bit of shocker lube should do the trick. My Ion was a little innacurate before with the stock barrel, but now i have the consistancy of the Freak Jr.
Conclusion: All in all, this barrel is great. It is a perfect upgrade for any player, tourney or rec.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

swedishfish Saturday, February 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Diablo Wrath
Viewloader evolution 3 hopper
Crossfire 3000 psi tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo
Evil
Strengths: It has a nice twist to it
Weaknesses: None
Review: The freak barrel is nicest barrel I have ever used in all my years of paintball. I went to play out on the paintball field and didn't believe what it did. It was unbelievable. I would recommend this barrel to anyone who wants great quality and wants to get their money's worth.
Conclusion: Get it if you want great quality.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jdog199016 Sunday, January 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
All American - it shot almost the same, but I think that the Freak Jr. is more accurate at further distances.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Epiphany, Halo B hopper, 72/3000 PMI Tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use Nelson Hot Spot and they work great, Diablo Dusk work great too.
Strengths: It has a front and a back which is nice.
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: The barrel came stock on my new Smart Parts Epiphany and when I was shooting it for the first time I forgot to turn on the eyes and broke a ball, but didn't know it until I was done shooting because the balls weren't flying all over the place like with some stock barrels. The barrel looks sweet on my Epiphany and on my friend's ION. The barrel is VERY accurate, hitting the top of a 2 inch round pole from 60 feet.
Conclusion: I would recommend the barrel because it is a good upgrade for any gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ittalianstalion Tuesday, December 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel.
Marker Setup: Tippmann custom pro, longbow barrel. egg 2, response trigger,

ion max'd, Viewloader Vlocity, red and black freak barrel virtue board. sling blade trigger new bolt. contract killer grips
Recommended
Paintballs:
Allstar, premuim, origin, anything!
Strengths: Accurate, quite, looks kool
Weaknesses: None that i have encountered
Review: Well this bad @$$ comes stock with an ion pro so when i get mine i looked inside the barrel and could immideitaley tell this thing was nice. the finish in the bore was soo good. the inside of the barrel was practically a mirror. this is a very accurate barrel.
Conclusion: Accurate, shoots threw breaks and quite wat more do u need
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Vexa Tuesday, December 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
'06 Progressive
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion- Black
Core Clamping Feedneck
Vlocity Jr.
3000/48 HPA
Recommended
Paintballs:
Havent tried many brands, but crappy local field paint worked pretty well...
Strengths: ACCURATE
Looks
Variable bore size
Variable length
Weaknesses: Expensive
Review: Straight to the point: I put this barrel on my brand new Ion and took aim at a tree about 25 feet away. With the bore size matched to the paint I was using, the shots were landing on top of each other! I didn't think it was possible for a paintball gun to that ridiculously accurate! Moving back to about 50 feet, the shots were still landing in about a 2-4 inch spread! Amazing!
Conclusion: This is hands down the most accurate barrel I have ever fired, a huge step up from other barrels like the Progressive. It's definitely worth the money.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 6th, 2007 at 6:38 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media