paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel / Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel

Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel
[ View Photos (12) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 118
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Freak Inserts fit into a econo back, aluminum only. The Freak Junior Barrel front completes this 14 inch barrel. A 0.693 insert comes standard. Availible for Spyders and Model 98s only.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
kendall_peter Wednesday, January 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Teardrop
Progressive
Freak
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix 05 {Black/Red Highlights}
14' Freak Jr.
Stock Ion Grip
Stock Ion Reg.
Custom Trigger Job
Dead On Long Drop w/ On/Off
12oz. co2 tank {Black Tank Cover}
Java Gravity Feed Hopper {Red/Black Highlights}
Recommended
Paintballs:
Xball
Strengths: Nice Looking
Cheap
Weaknesses: The tip looks stupid
Review: I love this barrel. I put it on my Sonix and it worked amazing. It was way more accurate and i didnt have to pay much for it. It is very high quality and it look orgasmic. I love this barrel and i think everyone should have one. Overall this is worth the pretty high price tag... it will set u bck but its worth it in the long run. It saves money on paint cuz u wont have to shoot as much.
Conclusion: Nice Barrel
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

juggalo13 Sunday, January 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
pretty mutch everything
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ION -black
Max-Flo 47/3 -chrome
Freak Jr. -chrome back, green front
Eggy w/ y-board
Recommended
Paintballs:
BIG
Strengths: Sexy
accurate
light
Weaknesses: Big bore
Review: I got this barrel with a gun package and was all exited because well, freaks are friggin awseome. The only problem with it is the big bore size that it comes with. I am going to buy a .689 insert because I heard that that is the best for evils and that is usually what I shoot. This barrel has pretty good weight but is not comparable to ultralites but isn't noticable at all. It's acurracy is in my opinion unmatched. And the kit is awesome (if u have 1).
Conclusion: Buy it but if u have the money get a entire kit.

~CLOWN LUV~


Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

crzypntballer Friday, December 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
12" Dye Xcel
14" Smart Parts Progressive
Marker Setup: 2005 WGP Trilogy Pro
Dye drop forward
Dye Throttle Hpa Tank
Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel
Viewloader revvy
Recommended
Paintballs:
the higher the price the better the quality
Strengths: Accuracy
Anodizing
Ability to change fronts
Weaknesses: Absolutely zero
Review: Awesome looks. Great quality for the price. I got it for 65$ and I dont regret it one bit. You can change fronts. Unlike that of the Freak. I had a 4" spread from 50 feet. When used with an autococker you can take out any1.Great barrel buy it now.
Conclusion: Go buy it now. Great quality and great price. Come in many gun threads.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bulldogsapint4 Monday, December 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP ONE PIECE
Marker Setup: YELLOW ION,JR FREAK,EGG,DEAD ON BIG DROP,CROSSFIRE 45,BLACKHEART BOARD,CP REG,CP TRIGGER.
Recommended
Paintballs:
PROTO
Strengths: Very easy to clean shoots clean and accurate.good looking
Weaknesses: Hard to get inserts in and out of barrel.
Review: I have this barrel on my ion and it shots awsome. If you are a beginer you want this barrel instead of the freak because there are less inserts and less room. I have yet to break a ball with this barrel.it is awsome.it may not come in all the colors but it shoots just as good.
Conclusion: This is s great product.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

walkthetrigga88 Saturday, November 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrels, and a bunch or 32 degrees barrels
Marker Setup: sp ion, qev mod, orange bolt, redz low rise cam lock, new designs on off, CP blade trigger, 45/45 x fire hpa tank, egg, freak jr
Recommended
Paintballs:
pmi premium, marbs, hellfire
Strengths: Cheap, interchangeable bore sises, accurate
Weaknesses: Paint gets in the inserts if u chop
Pain to clean
Review: Ok so a kid at the school i go to offerd me his freak jr front and inserts for 10 bucks, i figured eh even if it sucks its still cheap, then i headed to my local store and bought the back on sale for 40 bucks, figuring it had to be better then the stock barrel on my ion, so i take it home and went shooting at some targets with my stock barrell, then with the new freak, and i was suprised at just how much more accurate it was. now ill admit it im not a very acurate to begin with so this barrel helped me quite a bit the next time i was playing, normally im a horrible shot on the field mostly i only get people out by bunkering or just by sheer volume of paint but my first game out i managed to nail somone in the gogs right off the break, it may have been luck but i know using his barrel has helped with my accuracy.
Conclusion: This is a good barrel for a beginier like myself, its cheap, light, and pretty accurate, my advice is think of how much money you want to spend and if ur cheap like me go with this barrel, im giving it an 8 because nothing is perfect and its a pain to clean
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BTRobertson Sunday, November 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tiller barrels, stock Spyder Rodeo barrel (which is actually really good)
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Rodeo Green
Kingman IPI 3.0 C.A.M.D. e-frame
Empire Reloader II e-hopper
Pure Energy 88cu 4500 psi HPA tank
Smart Parts Freak Jr. rear, Freak front, .689 bore insert barrel system
Kingman Delrin ACS Xtra rear-cocking bolt
Java remote coil
Scepter 4000-A Grenade Launcher
New Designz Low Rise Feedneck
Bad Habitz spring kit - high velocity installed
Recommended
Paintballs:
Draxxus Blaze, XBall Silver/Gold - prety much any mid- to high-grade paintball will work beautifully, but crap rec balls will fire better in this system too
Strengths: Quiet, accurate, light-weight, interchangeable inserts
Weaknesses: None to speak of yet
Review: Understand something first: my paintball store was out of the All-American system in its stock configuration that I originally ordered, so they swapped the All-American for a Freak Jr. rear and Freak front system, which turns out works out better for me.

First, my test was simple: I went out into my backyard, loaded up the hopper with the crappiest paintballs I've used yet - Zap DBXs, which I think are a Dick's Sporting Goods in-house brand (someone correct me if I'm wrong, but I see no reference to these balls on Zap's website). I had my Freak Jr. rear, my .689 bore insert, and the Freak silver ported front on it (total length of 16"), and I nailed everything I aimed at!! I didn't break one ball, but mind you I wasn't shooting for speed, I was going for accuracy. My Co2 tank was nearly out of juice, but the balls didn't drop, fly weird, or anything like when I had my Tiller barrel on it. For those of you who don't know, Tiller is a barrel found on eBay, made by an overseas company out of Taiwan. It's a good-looking and cheap barrel, but I think the quality speaks for itself. I wish I would've saved the $25.00 I spent on that barrel and applied it to the $70.00 pricetag of the Freak Jr. system. Even with the worst paintballs and little Co2, I literally had a 50% increase in accuracy, if not more.

You're probably wondering: "$70.00 is a good price?" Yes, the price is well worth it, and you will definitely see an increase in accuracy with this barrel system. Smart Parts engineers these barrels perfectly for what you pay, and the "slippery" inside will ensure the ball encounters little to no friction on its path to the target. Smart Parts practically invented this awesome barrel technology, and they're certainly a trusted name. It's worth it, splurge and find out why.
Conclusion: I can't wait to test out other inserts and fronts on the Freak Jr. system. It's easy to use, is insanely accurate, quiet, and, above all, comes at a great price for all of this. Excellent upgrade to any marker, especially low-end mechs or electros where you're looking to upgrade cheaply. Highly recommended, and you won't be disappointed.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 5th, 2005 at 6:42 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sockfoot Sunday, November 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
only the A-5 stock
Marker Setup: stock A-5 with a few homemade blocks of wood (butt stock and forgrip) and Freak Jr.
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI Premium works well for me.
Strengths: Accuracy
switchable inner diameter
Weaknesses: 4 Pieces
Broken Paint
Review: I will not be grading this product on price or looks because everyone can see that for themselves.

Configuration: The Freak Jr. is a four piece barrel. It has a front, back, insert, and addapter. When you insert the insert you will notice an O ring. This O ring holds the insert in place, but it does not always hold the insert in the right place. The insert can be tilted in any direction. I find (probably because of the A-5's kick) that pointed high of center works best. If it is down of center, your shots will divebomb and no amount of aiming the gun high will help. Trust me. Check where the top of the barrel is when screwed into the marker and allign. This could take a few tries because the addapter will move the insert when it is screwed in.

Accuracy: When properly configured, the Freak Jr. is extreemly accurate. It took me some time to become as accurate as this barrel.

Accuracy with paint in barrel: When it is clean I feel like I could shoot the fly off of a horses back at 30 yards. When it has paint in the barrel it is like I couldn't hit the horse at 10 yards. Here is why you have to take out the insert in the first place. Paint will fill the cracks and drain back into the barrel. So you have to clean out the barrel, remove the insert, wipe off the insert, wipe out the back, and put it back together 2 or 3 times until you have every thing alligned up right. The small amount that drains is not too bad, so you could finish the round before you clean out the cracks.
Conclusion: It is the ideal barrel under ideal conditions, but if you break paint, it a bad barrel to have. I have only had paint in the cracks twice since I use an A-5. I think there are better buys for your money.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chasemister2 Sunday, September 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel(ROFL)
Marker Setup: tippmann 98, freak jr barrel,20 oz co2,response trigger
Strengths: Best barrel ever i pick people off like nothing else
Weaknesses: None
Review: Ive never seen a better barrel i can now say when i shoot it is a hit i cannot miss and just imagine a rope of 12 SUPER accurate balls flying at your face well that what my barrel can do it shoots so far i want to cry even though u need pretty good paint ull never regret it and my thing is woods and i own all even people who think they are all special with dm5's and bob long gun but with the freak they are just easy pawnage!!!! you will never go wrong with how acurate this is try it and be paintball junkie like me
Conclusion: Buy this is is best barrel ever made
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

OrAnGe SwItCh Monday, September 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye boomstick, smart parts freak, cp classic one peice, stock barrels
Marker Setup: Ion, blue body kit, q lock, ndz S-tream, freak jr., fbm on/off, 32 degrees flame drop, z boarded eggy, aci 47/3000
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any since you can buy any bore size to match any paintball.
Strengths: Accuracy, paint to bore sizes, looks
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is by far the best barrel i have ever used. it is the exact same barrel as the freak except the milling and price. the price of the freak jr. is much lower then the freak, which makes it better. the performance of the freak and the freak jr. are exactly the same. since you can buy inserts for this barrel, your paint to bore match will be perfect. this barrel is very accurate compared to any stock barrel out there and many aftermarket barrels also.
Conclusion: Very good barrel. definately my favorite barrel i have ever used.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Revolution13 Monday, July 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Ultralite
Lapco Bigshot
Marker Setup: A-5 R/T
14" Freak Jr.
10" Freak Front
DOP Bullet Drop
Palmer Stabalizer(Male)
48/3000 Crossfire
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything thats round
Strengths: Accurate
Inexpensive
Weaknesses: Only Comes In Black and With a 14" Tip.
Review: This thing is perfect. I don't know why people would buy a whole freak kit if you only use about 3 or 4 inserts. I play front so the only problem is the overall length is too long, but you can get different tips for only 35 dollars. Also this is the most accurate barrel I have ever used. It probably would be even more accurate if you bought ss inserts, but I don't to save money.
Conclusion: Accuarte, Versitile, Inexpensive, Buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media